IMDb > The Campaign (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Campaign
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Campaign More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 18: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 178 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not genius but still pretty funny

Author: percyporcelain from London
4 November 2014

Okay so it could have been smarter but it's still pretty funny. Sure there are some obvious gags and the Bible Belt makes a easy target, but for those of us who aren't committed Republicans or Democrats it provides even-handed laughs. Ferrell plays a Ron Burgundy wannabee while Zack is ostensibly a family man though he camps it up massively, inviting speculation that he bats for the other side. Anyway it's a hoot, if a little crude at times. I've just had my review rejected because it was too concise and they want me to rabbit on for 10 lines, sorry about that, lah di dah blah blah what do you think about the mid- terms?

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The One Time I Root For A Republican

Author: cyclerrollie from United States
17 March 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I found myself rooting for Marty watching this movie because of all the things Cam does to try and save face, although many of them go horrendously wrong, such as the cop car stealing. Many of the things Cam does are just downright outrageous, especially when he makes the porno with Marty's wife!

This movie was the first time I saw Jason Sudekis outside of Saturday Night Live, and he did a fantastic job as Cam's campaign manager, walking out when the time was right and all. Speaking of SNL, several alums appear in this film such as Will Ferrel and Dan Akroyd, so it's a nice little reunion.

As for the movie as a whole, it was hilarious! If you can find it, rent it! You will not be disappointed with this comedic film based on a congressional race.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Deeply Funny Political Satire!

Author: g-bodyl from United States
17 February 2014

Now I'm not the one for politics and in fact, I despise politics on a whole. However, I found "The Campaign" to be a wildly funny affair. There is plenty of over-the-top humor here to satisfy comedy fans and of course the big laughs here involves a certain conversation around a dinner table as well as a baby. As a political movie, the film plays it pretty safe as both the Left and the Right are only moderately poked at.

Jay Roach, known for his brilliant work with Austin Powers and Meet the Fockers, returns to direct this film. Cam Brady has been a North Carolina congressman for several terms now and is on the verge of securing another term. But, he ends up running against a Marty Huggins, who happens to be the candidate no one expects to be running for office.

Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis are both very funny here and they seem to feed off each other's energy. This is Ferrell's funniest film since Step Brothers and he just has scene after scene with end up as laugh riots. Galifinakis is really good too despite being somewhat type-casted. But the golden moments are when these two are on screen, going at it with each other.

Overall, this is a really funny film and funnier than I anticipated. I tend to avoid political films, but since this film has no agenda rather than to poke fun at politics, I was all for this. My fear was that the trailer gave many points away, but be prepared for some unexpected jokes. This is a very funny movie. I rate this film 9/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Decent Comedy with Laughs

Author: Floated2
15 October 2013

Having seen many Will Ferrell comedies, I went into The Campaign with an open mind but did not have high or low expectations. I guess it was only a matter of time that Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis starred in a film together and this was necessary. The Campaign provides quite some laughs depending on your humor, some shock value and overall a good message. Although the film somewhat turns for the worst in it's finale, but this was expected.

While a little less likable, Ferrell mostly sticks to schtick he perfected in Anchorman and has done variations of many times since. Galifianakis, though, brings a new persona to the screen. Just as the movie suggests there is more to Huggins than the man we first see, the role indicates there is more to Galifianakis the movie star than Alan from The Hangover. By judging the trailer, you will get a good glimpse as what to expect.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Competent comedy making a decent double act out of two of the genre's top guys at the moment

Author: davideo-2 from United Kingdom
9 September 2013

STAR RATING: ***** Saturday Night **** Friday Night *** Friday Morning ** Sunday Night * Monday Morning

High flying Democrat hopeful Cam Brady (Will Ferrell) is caught out in a series of embarrassing misdemeanours. Seizing on this string of incidents, two wealthy business owner brothers bolster support for a Republican candidate in the shape of Marty Huggins (Zach Galifianakis) a ridiculously puritanical man who needs to develop an edge in order to present a challenge to his opponent. But as he does, each becomes ever more hellbent to sabotage the other as events press on.

Politics, like everything else in America, is ridiculously over-blown, and so this salacious satire of electoral confrontation is a gleefully inspired creation, if nothing else. From the director of Meet the Parents/Fockers, and starring two of comedy's soaring high fliers at the moment, it's a reliably competent effort that probably doesn't squeeze as much juice out of it's comic potential as it could have, but is still a sufficiently laugh laden outing with no room for political correctness (no pun intended) or subtlety.

There's an interesting role reversal going on in both the nature of the characters and the tone of those playing them. While a Democratic hopeful in the movies is usually the righteous, idealistic person while the Republican is typically the more shady and under-hand, the script here turns this set up on it's head, with Ferrell as the sleazy but dynamic and arrogant 'left leaner', while Galifianakis is a timid, squeaky voiced Repubbo who has to be driven to be as determined to succeed as his rival, until eventually becoming as bad as him. It helps with the assortment of supporting actors on display, including Jason Sudeikis, Dylan McDermott, John Lithgow, Dan Ackroyd and Brian Cox.

The Campaign is a valiant, worthy effort that doesn't become the classic it could have been, but is no less reliable for a few good laughs. ***

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Black Comedy.

Author: Robert J. Maxwell ( from Deming, New Mexico, USA
6 September 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's hard to evaluate a film like this because its -- well, its variance is so great. Did I laugh out loud at some of the gags? Yes. Did I wince at others? You bet.

What's more, this isn't really a movie about mud slinging during a campaign but it's more than that, almost a satire of American political values, or American values in general. When you ridicule the electoral process of the nation, you ridicule everyone who participates in it. And when you ridicule everyone, you ridicule the society that they've formed.

Will Ferrell, who made me chuckle here for the first time, is a four-time Representative from a congressional district in North Carolina, comfortable in his numb, dumb skin. He speaks in platitudes and does all the other things that congressman are presumed to do. He's funded by, and compliant to the wishes of, John Lithgow and Dan Aykroyd, the "Motch brothers." The Motch brothers are quite a pair. They'll stop at nothing to advance their interests. They've already implemented the first part of their plan. They've bought up a tremendous amount of acreage in a rural area and then sold it to the Chinese at an enormous profit. Next, they will cooperate with the Chinese in building a large red factory, once Ferrell gets those nettlesome EPA regulations out of the way, and bring in Chinese workers at fifty cents an hour. They will call it "insourcing." That's a pretty clever fantasy, and there are more gags like it. Ferrell's opponent is Zach Galifianakis, a naive Southrin schlub who manages to collect all the documents needed to run against Ferrell, who is a shoe-in.

What follows may not be what you'd expect. The contest between the idealistic schlub and the arrogant professional politician doesn't gradually devolve into mud slinging. As in real life, it BEGINS with dirt. Ferrell's campaign runs an attack ad showing a photo-shopped picture of Saddam Hussein with mustache, black beret, shades, and uniform. As the voice-over lambastes Galifianakis, the items are whipped away from the image, one by one, until Galifianakis' face appears. They have the mustache in common, as the voice-over points out.

When his candidacy is about to be taken seriously, Galifianakis queries his wife and two children over the dinner table. They are going to receive intense scrutiny from the media and he wants to know if there are any secrets they've been hiding, any skeletons in their closets that might damage his campaign. Their initial innocent confessions grow into the most abhorrent abominations.

But then there is a certain amount of silliness, not so much in the dialog but in the slapstick scenes, such as the one in which a desperate Ferrell is courting the vote of a snake-handling cult and is bitten by a rattlesnake. The psychedelic effects aren't amusing, but a later glimpse of his forearm, purple and swollen to the size of Popeye's, is.

The happy ending seems grafted on to a much more effective story. The writers and director should have gone the "Dr. Strangelove" route and lived with the consequences of what they've already demonstrated. It also seems rushed at time, but it's still pretty amusing.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The first third or so was awesome, then clichés appeared...

Author: Bene Cumb from Estonia
5 September 2013

... and brought towards a predictable solution... But the start-up was nice and funny: bunch of good / very good comedy actors, lots of political satire and politically incorrect jokes and topics, fast events with funny lines, but gradually the "tire started to deflate" and many slow and unnecessary scenes and moments appeared. Luckily, the total length is around 1,5 hours, so nothing become really annoying...

The two protagonists Will Ferrell as Camden "Cam" Brady and Zach Galifianakis as Martin "Marty" Huggins are, of course, wonderful, but they are pleasant supported by so-called older generation of comedy actors such as John Lithgow and Dan Aykroyd; female characters, however, are sketchy and I can't say I will remember the actresses when appearing in other movies.

Nevertheless, it is a good political comedy as events-thoughts depicted take place in many countries - verbosity, greed and semblance seem to the be universal phenomena within politics. Soon, in my country, local elections will take place, and it would be witty to show The Campaign to them planning to go to the polling stations...

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Laugh out Loud funny

Author: bengej from Cincinnati, OH
16 February 2013

This movie without question was my favorite comedy of 2012! I laughed so hard at this movie because it takes both political parties and shows their flaws, and reminds us as viewers that no one is perfect. If this movie offends you, you're likely someone who cannot take a joke. If you allow yourself to not make it democrats vs. republicans then you'll enjoy the movie a lot more. So give this a chance and if you are fans of these actors, I promise you'll love this movie.

Carry on moviegoers and don't forget to take a break a let yourself lol from time to time

-Jennifer Benge

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Watered-down look at Politics....

Author: poe426 from USA
13 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Investigative journalist Greg Palast (VULTURE'S PICNIC), in a lecture titled WHY WE OCCUPY, points out that there's "no First Amendment in England." Palast, whose exposes are "front page news all over the world- except HERE," suggests that We (Americans) can "loan them OURS, since we're not using it." THE CAMPAIGN, coming as it does well after the fact, doesn't really amount to much: it's little more than an extended television skit. It would've been helpful had it come along, say, a decade ago, when what Amy Goodman calls THE SILENCED MAJORITY had been effectively silenced by the two-headed but One Party Political System that rules this country. A cameo by Ms. Goodman or Chris Hedges or Palast or any one of a dozen other noteworthy Truthsayers would've gone a long way to making THE CAMPAIGN watchable; instead, what we get is mostly low-brow slapstick that only underscores the kind of programming we're seeing in this company- er, country- these days. It would've been good to see villainaires like Pat Robertson (the televangelist whose diamond mines in Africa were being guarded by alleged cannibal-murderer Charles Taylor) taken to task. There are a lot of crooks involved in politics; THE CAMPAIGN doesn't even BEGIN to mine the heavily-fertilized field.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The Campaign: I Vote Funny

Author: RyanKoenig from United States
8 November 2012


The movie "The Campaign " was a good movie for plain entertainment especially for people who like simple plots to follow and humor.

I enjoyed this movie because it had comedy. Comedy from my perspective is one of themes that would make a movie great and this movie had it. This movie was good in comedy perspective because some of the actors were put in scenarios were they had to things that were funny and also had crude humor; I also enjoy crude humor so that is another reason why I enjoyed this movie. Also for a fun fact it showed that most people that were 18 and younger enjoyed it more and which might say that younger will enjoy it better .

Additionally, I enjoyed the plot of the movie because is was easy to follow and comprehend. Also the plot made it easy to enjoy the other parts of the movie like the humor part, even the somewhat serious, and also serious moments that had been put into the film. For the people who like really big plots and hard plots to follow I'm sorry but this is film would not be recommended for you. In conclusion to this paragraph, I would say that people who would like easy plots and crude comedy this would be a film for you.

Although this film would not be good for children especially for the inappropriate behavior that have been shown in this film. I thought that the film was a little to short than what I expected. The film was all of the same comedy and didn't change much during the film, but that was sort of expected,and exceeded my expectations for the crude jokes in this film. To finish this paragraph I would say that children should not see this.

On the other hand, I did enjoy the star actors who were Will Ferrel, Zack Galifinakis , and Jason Sudeikis. I Especially enjoyed Will Ferrel and Zack Galifinakis because they are always good at comedy and making me laugh and enjoy the movie. I also have to give a thanks to the director Jay Roach who came up with the idea to make this good movie. I believe he made a good decision to add those actors especially for their reputation and being good reputations.

In conclusion, I did indeed enjoy this movie because it had comedy which I enjoyed and a plot that was easy to follow, but would not recommend to children. I you want to see this movie and have a sense for crude humor and easy plot this is a must see movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 3 of 18: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history