Apollo 18 (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Add a Review
330 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
Faux space documentary better than predicted
Richard Bellamy20 September 2011
Framed as leaked "found footage" from the era of space exploration in the 1970s, Apollo 18 is an attempt to out conspiracy the already rife conspiracy theories concerning the lunar landings. The trouble with framing something as being documentary style footage is you have to get the science right and be free from any loopholes that might break the audience out of the illusion. Apollo 18 falls short on this count. López-Gallego manages to recreate to a certain extent the lunar missions. Portrayed through the various cameras feeding live footage back to Earth we have a Big Brother style look into the doomed from the start space mission. The two man crew of the lunar lander also film themselves on 16mm cameras. Herein lies some of the flaws in the director's logic. We need to get into the character's perspective to relate. This is solely done through these 16mm cameras. They film themselves on the moon's surface as well as personal records in the module. The rest is all caught on remote cameras, the audience being allowed to see the threat before the crew do, privy to the danger the Department of Defence has exposed them to. The live footage makes sense to have been documented; however the 16mm film rolls do not make it out, they share the crews dire fate. How then are we seeing the actions of the crew amidst this found footage? It makes no sense pulling any reasonably astute watcher beyond the line of suspension of disbelief.

It seems clear López-Gallego wants us to care about the cast. We need to care for the conspiracy theory to resonate. The story very directly harks into the era of Watergate where the powers that be cannot be trusted. But his illusion of found footage does not stand up at all well. Does the story really fail on this account? No. It's actually fairly entertaining as it goes. The tension builds; the threat is revealed and played out. However the conspiracy theme and the documentary framing lend the film no real benefit and do not pay off. While there is reams of data on the films website to build the conspiracy it is not present enough on screen to sideline the notion we are victim to a none to subtle slight of hand.

What the film did do with the early footage was remind me why, as a child, I was so fascinated with space. It shows with sufficient realism what the actual Apollo astronauts did and how we as a planet reached for the stars. This is not history as it tries to suggest, but it is a reminder, to me at least, of how sad it is that we no longer pursue such epic destinations as the moon or beyond.
59 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
In space, no one can hear you yawn....
MartianTom4 September 2011
...and I hope the people next to me in the cinema couldn't hear me yawning, which I started doing after about half-way.

These 'found footage' movies have varied over the years, since The Blair Witch Project kicked it all off. I had mixed feelings about that, but overall I felt it was an effective chiller: what's NOT seen is often so much scarier. Cloverfield, for me, remains at the top of the list, while the PA films are way down.

Apollo 18 isn't far from the bottom, either. The premise was intriguing, and I genuinely expected some sort of development in the genre - something like a cross between Blair Witch and Alien. What I got was 90 minutes of predictability and disappointment. The sense of isolation and claustrophobia was well done, but little else. I felt some sense of a tension build-up for perhaps a half-hour - but then it dissipated once the nature of the 'horror' became apparent.

I came away feeling that here was a great opportunity missed. It's worth seeing for the technical excellence and attention to detail. Just don't expect to see anything new - or anything that'll frighten the pants off you.
156 out of 239 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Really enjoyed this
natalie johnson6 September 2011
I'd been looking forward to this film for months after seeing a poster for it. The concept of a secret 18th mission to the moon drew me in instantly. After hearing a few mutterings from critics though, I was a little worried it might not be quite the film I wanted it to be. However, after seeing it tonight I'm happy to report that it's just what I expected :)

I'm a fan of The Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity and this film fits into that genre.

The special effects are brilliant. At no point did I believe they weren't on the moon. Which is daft, but honestly, they were great. The feeling of impending doom and isolation was quite palpable and I tell you this, I can't remember jumping back in my seat so much in ANY film before at certain bits!

All in all a good solid film.
82 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
I enjoyed it
robin bonathan6 September 2011
I was nearly put off seeing it by some of the reviews here.

SO I thought twice about seeing it, however I like sci-fi so had to watch.

The plot is well covered in other reviews.

Yes the style is different but it is in keeping with the moon landing and pictures taken at the time. Its all filmed as though done through the hand-held moon cameras.

Some reviews said actors were wooden but that is the whole point, they are supposed to be normal people (well as normal as any astronauts ) can be.

The test for me is :-

Would I watch it again, yes
81 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Not very satisfactory, but moderately interesting
Argemaluco7 October 2011
I think that the current trend of the "pseudo-documentaries" in the horror genre obeys to two main factors: first, it allows the addition of a stylish variation to all those rancid and stale formulas which seemed worn by such a repetition (like the masked killer, haunted house, "torture-porn", etc.), which acquire a varnish of innovation when they are disguised as "true events". And in second place, this trend allows the making of movies with an intentionally bad manufacture, something which is simple when there are not too many available resources. After all, why worrying about the illumination, the cinematography or the "mise en scéne", when they can simply put a group of amateur actors in front of the camera and call that "documentary"? Sure, there have been some pseudo-documentaries which took advantage of the opportunity to create something interesting (like REC and Lake Mungo); but most of those films take that as an excuse to lower the standards of the genre even more (Paranormal Entity might be the clearest example). I think that the film Apollo 18 is on some intermediate point between both extremes, because even though I found its screenplay absurd, repetitive and occasionally a bit tiring, it generally kept me moderately entertained because of the realism of its "verité" aesthetic and the attention to every detail shown on its production.

The screenplay from Apollo 18 is something like an hybrid of Alien, Sunshine and Moon, even though with all the fantastic elements reduced in order to increment the realism from the story. That might be the main reason why the film did not leave me very satisfied, and it even bored me a little bit during its most "exciting" moments. The trailers of Apollo 18 promised a horror film, but the truth is that it lacks of the necessary impact in order to provoke an emotional or even visceral impact. Even the "scares" feel forced in the documentary context (not to mention the difficulty of accepting the fact that the characters keep filming when any sensible person would have dropped the camera in front of the first sign of danger). Another problem is that the performances feel bland and not very credible. It was undoubtedly a good decision to pick unknown faces not to ruin the "realistic" premise, but I think they should have picked actors with more talent and charisma.

Having said all that, I have to give Apollo 18 a slight recommendation because of its solid recreation of the lunar mission. The version of the Moon presented by the movie might not be totally faithful from the scientific point of view, but it is more than enough for us to accept the premise and visually transport us to the satellite we had only seen in brief clips from the NASA and in sci-fi movies which had only showed various stones on a sandy field. I know that I should not be giving a movie even a slight recommendation only because of its special effects, but they are so good in this movie that I am going to make an exception, also stating the fact that the movie achieves a few good moments of tension during the first half. However, I regret the fact that the visual talent from this film could not adorn a better (and more terrifying) story.
40 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A surprisingly effective slow-burn...
drew_atreides2 September 2011
Have to admit i've been excited about the concept of this movie since i read about it about 7 months back... However, i also have to admit that, given it's release date, I was a bit worried that it would wind up a stinker...

I went in with adjusted expectations, wanting to enjoy it but also preparing for the worst..

I'm happy to say that it winds up a pretty effective little conspiracy- theory chiller..

The producers really do a great job of building tension in this closeted, isolated atmosphere, to an agonizing crescendo and then delivering with some truly horrific imagery.

Really wound up liking this one.
155 out of 244 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Lame Movie
Claudio Carvalho9 December 2013
In the early 70's, Commander Nathan Walker (Lloyd Owen), Captain Ben Anderson (Warren Christie) and Lieutenant Colonel John Grey (Ryan Robbins) are assigned in a secret mission to the Moon to protect the USA from USSR using detectors. Nathan and Ben land on the Moon in the Liberty module while John stays in orbit in the module Freedom. They collect rock samples and bring them to the Liberty. They also find footprints and the body of a Soviet cosmonaut on the Moon. Soon they hear weird noises and they find that they are not alone in the satellite.

"Apollo 18" is a lame movie that uses the exhausted formula of finding footage and filmed in the standard of "The Blair Witch Project". The result is a boring movie with awful footages and edition. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): "Apollo 18"
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Wop wop waaaaah.
sierradittrich6 September 2011
My husband I looked forward to this movie for a long time. The day we went to go see it, curiosity got the better of me and I looked up some reviews, about 75-80% of which were bad, so I warned him and we went in with some low expectations. I think it is because we had pre-adjusted the expectations that we weren't more disappointed. We did leave the theater feeling unsatisfied and just really underwhelmed.

Our main issue with the movie was that astronauts are chosen for their intelligence (obviously) as well as their ability to hand extremely stressful situations, and the characters in this film failed at both of those things. They were faced with several serious choices throughout the film, and we both felt like the choices they made were so poor that even WE would have done better. Add onto this major suspension of disbelief issue a lot of boring 'what the hell is going on' footage and very few actually suspenseful moments, and top it off with a really badly cg'd sequence at the end of the film that just flat out wasn't necessary, and you've got this movie.

The acting wasn't bad, and the sets were fine, just the plot had trouble getting off the ground, kind of flopped around like a dying fish, then finally died. Even during the tense parts I did find my mind wandering in the direction of 'what time is it? How much longer?'
142 out of 233 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Good historical fiction, not a fantastic horror film
choergel2 September 2011
I admit, it is not terribly scary, but it uses a fairly original (comparatively speaking) filming mechanic in the found footage style and is, aside from the space aliens, a believable film with good acting, very few historical inaccuracies, mostly natural dialogue and a good bit of tension. Being admittedly biased in that I was more concerned whether they would remember that the astronauts had to depressurize as to not get the bends than whether it was frightening, I may give it a higher rating than most would think it deserves but I most definitely enjoyed myself.

All in all it was a nice historical fiction about finding something sinister on the moon because of a continued space race, assuming you can respect a more minimal film on a modest budget. Not really for a fan of horror movies. Perhaps if someone could create a genre name for "historical science fiction/tense drama/horror" (in that order), a "histscifitdramhor" if you will.
40 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Don't believe the hype
rupej-12 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
The previews made 'Apollo 18' seem as if it had some real promise. Secret mission to the moon, massive government cover-up, something unknown lurking on our nearest neighbor. A group of friend and I thought this would be a sure-fire good time before we set out on a Friday night.

Don't believe the hype...This movie turned out to a bad 80 minute mix of 'John Carpenter's: The Thing' (gets better with age) and 'Blair Witch Project' (not so much) set on the Moon. There were only four of us in the theater and we couldn't wait to leave, and the reason we lasted the length of the movie was to see if there was some deus ex machina that would save the film at the end...

But there wasn't...Worst movie I've seen in a theater!

If you want to bore yourself for 80 minutes, watch some grass grow and save yourself $10.
101 out of 167 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A very good movie.
paytonprovo25 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I was looking forward to this movie so much. I got what I wanted too. Apollo 18 was an exciting movie that I thought was one of the best this year. It had a very good plot, good acting, good aliens and good suspense. The plot is about 3 astronauts 1 stays in an orbit ship and 2 go on to the moon. The two on the moon start to get weird interference and strange signs around their camp. Towards the end of the film One of the astronauts gets infected by an alien. They attempt to escape but their ship breaks down. So they go to a Russian ship. On the way the infected astronaut gets lost. The other one gets to the Russian ship. The astronaut in orbit gets ordered to leave the astronauts on the moon. Toasted the end end of the movie the last astronaut on the moon launches the sip to meet the one in orbit. The aliens get into the ship of the astronaut launching and he dies. Then his ship launching crashes into the astronaut in orbit and the movie ends. The aliens were very good. They were the rocks which was perfect cause the moon is all rocks. This was a very good movie and I recommend it to anyone who likes sci-fi, horror, suspense, and action.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
much better then thought it was going be
atinder2 October 2012
Seen this now, i don't know why, I have been avoiding this one over the year. I was expecting it to be really dull and boring movie..

It was not as boring as I thought it was going to be, well start of slow like all the other found footage movies then gets going before the half hour mark.

I found really enjoyable for most of part of the movie, there was decent amount of Jumps scene in this movie. some jumps scene worked and some missed the mark a little.

The acting was really good from small cast crew, the ending was really predicable.

As I had low expectation of this movie, I found it much better then thought it was going be, not one of best Found footage movies, Decent movie for this genre 5 out of 10
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
here's what you need to know
wolfhorse31 December 2011
Okay here is what u need to know about this movie. Not worth paying for at the movies. If I had to sit in a theater for this I'd be mad but at home OK. BUT worth it for Pay per view or to rent. If you liked Blair witch and like science fiction, you will like, not love, this. If you're older and hate Blair witch, the nostalgia of the moon landings will carry you thru. pretty good movie tho not great.

my goal is to give reviews that let u know what your in for, not nitpick and discuss film techniques,directors, or show my "expertise" in film making. just tell ya if it's a stinker or not.

and to make my minimum ten lines it's good not great. time killer but worth watching.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Interesting Sci-Fi movie
risteen5912 November 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Decades-old found footage from NASA's abandoned Apollo 18 mission.

Where two American astronauts were sent on a secret expedition.

Reveals the reason the U.S. has never returned to the moon.

The film is as close as you can get to a NASA film Good acting by all actors.

Sets & designs are excellent.

Special effects are good.

The movie plays more on the unknown of space with the mood of the actors.

The ending is expected.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Interesting film, bad ending.
projectmanster6 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I'm a total sci-fi, horror, and alien movie fiend. Aliens have always fascinated me. The simple idea of them existing, all the different designs of them throughout film history, I love it. So this movie, for me, was a no brainer. I won't say that I was disappointed by the entire film, but the last 20 - 30 minutes pretty much ruined it.

I won't explain the entire plot, mostly because all the reviews I read already covered it. I, unlike some people, enjoy the technique of slowly and suspensefuly drawing out the reveal of the monster/creature whatever. Two of my favorites are "Super 8" and "Cloverfield", and they played off your imagination and growing desire to see the menace. Whereas "Super 8" and "Cloverfield" utilized this, when we finally get to see the creature up close it's a powerful moment. "Apollo 18" tries its butt off to do this, but fails miserably. For one, the reveal is FAR too short, letting us see the moon menaces for about 2 seconds in the whole damn film. Seriously. And, as others have said, they are almost laughably ridiculous. There is absolutely NO explanation as to why these friendly astronauts are being attacked. They didn't mess with the creatures, or anything. They aren't even the type of beings who could eat humans.

Maybe all of this would've been able to be looked over, if only we were given any sort of time with them. Too bad, cause it coulda been really good.
37 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Conspiracy Fun
soybean-reed26 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This is one of my favorite movies. Not for the action scenes or the story, but for the Conspiracy aspect. I love watching movies where the government screws over the main character. I'm not going to have the same opinion on this as everybody else but this movie is a gold mine for conspiracy. Why we went to the moon in the first place isn't clear at all, and this movie puts a sci-fi twist to the events on the moon. "There's a reason why we never went back" That is a awesome idea. If you are a fan of movies that get you thinking about real life events this is the perfect one for you. I can't get enough of the idea that we didn't go back because of E.T beings. Now I don't plan on getting into the idea of E.T. but who says we have to be the only beings in the universe? It's a big place, and the moon is the perfect setting. I also love the idea that when we brought back some of the alien rocks we gave them to foreign dignitaries, and that they were "stolen or lost"
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Whole Other World of Horror
Bethany11 September 2011
Intelligently made, this film combines camera-work similar to that used in Paranormal Activity and Cloverfield. Simplistic in its plot, the film really does boast some very frightening, nail-biting scenes. Not for the faint hearted, it also amplifies the smallest and most rational of fears into something chilling and blood-curdlingly frightening, playing on the fear that something is wrong, something is out there.

Although the film has its faults, namely near the end when the viewer is unsure as to which person's camera is being used, this can add to the feel of the film, reflecting the mindset of the equally disorientated characters.

The film could be slightly more emotional than it is, but it is after all a horror.

Leaving you with something to think about at the end gives the film an edge that makes you remember it for a while after.

If you liked Paranormal Activity or Cloverfield, then this film is definitely for you, giving you a good dose of mind-jolting jumps when you least expect them. This film is definitely worth the watch and will have you jumping out of your skin.
41 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Genuinely Creepy Sci-Fi Chiller
zardoz-132 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Watching Spanish director Gonzalo López-Gallego's conspiracy theory science fiction thriller "Apollo 18" reminded me of director Peter Hyams' 1978 sci-fi melodrama "Capricorn One" starring Elliot Gould, James Brolin, Sam Waterston, and O.J. Simpson. In "Capricorn One," when NASA had to scrub the first Mars landing, the space agency decided to fake it. Things grow complicated when the astronauts refuse to participate in the cover-up, and they are hunted down and killed. In "Apollo 18," the Pentagon dictates policy for the next mission to the Moon, but they keep everything shrouded in complete secrecy. "Apollo 18" resembles low-budget horror epics like "The Blair Witch Project" and the "Paranormal Activity" trilogy where the chills were captured on camera as they occur whether the characters are present or not. Apparently, everything that the "Apollo 18" crew shot with their video cameras got transmitted back to Mission Control because none of the spacecraft survived. According to the premise, not only did some anonymous individuals obtain access to these classified videos but they also edited the footage and then uploaded it to the Internet. The outcome of "Apollo 18" purports to be the reason that NASA never launched another Moon mission. Between the brooding opening and closing graphics about the Apollo program and the discovery of the footage, the action is suspensefully staged by López-Gallego, with realistic production values, atmospheric stock footage, and convincing performances. Warren Christie, Lloyd Owen, and Ryan Robbins play the doomed astronauts and register believably in their roles, especially Owen as the infected space man. Freshman scenarist Brian Miller and uncredited scribe Cory Goodman of "Priest" evoke genuine paranoia along the lines of the "Open Water" movies as our protagonists find themselves trapped literally between a rock and a hard place in this 86-minute, PG-13 rated opus.

Basically, the U.S. Department of the Defense blasts Lieutenant Colonel John Grey (Ryan Robbins of "Sanctuary"), Commander Nathan Walker (Lloyd Owen of "Miss Potter," and Captain Benjamin Anderson (Warren Christie of "Battlestar Galactica") into space to set-up several sophisticated detection devices on the Moon. Ostensibly, these detectors are designed to furnish the military with the most up-to-date, accurate intelligence about Soviet missile launches. Lieutenant Colonel Grey remains in the lunar orbiter nicknamed 'Freedom," while Commander Walker and Captain Anderson land the lunar module and establish a base camp with a rover. They do all the usual stuff, such like planting Old Glory and collecting Moon rocks. Later, inside the lunar module, they discover that somehow one of the rocks has gotten out of the sample collection bags. Meanwhile, something mysteriously interrupts their transmissions when they discuss their mission and later their predicament with NASA and then with the shady officials at the Pentagon. Indeed, our heroes encounter deadly aliens. These deadly aliens are not the variety that Hollywood usually serves up. They are unobtrusive and sneak up on the astronauts as they carry out their everyday chores. Nevertheless, what they lack in terms of a wicked appearance like the monsters in the "Alien" franchise, the "Predator" franchise, the "Species" trilogy, and the arachnoids in "Starship Troopers," these aliens make up for with sheer numbers and pugnacity. These are some nasty dastards, and they proliferate at the South Pole of the Moon. One of the aliens infiltrates Walker's suit and enters his torso. Anderson removes it and is puzzled by it. It appears to be a solid object without arms, legs, or a head. Our heroes go out for a ride and stumble onto the last thing that they could imagine that isn't either an alien or a monolith. The discovery that they make shakes the very foundation of their trust in both NASA and the Pentagon. Meanwhile, after the aliens attack, our heroes are told to remain where they are and perish as heroes because the Pentagon refuses to help them.

"Apollo 18" emerges as the kind of movie that you cannot reveal a lot about without spoiling the surprises. López-Gallego adopts the look and the feel of a documentary, and some of the footage appears to have been lensed as if it were designed for publicity news clips. The three man crew shoots most of the footage with NASA equipment while the on board NASA cameras and out-board Pentagon motion sensitive cameras record everything else. Indeed, despite the few opening moments during a family cook out, "Apollo 18" confines itself to three men. The action consists of astronauts performing their routine scientific chores in orbit around the Moon as well as on it. As far as they know, they are not expendable, but they learn later that they are not cleared to know everything important about the mission. The guys create a genuine sense of camaraderie. Their performances bristle with verve and nuance, particularly when Owen's Commander Walker goes bonkers. If you enjoy having the living daylights scared out of you by the sudden appearance of objects, aliens, and individuals, López-Gallego provides at least three solid examples, abetted in part by editor Patrick Lussier's shrewd cuts. The "Apollo 18" predators are not ostentatious, but they are nevertheless lethal. Mind you, Lionsgate Studio and López-Gallego are imitating the mockumentary marketing strategy of "The Blair Witch Project" to hype the film as the real McCoy. You would have to be hopelessly naïve to believe in such a premise. "The Los Angeles Times" has reported that NASA had nothing to do with "Apollo 18." Aside from the contrived circumstances under which the decades old footage eventually materializes, "Apollo 18" qualifies as a wonderfully creepy exercise in suspense and tension without a happy ending.
30 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Waste of time
films187626 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I had very high hopes for this film after seeing the trailer. However nothing could prepare me for the mind numbing boredom of what I was to endure. The "Found footage" aspect became rapidly became ridiculous after the first ten minutes when shots were edited seamlessly together from all the different cameras that were supposedly used. Apart from that obvious flaw the main thing that bothered me was that the film just was not scary. Over an hour into the film and nothing happens apart from some odd bangs and unexplained movements. The final 30 minutes seemed like an almost separate film as it felt tacked on to the end once they'd ran out of ideas. And the big finish they came up with?Crabs. Ooh terrifying space crabs!!! Scary stuff indeed. All the astronauts needed was some melted butter and a bit of lemon and problem solved. utter rubbish.
59 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Intense sci-fi horror thriller
sbarden11 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I really don't understand all of the bad reviews for this movie. I thought it was terrific. It makes great use of the natural creepiness of the moon, and brings a level of verisimilitude to the sci-fi horror genre by grounding it in an Apollo mission. The film quality - including the variance between clear video feeds and grainy footage - is true to the era of the Apollo missions, so that works as well. The men who play the three astronauts each give outstanding performances - subtle enough that they add to the realism, but intense when appropriate. The plot makes sense and unfolds as the movie progresses, so you gradually learn - as the astronauts do - why they are there and why they brought so many cameras. The suspense builds steadily, with a nice wallop at the end. And the creatures are about as terrifying as any I've seen in a film. True to the spirit of "found footage" type films, you never really understand the creatures fully, but their menace is clear. Not quite sure what the folks who panned this film were expecting, but for me this delivered the goods with style.
44 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Just What I Expected!
FredLL19504 September 2011
Today (Sunday, Sept. 4), I was contemplating going to see Apollo 18. But first I read the reviews here. Upon seeing so many negative ones and so few positive ones, I knew I wanted to see it for sure since I liked The Blair Witch Project and both Paranormal Activity movies. That being said, it was just about what I expected and I liked it a lot. It could have been better, but I wasn't disappointed. I thought the cast was very good. So if you liked previous "found or leaked footage" movies such as Blair Witch Project or the Paranormal Activity movies, don't miss this one! If you're not sure, wait until it comes out on DVD and rent it at Redbox for $1. It's worth a lot more than that!
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Claustrophobic horror
PhilipGHarris3 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
You're always concerned when there are a lack of reviews prior to a release and many may see this as a reason to avoid this film, however there is a lot to appreciate in this taught and claustrophobic horror.

The film uses many of the techniques cemented by Blair Witch so expect hand-cam action and, given its background, the footage is also filmed much like the moon landing footage. The reasons behind this are obvious as it allows the development team to avoid expensive special effects due to the quality of the footage.

Acting is also good. Given most main scenes are set in tight spaces the actors have to get the most out of their environments. They do this well, building on the feeling of being trapped by not one but two main enemies. In fact it is this doubt and then dawning realisation that they are simply pawns in a much bigger game which comes across best, and the growing understanding that they aren't going to be coming home.

Taking time to explain the reasons behind the mission, a reasonable launch date (to avoid prying eyes) and having obviously paid attention to footage from the other Apollo missions the plot moves well. There's enough going on at all times to keep you engaged.

In the end this is never going to be everyone's film. It's going to be compared to Blair Witch and will be disliked by those expecting a sci-fi effects fest. It isn't these things. It's just a well made horror/thriller that doesn't outlast its welcome.
20 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
i REALLY don't understand the hate
kanyecrs6 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
when i saw the trailer of this movie i was very excited. obviously i didn't expect it to be real footage, and by the reviews i thought this movie wouldn't be worth it.

i was wrong.

after i watched the movie i came back to check some of the user reviews and was very displeased. the only thing i do agree with is this: the film would have been much more solid if it didn't take the paranormal activity approach and used found footage. a solid camera would have been much better. but what you don't realize is that if it wasn't for that theme of "found footage" the entire movie would be pointless.

first thing i heard " you don't care about the characters, just because it shows a family film of them at the start of the film doesn't make you care. " Now here is where i REALLY disagree. throughout the entire film i cared very much for both characters and the 3rd one. the ending was spectacular, the actors played their roles very well. i was quite sad and felt bad for them as soon it began. another thing i hear is the plot holes. common folks, its a movie. some reviewer said "even i would've handled situations better. " you're obviously missing something. without spoiling anything let me just say THEY'RE everywhere. if you were on the moon alone with a partner, and you go through what they went through, then i'm very confident that you would NOT react any better than they did. what you also have to understand is that soon the guy does become infected so he can't control it. this film was excellent, it wasn't scary but it was very solid to me. the ending is great, the cast is wonderful and there's absolutely nothing wrong with the SFX. some guy said it cost 1.25 to make it all. I disagree, something like this would cost me hundreds of thousands of dollars to replicate. Consider watching this, it's great.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Brilliant Film that Transcends Sci-Fi Genre on Existential Level
LeeRoss116 January 2012
Spanish director Gonzalo Lopez-Gallego has brought a film of such profound beauty and depth to the screen that to categorize it as science fiction is to do a disservice to he as a director and the ingenious script by Brian Miller. Working with a limited budget, the gifted Lopez-Gallego makes superb use of what is available to him to create a excellent recreation of an Apollo moon lander which is essential to creating an atmosphere of realism and incredible suspense for him to work within. He also puts a largely unknown American cast through their paces as they deliver unforgettably moving performances in roles that veteran actors would die to play. Ultimately, it is Warren Christie who will be remembered forever as the American astronaut with the most to lose and who must bear the greatest existential burden outlined by the story. Those who came together as artists have produced a film that has the courage to confront difficult questions regarding life and death, truth and lies, and duty and conscience. There is really no other film to compare this unique work to because it is so stunningly original in both concept and execution. Some of the scenes involving the astronauts' bitter confrontation with the truth and the unknown force that threatens them are so intense are unlike anything ever filmed before. Low-budget, independent films seldom garner the attention and awards they deserve, even when Harvey Weinstein has placed his personal imprimatur upon them, so the Academy will most likely pay this work little mention at all. However, director Lopez-Gallego, screenwriter Brian Miller, and actors Warren Christie and Ryan Robbins are names we will be hearing a great deal of indeed in the future. Under other circumstances, there would certainly be nominations for the director, screenplay, and Christie for a performance that sets the screen afire with emotion and leaves audiences sobbing. The technical work done in expression of the hypnotic script is on a par with some of the outstanding special effects houses in America. It is a mystery why there is such a low rating here and the absence of mainstream reviewers' high praise. Once all involved with this motion picture ultimately achieve the recognition they deserve, you can be sure that Apollo 18 will be reappraised by those who have dismissed it and it will go on to become a famous piece of artistic brilliance that initially heralded the arrival of director Gonzalo Lopez-Gallego to the English language format and Brian Miller to the ranks of the truly legendary writers of truly fine scripts. There is little doubt that Warren Christie will become a household name when he is reevaluated on the basis of his acting here. Most importantly, do not deny yourself the honor and enjoyment you will experience when you view what is an overlooked masterpiece that has somehow been sadly overlooked. You will not soon forget it and the haunting questions and images it will leave you with.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
I found it hard to stay awake
cinny8510 July 2014
This is not a summary of the film, this is a review.

Before I watched this, I believed 2002's Gerry was the most boring film ever made. It took Hollywood 9 years to free Gerry from that title. Apollo is the most stretched out cliché story ever and without a climax to make it worth your time. The story is supposed to grab you and you are supposed to feel for the characters, but I felt nothing and people call me over sensitive. I am sure the actors are wonderful, but they did not get the chance to show their potential talents in this film. One can only hope that they'll get another chance to prove themselves because with this film on their résumé, they won't impress anyone any time soon. The only reason we watched the entire film is because a friend recommended the film to us and we were hoping the film would pick up at some point... it did not.

Spare yourself the disappointment and the realisation that you wasted 86 minutes of your life which could have been spent doing something more exciting.... like watching paint dry.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews