IMDb > Nobody Else But You (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Poupoupidou
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Nobody Else But You More at IMDbPro »Poupoupidou (original title)

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 13 reviews in total 

26 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

PLeasant and unexpected film

9/10
Author: mcsawley from Switzerland
16 January 2011

A writer visits his home town in the French Jura, the coldest part of the country, and finds inspiration for his new book.

He comes across a sad event in the town: the young beauty of the county has been found dead. She was keeping a diary and he finds it. Model and actress, very attractive, she has found regional fame. Happiness is hard to pursue however, as she has a very low self esteem of herself as Marilyn may have had of Norma Jean Baker. The story unrolls among parallel fates and surprises, and offers a key to the death of Marilyn.

Among frozen sceneries, amazing things happen in this small town. You do not need to live in Los Angeles or Paris for meeting excitement, hope and disillusion.

Well acted, worth seeing, small unpretentious film with high interest.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Let it get going, follow the interweavings and humor and creative verve, and you should love it!

9/10
Author: secondtake from United States
27 October 2012

Nobody Else but You (2011)

See this!

Part sexual fantasy, part hardboiled detective story, part Twin Peaks surrealism, part Norwegian humor, and part sweet hometown romance.

No way? Yes way. Here's roughly how the director and writer Gerald Hustache-Mathieu pulled it off. First is the seemingly main story: a scruffy detective writer of few words is in this snowy village on the Swiss border called Mouth (it really exists) to collect his part of an inheritance, which turns out to be a stuffed dog. You think you're in for a bizarre and dry comedy. But he learns as he leaves town that the young female star of the village was found dead in the fields, officially a suicide. He sticks around to learn more, doubts grow, and he begins to play real world detective.

However, the opening scene before even this is a bright, dreamy sequence of a sexualized blonde woman talking to us in voice-over. We have no idea what's going on yet, but the sensual aspects clash with the reality of the rest. Yet the two worlds are the same, of course--the woman is the dead woman, and we see what is going on through her eyes, both as a corpse and in flashbacks. The flashbacks themselves are triggered by entries in a series of diaries left behind. And the story sweeps in a whole assortment of the local townspeople, many of them quirky types themselves (this is the David Lynchian part).

Then on top of this is a gradual realization that not only did the woman look like Marilyn Monroe (at least when she goes bright blonde) but she has many parallels to the icon's actual life. The detective begins to think this is more than coincidence, and while falling in love with the memory of this woman he never met, he uncovers more and more of the startling story of her sad life.

So, besides the director we have to completely admire the performances of the two leads--the detective played by Jean-Paul Rouve and the young woman played by Sophie Quinton. They are opposites in many ways, but both are a little bit famous and a little bit outcast, too. In the flashbacks and in the current story the two meet the same range of people, so we come to see the context with full complexity. And for those familiar with Monroe's life and lovers (purported and otherwise) the parallels only grow in fascination.

It's filmed with terrific energy, from fluid gorgeous camera-work to hand-held kinetic stuff with fast edits, including perky cuts to show faces and highly magnified closeups. (The most memorable of these is the view of the red shiny lips of Quinton as she sings "Poupoupidou" which is the original French title to the movie.) This is all lovely and hilarious and oddly sad, too. An inventive, terrific movie that manages to speed through a few weak points and make little of a contrivance or two, piling on a wonderful soundtrack, and keeping you on your toes from start to finish.

See this!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

engaging enough story benefits greatly from location and moody tone

6/10
Author: Matthew Stechel (mateob25@aol.com) from United States
22 May 2012

Nobody Else But You kind of sneaks up on you. It starts out being a deadpan Fargo like comedy---love that quick shot of the main character throwing away the big stuffed dog in the first 5 minutes---but quickly turns into a slightly melancholy investigation of the death of this local weather-woman. I'm not giving anything away--the body of the woman is found within the first ten minutes of the film and the main character is a writer looking for a subject for his next book---so the plot is set up very nice and neat right at the very beginning. The entire movie is mostly taken up by the writer's investigation (and frustrations in his investigations thanks to all the colorful locals) but rather then focusing on the other people in the weather-woman's life--the writer (and the movie) is really more focused on the woman's emotional state before she died-(the writer stumbles onto her diaries which is a neat way of having her narrate the movie from beyond in a way that makes logical sense and not just there because the director wanted to pay homage to sunset boulevard and American beauty) Eventually we find out that she was hardly the happy go lucky young woman everyone in town makes her out to be--she is in fact a rather sad young woman who completely modeled herself--on Marilyn Monroe---which actually explains the title if you think about it. In fact this movie might actually capture Marilyn's melancholy, bitterness, and flat out sadness better then the recent "My Life with Marilyn" did. (well maybe not better but this would definitely make an interesting movie to watch on a double bill with Marilyn--and it would prob be seen as a good attempt to put "Marilyn" in a noir of her own.) As a who done it the movie is kind of a wash out--we find out who did it all right enough but we're never really given any great motive or incentive for why---in fact i honestly felt the identity of the murderer ended up being pretty arbitrary---but as a story about a young woman who's thirst for fame left her less then satisfied--and as a story about a writer trying to understand the events that led to this young vital woman's demise--the movie was successfully engaging and just different enough thanks to its frigid atmosphere and various local characters to be entertaining. Even if the semi comedy we were kind of set up for at the beginning all but vanishes by the end of the film--the tonal shift from deadpan comedy to slightly bleak drama is handled nicely enough that it never feels jarring while you're watching it (its really only after i started thinking about it after wards that i thought hey when this thing started wasn't it supposed to be a comedy?) If you're in the mood for a more than decent drama with traces of comedy in it (and if you're in the mood for a decent writer investigates a murder movie as well) this should fit the bill.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

A Scandinavian style thriller on an American icon lookalike and made in France

8/10
Author: geofverney from Brussels, Belgium
22 January 2012

I think the title of this review sums up the content of the movie! I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, particularly because I had no expectations. I loved the atmosphere and I think the director and crew where very attentive in giving it that 'thriller in the cold' feeling.

If you add the great soundtrack, the murder mystery and the actors, you have a very good ensemble. Sure, there were some imperfections in the plot (like who exactly is trying to kill the writer?) or loose ends (hotel girl crush on the writer) but I was so much into the atmosphere that it didn't really matter (for me) and it certainly didn't spoil my viewing experience.

I have to say though that I love thrillers with this kind of winter atmosphere like Insomnia, Les Rivières Pourpres, Whiteout or Millennium (the Swedish ones since I haven't seen the Hollywood style version yet).

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Happy birthday, Mr. President

7/10
Author: jotix100 from New York
15 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A pleasant surprise this film turned out to be, when it showed unexpectedly on an international cable channel recently. The story is set in a part of France that, for all practical purposes, could have happened in Alaska, or Siberia,since this town, in the Franche-Comte region of the country, is one of the coldest spots in Europe.

David Rousseau, a crime writer, travels to hear the disposition of a relative's will, where he gets nothing out of the estate. On his way home, he stumbles into a murder that has shaken the community. A young beauty, Candice Lecouer, is found dead in a snowed field. Something does not fit well with David. He had sneaked into the morgue, where he examined the dead woman's body, discovering signs she had been murdered, something which he is an expert in the field. David Rousseau's investigation traces the young woman's life, which reveals the details of the crime Candice was a victim.

Directed by Gerald Hustache-Mathieu, who co-wrote the screenplay with Juliette Sales, keeps the viewer involved in the crime that was committed. The plot capitalizes on the fact the murdered woman identified with Marilyn Monroe, her idol, whose legendary life intertwines with Candice's own. The young French counterpart was coveted by many of the citizens of Mouth in ways that both lives parallel the famous model, right down to their choices of men who loved her and those who desired Candice for their own passions. David Rousseau retraces step by step the murder of the local beauty, by comparing events in both women.

Jean-Paul Rouve does a credible job with his David, a man who not being a detective, but with his writing experience, knows where to go to find justice. Sophie Quinton's Candice is wonderful to watch. She exudes intelligence and beauty. Gullaume Gouix, seen as the friendly local police, is a nice addition to the film.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Well worth a look

7/10
Author: fischfin from United States
9 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I didn't know anything about 'Nobody else but you' except some of the positive reviews I read online. I was pleasantly surprised how clever and atmospheric the movie was.This is not the greatest movie I have ever see but well worth it if you are looking for an entertaining mystery with a very original ending and that was the hook for me.

There are shades of 'Fargo' or 'Twin Peaks' however they are faint and seem more accidental than intentional.The soundtrack was a plus for me as well. As of late I have not been overwhelmed by the movies coming out of France and it was great to have a cinematic experience that seemed uniquely French.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

No Other Film but This

8/10
Author: soncoman from United States
3 July 2012

Often a film critic references another film/actor/director in a review to give the reader some sense of the style of film one might expect. (ie: "Hitchcock-ian," "Spielberg-ian," "Uwe Boll-of-Crap," etc.) I'm guilty of this myself. Sometimes it helps, sometimes it hurts. The comparison often leads an audience to go into a film with certain expectations that are often unfulfilled.

Such is how it has been with "Nobody Else but You," a French film now in general release. The material I received when previewing this film compares it to a couple of films/TV shows and I think that, in this case, it does a disservice to the film. I found "Nobody Else but You" to be a winningly original, highly entertaining film and an absolute rarity – a mystery that doesn't telegraph its ending and manages to keep its reveal to the very (satisfying) end.

Set in small town France in the dead of winter - isn't winter the best season for mysteries? - Jean-Paul Rouve plays a mystery writer (with writer's block, of course) who arrives in town for the reading of a will. After disposing of his inheritance, he hits the road and comes upon a very unusual scene – a crime scene - the apparent suicide of the celebrity "spokesmodel" for the local dairy (Sophie Quinton.) What's a mystery writer to do? Investigate!

And so it begins. Yes, I know what you're thinking. None of this seems very original, but it's not the stock components (suicide/murder/writer's block/narration from beyond the grave, etc.) that make this film. It's what director Gerald Hustache-Mathieu does with them. He takes these hackneyed elements and constructs something new and refreshing around them – and he does it by taking all these mystery fundamentals and inserting them (in a very original way) into what we know about some very famous people.

I mean, when's the last time you saw a really good film that combined all those elements with the world's endearing obsession with Marilyn Monroe, her gay iconic status, her relationship with the Kennedys, the mystery surrounding her death and modern French politics - all set to the beat of a kick-ass soundtrack?

You haven't. Till now.

www.worstshowontheweb.com

Was the above review useful to you?

A good story, but lacking direction

5/10
Author: djc123-612-319888
19 February 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I hadn't read any reviews of this film so I watched it with an open mind. The basic plot is pretty easy to follow. Writer arrives in a small town looking for inspiration, around the same time a local actress is found dead. So the writer decides to stick around and investigate in the hope of getting some ideas for his next book. I certainly wouldn't call it a comedy, there are a few little moments that made me smile, but that was about it. And therein lies my basic criticism of this film, I'm not exactly sure what kind of a film it is trying to be. Most of the supporting cast were very cliché (the President, the ex-boyfriend, the psychiatrist). In fact, the hotel receptionist, 'Betty' was the only supporting character who seemed believable. Like I said, I didn't know exactly what to expect, It was pleasant enough, but a lack of real 'umph' made this is one movie that I will forget about quite easily.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Extremely unique humorous (dry) and very gay friendly

10/10
Author: Movie Critic from Peru
21 May 2013

I found this movie on Netflix browsing the French foreign section. It is really mostly a dry comedy I suppose but is much more. It is also an extremely creative gay friendly detective story about a modern parallel life to Marilyn Monroe's in the form of Candice Le Coeur from the coldest part of France.

It is funny foremost with characters like the Hotel clerk who has the hots for the Rousseau (the main character). The lesbian psychiatrist taking close up pictures of tree moss...on and on. Rousseau is a novel writer who stumbles on Candice's murder and follows up and solves it for inspiration for a book.

It is just so non formula so unique so humorous. Just watch it. Not sure what the number 5 means?? showing fate is at work anyway.

This is the only movie on Netflix streaming I have watched twice.

RECOMMEND HIGHLY

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Marilyn Redux

8/10
Author: billcr12 from United States
28 January 2012

David Rousseau is a crime mystery writer driving through a small town in France when he happens upon an ambulance loading a body into the back. Candice Lecoeur, a semi famous model has been found dead in the snow of an apparent suicide. Rousseau becomes obsessed with the death which closely parallels the life of Marilyn Monroe. With the premise of writing a new novel, he investigates the circumstances and final days of Lecoeur's life. He befriends a local detective and they team up to solve the possibility of a crime.

Through a series of flashbacks, Lecoeur's life is examined using diaries she had written from her teens to present day. This is a top notch mystery thriller with excellent performances by the two leads, Jean-Paul Rouve as Rosseau and Sophie Quinton as Lecoeur. It is heart breaking at times but well worth your time, an 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history