IMDb > The River Murders (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The River Murders
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The River Murders More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 37 reviews in total 

33 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Not worth my time

Author: sin8 from United States
9 September 2011

I was kinda looking forward to this movie having seen some of the media pictures and after watching 15mins of it, I was ready to take a nap. Ray Liota has never really been the 'up-front' guy that you expect to see in a movie like this and he does nothing to change the outlook in this movie either. Often seen walking around with his pot-belly sticking out and frequently mouthing a bunch of 'cliched' sentences, his character is so different from the portrayed 'guy who has slept with hundred's of women and even old flames can't keep there hands off' type of guy that the weak script calls for. The story is weak to the point of being funny. Its like the script for this has been made up from scenes and lines from some of the (much) better offerings in this genre. All of the characters are way too predictable and offer nothing that hasn't already been done to death. I even found the soundtrack also very annoying and repetitive. I'm no real film buff nor a real movie critic but this movie really owes everything it makes from the promotion. Unfortunately, if you pay to see this you'll come out of the movie theater feeling ripped off.

Was the above review useful to you?

29 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

Really not so bad

8/10
Author: holysimon from Canada
16 October 2011

This is the kind of low budget movie offering a mix of seasoned actors, who do a great job with the material and their screen time, and not so seasoned ones who fill in the blanks.

Liotta is top notch and Slater is his usual enjoyable self.

Michael Rodrick has got game and Sarah Ann Schultz creates a very hot detective.

With a handful of surprising twists and few glaring errors, it managed to tell a really interesting story by avoiding the usual pitfalls of guns and sexploitation.

This had the look and feeling of those B-movies of the eighties where you could sit in front of the picture and be just captivated by the storytelling and the performance of thespians who don't need big bucks for them to show they can act.

A good effort.

As for the whiners? Well, 2 species have sprung on IMDb in the last few years: those who like nothing and those who hate everything.

As for the rest: you'll probably enjoy the surprises as well as I did.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

It is not worth watching ...

3/10
Author: Erik Osolin from Slovenia
8 October 2011

Ray Liotta and Christian Slater are names, for whom you would say they are A class actors. So they are, however they cannot save poor scenario and a poor movie. Furthermore, such a movie does not bring them some good reputation and in future I will apparently have to avoid movies in which they will be acting. An hour and a half of your life spent to watch this movie is a period, which you will never get back. It is a poor TV-like movie with unrealistic scenario. (well, at least for majority of us normal, ordinary people, family guys). Very poor developed characters. Christian Slater role is marginal, not developed, his role could have been played by any guy from the street who never acted before. Just forget it ... grab a book or go for a walk ...

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Good serial murder mystery

Author: paulimiles from Australia
7 September 2011

Okay, there's been a plethora of serial murder type movies in the last 20 years. Is this just another one ? Probably. It's not exactly ground breaking but it is fast paced and keeps you guessing. It is unique in some ways because although it exposes the killer fairly early on it conceals their motive until late in the movie. I've always considered Ray Liotta a 'B Grade' actor, guilty far too often of merely reading his lines and showing fake emotion. Whilst there are times when he's guilty of these shortcomings again in this movie, his performance for most part is solid and convincing. The support cast is equally strong and the underrated Christian Slater also shines but is sadly lacking in screen time. A haunting soundtrack and tight dialogue makes for enjoyable movie if the genre is your thing. Recommended viewing 8/10

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Well...

4/10
Author: Bruno Lecurieux from Spain
7 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm actually disappointed. The plot seems to built up nice in the beginning but in the end seems ridiculous. Not that I doubt Ray's character to be able to remember 100 women he just had one night stand with but rather how the killer gets to know that and how he is able to pile up the bodies faster that terminator looking for Sarah Conner.

The killer is revealed pretty early in the movie and is a rather empty caricature of some religious fanatic. I believe if they had spent more time on the killer's psychology and how he gets to his victims, the film would be more credible.

The only part I enjoyed was the rather sarcastic FBI agent played by Mr Slater but that might be just 10 min of the entire movie. I definitely do not recommend this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

A Terrible Movie.

Author: nickcaveuk from United Kingdom
7 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

We've had horror porn now we have cop porn, I think the script writers had bets on how many times they could use the word 'vagina' in a 90 min film. Ray Liotta is just not a good enough actor to hold a film together without the support of a De Niro or the like. Ving Rhames looks embarrassed to be there and Christian Slater is just as terrible as he usually is. The whole cop as suspect thing has been done to death and this film adds nothing to that genre - discussing how many sexual partners the suspect cop has had just adds to the wholly unsavoury flavour of the film. Don't hold your breath waiting waiting for Rich Cowan to direct a decent film he just has no ability he could turn a silk purse into a sows ear.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Interesting Cop Drama

7/10
Author: Bob_the_Hobo
2 May 2012

Ray Liotta plays Jack Verdon, a Seattle cop investigating a string of brutal murders, with all the targets being women he's slept with in the past. Immediately a suspect, Jack has to tangle with FBI Agent Vuckovitch (Slater) work outside his job to catch the killer.

The script seems fairly straight-forward but it has a very compelling religious aspect that comes in when we meet the killer. I'm not spoiling anything by saying that we meet the killer fairly early on. His character is written in a way that kept me interested as to his intentions. I had a hard time believing Liotta's character would remember all the "100's" of women he'd slept with, but whatever. Verdon and the killer are definitely the strongest characters, though, with the Vuckovitch character being a constant strain.

Liotta, Slater, and Ving Rhames are the bankable stars advertised on the cover, but all three men could have switched roles and you would have had the same movie. For instance, if Slater played Verdon, Liotta the Police Captain, and Rhames the FBI Agent, or so on. All three do an adeqaute job, though Slater served more as comic relief than anything else. Liotta's wife is played by the gorgeous Giselle Fraga, whose beauty just about saves her flat acting. Michael Rodrick shows some real potential as the killer, his cold performance stood out from the supporting cast.

Cinematography caught the drizzly Washington weather perfectly, though as someone not a Seattle native, I was confused as why it was never really brought to light which river the title alluded to.

"The River Murders" makes for a nice day off or rainy day mystery movie to watch with some popcorn. I'd recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Off to a good start, but ...

5/10
Author: kosmasp
30 September 2012

I have to admit, I have no idea why the movie is called River Murders. Obviously there is something connected to it, but it makes it sound ... well different from what it is. Or I didn't get the connection between the title and the motive. That could be the case too of course. But what starts of nice, maybe even something that might upset you in the sense that you wonder what you'd do, does derail a bit towards the end, which is a shame.

Performances are stellar throughout (except Christian Slater, who's doing his "crazy thing" again, but is more annoying than anything else), but not exceptional. There is a supposed punch at the end, which doesn't work so well. If you want real badness, watch "Sleep Tight". Now that's mad bad. Even before that final moment, there is another scene reminiscent of "Seven". Close, but no cigar then!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Be Gentle

3/10
Author: craigvalenciaga from Washington State
9 August 2012

I love Ray Liotta (Goodfellas...). There is something about his eyes and his interpretation of text that plants him in the garden of good actors. Ving Rhames and Christian Slater are not slouches; they both have a body of work that they can be proud of.

The film has shortcomings but I want to compliment the actors, crew, and artists involved. It's hard to hit the ball out of the park every time but they suited up and did the best they could.

What I see is a script that had quite a few voices that had to be placated in order for the film to be made. There are too many levels of intellect and articulation. Nobody edited the script. The script teeters uncomfortably between genres; the director creates a new sub-genre of pornography at times and then the contextual shots want to make the film artsy. Crime-Porn? I guess.

The script isn't even really that insufferable. The problem is with he pacing, the camera work, the editing, and the dumbing down of EVERY element--! Nobody looks good...and if no one looks good what's the point?

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A detective works a case that gets very personal.

5/10
Author: Michael O'Keefe from Muskogee OK
24 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Ray Liotta plays veteran Seattle detective Jack Verdon, who by chance becomes a suspect in a murder case. Actually Verdon becomes the prime suspect when it is discovered this murder is connected to a string of unsolved murders up and down the Pacific Northwest. Verdon has been very personal with all the victims...strange as it may seem. And each found in or close to the river where he was intimate with them. Captain Langley(Ving Rhames)is eager to clear Jack, but filthy minded FBI agent Vuckovich(Christian Slater)is insistent Verdon is the serial killer. Jack's own wife Ana(Gisele Fraga)starts having her own doubts about his innocence. The killer is revealed too early and brings a strange dynamic to the story line. This is one of those movies that you wish was a good as its description. Filling out the cast: Sarah Ann Schultz, Melora Walters, Serena Caryl and Raymond J. Barry.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings Awards External reviews
Parents Guide Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history