IMDb > Doggie B (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Doggie Boogie - Get Your Grrr On!
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Doggie B More at IMDbPro »Doggie Boogie - Get Your Grrr On! (original title)

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 10 reviews in total 

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Film making hits a new low

1/10
Author: sarahmaesmith from United States
30 September 2012

You've got to be kidding. Bad acting. Horrible costumes. Awkward script. Special effects are so stupid. The dog was obviously on Valium. The entire movie has as much personality as a clam. I watched it to the end just in case there was something redeeming about it. I usually love movies about dogs. This one is the exception. My review has to be ten lines long. Why should I waste your time and Internet bandwidth on something this dumb. I don't want to insult other viewers who liked the film, but I do wonder about their level of, shall we say, sophistication. Perhaps this film originated as a project for fifth grade students. I paid $4.99 to rent it on Comcast. That is a rip! Don't waste your time.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Grotesquely Misleading Waste of a Dollar

1/10
Author: cool-mommy
3 June 2013

I rented this from Redbox.

The picture displayed was different then the one here.

It showed three dogs at a DJ booth at the beach wearing hip-hop attire.

This was never in the film.

The movie was so bad, none of my kids would watch it.

I watched it all the way through.

It was extremely low budget and the film seemed to center around adults acting inappropriately.

I think the reviewer who compared it to John Waters is correct.

It was just horrible, awful, tacky and lame.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

WOW, the kids asked to see it a second time

10/10
Author: jjrruu from New Hampshire
8 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was an unexpected wonder. The movie started fast and kept up a wonderful pace for the kids. They laughed and clapped throughout and as soon as it was over they wanted to see it again. I could not believe how happy they were about it and the excitement was continual.

The characters were fresh, and when the dog, Pijo, was told to play sick everyone found it hysterical. Cassie has a winning personality that provides a feeling of continual fun and excitement throughout the film.

The editing of the movie was first rate as the pace was continually exciting and kept everyone's interest. The background music kept the flow and mood going, and the sound was perfect throughout.

Overall, a fun, easy to enjoy, and feel good movie that kids of all ages will enjoy.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not what I expected.

2/10
Author: Maddox Patt
10 December 2013

Judging from the title and cover when I picked this up for my friend, I was expecting the story to be about a rapping boxer who makes it big with his mad turntable skillz. What I got was a trashy feel good movie, that held no appeal to the African American audience it would be happy to embrace. Doggie B could have been the next big thing - a watershed film about the struggles that dogs have to become rappers. Instead, it's about some girl whose mom is a stereotypical asshole fighting against an oppressive hyper-cat lady to secure her uncles dog dancing ring. I wanted to see Doggie B go into the dark underground Dog Fighting scene. I wanted to see Doggie B battle to get a record deal. Instead, what I got was a movie that shames me more then it does excite me. 'Doggie B' gets a 2/10 from this unhappy film viewer.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Captivating escape

10/10
Author: DogsCanDance from United States
15 April 2012

This morning I had the opportunity to view the movie "Doggie Boogie" at the Sonoma International Film Festival in CA. I have now seen it twice and can't get enough. Very uplifting in a day and age where we need more positive joy. I will definitely purchase the movie once it is available to the public. This movie is an incredibly joyous escape. I was captivated by the story from the minute it started through the credits. This was actually the second time I have seen it and was surprised that it still had that "captivating effect" despite knowing the outcome of the plot.

The characters' charisma takes the story line to a very personal level for everyone in the audience. Very well cast! I recommend this movie for all ages of people who share or have shared their life with a canine family member.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Fun, fun movie

9/10
Author: barbara91311 from United States
14 April 2012

This movie is a delightful, fun watch. I laughed, and felt good after seeing it. Loved seeing the audience happy and clapping at the end. The heroine is cute, Pijo, the dog, is adorable, and all the characters are fun to watch. Loved the brightly colored clothes, and dog touches to the movie. I noticed everything was canine related - down to the bone mats on the floor during the yoga scene. I understand that this movie was completely filmed in San Francisco, and used only SAG actors and actresses. And the film was entirely written and directed by the same person. Fun, fun, fun. Do not miss this movie, especially if you have kids - they will love it. It is a pleasure to see something lighthearted and family oriented.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Great, fun film!

10/10
Author: PoochCoach from United States
20 March 2012

I saw the preview and I loved it. The dogs are adorable, the acting is superb, and the sets & color were fun and whimsical. The dog dancing scenes make it especially unique from any movie I've ever scene. I enjoyed the story line, the lessons and the laughs. It's rare that I like a movie that can also be enjoyed by children, but this movie was a surprising exception of that for me. The attention to detail on the costumes and sets was particularly impressive. I heard many people commenting on the way out of the theater that they were impressed with the sets, which is not something I've heard before. Even the dog costumes we coordinated, fitted and fun. I look forward to seeing it again!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

It's for kids. they freak out.

Author: keithkardashan from United States
9 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Do you remember seeing Wizard of Oz for the first time? That's kind of what I felt like when I watched Doggie Boogie movie. I went to a private showing and it was mesmerizing for my 5 year old girl and my 9 year old boy. I mean mesmerized. Of course, knowing they are transfixed means I have time, real time, to do something else. But they were into it and I shared it with them and had fun. I was pretty engaged until the end too, though they wanted to watch it again right away.

The color is vibrant, as vibrant as any I've seen, kind of like Willy Wonka, I wasn't expecting that. It was 'fantastical' and made me laugh on more than one occasion. My 5 year old had her mouth wide open most of the time and my boy was laughing a lot. I love it when we can share an experience like that because they will remember it. I will too. It was the many colors, and the music, or just the happy mood. The car ride home was fun talking. GOOD job!!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

My daughter loves Doggie B and I did too

10/10
Author: Alan Dunkel from United States
13 March 2012

Doggie B throws a big bone to the Wizard of Oz. My daughter absolutely loved this movie. Take your kid for sure but lots of adults in the audience were really into it and they didn't all have children with them. A great must see family film with San Francisco as a very creative stand- in for the Emerald City. Best tribute to the Wizard of Oz yet. Certainly the first Wizard of Oz for dogs, Toto would be proud. Can understand why it won the audience favorite award out of 70 features at Sonoma and now it is playing at Landmark Opera Plaza here in San Francisco. It will be a cult classic as well as a beloved children's movie all in one, a first. Romanus is a master of cheese, camp and family fun so hope he makes more as I never imagined a G-rated John Waters in the making. Unthinkable!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Fun Imaginative and Coming Into Ones Own Movie

10/10
Author: Judithdances from United States
15 November 2011

Great imaginative fanciful film. About coming into ones own with the help of man's best friends (Dogs). The dog dancing contest was a riot. The Doggie Yoga Shangrrrla with it's dogs and staff were a scream . The movie displays the parallel world of spiritual healers , dog dancers, with a witch like evil doing antagonist. The back drop of San Francisco , real quirky costumes, outlandish hair-dos, inventive props helps set it off well. An amusing and delightful wayout script and characters to entertain all moviegoers.Very funny uplifting with lots of heart. It has some lessons for all ages. I think the whole family will enjoy the film.

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history