IMDb > Fight for Your Right Revisited (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Fight for Your Right Revisited
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Index 8 reviews in total 

16 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Best video since Michael Jackson's Thriller!

10/10
Author: freezen2001 from United States
1 May 2011

I was amazed at the star studded cast they had for this video. Everywhere you look you recognize someone from one of your favorite movies. They start off right after their "Fight for your right" video in the 80's with Seth Rogan, Danny McBride and Elijah Wood playing Mike D, MCA and Ad Rock. Its kinda making fun of how juvenile they were back then, but the jokes are funny and the acting is great.

After a few songs they end up meeting the Beastie Boys from the future, and let me say... the funniest dance off I've ever seen! A great cow bell performance by Will Ferrell, and you have yourself a masterpiece! If you grew up listening to the b-boys then you will love this video! Even if you're not a fan I think you will appreciate the humor and jokes throughout!

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

fresh!

9/10
Author: simonwidmer from Switzerland
22 April 2011

"Fight for you right revisited" is a tongue-in-cheek look on the Beastie Boys' beginning. The story starts at the end of the '86 "Fight for your right" video, where they destroyed an apartment during a party and ends in a dance battle against a future version of themselves.

Of course, the whole thing is silly as hell but hey, what did you expect? There are numerous cameos including Susan Sarandon, Steve Buscemi and a few uncredited ones (are you able to spot Orlando Bloom)? Even the real Beastie Boys make an appearance.

To me this movie shows that the Beastie Boys are not afraid to showing where they come from (on a sidenote: They haven't played their biggest hit "fight for your right to party" since the 90s). They show us how silly they were back then. Congrats to them for inviting us to laugh with them!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A funny, nostalgic short for Beastie boy fans

9/10
Author: Olya Ivanova from United States
13 December 2011

I guess for someone who is not familiar with the band, this short might seem thuggish, corny and obnoxious; but for others who can relate to the band it is a hidden gem. Beastie boys and all the "extras" in this short is played by celebrities so it's fun to recognize who is who during the viewing. This video is very satirical and should not be taken seriously, it is just a reminder of the 80's era and the hip hop movement that really spun off during that time. A real blast from the past ;)

I thought this short was hilarious and really well put together. I think the fans will definitely enjoy it.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Very good and funny

10/10
Author: jase369
25 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am not exactly sure what the other viewers were expecting. Of course it is an advertisement of sorts. Of course you probably don't get it, since it is from the Beastie Boys...a lot of their stuff doesn't make sense. But what does make sense is that it picked up where the Fight for your Right video left off, and they go on an adventure of sorts meeting the future them and ultimately having a dance off. If you are a beastie boys fan of old, I am sure you will enjoy this. The star-studded cast was excellent, the cinematography was great, and it had that same old Beastie Boys flavor. Maybe the haters are too young to understand how it was listening to the Beasties back in the 80's and throughout the 90s, maybe they aren't the type of fans that would enjoy this, or maybe they just lost their true love for Beastie flavor..but whatever it is, don't let the few negative reviews discourage you from watching this or rating it how you enjoyed it!

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Made my decade

10/10
Author: Paul M Marchand Jr from Bogarta
22 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was a great short film that was a perfect way to expose a new generation to an awesome genre of music, and let everyone who lives for this sit reminisce on a great time in their youth. It was super fuing funny. I don't know how you could even be close to disappointed. And the new music sounds rad.This was a great short film that was a perfect way to expose a new generation to an awesome genre of music, and let everyone who lives for this hit reminisce on a great time in their youth. It was super fking funny. I don't know how you could even be close to disappointed. And the new music sounds rad.This was a great short film that was a perfect way to expose a new generation to an awesome genre of music, and let everyone who lives for this hit reminisce on a great time in their youth. It was super fuing funny. I don't know how you could even be close to disappointed. And the new music sounds rad.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

For Beastie fans only

4/10
Author: Thomas (filmreviews@web.de) from Berlin, Germany
4 October 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Although this 30-minute movie may very well be a contender for the greatest cast ever quantity-wise, including a couple Academy Award winners/nominees, such as Susan Sarandon and Stanley Tucci playing spouses early on, this film never really managed to wow me. It was written and directed by Adam Yauch, not too long before his untimely death and shows the Beastie Boys experiencing some adventures and finally meeting an older version of themselves. None of them are played by the real ones, but they do have a cameo as cops near the end. Fans of the comedy show "Parks & Recreation" may enjoy this one as well as it features quite a few from the cast just like a whole lot other notable comedy actors and actresses.

It's basically lots of chaos, yelling and battering. I failed to see any real artistic value in there, but it's kinda okay if you're in the mood for some harmless fun where you don't really have to think about what's going on and aren't we all sometimes?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Not my cup of tea!

Author: Gordon-11 from Earth
24 October 2012

This is a short film to celebrate the 25 year anniversary of the popular song "Fight For Your Right".

"Fight for Your Right Revisited" is described to be a parody of themselves, filled with the hottest stars and loads of fun. I was certainly impressed by the number of stars they managed to assemble for the short film. I was also impressed by the big budget production on a short film. However, I was not as impressed by the humour. The story seems all over the place, and I lost interest in it by five minutes. Towards the end, just before the police car arrives, the scene becomes so awful that my jaw dropped.

"Fight for Your Right Revisited" is not my cup of tea. As it is about an acid fuelled trip, maybe I have to be high to appreciate it?

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

had its moments

5/10
Author: bce512 from United States
22 April 2011

I was really looking forward to this short, and it wasn't a total let down, but let just say I was hoping for more.

The star studded cast made one think that there was going to be a lot more going on than there was, and the jokes fell flat most of the time.

This short starring Danny McBride, Elijah Wood, and Seth Rogen as the younger beastie boys, have a dance off with their older selfs. The older or possibly present day beastie boys are portrayed by Will Ferrel, John C Rielly, and Jack Black.

The short is broken up in between sessions of mayhem, and rapping while walking down the street and raising hell towards all passerby's. There are brief periods of improvising, but it runs a little too long, and gets stale fast.

The direction was pretty neat, and the added musical sequences were also an impressive touch.

Unless you are a hardcore bestir boy fan, or are just interested in seeing which celebrity you can spot in this 30 min short I think you can do without it.

looking forward to the new album though!

Was the above review useful to you?


Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history