IMDb > "Homeland" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Homeland"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Homeland" More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 24: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 234 reviews in total 

51 out of 98 people found the following review useful:

Over-hyped and overstretched

1/10
Author: Eye-dle from London, England
28 September 2012

Note: This is a very personal review based on a week-long viewing of whole series 1 of "Homeland".

As depicted in the series, the CIA is incapable of making correct (logical) deductions from the information they collect. Politicians see war as campaign tactics. Soldiers are either killing machines or gormless pawns. Depending on your dominant hemisphere, "Homeland" is either the most vivid and topical description of America at war or the least captivating series about the American war machine ever made.

The characters are all against fiction. By that I mean, they all lack the probable yarn that makes the audience want to spend 44 minutes with them. I won't even mention the caricature of Middle Easterners who are either sex-addict oil-princes or omnipotent brainwashing terrorists! This is of course if you view the story of a POW Marine turned terrorist as a poor depiction of American war (paranoid) machine.

However, if you view this as a study of America at war (with all its implications), then the characters are not only credible: they are flesh-and-bone bores just like you and I. The CIA's inefficiency in the show becomes a plausible reflection of the the intelligence services' shortcomings. The politicians are no longer ambitious liars but mirrors of all candidates to a public office. The series asks the audience to choose between those two conflicting views.

And I, for one, think that is the real raison d'etre of this over-hyped show. Hence the low score. It's not a series, it's a conceptual juggle.

Was the above review useful to you?

53 out of 102 people found the following review useful:

Don't believe the hype

1/10
Author: Steve Mitchell from United Kingdom
28 April 2012

I don't really know what all the fuss was about. I found the whole thing predictable and formulaic. Each episode was stretched out and meandered along so much that I never felt any tension whatsoever and the ending was, quite frankly, a major disappointment. Six hours could easily have been taken out without any damage to the plot or storyline and it would have been better served as a 4 part self-contained drama; you know, the kind of thing the BBC do really well. It was like a cross between "The Manchurian Candidate" and "The Day of the Jackal", but not as good as either. It's a shame because I like all three of the main actors. Claire Danes' bi-polar character was just another gimmicky cop/FBI agent/CIA agent/Detective that you've seen a thousand times before. I took a break from "Breaking Bad" (wich is anything but predictable and formulaic)to watch this and wish I hadn't wasted my time on it. I don't think I'll bother with the second series.

Was the above review useful to you?

55 out of 106 people found the following review useful:

Excellent drama

8/10
Author: vink0286 from Netherlands
19 September 2011

Excellent drama with very good acting all around. The story has the potential to keep us guessing what is really going on for some time I think. The story about an American marine that gets saved after being held captive for years by terrorists is engaging and well thought out. The only weak link in this is the storyline of the husband and wife that just seems to be a little bit forced. Its also good to see Mandy Patinkin again who I think is a wonderful actor. Damian Lewis is as always giving his all with moments of brilliance. Only Claire Danes looks likes she does not completely believe what she is saying but I am sure that she will grow into her role. I hope the writers can keep up the standard of the first episode. 8/10 from me and hoping it will get more in the future. 1 and 3/4 thumbs up!!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

8.5......Meh.........

2/10
Author: kikkapi20 from usa
17 January 2015

This is how it goes, and the author did the following, pick a real life political situation and twist it around while drunk or under drugs. Add some facts with lots of impossible imaginary incidents, then wake up from the hangover to see all is wrong and does not add up. It is all about over sized terrorists, CIA screw ups and characters that are lost and jumping places. You cannot fool educated viewers with all this crap, like shooting a scene in Morocco with men dressed as Jordanians and women dressed like Egyptians and say it is Beirut. The author, producer, and director should have done more research to convince us, it is another "24" but here Jack Bauer is a Psycho - Cuckoo blonde named Carie Do not waste your time on this, slow boring and does not add up!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

A truly ugly attempt to glorify terrorism

1/10
Author: us cole from United States
11 November 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Having spent over 15 years in terror strongholds and Islamic societies, I think Homeland is probably the most poorest description of the reality of terrorism and how Islamic societies truly are, that I have found. It borderlines the comical. The more the show progress into new seasons, the more bizarre and unreal Homeland gets.

Every single terrorist is portrayed as a "victim" in episode after episode which is annoying. You don't get 72 virgins by hitting back at "big bad" America. You get 72 virgins by fighting to establish an Islamic state and senselessly slaughtering all non-Muslims so no unbeliever exist in the land of Islam. That pleases Allah. No sign of this reality in Homeland at all. People who decide to cut your throat because you don't believe in the same fairy tales are hardly victims. People who train small children to hate and kill, dreaming to be suicide bombers, to strike terror in people with morbid joy doing so, are not victims. They're fanatics. In Homeland the entire cultural Islamic makeup is stripped of its basic element that drives society and feeds terrorism. There is no sign of Islam anywhere in Homeland. None whatsoever.

What left-wing nutjob wrote the script? Its pretty sad that young people will learn about the most horrid crimes committed against millions of people through the prism of liberal delusions and denials pretending complete barbarity are victims of the West. Fighting "for democracy" in these countries means fighting Sharia law. It means stoning people to death, cutting of hands and feet, crucifying them for apostasy, burning gays alive or throwing them off buildings, raping women, enslaving non-Muslims. It means constantly acting as a morality police over others. When you live in these societies, you feel apprehension every time you walk out your door.

The series cuts out the limitless crudeness, violence and paranoia common in these societies. The bottomless contempt and hatred of women is not seen either. Carrie, a western woman with blond hair, who would stand out like a sore thumb, can in Homeland walk around freely on her own - even without a veil - without anyone even noticing. She can walk into crowds and no one clusters around her, grabs their cock, her breasts or her crutch. No man tries to masturbate in front of her. Any sense of reality is stripped from the show, and they are instead "poor victims" who only respond to aggression against THEM. Forget that they have fought for the same "cause" and their 72 virgins and Dar-al-Islam for 1,400 years - uninterrupted.

Homeland is trying to convince viewers that if they did not endure "American aggression" they would all be fine and peaceful. When have they ever been peaceful, even before America existed? They destroyed entire European classical civilization and pushed it back into the dark ages! Europeans had to start all over again.

In Homeland there are no hate preachers in the mosque who bellow out their extreme anger and views day in and day out; there is non of the infamous Islamic racism against non-Muslims; there are no fatwas, no discussions on the legal permit to kill as many "apes and pigs" (Jews and Christians) you want. There are no children who scream and pray for the murder of others for merely being infidel. There are no mothers who celebrate and holler when an American dies.

When Saul is kidnapped and sits to dinner with a tribal Taliban terrorist, and he critiques Islam, there is no reaction. What??? The worse of crimes causes no reaction. Instead our Homeland terrorist rationalizes that if Christianity was judged by its "brutal history" no one would be Christian. But Christian brutality was a reaction to Islamic conquests, slave raids and invasions. Perhaps the writers don't even know that.

In Homeland you have the choice to believe in Islam or reject it, which is one of the most unreal parts of the show. The terrorist is intellectual and rational and can hold a debate. Homeland even goes so far that it portrays the terrorist leader kissing his wife (!) in front of other men. This is a country where the Taliban stones women for exposing eyes. And it gets even more absurd: Saul is chained in the bedroom of the Talibani while he has naked sex with his wife sitting on top of him, like a porn star. I had to laugh out loud at the Disney absurdities. I would challenge the writers of Homeland to travel to the regions and grab some pictures of affection shown for wives (at all) and especially affection shown in front of other people. Affection is completely haram in Islam. Nakedness is haram and beyond shameful. These people will only be naked to take a bath. Do the writers even know that through Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, etc, people basically have sex with their clothes on, and the man will grab the women and just stick it in her with force?

That's reality. You wont have an Islamic extremist expose his naked wife to another man! She wont even be allowed in the same room as Saul, and she can only eat whatever is left over after the men is done. If they left her nothing - she doesn't eat.

Homeland is a laughable fantasist portrayal of crude, primitive tribals trying to turn them into Yale graduate in Afghan garbs. This is a country where men have the legal rights to rape their wives, or kill them if they object.

Get real people. PORTRAY THE REALITY OF TERRORISM AND ITS TRUE IDEOLOGY RATHER THAN MAKE EXCUSES FOR IT.

Homeland reflects the American mindset: naive, one-sided, clueless and completely incompetent to grasp another culture. The whole world is not American. Not all people around the world wants "Western democracy". To some democracy is the filth of the world.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Great when I first started watching it, but looking back it makes little sense

4/10
Author: Peter Harris from Massachusetts, USA
17 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched the first season in 2 days and really liked it (not loved it, but it was good). I still have not gotten back to it and watched season 2, though. But though I enjoyed watching it, when I think about it, this show is pretty bad. The plot is all over the place, Carrie is a bitch, first Brody seems like he might be a terrorist, then maybe not, then yeah, he's probably a terrorist, then Carrie f#cks him (seriously, what the HELL?) then he seems like a cool guy and then he's not. It really seems like the writers have zero idea where they are going with this.

Still haven't gotten around to the second season since there are so many better shows to watch. I probably will watch it at some point, but I'm in no hurry.

Was the above review useful to you?

46 out of 89 people found the following review useful:

Crisp and Engrossing

9/10
Author: tickin from Canada
8 October 2011

I've only seen the pilot but it was exceptional viewing. Not for children though.

If they continue to allow the writers and actors to flex their muscles this show will shine. There is a professional quality to Homeland that I haven't seen in a long time. The direction was subtle but commanding, the actors were ace, and the writing was poignant without once hinting at the maudlin.

Hopefully the studio won't cut the creative/professional legs off this one just as it starts running.

Very engrossing stuff.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great show. Season 4 has some factual drawbacks

9/10
Author: Imtiaz P from Pakistan
23 March 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Season 4 of Homeland lives up to the riveting suspense it started with in the first season. The theme of prisoners of war developing affinity and empathy with their captors/enemy (Stockholm syndrome?) is cleverly reinvented in a new war zone; from Israel/Arab conflict to Taliban versus the West/CIA. This is where the otherwise impressive show is marred by details.

The locations, particularly Islamabad/Pakistan; most of the cast playing Afghan and Pakistani roles; local languages their accents and translations; appearances, costumes and uniforms; streets and signboards; and other depictions of the local culture leave a wide credibility gap and unwelcome distractions.

For example, a condolence from English to Urdu is translated as 'I apologize instead of: I am sorry.' Similar errors are many where the diction and syntax are alien to the region the characters are supposed to represent.

Another misrepresentation of cultural norms is a long embrace between a man and woman on the roof of a house in daylight and full view of the neighborhood. Haqqani's, a Taliban leader, return home and touching his wife in front of a crowd is another taboo which seeped through.

Except for few, most of the names given to characters are neither Pakistani nor Afghan. Islamabad street scenes, vehicles on the road and the surrounding landscape do not represent the original locale.

Not that I am going to stop watching rest of the show, but I do wish more attention was given to the above mentioned aspects of production.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Excellent!

9/10
Author: The Couchpotatoes from Belgium
17 February 2015

It goes beyond my comprehension that people hate this show. They must all be American brainwashed patriots. Seriously get over it, it's just a show and it's a good one. I absolutely love this show, the actors are all very believable in their roles, the storyline is exceptional, full of twists that keeps you on the edge of your seat during the whole show. At the end of every episode I already want to watch the next one as soon as possible. Everything that you think happens in real life when you think about CIA, espionage, terrorists and so on passes the register. Conspiracies, paranoia, double-crossing, betrayal, false promises etc. Clair Danes puts down a brilliant performance playing an unstable CIA analyst. To me the whole series is full of action and suspense. One of the best series!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Claire Danes character needs to be improved

2/10
Author: randularulze from auckland
3 July 2014

Claire Danes character is just stupid cry baby who, she doesn't have any characteristic of a CIA operative. she needs to look more realistic. CIA doesn't go and beg for information they manipulate them or threat them they don't offer to suck they're dicks for god sake. make it more like the mentalist or like the blacklist because you got a awesome plot going on with a screwed up bitch for the main character. please try and make Claire Danes character more interesting. because showtime never fails don't make this your biggest blunder.Claire Danes character is just stupid cry baby who, she doesn't have any characteristic of a CIA operative. she needs to look more realistic. CIA doesn't go and beg for information they manipulate them or threat them they don't offer to suck they're dicks for god sake. make it more like the mentalist or like the blacklist because you got a awesome plot going on with a screwed up bitch for the main character. please try and make Claire Danes character more interesting. because showtime never fails don't make this your biggest blunder.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 24: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history