IMDb > The Campaign (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Campaign
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Campaign More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 180 reviews in total 

8 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

A Decent Comedy! Ferrell & Galifianakis deliver Superbly!

7/10
Author: nama chakravorty from India
26 October 2012

Jay Roach's 'The Campaign' is A Decent Comedy, that offers genuine laughs in the goings-on. And, Ferrell & Galifianakis deliver Superbly!

'The Campaign' Synopsis: In order to gain influence over their North Carolina district, two CEOs seize an opportunity to oust long-term congressman Cam Brady by putting up a rival candidate. Their man: naive Marty Huggins, director of the local Tourism Center.

'The Campaign' is undeniably funny, I laughed & enjoyed myself. The film serves its purpose. Chris Henchy & Shawn Harwell's Screenplay is funny & crisp. Jay Raoch's Direction is satisfactory. Cinematography & Editing are alright.

Ferrell & Galifianakis are up for vie top honors. The Comedic Veterans are hilarious in their respective parts & go head to head from start to end. Among the supporting cast, Jason Sudeikis is first-rate. Brian Cox, John Lithgow & Dan Aykroyd are excellent.

On the whole, 'The Campaign' works.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 35 people found the following review useful:

The Campaign (2012) - He Just Punched a Baby!

7/10
Author: nickmesafilms (nickmesafilms@yahoo.com) from United States
24 August 2012

Two comedic favorites Will Ferrell and Zach Galifanakis finally share the screen together in "The Campaign". Although being casted in their usual and cliché roles; Ferrell as a competitive mindless idiot that's considered the best at everything, and Galifanakis as a weird, but likable sweater vest-wearing dork; these two still share a decent chemistry in a movie that's although not a perfect comedy as you'd expect it to be, it's still a pretty decent comedy, that consistently hits the funny bone, sometimes in the right places. Ferrell plays Cam Brady, a presidential candidate that has never lost a single campaign in his life, and is now running for the fifth term. But then, out of the blue, to actually give Brady some competition, Galifanakis' Marty Huggins is volunteered to run for Congress. It then leads into one of the deadliest campaigns ever seen on the face of the earth. Although "The Campaign" doesn't reach the level of complete comedic gold, director Jay Roach was able to bring in some consistent funny moments that are more worthy of a giggle, rather than "bursting to tears" kind of laughs. I was really expecting more from Will Ferrell, who seems to be tiring in his cliché role, and I felt that it was really hard to feel sympathy for this character, because he's the only un-likable person throughout. I guess I had more sympathy for Galifanakis' character, because not only was he funny, but he was also the only person that I actually cared about. But aside from the two male leads, Jason Sudeikis, Dylan McDermott, John Lithgow, Dan Aykroyd, and Brian Cox round up the supporting cast, most of them delivering some decent enough performances. I say most of them, because Dylan McDermott's contribution as Marty's campaign manager seemed wasted in the role, and didn't really steal the scenes as everyone said he would. I honestly think that this guy wasn't really that funny. Although half of the jokes sadly fall flat, the other half is filled with one hilarious scene after the next. From the scene with Marty Huggin's family at the dinner table, to Cam accidentally punching a baby at a campaign party. This proves that there are scenes that help save this movie from being a bad one. Although at it's noticeable flaws, "The Campaign" is still a decent and pretty funny movie that has a clear perspective on what it was trying to be. "The Campaign", in my review, "laughable and enjoying, but hardly anything special".

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Excellent Parody of U.S. Politics

8/10
Author: speedy-droid from san josé, costa rica
9 June 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The Campaign is one of the best comedies that I have ever seen. You definitely have to watch this movie in context, and see past the obvious, crass, junior-high-school humor. Most of the real humor is buried deep within this film. A few subtle points, just to get you started:

1) Labrador Retrievers (dogs) did NOT originate in the USA. Pugs are from China, but were bred long before China was under Communist rule.

2) The car that Cam Brady drives is made in Canada.

3) Cam Brady parts his hair to the Left... Marty Huggins parts his hair to the Right.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Deeply Funny Political Satire!

9/10
Author: g-bodyl from United States
17 February 2014

Now I'm not the one for politics and in fact, I despise politics on a whole. However, I found "The Campaign" to be a wildly funny affair. There is plenty of over-the-top humor here to satisfy comedy fans and of course the big laughs here involves a certain conversation around a dinner table as well as a baby. As a political movie, the film plays it pretty safe as both the Left and the Right are only moderately poked at.

Jay Roach, known for his brilliant work with Austin Powers and Meet the Fockers, returns to direct this film. Cam Brady has been a North Carolina congressman for several terms now and is on the verge of securing another term. But, he ends up running against a Marty Huggins, who happens to be the candidate no one expects to be running for office.

Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis are both very funny here and they seem to feed off each other's energy. This is Ferrell's funniest film since Step Brothers and he just has scene after scene with end up as laugh riots. Galifinakis is really good too despite being somewhat type-casted. But the golden moments are when these two are on screen, going at it with each other.

Overall, this is a really funny film and funnier than I anticipated. I tend to avoid political films, but since this film has no agenda rather than to poke fun at politics, I was all for this. My fear was that the trailer gave many points away, but be prepared for some unexpected jokes. This is a very funny movie. I rate this film 9/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Not Funny. Rauncy. I will never learn

1/10
Author: (bob-rutzel-1) from United States
7 November 2012

There are two candidates for a Senate seat: Incumbent Cam Brady (Will Ferrell) and challenger Marty Huggins (Zach Galifianakis). Billed as a comedy, but no comedy showed up. However, a lot of raunch did.

The promos led me to watch this raunchy excuse for comedy. I will never learn. The promos weren't funny either but gave the impression that this "could" be good. It wasn't. Hey, they don't show you the raunchy stuff in the promos. This was raunchy from the word "go." I know there is an audience for this type of "comedy" and we keep waiting for these people to grow up. Not going to happen. I will never learn.

Will Ferrell is not funny, never has been. And, will someone please tell me why everyone is so high on Zach Gilifianakis. I don't get it at all.

But, the real culprit here is the script and combined with two of the most unfunniest people on the planet, this doesn't deserve the ink on any review. End of story. (1/10)

Violence: Not really. Sex: Yes. Nudity: Yes, a nipple is exposed. Language: Yes, many F-bombs.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Why!

1/10
Author: apb216 from United States
12 June 2013

I am a HUGE Will Ferrell fan as well as Zack G, so I can't really blame myself for having high expectations. This movie was a complete disaster. I don't like politics to begin with, and was hoping to get a good laugh at them mocking politicians. They seemed like they would be a comedy dream team, but I ended up laughing maybe a total of two times in the entire (and seemingly never-ending) movie. I fell asleep at the end, which I almost never do. I just gave up hoping for it to end up being good. It literally seemed to drag on and on, and Will looked like he knew it wasn't good and was trying hard to make up for it by pulling out all his comedy bag of tricks. I don't know how this ended up into such a terrible mess of a movie but I tell everyone that loves Will Ferrell like I do to not watch it as it might ruin their opinion of him.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Let me understand...

1/10
Author: folkloro from Greece
21 April 2013

It is a common secret that Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis do not have the quality of Peter Sellers or Jack Lemon. However, they do have the ability to make you laugh(if you do not have very serious demands of what you see). Unfortunately, "The Campaign" proved that you have to think more than twice if you want to spend a couple of hours watching films with these guys. Not, because they are untalented (even if their talents are not vast), but because they are type-casted as protagonists in movies addressed to toddlers. Ferrell does what he normally does, mugging and shouting without any reason justified by the "plot"...Galifianakis is much more consistent to his role but the script seems to be written in one evening, following the typical formula of modern Hollywood "comedies", which are produced with no sense of what cinema really is and with the meaning of talent in total absence. I'm sure that even an 8 year old child could produce a much more clever story than this. Please let me understand why this film was shot. Will anybody of the participants can feel proud of it at the future or it will be unforgettable? I m sure that there are thousands of comedies much better than this, even with less than the 1% of the budget used for "The Campaign".

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

"The Campaign" Is Incredibly Disappointing. One of the Worst Films I Have Ever Seen.

1/10
Author: derekdiercksmeier from United States
22 October 2012

"The Campaign" is truly atrocious. If you watch this film, you will be disappointed. It sounds like it would be hard to go wrong with a cast that includes Will Ferrell, Zach Galifinakis, Jason Sudeikis, John Lithgow, and Dylan McDermott and a director like Jay Roach who has experience with both silly comedy ("Austin Powers in Goldmember") and mature political dramas ("Game Change" and Recount"). It went wrong. This film was torture to sit through. My expectations were high for "The Campaign" and were immediately lowered. I wanted a sharp political satire and received a low-brow farce made with absolutely no intelligence. The plot is almost nonexistent. Two candidates compete for votes and constantly try to destroy each other. The film mean-spirited, nasty, stupid, and 100% laugh-free. The brilliant Jack McBrayer is utterly wasted in a raunchy scene that makes you realize that you've wasted your money. Will Ferrell once again plays an exponentially exaggerated frat boy and Zach Galifinakis is nothing more than a crass homophobic stereotype. The one and only good performance is Dylan McDermott as a ruthless campaign strategist named Tim Whatley (the name of a dentist on Seinfeld) The ending totally reverses what the rest of the film has established, not that it gets better. the film starts out as a raunchy and tasteless farce and ends on a trite and sentimental note. "The Campaign" is a truly horrendous film.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A lack of Art and a Lot of Quasi-porn

2/10
Author: carpedtm from United States
15 September 2012

The film had a chance to be a thoughtful satire on the societal impact of money on politics and issues such as the outsourcing of American jobs, not to mention the growing separation between the political class and the public.

It settled for a host of clichés.

Instead, it contented itself in pandering to elite prejudices. Christians and Southerners are ignorant, and they are hypocrites. Their children, are even more ignorant and more perverse.

MSNBC and CNN make cameo appearances lending their support to these notions.

The language is unnecessarily crude,lewd and indecent. I am no prude, but this film often seemed just a lot of tasteless potty talk masquerading as humor.

Too bad. There are one or two clever skits. Net Net: Don't waste your money. I was once a Democrat. Later a Republican, still conservative with a small "c." I am a registered independent.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Piece of Crap

1/10
Author: paulkersey873 from Ann Arbor, MI
1 January 2013

A few cheap laughs in this movie but ultimately it's a piece of garbage. This is what you get from Hollywood, these days, when the subject matter is "politics". The "film" is set in North Carolina so you get the typical NYC/LA stereotype that everyone from that state is a bible thumping, gun toting booger eating inbred moron. And Will Farrell's obscene character? More of the same. I know this was intended to be an over-the-top farce but it contains no wit, no real humor, and nothing clever; just non-stop gutter jokes. Of course, the moral of the story is that evil corporations, the republicans, and money are the root of all evil. This movie accurately represents the intellect, morality, and character of Hollywood today. It's basically waste that should be flushed.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 2 of 18:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history