IMDb > "Spartacus: Gods of the Arena" (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
"Spartacus: Gods of the Arena"
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany creditsepisode listepisodes castepisode ratings... by rating... by votes
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsmessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summaryplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips
Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]
Index 51 reviews in total 

124 out of 136 people found the following review useful:

A Brilliant Comeback

10/10
Author: Borconi Teofil from Romania
22 January 2011

I have been waiting for the return of Spartacus: Blood and Sand for quite some time now. Unfortunately, Andy's cancer delayed this for a long time, so Starz gave us Gods of the Arena in stead.

All I can say is well done! We are introduced into the same society and atmosphere we were presented in Blood and Sand, but a few years before Spartacus's arrival. Most of the cast from the previous show is back, and the producers did a good job with making them look a bit younger. I will not give out the names, to avoid spoilers, but rest assured, you will not be disappointed by the number of familiar faces.

And, most importantly, everything that we've seen in Blood and Sand is here! All the gore, sex, and ruthlessness is back, and boy, I've missed it. Seeing the first episode of the new series, I had a sense of seriousness and ambition throughout the show. There is enough action to keep you entertained, but there are also plenty of sensual scenes and political schemes as well. The cast did a good job, as always, and I did not have the feeling that the actors lost interest since the first season, a thing that happens with lots of shows nowadays. Also, the special effects have gotten a little better, the filming is great too.

So, as a bottom line, Starz and it's Spartacus is back, just as strong as the old series, even if Spartacus himself is missing, for now. If you loved the previous show, you will love this too, no doubt, and if you didn't, well, you will start loving it now!

Was the above review useful to you?

97 out of 113 people found the following review useful:

Spartacus: Gods of the Television Industry

10/10
Author: Jaymuller from United States
22 January 2011

By Jupiter's rooster! I'd be willing to wager coin that many a skeptic became a believer upon viewing the premier of "Spartacus: Gods of the Arena". From the opening moment to the final credits I could not gaze in another direction. The brilliant writing combined with outstanding performances and great visuals come together to produce what will no doubt become legend. The depiction of a world with honor among slaves and dishonor among their masters is masterful. The portrayal of a world which doesn't require the web or mass media for it's inhabitants to be exposed to every depravity and brutality known to humanity is enthralling. A better adrenaline rush could only be found by those living in such a world. A must see for connoisseurs of sex and violence. Mere mortals could do worse than vowing patronage to "Spartacus: Gods of the Arena". Never was a more visceral experience produced by a succession of images on an HD screen combined with surround sound!

Was the above review useful to you?

83 out of 97 people found the following review useful:

Spartacus, without Spartacus?

Author: Nate from United States
22 January 2011

There were many skeptics leading into this new season (not technically season 2) of "Spartacus: Gods of the Arena", many feared it would not be worth watching without Andy Whitfield. For those with concerns, here is some advice: watch it! The major antagonist was lost from the previous season, but the character depth/story of the new leading actor is building AND new depths of past characters from "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" are unveiled. The history of how they developed is fascinating. The relationship differences between the two season are significant, thus there is a huge void of curiosity leftover to reveal how they developed to become the personalities they portrayed in season 1.

It would be remiss to leave out the absolute, succulent gratuity that peaks our senses! The world is enriched with beautiful people, outstanding wardrobes cast in a time that fascinates most, the Roman Empire. Did I mention that many of these beautiful people are quite revealing? Nudity! It is with taste I might add! Of course, references to porn are made, but no porn has the character depth and sophistication that gives the sexual scenes the passion that is conveyed in this series. The necessity to produce these scenes is important in fostering the time-period's stance of sexual openness. The costume range is great; the rich are adorned with lavish jewelry and a colorful, flowing wardrobe which is artistically chosen, and for the poor, well sometimes they are left with nothing. The gladiators are especially left without much clothing, but the armor they do wear is often demonic, intimidating and everything you would naturally expect to find on a person when they are fighting to the DEATH!

The fight scenes are well choreographed and blood is everywhere! The array of weapons to choose from, the differences in fighting styles, the varying levels of fighting skill all make for interesting battles in the arena. Also, bear in mind that the arena is not only for physical fighting, but the political fold is the pressing force behind the fights. Basically, it is more than just a fight, what you see is not entirely what you get. The fight's value is difference for the gladiator, than it is for the crowd, than it is for the owner's of the gladiators; and, these differences are excellently contrasted. The graphics are not top-notch, but it adds a stylistic element to the show. The blood is vibrant and sometimes seems to defy physics--it's great! The acting is intense and the director seems to strive away from being "natural" which is good. The intensity is not monochromatic and individual to each characters personality.

In a short and sweet summary, this gratuitous mash of beautiful people, fight scenes, political undertones is nothing short of brilliant. Watch it for what it is and you will not be disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?

60 out of 72 people found the following review useful:

Excellent!

10/10
Author: cell_my_soul
22 January 2011

As all of you probably know this is a prequel to Spartacus: Blood and Sand. I assume it is such because of Andy Whitfield's ongoing battle with cancer. Although harsh sounding as it may be, during the first episode you barely miss him. This is not because of anything other than the fact that it is a prequel and we all hope he will return for future seasons.

The episode was well thought out and gives real insight into the beginnings of certain characters from the first season. After waiting for so long (or what seemed like an eternity), I was definitely not disappointed with what looks like is going to be another great season.

Definitely do not miss!

Was the above review useful to you?

45 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

a character worth discussing BATIATUS

10/10
Author: srinivas from India
31 January 2011

guys nobody is recognizing the role of batiatus.....i see no single comment mentioning about him....it is he who played long duration in all the episodes....and with his performance, has brought life to spartacus TV series...he was the one with highest dialogues in the serial, but he never made us feel bored of his role either in blood and sand or gods of the arena....he really showed us a true lanista......i agree that all the actors performed to their best.Anyways its a great entertainer for our period showing us about the lifestyle during the period of gladiators.I really love the politics in this series especially those played by lucretia and batiatus together in both blood and sand and also gods of the arena.....i really bow before the dialogue writer particularly for the phrase 'jupitor's c**k' during the scenes of frustration..

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Far exceeds expectations

9/10
Author: Brian Boyle from United Kingdom
21 February 2011

I enjoyed Blood and Sand, but as a guilty pleasure. Outrageous sex and violence, some truly terrible dialogue and dodgy acting from Kiwi accented muscle men. It was fun, but not gripping nor truly addictive.

I was happy to sit back and enjoy more of the same, but Gods of the Arena is a major evolution.

There's less blood (although still more that any other show, ever) and less sex (likewise) , but far more dastardly pots and intrigue. The dialogue is more Shakespearian and the accents are reigned in. A (small) dose of Deadwood has gone a long way to making this show a cult classic. I hope they keep making these.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

better than the first season so far (up to ep 3)

10/10
Author: dangermous from United Kingdom
7 February 2011

wow. For those who feared this would be a let down without the original lead actor please put such thoughts aside. This prequel seems better than the first season! I'd suggest they have learned some valuable lessons in the first series.

The plot is more complex and more gripping than before. The actors play their roles perfectly. I think the direction / camera work has improved slightly as well.

The writing / dialogue is outstanding. I was gripped from start to finish. I cant wait for the next episode and to see how this season finishes. I wonder what season 3 will be? is andy better and able to continue? whatever happens I hope it carries on for a long time to come.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 36 people found the following review useful:

Wow. Simply Amazing

10/10
Author: kevinjr16 from United States
13 February 2011

Wow. I absolutely loved the first season of Spartacus and was so sad to hear of Andy getting cancer. I didn't think the show could continue without him. I was proved wrong by the first ten minutes of Gods of the Arena. The actor portraying Gannicus is instantly likable and I actually like him more than Spartacus. Spartacus is mostly melodramatic while Gannicus is just an egotistical cocky bad ass. By the second episode, the writers do such an excellent job that you actually care deeply for these characters and the horrors they face. Episode 3 went almost too far in the portrayal of the brutality of Rome. I just watched episode 4, and am still reeling at the awesomeness. The writing on this show is completely unrivaled, and they do not ever sacrifice reality for taste. The character development and raw emotion in them is so well portrayed through not only excellent writing, but insanely good acting. I will say that especially this season is not for the faint hearted, but if extreme gore, profanity, nudity, and VERY mature themes are not a problem for you then you simply must watch this show!

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

outstanding!

10/10
Author: emre sarac from Turkey
27 February 2011

I really don't like violence in movies or series..this show has plenty of it as well as nudity but somehow I enjoy the show.I think cast is well selected.Especially John Hannah is outstanding actor.I couldn't think anybody else in this role.Special effects are not very realistic but action never stops so you don't care about these unrealistic effects.At the final of the each episode, you say don't make this to me ,don't end in here and one week passes with thinking what is the next..second season of Spartacus: Blood and Sand will be next year.we have to wait too long ..I'm already looking forward to it..Go Gladiators!

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Cheap pleasure!

9/10
Author: lukard from Serbia
21 October 2011

What's wrong with enjoying in something shallow? This Gods of the Arena is unplanned for and is meant only to bridge till they do the second season, for tragic causes... Only thing annoying enough to take the 10th star is that slaves are speaking deep thoughts in short sentences and wise manner... even more so than their masters! I like the brutality in all the fights, sex and lies! That's probably how ancient societies were, specially Rome. I truly cannot wait to see next season, and this one, however different from the first, is just a way to keep us interested in the series. So, do not be too picky of it's quality. I wanted to keep this review shorter but I could not, since I like to support easy watching series as I find it much more satisfying to ease my mind by watching TV than to watch something of what I will think next two days.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 6:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history