IMDb > Apollo 18 (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Apollo 18
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Apollo 18 More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 32:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 320 reviews in total 

138 out of 210 people found the following review useful:

In space, no one can hear you yawn....

3/10
Author: MartianTom from United Kingdom
4 September 2011

...and I hope the people next to me in the cinema couldn't hear me yawning, which I started doing after about half-way.

These 'found footage' movies have varied over the years, since The Blair Witch Project kicked it all off. I had mixed feelings about that, but overall I felt it was an effective chiller: what's NOT seen is often so much scarier. Cloverfield, for me, remains at the top of the list, while the PA films are way down.

Apollo 18 isn't far from the bottom, either. The premise was intriguing, and I genuinely expected some sort of development in the genre - something like a cross between Blair Witch and Alien. What I got was 90 minutes of predictability and disappointment. The sense of isolation and claustrophobia was well done, but little else. I felt some sense of a tension build-up for perhaps a half-hour - but then it dissipated once the nature of the 'horror' became apparent.

I came away feeling that here was a great opportunity missed. It's worth seeing for the technical excellence and attention to detail. Just don't expect to see anything new - or anything that'll frighten the pants off you.

Was the above review useful to you?

140 out of 223 people found the following review useful:

A surprisingly effective slow-burn...

8/10
Author: drew_atreides from Ontario, Canada
2 September 2011

Have to admit i've been excited about the concept of this movie since i read about it about 7 months back... However, i also have to admit that, given it's release date, I was a bit worried that it would wind up a stinker...

I went in with adjusted expectations, wanting to enjoy it but also preparing for the worst..

I'm happy to say that it winds up a pretty effective little conspiracy- theory chiller..

The producers really do a great job of building tension in this closeted, isolated atmosphere, to an agonizing crescendo and then delivering with some truly horrific imagery.

Really wound up liking this one.

Was the above review useful to you?

131 out of 207 people found the following review useful:

Wop wop waaaaah.

3/10
Author: sierradittrich from United States
6 September 2011

My husband I looked forward to this movie for a long time. The day we went to go see it, curiosity got the better of me and I looked up some reviews, about 75-80% of which were bad, so I warned him and we went in with some low expectations. I think it is because we had pre-adjusted the expectations that we weren't more disappointed. We did leave the theater feeling unsatisfied and just really underwhelmed.

Our main issue with the movie was that astronauts are chosen for their intelligence (obviously) as well as their ability to hand extremely stressful situations, and the characters in this film failed at both of those things. They were faced with several serious choices throughout the film, and we both felt like the choices they made were so poor that even WE would have done better. Add onto this major suspension of disbelief issue a lot of boring 'what the hell is going on' footage and very few actually suspenseful moments, and top it off with a really badly cg'd sequence at the end of the film that just flat out wasn't necessary, and you've got this movie.

The acting wasn't bad, and the sets were fine, just the plot had trouble getting off the ground, kind of flopped around like a dying fish, then finally died. Even during the tense parts I did find my mind wandering in the direction of 'what time is it? How much longer?'

Was the above review useful to you?

56 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

Faux space documentary better than predicted

Author: Richard Bellamy from United Kingdom
20 September 2011

Framed as leaked "found footage" from the era of space exploration in the 1970s, Apollo 18 is an attempt to out conspiracy the already rife conspiracy theories concerning the lunar landings. The trouble with framing something as being documentary style footage is you have to get the science right and be free from any loopholes that might break the audience out of the illusion. Apollo 18 falls short on this count. López-Gallego manages to recreate to a certain extent the lunar missions. Portrayed through the various cameras feeding live footage back to Earth we have a Big Brother style look into the doomed from the start space mission. The two man crew of the lunar lander also film themselves on 16mm cameras. Herein lies some of the flaws in the director's logic. We need to get into the character's perspective to relate. This is solely done through these 16mm cameras. They film themselves on the moon's surface as well as personal records in the module. The rest is all caught on remote cameras, the audience being allowed to see the threat before the crew do, privy to the danger the Department of Defence has exposed them to. The live footage makes sense to have been documented; however the 16mm film rolls do not make it out, they share the crews dire fate. How then are we seeing the actions of the crew amidst this found footage? It makes no sense pulling any reasonably astute watcher beyond the line of suspension of disbelief.

It seems clear López-Gallego wants us to care about the cast. We need to care for the conspiracy theory to resonate. The story very directly harks into the era of Watergate where the powers that be cannot be trusted. But his illusion of found footage does not stand up at all well. Does the story really fail on this account? No. It's actually fairly entertaining as it goes. The tension builds; the threat is revealed and played out. However the conspiracy theme and the documentary framing lend the film no real benefit and do not pay off. While there is reams of data on the films website to build the conspiracy it is not present enough on screen to sideline the notion we are victim to a none to subtle slight of hand.

What the film did do with the early footage was remind me why, as a child, I was so fascinated with space. It shows with sufficient realism what the actual Apollo astronauts did and how we as a planet reached for the stars. This is not history as it tries to suggest, but it is a reminder, to me at least, of how sad it is that we no longer pursue such epic destinations as the moon or beyond.

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 98 people found the following review useful:

Really enjoyed this

7/10
Author: natalie johnson from Nottingham
6 September 2011

I'd been looking forward to this film for months after seeing a poster for it. The concept of a secret 18th mission to the moon drew me in instantly. After hearing a few mutterings from critics though, I was a little worried it might not be quite the film I wanted it to be. However, after seeing it tonight I'm happy to report that it's just what I expected :)

I'm a fan of The Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity and this film fits into that genre.

The special effects are brilliant. At no point did I believe they weren't on the moon. Which is daft, but honestly, they were great. The feeling of impending doom and isolation was quite palpable and I tell you this, I can't remember jumping back in my seat so much in ANY film before at certain bits!

All in all a good solid film.

Was the above review useful to you?

97 out of 158 people found the following review useful:

Don't believe the hype

2/10
Author: rupej-1 from San Antonio
2 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The previews made 'Apollo 18' seem as if it had some real promise. Secret mission to the moon, massive government cover-up, something unknown lurking on our nearest neighbor. A group of friend and I thought this would be a sure-fire good time before we set out on a Friday night.

Don't believe the hype...This movie turned out to a bad 80 minute mix of 'John Carpenter's: The Thing' (gets better with age) and 'Blair Witch Project' (not so much) set on the Moon. There were only four of us in the theater and we couldn't wait to leave, and the reason we lasted the length of the movie was to see if there was some deus ex machina that would save the film at the end...

But there wasn't...Worst movie I've seen in a theater!

If you want to bore yourself for 80 minutes, watch some grass grow and save yourself $10.

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 102 people found the following review useful:

I enjoyed it

6/10
Author: robin bonathan from United Kingdom
6 September 2011

I was nearly put off seeing it by some of the reviews here.

SO I thought twice about seeing it, however I like sci-fi so had to watch.

The plot is well covered in other reviews.

Yes the style is different but it is in keeping with the moon landing and pictures taken at the time. Its all filmed as though done through the hand-held moon cameras.

Some reviews said actors were wooden but that is the whole point, they are supposed to be normal people (well as normal as any astronauts ) can be.

The test for me is :-

Would I watch it again, yes

Was the above review useful to you?

36 out of 52 people found the following review useful:

Not very satisfactory, but moderately interesting

6/10
Author: Argemaluco from Argentina
7 October 2011

I think that the current trend of the "pseudo-documentaries" in the horror genre obeys to two main factors: first, it allows the addition of a stylish variation to all those rancid and stale formulas which seemed worn by such a repetition (like the masked killer, haunted house, "torture-porn", etc.), which acquire a varnish of innovation when they are disguised as "true events". And in second place, this trend allows the making of movies with an intentionally bad manufacture, something which is simple when there are not too many available resources. After all, why worrying about the illumination, the cinematography or the "mise en scéne", when they can simply put a group of amateur actors in front of the camera and call that "documentary"? Sure, there have been some pseudo-documentaries which took advantage of the opportunity to create something interesting (like Cloverfield and Lake Mungo); but most of those films take that as an excuse to lower the standards of the genre even more (Paranormal Entity might be the clearest example). I think that the film Apollo 18 is on some intermediate point between both extremes, because even though I found its screenplay absurd, repetitive and occasionally a bit tiring, it generally kept me moderately entertained because of the realism of its "verité" aesthetic and the attention to every detail shown on its production.

The screenplay from Apollo 18 is something like an hybrid of Alien, Sunshine and Moon, even though with all the fantastic elements reduced in order to increment the realism from the story. That might be the main reason why the film did not leave me very satisfied, and it even bored me a little bit during its most "exciting" moments. The trailers of Apollo 18 promised a horror film, but the truth is that it lacks of the necessary impact in order to provoke an emotional or even visceral impact. Even the "scares" feel forced in the documentary context (not to mention the difficulty of accepting the fact that the characters keep filming when any sensible person would have dropped the camera in front of the first sign of danger). Another problem is that the performances feel bland and not very credible. It was undoubtedly a good decision to pick unknown faces not to ruin the "realistic" premise, but I think they should have picked actors with more talent and charisma.

Having said all that, I have to give Apollo 18 a slight recommendation because of its solid recreation of the lunar mission. The version of the Moon presented by the movie might not be totally faithful from the scientific point of view, but it is more than enough for us to accept the premise and visually transport us to the satellite we had only seen in brief clips from the NASA and in sci-fi movies which had only showed various stones on a sandy field. I know that I should not be giving a movie even a slight recommendation only because of its special effects, but they are so good in this movie that I am going to make an exception, also stating the fact that the movie achieves a few good moments of tension during the first half. However, I regret the fact that the visual talent from this film could not adorn a better (and more terrifying) story.

Was the above review useful to you?

54 out of 88 people found the following review useful:

Waste of time

1/10
Author: films1876 from United Kingdom
26 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I had very high hopes for this film after seeing the trailer. However nothing could prepare me for the mind numbing boredom of what I was to endure. The "Found footage" aspect became rapidly became ridiculous after the first ten minutes when shots were edited seamlessly together from all the different cameras that were supposedly used. Apart from that obvious flaw the main thing that bothered me was that the film just was not scary. Over an hour into the film and nothing happens apart from some odd bangs and unexplained movements. The final 30 minutes seemed like an almost separate film as it felt tacked on to the end once they'd ran out of ideas. And the big finish they came up with?Crabs. Ooh terrifying space crabs!!! Scary stuff indeed. All the astronauts needed was some melted butter and a bit of lemon and problem solved. utter rubbish.

Was the above review useful to you?

34 out of 51 people found the following review useful:

Interesting film, bad ending.

8/10
Author: projectmanster from United States
6 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm a total sci-fi, horror, and alien movie fiend. Aliens have always fascinated me. The simple idea of them existing, all the different designs of them throughout film history, I love it. So this movie, for me, was a no brainer. I won't say that I was disappointed by the entire film, but the last 20 - 30 minutes pretty much ruined it.

I won't explain the entire plot, mostly because all the reviews I read already covered it. I, unlike some people, enjoy the technique of slowly and suspensefuly drawing out the reveal of the monster/creature whatever. Two of my favorites are "Super 8" and "Cloverfield", and they played off your imagination and growing desire to see the menace. Whereas "Super 8" and "Cloverfield" utilized this, when we finally get to see the creature up close it's a powerful moment. "Apollo 18" tries its butt off to do this, but fails miserably. For one, the reveal is FAR too short, letting us see the moon menaces for about 2 seconds in the whole damn film. Seriously. And, as others have said, they are almost laughably ridiculous. There is absolutely NO explanation as to why these friendly astronauts are being attacked. They didn't mess with the creatures, or anything. They aren't even the type of beings who could eat humans.

Maybe all of this would've been able to be looked over, if only we were given any sort of time with them. Too bad, cause it coulda been really good.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 32:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history