IMDb > This Is 40 (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
This Is 40
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
This Is 40 More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 16 of 26: [Prev][11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [Next]
Index 251 reviews in total 

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

All about the soundtrack...

5/10
Author: Fernanda Antonio from United Kingdom
4 January 2013

I have given it 6 stars simply because of the superb soundtrack that goes from Ryan Adams to Yoko Ono, Norah Jones, Jon Brion and the ever so amazing Fiona Apple. But even with Fiona's great track Dull Tool at the movie's climax, it lacks spirit and generally fails to impress. The leads Leslie Man and Paul Rudd lack chemistry leaving us feeling uncomfortable at times with lack of emotional connection. The script is also left to desire, if you're married with kids such as myself, you may connect to some parts, but essentially it isn't funny and the performances are weak (apart from a great cameo from Melissa McCarthy) I sort of wish that with such an amazing soundtrack Apatow had done more with the movie taken it is such a promising amusing theme. I have however purchased the album and highly recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Smarter, funnier and more heart-felt than 'Knocked Up'

Author: The_Film_Cricket from Birmingham, Alabama
27 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

You have to wonder if writer-director Judd Apatow has seen the sad state of romantic comedies and determined to make it better. He succeeds where others fail. His comedies like The 40 Year-Old Virgin, Knocked Up and Forgetting Sara Marshall are remedies to all the recent limp, unfunny romantic comedies that are responsible for killing the genre. His films are a breath of fresh air, they are raunchy and loaded with sex jokes, but they are also warm, human and very funny. He has no contempt for his characters or the audience.

His latest film, This is 40, is a hysterically funny film that literally advertises itself as "A sort-of sequel to 'Knocked-Up'. Indeed it features the adventures of a married couple Peter (Paul Rudd) and Debbie (Leslie Mann), who occupied a small corner of that 2007 comedy and provided some of its best moments. We could detect, in that film, that there was much more to Peter and Debbie then their small subplot had time to explore. This is 40 expands their story and we get into their lives, learn what brings them together and the things that threaten to bring them apart. Plus, to make a point, your enjoyment of this film will not be hindered if you haven't seen Knocked Up.

This film is actually a lot better and funnier than Knocked Up. If you're familiar with Apatow's style then you aren't at all surprised by the opening sequence in which the couple shares a hot sexual interlude in a steamed-up shower before Debbie storms out upon learning that Peter's sexual apparatus has been fueled with Viagra. "I was just trying to go turbo for your birthday." He says. "I don't want turbo", she informs him, and thus their sexual problems are laid out for us in the cold light of day. Their problems in the bedroom – or in this case the bathroom – seem to underline a host of other problems, not least of which is the fact that Debbie is pushing 40 and doesn't want to admit it. At her birthday party she defiantly insists that she is still only 38. That later culminates in a wonderful back and forth with a nurse who is staring at her information on a clipboard while Debbie is in the middle of her pelvic exam.

Whether they like it or not, Peter and Debbie are pushing 40 and are dealing with money problems. This may be the first comedy that deals with a couple in the midst of the post-economic crisis. They are perfect models of the 21st century, they have every kind of electronic device and live in a house that they really can't afford. Peter owns a record label but doesn't tell Debbie that it is hemorrhaging money. His latest project involves an aging rock star who is past 60 who still has the chops, but who wants to buy him? Meanwhile, Debbie's dress shop is losing money because a large amount of cash has gone missing by either the passive Asian girl joy or raucous sexpot Desi (Megan Fox) who amazingly has suddenly acquired a high-priced apartment and a new car – the answer to that mystery isn't what we expect.

Aggravating the situation are the presence of two budding daughters, Sadie, who is obsessed with "Lost" and Charlotte whose personality hasn't quite slipped into cynicism but we sense her moving in that direction. Debbie makes the suggestion that some life changes are in order, starting with a limitation on electronic devices. Sadie's outrage is comparable to a chimpanzee bereft of its tire swing.

Apatow is smart enough to keep the plot light. He doesn't overload us with plot developments but allows the everyday problems of the couple to provide the drama and the comedy. Nothing here feels like it was set up to be a gag. Even a hysterically funny moment in which Debbie catches Peter trying to examine something that might be a hemorrhoid with the use of a cell phone and a bathroom mirror somehow feels organic, not set-up.

Apatow is also wise not to turn the characters into caricatures. There are at least a dozen supporting players here and each – per Apatow's usual – is given an extra dimension. There's a wonderful, nomination-worthy, performance by Albert Brooks – a comic treasure - as Peter father, a man in his 60s who has recently fathered three triplet boys and observes that "The doctor said I'd never get my wife pregnant. I was very unlucky . . . and now I have three beautiful children." If there is a weakness in the film, it may be that it runs on too long. The screenplay nears comic perfection but there is no reason that this movie has to run on for over two hours. It doesn't have that much to say. That limitation aside, this is an often hysterically funny movie that allows us to laugh at the characters and doesn't give in to easy pratfalls. The characters have an intelligence level that approximates the intelligence of the people in the audience, with moments that are perfectly observed. It was refreshing, for example, to find that Debbie's father, smart as he is, was as baffled by the final episode of "Lost" as the rest of us.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

We walked out

2/10
Author: Lyss Emanuelson from Peoria, Illinois
27 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The movie started out with a few funny moments and both Iris and Maude Apatow were funny throughout the film. After thirty minutes the film started to drag, became hard to follow, and was so unrealistic that as a viewer I was just waiting for something to happen. The characters had odd connections and the story line was not plausible and at times just painful to watch. The relationship between Ms. Mann's character and her father was not believable nor was the relationship between Paul Rudd's character and his on screen father. When there was an hour remaining in the film we started to wait for something to happen and the comment, "I wish we could fast forward to the last 10 minutes" was thrown out. After debating if we should stay or go, we left with 45 minutes left. I've never walked out of a movie but there's a first for everything. Horrible waste of $9 and a complete waste of time.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Depressing and Totally NOT worth watching !!!!!!!!!!

1/10
Author: Michael Koors from United States
24 December 2012

Seriously this movie is a waste of people's happiness and time. God bless these actors for their ignorance !!!!!! It was a shame to hear such constant arguing and children cursing is 100% sad for all the viewers to be filling their minds with such negative material. Please be wise in what you allow to be recorded in your mind and heart because this type of movie is a Prime Example of what NOT to be filling ourselves with. It's my privilege to write this message to you tonight RIGHT AFTER WATCHING this movie Tonight 12/23/12 I am truly appalled at ALL the people who participated in the creation of such vulgar use of humor, really a shame for the wasted talent. Our life is precious and this movie does NOTHING to improve our character, personality, ambition, intelligence, and spirit. I encourage everyone to take action against movies that are harmful to us as society. "This is 40" will without a doubt prove itself to be a complete failure. I would PERSONALLY like to say "Sorry" on behalf of the production team. "Sorry America for causing hurt and disgust to your mind and your spirit through the carelessness of this movie and its false humor"

I sincerely hope no one ever encourages this movie. This is truly not a comedy movie that will leave you feeling good.

Thank you so much for reading this. Truly from my heart. Please choose something uplifting and Not Depressing.

Was the above review useful to you?

23 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Great Movie About Funny People Dealing WIth Life's Serious Things

Author: Superrrguy from NYC
25 December 2012

I've read the other reviews. Yes there are fart jokes and too many Apple products. Yes, the the people are arrogant and self centered and broken. Yes, Judd Apatow put his entire family in yet another movie. Yes, there is not plot and the story is kind of depressing and all over the place and there really isn't much reason to show Debbie's shop except to show Megan Fox in a bra... but if you like crude humor, this movie is exceptional at it.

I have not laughed so much and so hard in a long time. This is a great movie about funny people dealing with life's serious things with lots of crude disgusting humor and it was awesome.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

This is 40

9/10
Author: bharsen
8 November 2014

I have to say, I learned a lot about the actors and actresses since this movie and I am impressed. The Apatow kids are Leslie Mann's real life children...excellent little actresses (remarkably natural, cute, and funny, just like their mom).

One of the main hockey players in the movie is Wyatt Russell, Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell's son from their union. I've always loved both of them.

I love Melissa McCarthy and I now watch everything she is ever in or has been in.

Leslie Mann is wonderful in everything she does as is Paul Rudd. They both make me laugh from my heart.

The cast choices were remarkable. Everyone was amazing.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

One of the Greats

9/10
Author: Moviegoer19 from United States
8 November 2014

I've seen this movie three or four times and continue to eat it up each time. I love the two leads, Pete and Debbie aka Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann. They both look great, act well, and have that comedic touch. They're perfect together. And, speaking of looking great, the film is very visual. It's really a series of colorful bold in-your-face visuals, from the people to their house, to wherever they are. Maybe I'm trying to say I love the photography. It's also intense audibly. For a film in which the word "fuck" is heard about a thousand times it still works. Which is also to say, there's something very realistic about this family portrayal. They really get down and dirty and yet the love is always there. (I just love the scene in which Pete has his legs spread and he asks Debbie to check his anus for a hemorrhoid or whatever and when she refuses, wanting to keep 'some mystery' between them, he reminds her he's seen her give birth twice... these are realities people deal with all the time yet don't talk about much.) Anyway, having just seen it last night, I'll wait a few months or so, then see it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good

7/10
Author: Harriet Deltubbo from United States
19 August 2014

The setup: Pete and Debbie are both about to turn 40, their kids hate each other, both of their businesses are failing, they're on the verge of losing their house, and their relationship is threatening to fall apart. Yes, this does remind me a lot of Juno. The comparisons are obvious, and just like that film, I like it enough, but I don't think it's great or all that really good. I was deeply impressed, but from an artistic standpoint, there were some plot elements and character developments I didn't think were totally needed. This was done superbly without overdoing it. Laughs and seriousness are both in this movie, I think.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The movie was hilarious for those who can take a joke and not take themselves so seriously.

8/10
Author: smileyqtk
13 December 2013

I thought this movie was hilarious and whoever did not find it funny (like the person who wrote the review) does not have a sense of humor and must have their head up their ass. Or perhaps they're experiencing a mid-life crisis and because the movie hit a nerve, and they're so miserable, they couldn't see the humor. Here's some advice idiot, get your head out of your ass, stop taking yourself so seriously and learn to laugh at yourself. Life will be over in the blink of an eye so you have two choices: you can learn not to take it so seriously and enjoy the ride, or keep taking yourself too seriously and be as annoying as your review was.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Down to earth comedy with a slightly depressing edge.

7/10
Author: rozeminho from New Zealand
28 October 2013

Judd Apatow brings back Pete and Debbie from 2007 comedy hit Knocked Up to explore their lives a few years down the line. Their kids are older, business isn't flowing and the rest of their family are being uncooperative, the recipe for a destructive marriage. As their problems become more evident as well as their increasing age, they realize that there isn't much time to fix their relationship before their lives become a waste.

I think most people would agree that this film is slightly too long with a 133 minute running time, although it is filled with quite a bit of substance. I think it was a pretty good idea to revisit these characters since they were a memorable part of Knocked Up. Creating new characters from scratch would definitely not have been as appealing. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann ooze this wacky, cheesy, genuine chemistry that not a lot of actors can produce. Their similar sense of humor is a joy to watch, largely driven by improv which Paul Rudd seems to execute with pure hilarity. There really isn't much wrong with the acting although I think the older child (Maude Apatow) may have been a bit too intense and loud at times, but in reality I guess kids can go apeshit like that. The cameo's were definitely the main highlights of the film, which is probably not the best thing for a movie, but they did offer a lot of the laughs. Huge props to Melissa McCarthy who has convincingly cemented herself as one of the best comedy actresses.

The story line is pretty relatable which is why it's generally an entertaining watch. I think any big fan of Paul Rudd will like this film a lot because his brand of humor is present throughout and its hard not to like this guy. It may not be the most original film but it still does the job in keeping us laughing and entertained. I think the problem with a film like this is that the subject is too serious to make an absolutely hilarious film, because there's too many breaks of serious scenes before the laughs come in. Either way it's definitely worth a watch if your a fan of Judd Apatow films and you want something down to earth with some comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 16 of 26: [Prev][11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history