IMDb > Sabotage (2014) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Sabotage
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Sabotage More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 22: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 216 reviews in total 

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

It seems nobody knows that's a good movie anymore

9/10
Author: s-klose from Austria
28 July 2014

Obviously 80% of reviewers are idiots. It's the only conclusion. I finally watched this movie, since in didn't play in any English-Language Theaters here. It was a riveting movie with a great balance of plot and action. The action was very realistic. You had a bunch of top-notch actors. So what's wrong with this movie? I couldn't find a single thing, and believe me I was looking and expecting the worst. It seems critics just read Arnolds Name in the credits and decide to disregard the movie entirely. You may ask: Was it fun? Hell yeah it was fun Was there realistic gore and blood? Yes there were. So why does it have 20% rating? I honestly don't know anymore. It's even R Rated and not washed down for the kids. What else do you want?

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Really

1/10
Author: ericaharris1908
28 January 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

How far Arnold Schwarzenegger has fallen. The script of this movie was written by a 12 year old. No wait, I don't want to offend 12 years old, this script was written by chimpanzees, wait no, I don't want to offend chimpanzees. This script was made by one celled amoebas...This has to be one of the lazest scripts I have ever heard. Were the screen writers going for the genius book of world record for the most curse words in a single movie? Even my husband who curses regularly thought it was too much. We stopped watching after fifteen minutes in, it was just ridiculous. There was absolutely no dialog, just f! That, mother f! That. You could not even tell what the story was about. As I was watching the movie, I said those gangsters sure are cussing a lot, my husband said they aren't gangsters they are the cops. Well I be. Cursing and shooting for what ever reason that sums up this poor excuse for a movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

A beautiful roller-coaster of emotions

9/10
Author: teleropse from South Africa
25 May 2014

This movie is beautiful and highlights the saying you cant trust anyone. Awesome work from all those who acted in this movie.

The themes explored here are those of dark human nature and how people will put their own desires far above others even though they pretend to be working towards one common goal.

Lots of action between scenes of mystery and once more we see Arnie returning to a role where he is not superhuman but simply one of us with flaws and weaknesses.

I must pay special attention to "Lilly" she is a strong presence in this movie and brings colour to the world of darkness.

A beautiful blend of Murder, Mystery and Action.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

You are not fall asleep watching this movie!

8/10
Author: Adam Tulik from United States
15 July 2014

If you like action movies, you are really going to like "Sabotage"! Even if you are not a fan of Arnold, but if you are - then you are going to love it! Even though it's not some phenomenal work of art, but "just" an action movie, it's amazingly well built, with fast action and many unexpected twists. It's pretty suspenseful.

Plus, the movie is very emotional, but not just in the sense of fast action, someone faces a tragedy that is very hard to comprehend. It actually got stuck in my head, it was heartbreaking. Because of this I would hesitate to call Sabotage "a silly action movie", even though, as usual, bullets shot by Arnold's seem to be heat-seeking or most of his opponents never held a gun before. Who cares, it's not that naive, and it's obvious if heroes and bad guys were given equal chances in movies, they wouldn't last more than 10 minutes.

I am going to watch this movie again!

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Really engrossing

9/10
Author: BignProud from United Kingdom
10 May 2014

My first ever review here as a reaction to some of the comments .. Without going into any plot detail I found the movie to be the best what Arnie has done after leaving politics and is really underrated .. Yes, it will not likely get any Oscar or any other fancy prizes from the industry but it does not need to. What it does is just capture your attention from the outset and makes you wonder where it is all going. It will take a while before you recognise Worthington And Arnie .. he got noticeably older and he may sometimes seem passionless but he is not there to expose his emotions and never been. Still, I was really touched with the closing scene

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A bit of a mess - narratively and literally - but this is still a brutal, surprisingly compelling film featuring a great lead performance by Schwarzenegger.

6/10
Author: shawneofthedead from http://shawneofthedead.wordpress.com/
10 April 2014

There are plenty of reasons to dislike Sabotage, the latest flick starring the Governator, Arnold Schwarzenegger. It's relentlessly gory, and occasionally storms head-first into dumb, torture-porn territory. Anyone watching it for its purported connection to Agatha Christie's most-beloved mystery novel, And Then There Were None, will be disappointed - the considerably less brainy film is, at best, only vaguely inspired by the ingenious twists of the book. But Sabotage remains compelling almost all the way through, and is all the more notable for featuring one of Schwarzenegger's finest, darkest performances yet.

John 'Breacher' Wharton (Schwarzenegger) leads a rogue DEA team on a drug bust, during which they try to skim ten million dollars for themselves. But their scheme goes awry, and the money mysteriously disappears. When investigations into the crime finally end, Wharton brings his team members together again - only for someone to start murdering them, one by one, in grisly, brutal fashion. Detective Caroline Brentwood (Olivia Williams) comes on board to piece together the entire puzzle. But, as she draws closer to the enigmatic Breacher, she discovers that there's far more to the man than meets the eye.

David Ayers' film has come under fire for myriad reasons: it's been called an ugly, twisted piece of film-making, more interested in sickening gore than character depth. Ostensibly, that's true. The murders are almost unbearably disgusting, Ayers' camera lingering almost lovingly over scenes awash in blood and internal organs. The film also deteriorates as it goes on, degenerating from a dark, uber-twisted thriller into a frustrating sequel to Final Destination, wherein death insists on finding its victims in the most revolting of ways.

But the real surprise of Sabotage is how it actually manages to juggle its main characters surprisingly well for much of its running time. A few characters do indeed turn out to be narrative fodder, quickly sliced up for maximum shock value. But others have far greater impact on audiences. In Breacher's team, the drugged-out Lizzy (Mireille Enos) and her dreadlocked husband Monster (an almost unrecognisable, bulked-up Sam Worthington) stand out. Caroline, too, is an assuringly capable, level-headed presence - despite some of the ignominies the character suffers in her growing relationship with Breacher.

The cast also does quite effective work, with Schwarzenegger leading the charge. As Breacher, he mines reserves of darkness and complexity he's barely accessed before, somehow managing to capture the man's odd mix of madness, nobility and ruthlessness. He's well-matched by Williams, who lends both the film and her character an air of respectability best- observed in scenes that might otherwise have played as a series of cheap grindhouse shots. Few people could pull off smoking desperately while bathed in blood, but Williams does it with charm to spare. Enos, too, is a joyful, ball-busting standout in a film running almost entirely on testosterone fumes, and Worthington heads down dark, bitter paths in a more convincing way than he's managed thus far in the likes of Avatar and Clash Of The Titans.

All in all, Sabotage is better than you might expect, but not as good as it probably could have been. While the film does revolve around many deeply considered ideas of vengeance, loyalty and morality, it doesn't really manage to come to grips with all of them beneath a backwash of diced-up body parts and pints of blood. It is, however, consistently gripping and almost worryingly compelling, a thriller that packs a punch so brutal it fascinates even as it disgusts.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 21 people found the following review useful:

Sabotage, A serious Arnold Film

10/10
Author: Andrew Eastenegger (andrew_eastenegger1984@hotmail.co.uk) from United Kingdom
8 May 2014

OK look i don't get the problem everyone has here. Arnold is playing his age to a point unlike Neeson trying to still do what Arnold can still do best but why would everyone wanna watch that guy over the might Arnold. Its a film that not done any different made in 1994 instead of Junior then it would of surely gotten more then True Lies because this is the seriousness Arnold needed to do back then to be taken serious of an actor. He carries a film still, up staging any one in his path so ignore the uses making out hes too old. He inst at all, he still looks like the Guy most of us grew up with. The film had good amounts of twists and turns with some good staged action scenes but apparently its a let down. Well its only a let down because its not full on CGI or doesn't have Neeson in it who in my opinions inst a action star or legend and will not gain the power or stardom Arnold has achieved. Whether Arnold films flop or not he made more money in the 90's and early 2000's that Neeson will never beat. Anyway about SABOTAGE, Look if you like Training Day and them types of gritty thrillers even if you ain't an Arnold fan you will still like this. I love these films but I also love a star to carry a film so the film itself gets 7/10 from me, but with Arnold and he's great ability of acting I give the film a full 10 marks. Keep them coming Arnold because in ten years these movies will undoubtedly age better then then stupid Neeson or Avenger movies.

Charles Bronson, Clint Eastwood Esque thriller which is why you should see it

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

I Disagree With the Nay Sayers--Not Perfect but still Awesome!

8/10
Author: Shai Ivgi
10 July 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I see a lot of negative reviews on this movie and it bothers me because, while it's not perfect, it's still an incredible film if you can overlook a few oversights.

My only beef with this movie are a few plot holes, mainly the question of how the DEA knew the amount of money that had been stolen towards the beginning of the film. We see Breacher's squad execute a thrilling bust on a cartel mansion where they find a stack of money about the same size Walter White (Breaking Bad) had accumulated in his storage container. Needless to say, it's a big pile! The squad hides about 10 million on a rope underneath a toilet only to find that it's missing later. Before that, however, Breacher blows the remaining cash up (which didn't make sense to me) and SOMEHOW his superiors are able to determine that exactly 10 million is missing. It's a horrible oversight for a movie of this magnitude, especially since it is the crux of the plot.

If you are able to put that blunder aside and you are a fan of the action/suspense genre, then you will most certainly find this movie to be well worth the time spent watching! I found ALL of the actors/actresses to be compelling. The cinematography was brilliantly executed. The gore was on point for those who aren't too squeamish. The events that unfold are emotionally riveting (as long as you're not hung up on some kind of expectation that you can't get past) The twist at the end, which I will not spoil for you, while not totally unexpected, was still a surprise. It's a gritty, engaging, action packed film with a chilling ending that I found totally satisfying.

If you're a Schwarzenegger fan or a fan of shoot-em-ups, then you won't be disappointed. Just go into this movie without expectations of Arnold taking on his typical roles. This is a totally different kind of monster! I hope you enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Worst Movie Ever

1/10
Author: balshawy89 from Denver, CO.
7 September 2014

This movie is really annoying and stupid. The plot is boring and the way the police act in this movie is unrealistic. They are all drunken fools. When their friends start dying off one by one they don't show any emotion whatsoever. It makes their relationship questionable. They are supposed to be this really close group of friends that work together and care about each other. Like Brothers. But they don't act like it at all. They just act high and drunk and extremely annoying. Even the husband and wife don't act like a couple. I don't get how this movie won any awards. The men are perverts and the women is an addict. They don't act like they are important. They seem more like gang members. Also the scenes jump from one to the next too quickly. There are no finished thoughts. There is nothing to follow. Plus the filming is B rated looking. The camera is bouncy and unprofessional.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

About what I expected

6/10
Author: freemanpatrick7 from United States
28 March 2014

There has been so much total crap at the movies these days that I don't like to waste my money. And if I have already done so, I don't want to waste my time. If a movie sucks I'll walk out.

Sabotage looked to me like it would be a fun, if not award worthy, movie. And it was.

Let's face it, Arnold is getting a little over the hill to be playing in action movies. He's pushing 70, for crying out loud. In a federal job he'd have been forced into retirement a long time ago. But if you can get past that, and the fact that supposedly everyone on the team wants to sleep with a skanky crack whore, then it's really not a bad flick.

Yes, some of the dialog was hard to listen to. But I write dialog so I might be more picky than others. Also, the fact that everyone on the team can hit any target they aim at anytime they want to, unless...unless it happens to be in the big finale, where no one can hit the broad side of a barn, just to prolong the scene - that's was a little far fetched.

Other than that, not a bad flick. Not Arnold's best. But definitely not his worst either.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 22: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history