IMDb > This Is 40 (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
This Is 40
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
This Is 40 More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]
Index 233 reviews in total 

89 out of 139 people found the following review useful:

Would have been great... if it was an hour shorter!

6/10
Author: ariasn1 from Canada
22 December 2012

I think I know my issue with Judd Apatow's movies.

They're always overdrawn. I think Apatow is a true Auteur, and has intelligent, stylish ways of telling a story.

Like almost all his flicks, this movie has laughs, heart and drama.... A LOT of drama.

Apatow should either write, or direct his movies, not both. I have a feeling if someone else took the directors chair/ producers chair, the movie would be significantly shorter.

I don't mind drama in movies, but when the extra hour of the movie is filled up with only drama, then I become irritated.

This is a movie you should rent/watch on Netflix. The writing and direction are both good, but you need to pace yourself, take breaks, come back later after getting some air, because 2.5 hours is to long for a movie like this.

This is all my opinion of course, so take it or leave it.

Regardless of anything, enjoy your night out at the movies, you earned it!

Was the above review useful to you?

67 out of 106 people found the following review useful:

Not worth your time and money, depressing

3/10
Author: juniperty from Canada
23 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am 39, so I could relate to this movie. There were many fun "lines" but they way they were delivered falls flat. Instead of being funny and showing us relevant insights to turning 40 and life, all this movie demonstrates is a depressing view of angry bitter people who hate each other. Scenes were just thrown together, stitched up and made into a movie. The beginning of the movie shows you that both their birthdays are close together (weeks), but the movie implies that a lot of time has past. What was that bit about them going away? I'm sorry, but if you are so broke you have to sell your house, you would not run off for the weekend. They were all happy and stoned, then what happened to that? I guess they needed something funny to show in previews. And I was thinking wasn't it his birthday party? There were many funny parts, but in between I was thinking, I'm bored and want to leave. Too bad. This movie made me angry, depressed and wanting to run as far away from these people as possible. The only really good part was during the credits when Melissa McCarthy has a bit from their outtakes.

Was the above review useful to you?

75 out of 131 people found the following review useful:

No plot--but very funny consistently: "humor porn"

8/10
Author: jimojimo from Chicago
23 December 2012

First off--this is well worth seeing, it is consistently funny--and at times keel-over funny. However if you're looking for a meaningful plot that gets neatly wrapped up, that's not gonna happen. Like porn, the plot was just there as an excuse for the many 'money shots'--the consistently funny gags about typical 40ish couple's lives.

Rudd's character is suffering a struggling business (and also maybe a little of 'struggling business'--if you know what I mean). Mann's character has a business also, that is suffering. Their kids are dealing with various modern-kid issues--Facebook bullies, trying to devour entire seasons of "Lost" in a matter of days, etc. The parents fight, the kids fight, Rudd & Mann each have issues with their own parents--one with abandonment issues, the other with what might be the polar opposite of abandonment.

And the gags and issues that arise, I can tell you, are all based in reality--it's a good composite of the issues that this demographic actually faces--only depicted with the cinematic equivalent of the "Photoshop saturation slider" cranked to 11.

A special mention for Leslie Mann and Judd Apatow's kids--they actually can act, and they were excellent in this film. They belonged in the film--not 'becuase their daddy is the producer'--but because they added big-time in both the many comedy scenes they were in, but also in the movie's scattered drama moments. Very adorable kids, who blended into this movie effortlessly and definitely added to its charm.

So that's the plot, and in the end, it leaves you with hope that things will get better, but never really pounds that point down and gift-wraps a sappy, happy ending, but it doesn't need to--the plot is just a vehicle to tow all of the gags with.

And the gags, mini-skits, etc, are very funny, and very consistent--me, my wife, and most of the theater were laughing through the bulk of the film (Stay for the ending credits--the blooper reel with Melissa McCarthy may be one of the funniest of the entire movie).

So that's it--I give it a 8--well worth seeing in the theater, and when it comes out on DVD, I'll definitely rent it and see it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

42 out of 68 people found the following review useful:

I gave it a 10 because I didn't think anyone else would.

10/10
Author: chazzo-crw
6 January 2013

First and foremost, this is the first movie I have seen in years that actually has something to do with my life. I read through the threads, and I wasn't surprised that people found it depressing. They were probably expecting to see Knocked Up or I Love You Man. It lacks the stoner cool single guys being all zany about porn. Instead the comedy comes from things that forty somethings deal with: mortgage, kids, hormones, diet, expectations, etc. I rarely get to see a movie about people my age or having problems and solutions that don't involve guns, drugs, superheroes, cartoon birds, and people who have 8 figure life styles without ever having a job. Okay, so he's a groovy record co. guy, and she has a chic boutique.... Definitely way more California than my life, but still it is pretty real to life. I will concede that there are some gags that don't quite work, but like I said: I'm stickin' up for this one because I think it is getting a bad rap based on expectations. Thanks to Judd Apatow for making a movie about life instead of (hip jobs aside) hyper-situational life.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 78 people found the following review useful:

Stay away from this movie

2/10
Author: Planetpulp from United States
27 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I just saw this movie last night. I was a fan of Knocked up even though my wife and I fought like cats and dogs after the movie (it was about having kids. This time around, the movie did only one thing for me, it made me thankful for my family. Leslie Mann's character was even more of a raving bitch than in Knocked up. I told my wife that I would have shoved her head in the toilet when she was trying to inspect it to see if Paul Rudd's character was really taking a crap or just avoiding her. He was probably defecating on paper so he could help make this film. Actually only Paul Rudd really brought anything to the picture unless you count Megan Fox as a hot boutique worker. The film showcases a small part of the miserable lives of Pete and Debbie as they spiral into unhappiness and misery. Into the mix are thrown several more characters who are equally miserable. I was looking forward to this movie big time and when I realized that it was going south I couldn't wait for it to be over. Unfortunately its over two hours long. So, if you are looking for a way to spend a few hours in the dark, lock your self in a closet or just close your eyes but do not go see this film--it sucked!

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

40, down

7/10
Author: EephusPitch from San Francisco
1 January 2013

Wow, this film seems to be generating a lot of hostility: I am not quite sure what's behind it. I guess people went into this expecting a sitcom-like, snappy feel good film, like 40 Year Old Virgin? Or goofy, happy-go-lucky characters such as Seth Rogen's posse in Knocked Up? Did these people not see Funny People? I am all in favor of letting Mr. Apatow develop as a director. To be clear here: this film follows Pete and Debbie's story arc from a few years after the events in Knocked Up. The are both turning 40, and neither is handling it particularly gracefully, but they weren't handling their lives and relationships particularly well in the earlier film. I found this movie to have a Larry David Show quality to it: however irrationally and offensively our protagonists behave, there are always others who will go them one better (or worse). Yes, Debbie and Pete are defective human beings; but so, I would argue, are all the people inhabiting this world, excepting the very gentlemanly Graham Parker (and Billie Joe Armstrong). Such is the stuff of comedy. Are these caricatures? Surely, and yet they are caricatures of realities which I see every day. Is the teenage daughter given to histrionics? You bet, but that is what teenagers are like, and the fact remains that teenagers turn their parents into equally irrational and histrionic characters in that relationship; I actually found it refreshing to find a teenager in a movie, played by a teenager, who isn't a wisecracking savant commenting on the follies of her elders.

To sum up, this felt to me like a mature work from a good director. There are moments of farce, slapstick, and outrageous humor, surrounded by moments where things just happen. For people who can't handle that kind of pacing, you are welcome to stay out of movie theaters, and sit in front of your TV sets: the networks are sure to have plenty of non-challenging sitcoms that are specially designed to pander to you.

Was the above review useful to you?

41 out of 71 people found the following review useful:

So much potential but they just couldn't get there

5/10
Author: Cherie jones from United States
27 December 2012

When first seeing the trailers for this movie i was excited because i remember this couple's story in Knocked Up and it was hilarious but i think that's as far as it should've gone and i'll tell you why.

First the movie, for a comedy, is way too long. 2 hours and 15 min is a bit ridiculous. because of this the jokes were dragged out and it caused me to lose sense of the plot. There was so much potential with this story line and i felt it could've been so great and hilarious but they just didn't get there. I felt like there should've been a bit more drama to their marriage, it felt as if they were trying to make it seem so realistic that it came off fake. a lot of the problems they were experiencing does happen to real life middle aged couples but not to the extreme like they portrayed it. There were some familiar faces and others were just random (megan fox) lol but i also think a little bit more development for the new characters and maybe the old would've been nice as well. I wanted to like this movie so much because it had so many good parts where it could've been great. Maybe if they added a small portion towards the end of the movie interviewing real life 40 something year old couples and had little exerpts that would have also made the movie a bit closer to home.

All in all i do feel pocket hurt for spending 11.50 to see this movie because i was simply disappointed. Would i recommend This is 40? Probably not.

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Relationship, Modern Marriage and Mid-life Crisis

7/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
25 May 2013

Pete (Paul Rudd) is a family man married with Debbie (Leslie Mann) and they have two daughters, the teenager Sadie (Maude Apatow) and the girl Charlotte (Iris Apatow). Paul and Debbie, who lies about her age, are turning 40 and they are planning a party for Paul. He lost his job in Sony and now he has a nostalgic record label with only one artist, the British rock singer and songwriter Graham Parker that was successful in the period from the 60's to the 80's. Debbie has a fashion store with two employees, and she has just found an embezzlement of US$ 12,000.00. She was poisoned by the inefficient Jodi (Charlyne Yi) and suspects of the productive saleswoman Desi (Megan Fox).

Debbie has issues with her estranged father Oliver (John Lithgow) while Pete secretly supports his idle father Larry (Albert Brooks). Debbie meets her father and invites him for the party. Pete comes to the edge with the bankruptcy since he needs to sell their home and Debbie finds that she is pregnant but she hides from Pete. In the party, Pete has a nervous breakdown but Debbie is there to help him.

"This is 40" is a dramatic comedy about relationship, modern marriage and mid-life crisis. I believe that every viewer that is more than forty years old and married with children will identify problems that he or she might have lived. There are many hilarious scenes and references to movies and shows but also moments of drama that are immediately relieved by a joke. It is also funny because I have recently watched all the 117 episodes (and not 114) of "Lost" in five weeks, the same way Sadie did. Just as a curiosity, Leslie Mann is married with the director and writer Judd Apatow and the two girls (Maude and Iris) are their daughters. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Bem-vindo aos 40" ("Welcome to the 40")

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 54 people found the following review useful:

This Is 40 is horrible from the minute we re-meet Debbie

1/10
Author: dalydj-918-255175 from Ireland
28 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Marketed as a comedy this is film just try's to be a moving drama about a very unlikeable couple that make no sense about the actions they do and the conclusion of the film made no sense to what the aim of the film was"

In 2007 Knocked Up was released and like most people I found it enjoyable so with this film Judd Apatow decided to take two characters from that film and stretch them out to try make them more fuller characters. Pete (Paul Rudd) and Debbie (Leslie Mann) are both celebrating their 40th birthday's in the same week even if Debbie does not want people to know her real age. During this week we see their daughters who tend to scream at them a lot as well as both Debbie and Pete's businesses failing and neither one of the two able to be true to themselves blaming everyone else for their problems.

This film from minute one was insufferable for me because of how annoying Debbie was as soon as she was on screen. She seemed to act insane about being 40 which is not that old but that is just how the character is written to be. The film is way too long for the story that is being told because two and half hours is way too long for a comedy that is set in one week as we see all these events happen in the main characters life's. The film talks about the family having many problems so them spending money on an expensive trip makes no sense to the story. The ending of the film was not a good conclusion to the story because so much stuff in the film did not get a full story but also Debbie and Pete staying together made really no sense to how the two had treated each other throughout the whole film.

Leslie Mann plays Debbie and Mann as an actress just cannot act in my mind. In almost everything Mann has done she is trying to make me like her but I just do not because she never really stretches herself. The character she is given is horribly written as a shrill women who complains so much that I do not know why anyone would like her. Mann try's to be dramatic with a blank stare on her face and I could not help but laugh at how unbelievably bad she was in every scene. Paul Rudd plays Pete and he has been great in small smarts but even though he is not as bad as Mann he is not much better then she is. His character is also written badly but at least Rudd knows how to play this man because he always plays the same character which is fine but I wish he would try at least shake it up. These two are the only leads and there are way too many supporting characters by some of my favourite comedic actors who are wasted and when some are given funny lines they got no laughs from me at all.

The film tried to be funny and heart warming but nothing that the film did worked for me at all. The female characters in the film were very one note and even Mann's character was written badly as if no women had any input into the female characters. The film did not seem believable to me because this couple just did not belong together which made me hate this film even more then some of Apatow's produced efforts which are so much better then his directed/written films.

MOVIE GRADE: F- (MVP: Paul Rudd)

Was the above review useful to you?

92 out of 175 people found the following review useful:

This Is Terrible

1/10
Author: tvstew from United States
31 December 2012

I believe I have seen all of Judd Apatow's films and I've liked a majority of them but This Is 40 is not only his worst film, it's one of the worst films I've seen this year if not ever. The film honestly felt like the script was never completed, an editor was never hired and the actors had no direction. It had none of the joy of his other films and not even the natural likability of the stars (Rudd, Mann, Segel) could save it. It felt dour and depressing all while under the naturally (or unnaturally) pleasant skies of Santa Monica.

The main couple's (Rudd and Mann) lives are coming apart because they feel they need to change but find it difficult to change. In the end, however, they come to the realization that they don't need to change...this is the worst character arc imaginable...characters who go nowhere and are somehow happy about it by the end. But then again, these characters start from a place of wealth and privilege (not that you can't have wealthy, relatable characters) so you already begin the story by thinking these characters really don't have that much to complain about (or enough to really care). They both have luxury cars, they have a family, a beautiful house...that's not exactly a starting point for an audience to feel for a set of main characters. Literally all the normally excellent actors seemed to have awful performances that felt jilted, tired and unfit (I mean try and find John Lithgow giving a bad performance ever), this was not a good turn for Megan Fox in comedy at all, go down the list...even Jason Segel who rocks almost everything he's in felt misused. The worst part of it all was it was not funny. There were a smattering of laughs for the whole film in the theater I was in.

This film was a total and utter train wreck...and I almost feel bad for Apatow except for I spent my money on this film and now I feel bad for myself. I was very close to walking out a few times and I never walk out of films. The two and a half hour run time felt way excessive and basically like a first time director who didn't know how or where to cut. And the beats didn't work (the COMEDY BEATS, that should be Apatow's strong suit).

I had to go out and watch something else the next day just to help erase the memory of this film because it was that awful. Not campy awful, not funny awful, just plain 'ol awful. I really wish someone had stopped this film at some level and tried to help them fix it because the themes are good, the actors are normally good...all the parts could all be good...but somehow this was just the opposite...just bad, really, really, bad. And as a writer/director you have to put the blame on Apatow for this one.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 24:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history