IMDb > The River Murders (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The River Murders
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The River Murders More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 40 reviews in total 

35 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Not worth my time

Author: sin8 from United States
9 September 2011

I was kinda looking forward to this movie having seen some of the media pictures and after watching 15mins of it, I was ready to take a nap. Ray Liota has never really been the 'up-front' guy that you expect to see in a movie like this and he does nothing to change the outlook in this movie either. Often seen walking around with his pot-belly sticking out and frequently mouthing a bunch of 'cliched' sentences, his character is so different from the portrayed 'guy who has slept with hundred's of women and even old flames can't keep there hands off' type of guy that the weak script calls for. The story is weak to the point of being funny. Its like the script for this has been made up from scenes and lines from some of the (much) better offerings in this genre. All of the characters are way too predictable and offer nothing that hasn't already been done to death. I even found the soundtrack also very annoying and repetitive. I'm no real film buff nor a real movie critic but this movie really owes everything it makes from the promotion. Unfortunately, if you pay to see this you'll come out of the movie theater feeling ripped off.

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Really not so bad

8/10
Author: holysimon from Canada
16 October 2011

This is the kind of low budget movie offering a mix of seasoned actors, who do a great job with the material and their screen time, and not so seasoned ones who fill in the blanks.

Liotta is top notch and Slater is his usual enjoyable self.

Michael Rodrick has got game and Sarah Ann Schultz creates a very hot detective.

With a handful of surprising twists and few glaring errors, it managed to tell a really interesting story by avoiding the usual pitfalls of guns and sexploitation.

This had the look and feeling of those B-movies of the eighties where you could sit in front of the picture and be just captivated by the storytelling and the performance of thespians who don't need big bucks for them to show they can act.

A good effort.

As for the whiners? Well, 2 species have sprung on IMDb in the last few years: those who like nothing and those who hate everything.

As for the rest: you'll probably enjoy the surprises as well as I did.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

It is not worth watching ...

3/10
Author: Erik Osolin from Slovenia
8 October 2011

Ray Liotta and Christian Slater are names, for whom you would say they are A class actors. So they are, however they cannot save poor scenario and a poor movie. Furthermore, such a movie does not bring them some good reputation and in future I will apparently have to avoid movies in which they will be acting. An hour and a half of your life spent to watch this movie is a period, which you will never get back. It is a poor TV-like movie with unrealistic scenario. (well, at least for majority of us normal, ordinary people, family guys). Very poor developed characters. Christian Slater role is marginal, not developed, his role could have been played by any guy from the street who never acted before. Just forget it ... grab a book or go for a walk ...

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Good serial murder mystery

Author: paulimiles from Australia
7 September 2011

Okay, there's been a plethora of serial murder type movies in the last 20 years. Is this just another one ? Probably. It's not exactly ground breaking but it is fast paced and keeps you guessing. It is unique in some ways because although it exposes the killer fairly early on it conceals their motive until late in the movie. I've always considered Ray Liotta a 'B Grade' actor, guilty far too often of merely reading his lines and showing fake emotion. Whilst there are times when he's guilty of these shortcomings again in this movie, his performance for most part is solid and convincing. The support cast is equally strong and the underrated Christian Slater also shines but is sadly lacking in screen time. A haunting soundtrack and tight dialogue makes for enjoyable movie if the genre is your thing. Recommended viewing 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Well...

4/10
Author: Bruno Lecurieux from Spain
7 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm actually disappointed. The plot seems to built up nice in the beginning but in the end seems ridiculous. Not that I doubt Ray's character to be able to remember 100 women he just had one night stand with but rather how the killer gets to know that and how he is able to pile up the bodies faster that terminator looking for Sarah Conner.

The killer is revealed pretty early in the movie and is a rather empty caricature of some religious fanatic. I believe if they had spent more time on the killer's psychology and how he gets to his victims, the film would be more credible.

The only part I enjoyed was the rather sarcastic FBI agent played by Mr Slater but that might be just 10 min of the entire movie. I definitely do not recommend this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Absolute Dreck - and Rehashed Dreck at that....

2/10
Author: geddyleeisgod from Japan
13 October 2011

Wooden acting, laughable dialogue, and a completely implausible and unoriginal plot.

For example: "I'm going to have to ask you to turn in your badge and your gun until we clear things up. I'm sorry."

Given a second star because the photography and lighting met today's general standards, although without any particular effort on the part of the director of photography to strive for any originality or aesthetic quality.

A stinkeroo. A doggie turd painted gold.

You've been warned.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Inconsistent acting and overall just bad, even though there is some spoilers read instead of watching

2/10
Author: WalterSoprano from United States
23 November 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film has some interesting aspects but they aren't good enough to outshine anything in this hunk of garbage. I couldn't stand some of the acting with how inconsistent and off key it was, for example Gisele Fraga which played Ana really annoyed me because she constantly contradicted everything she did or said. To elaborate further on that I will say how Ana always made an idiot out of her self by constantly saying I don't care when she very clearly and obviously did care. Plus unless Ana had a major case of bi polar disorder Gisele and the writers screwed up there, she would be hardcore arguing with jack when out of no where she brings up how she is pregnant and now they're both happy and loving each other which clearly doesn't make sense.

Another inconsistent character is the main killer aka jacks bastard son, all throughout the film he's talking about how jack will burn in hell and he will show no mercy and so forth when in the end after killing all those women and even the unborn children in the bellies he let Ana and her kid live. So overall the inconsistency makes this film really stupid and badly made.

The films highlights were not as common as they should have been but even if the highlights appeared more frequently it still wouldn't have been nearly enough to make up for all the ridiculous inconsistency. If you enjoyed it good for you but for me I just hate it for plenty of reasons I've already listed, if you haven't seen this movie and you're reading this review do yourself a favor and skip this one and go watch seven. Seven has a somewhat similar story with a much better story, consistency, acting, and climax (among the most memorable in my opinion). That's the end of my review thanks for reading.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not worth your time

1/10
Author: pi1e
17 February 2014

I was never much of a fan of Ray Liotta, except maybe for The Goodfellas,and he proves me right in this movie. The actress playing his wife is struggling with English and with acting (no, she's not the next SoniaBraga, I'm sorry to say). Christian Slater does his usual crazy. Nothing suspenseful, nothing thrilling and no drama (though they do try, so eagerly, in every shot) about this. This was free on-demand, so I'm happy I didn't have to pay for it. Don't let the others fool you, this movie is not worth your time. The writing is horrible, the dialogue is childish, the plot is stupid, the "twist" is easily figured out, the acting is horrible - it is murder-by-numbers with all the clichés you can throw in, mixed up and then spilled out for you viewing "pleasure". Stay away!

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Be Gentle

3/10
Author: craigvalenciaga from Washington State
9 August 2012

I love Ray Liotta (Goodfellas...). There is something about his eyes and his interpretation of text that plants him in the garden of good actors. Ving Rhames and Christian Slater are not slouches; they both have a body of work that they can be proud of.

The film has shortcomings but I want to compliment the actors, crew, and artists involved. It's hard to hit the ball out of the park every time but they suited up and did the best they could.

What I see is a script that had quite a few voices that had to be placated in order for the film to be made. There are too many levels of intellect and articulation. Nobody edited the script. The script teeters uncomfortably between genres; the director creates a new sub-genre of pornography at times and then the contextual shots want to make the film artsy. Crime-Porn? I guess.

The script isn't even really that insufferable. The problem is with he pacing, the camera work, the editing, and the dumbing down of EVERY element--! Nobody looks good...and if no one looks good what's the point?

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A Terrible Movie.

Author: nickcaveuk from United Kingdom
7 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

We've had horror porn now we have cop porn, I think the script writers had bets on how many times they could use the word 'vagina' in a 90 min film. Ray Liotta is just not a good enough actor to hold a film together without the support of a De Niro or the like. Ving Rhames looks embarrassed to be there and Christian Slater is just as terrible as he usually is. The whole cop as suspect thing has been done to death and this film adds nothing to that genre - discussing how many sexual partners the suspect cop has had just adds to the wholly unsavoury flavour of the film. Don't hold your breath waiting waiting for Rich Cowan to direct a decent film he just has no ability he could turn a silk purse into a sows ear.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history