IMDb > "Homeland" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Homeland"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratings
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
"Homeland" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 14 of 33: [Prev][9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [Next]
Index 324 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Deserves a couple bump up points for season 4

9/10
Author: licktheenvelope from Canada
16 October 2016

It's interesting reading the previous comments because what people seem to say is that Homeland is either: 1. "Dumb American, racist propaganda that makes the US out to be the true heros fighting all the worlds terrorists" or 2. "Nothing but United States Citizens as traitors, liars, mass murders" or 3. Bad acting or 4. 10/10 ....

I have to say I'd have put it somewhere around a 7 and into season for a few episodes I was leaning to moving it down to a 6 or so and just stopping watching all together. I took a break off for a couple weeks, came back and the next 7 episodes in season for were tremendous and you are routing for and against people on all sides.

I find the acting a mixed bag: - Claire Danes is fine and sometimes amazing the way she portrays the mental illness of her character but other times the writing of the character seems lazy.

- I really like Mandy Patinkin in the show.

- Rupert Friend is my fav character in Quinn.

- Damian Lewis did a solid Job in his role.

If you can put up with some odd character choices and some errors in real world locations it's an okay spy drama I feel is elevated in season 4. I have seen season 5 year but the show went from teetering off a cliff to being a good one for me.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Are you kidding me?

1/10
Author: Nunyrbusiness from United States
16 August 2016

I am on season two episode eight and I can't take anymore. I watched it as a favor for someone who was in the process of watching season two. I have just learned that that person has since abandoned it. I don't think I've ever sat through a show that is more boring and absolutely full of total letdowns. It is the worst written and the worst acted TV show I have ever watched. It deserves a -10. I can't believe it has gained the ratings that it has. This show has been such a let down I feel like it needs a prescription for Viagra. I don't want to say anything in particular about the show because I don't want to spoil it for those of you who are odd and apparently bored with life enough to actually like it. I've pretty much said everything I can say about the show. It's pretty bad. I have two more lines that I have to write but I can't think of much more dribble for this review. Thank you for letting me vent.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I don't understand the praise

2/10
Author: Wim van Dijk from The Hague, Netherlands
14 April 2016

I originally started watching Homeland one year after it come out. After nine or ten episodes of season 1, I was so bored, I couldn't force myself to watch it any further and quit the series. I found the main character Claire Dames plays to be so annoying, I couldn't bare watching her anymore. Such an annoying character. Constantly crying, being emotional, screaming and being unreasonable. It was like watching an adult act as a 5 year old with a mental illness all the time. She is supposed to be a top CIA agent? Yeah, right. The rest of the series wasn't much better. Boring, uninteresting and nothing really ever happens. Just very long, uninteresting dialogue. Friends of mine however were still watching the show, telling me I quit to soon and things would be better, even great. Recently, I completely ran out of stuff to watch, so I tried Homeland again. Started watching from S2 and I am currently halfway S4. While there were some episodes that were mildly interesting, I find most of it to still be boring and annoying. I'll stick to my originally verdict: This show is slow, boring and annoying. The characters are stupid, emotional and unrealistic. I really don't get how this crap can score so high here on IMDb. Maybe it's because I have watched 24 before Homeland. Not a perfect show either, but it least it was fast and interesting with lost of action. My advice, skip Homeland and watch 24 for a much better entertainment value.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great and Not Great

7/10
Author: ghosthurd from United Kingdom
11 January 2016

OK so this is a really really good series I even think its a better story line than Breaking Bad the story and plot are very good and move at a good pace, Good action, good actors everything really good.

BUT, the more I watched the more the main CIA character Carrie started to annoy me and I would say her role is the only weak point in the whole show. Mainly because she keeps going off and doing her own thing, disobeying direct orders and running around doing anything she wants, it gets to the point when you say 'Jesus she's off again, and it gets so bad it ruins what otherwise would be a very believable storyline. Then their is her personal life!!! Who cares, boring boring boring baby's and illness boo hiss keep that in romantic soppy rubbish for the girls. This could have been a good action packed fast paced believable thriller- If only it wasn't for that bloody woman. All in all very good, but sometimes makes me want to shoot the TV.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

If you don't like the characters, you won't like the series

6/10
Author: projosd
31 December 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am not as effusive about this series as its most ardent fans, nor as dismissive as people who hate it. The first season was fantastic and it's the season where the series won the most awards. It went downhill from there. Why? First, there are the improbable scenarios, to wit: how does a person so close to the edge as Carrie Mathison make it to the highest echelons of the CIA and find herself in the middle of the most sensitive situations? Why does the series seem to misunderstand the difference between Sunnis and Shiites in loosely mixing Al Qaeda and Iran? How are Carrie and her buddies always able to talk on their cells without being tapped, but they can tap everyone else? And so on. But, the biggest flaw is the failure to recognize a cardinal rule of writing- if the readers/viewers don't care about the characters, they won't care about the story. Season One was so riveting because we cared about Nicholas Brody- a good man whose mind was messed up from years in captivity and struggled to figure it out and do the honorable thing (whatever that was). Once he was gone, we were left with Carrie, a thoroughly dislikeable and driven CIA agent constantly disobeying orders and always up in the face of others. She seems incapable of even bonding with her own child (I checked out midway through Season 4). Sahl seems to view the job as a day-to-day chess match in which he finds refuge. Quinn is a soulless black ops agent. Why should we care about any of them? Others apparently share this opinion as the number of viewers dropped precipitously after Brody was clipped. Reviewers who are "into" this series apparently find the cloak-and-dagger aspects of the series sufficient. I did not.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Best TV show and some of the best acting I've ever seen

10/10
Author: johanftemmerman from Flanders
14 December 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Top quality TV is a rare thing, but this particular TV show definitely deserves that praise. Its content is realistic, its subject matter all too current, the plot tense yet utterly believable, the acting simply superb. Claire Danes' Carrie Mathison character is a wonderfully human portrait of a professional in a sordid but alas essential business, as prone as any other to human foibles and fallacies. Her performance however does not detract from those of others, notably the Saul Berenson character, brilliantly portrayed as well. In a word, the series is superb, and its writers, cast and producers merit congratulations. People at Showtime: more of this, please - and yes, I know I'm asking much.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Please don't make a season 4. IT ENDS PERFECTLY THIS WAY.

8/10
Author: amoooooor from Egypt
25 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I just finished watching season 3 of Homeland an American series based on an Israeli series called Prisoners of war. The story is new and it takes you to intelligence agencies fight, this time inside the USA. The series was full of problems when it came to address the Muslim characters. I hope I would get to see the day when American movie makers would even google the way Muslims talk and pray. The way the Muslim character prayer in the series is more of a Hindu than a Muslim.

The story line is really solid and you remain interested at every part of the series. All actors taking part in the production are mediocre, except for Claire Danes. She excelled into showing this motivated yet disturbed character she played. You swing between hating her into being in love with her character through out the story line.

I have no intention into adding any spoilers in here, but I just wished Showtime had decided to bringing Homeland into a close after season 3. The way this season ended could have made the series the best among American TV productions to come in terms with the audience. TV in America is totally dependent on money and ratings they don't mind to ruin their art sometimes for the sake of more dough. I liked Homeland (especially the third season) so much I definitely would sanely choose not to watch the next season.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The agent who ignorantly gets it done

8/10
Author: bnickmartelli
22 February 2017

Worst CIA agent ever. But I love the show. She is the cause of all the problems and also the solution to all the problems. The real COMPANY would never allow the things she does. She would have been"disappeared"along time ago. Entertaining but unbelievable. Perfect example of a person who should never have power or authority.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Homeland Drinking Game

1/10
Author: adlap
30 July 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Every time Carrie cries... Take a shot or chug a beer! You will be hammered before three episodes into the first season!! This show is littered with plot holes! Absolutely littered. The poop they pull on this show would never happen in real life! Brody being able to reenlist after being a POW for eight years would never happen. Carrie being bipolar and in the CIA ,would never happen... Hello drug tests! Attention to detail in this show is absolutely atrocious! Brody was bumped up to Gunnery Seargent after he reenlisted and in season two shows up as a Seargent in his dress blues! Never!! CIA agents with weekly routines! Never! Did I mention that Carrie cries in every episode! If they changed the actress in the middle of an episode in season three I wouldn't bat an eye! Why does she cry in every episode man!!! Drink up!! If you can make it through the first season without puking from all the shots you take or beers you chug from either watching Carrie cry or how bad this show is you probably need to go to meetings!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Disappointment

1/10
Author: Richard Corteel from Canada
8 January 2016

After all the hype, I finally sat down to watch the first season of this series. The acting appears competent, as is the production values and direction. But the script... It is inane, makes the Berverly Hillbillies look like the Nobel prize for literature. The pacing of the plot is not just predictable but insulting to the average intelligence. And as for consistency....my grocery list makes more sense. If this series had been produced by British television, it would have been wrapped up in eight in ten episodes at the most. More concerning is the US television obsession with drawing out a short story into an interminable series: a sharper script and production always merits a better audience experience.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 14 of 33: [Prev][9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history