IMDb > The Tunnel (2011/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Tunnel
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Tunnel More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 5 of 12: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]
Index 112 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Total waste of time

1/10
Author: RebeccaIFN from Den Bosch
6 February 2015

I hate paid reviews and ratings. Expected a lot, but this was honestly the worst movie and waste of time EVER! It totally sucks and the smallest spider on earth gives me bigger scares. This movie actually did not have one single scare or scary moment at all.

The movie is really really really bad and makes no sense at all. Really.. What the f*. Ps. If you hate the screaming chick in The Blair Witch Project. Good luck with this one.

Let's keep screaming and "sshhhh"-ing when were being followed and "hunted" on. Full on frustration. At the end of the movie I actually wanted to smash my TV, because this movie was so extremely bad.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

"Get's up a nice head of steam, but......"

5/10
Author: buttytvn from United Kingdom
23 August 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It seems overly drawn out and prolonged, particularly after finding the room caked in blood....And Tangle's flashlight ! They would have been out of there rather rapid, I think ! The 'monster' is only viewed via grainy footage and that aspect is a bit of a let-down,also.My big problem was that surely security would have heard that 'big alarm bell' being sounded, and sent officers down to investigate..?They ring it three times, for goodness sakes! This film could have been worse but also a lot better and leaner in some parts.I understand that they are running around corridors and entering vacant rooms, but it started to get a bit silly toward the end and I was getting dizzy....

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I came out of the tunnel with a bitter feeling

5/10
Author: trashgang from Midian
15 January 2013

Another one that fits into the shaky found footage flicks like we have seen a few last years from worse to good. Like in the torture porn heydays we had a lot of trash coming out. This here was okay but not what i expected from it. Having seen Chernobyl Diaries (2012) it fits in perfectly in that region.

This doesn't had anything to do with paranormal activities or whatsoever. This could be real if you want. In fact, it all looked real but once in the tunnels you think monsters or freaks are running around. There's something down there but it doesn't really reveal itself. And it's there were it lacks on suspense and horror.

On part of the way it was edited and so it looked like a real documentary but I was left with a hunger. Have seen so many flicks about tunnels but The Tunnel I will forget. I would recommend End Of The Line (2007) if you want to have your panties wet.

Gore 1/5 Nudity 0/5 Effects 1/5 Story 3/5 Comedy 0/5

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Scary, but a little predictable

6/10
Author: TheNorwegianGuy from Norway
3 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A free horror movie. How good could it be? Well, "The Tunnel" isn't great. There are a lot of better "found footage" films. But still, I think it's worth the watch. If you're into this kind of horror, I think you'll agree. It managed to make me jump up in my seat a couple of times, and a lot of scenes are disturbing and thrilling as hell.

However, I got some problems with it. For starters, I didn't believe that the footage was real. An important aspect of this kind of movies is just that. It's called "found footage" for a reason. You kind of get that right from the start. The interviews are a little over the top. Starting off with interviews recorded AFTER the event takes a lot of the suspense away, and makes the whole thing kind of predictable. Another problem is the eternity it takes for the movie to start. Of course, most horror films has this "curve", but here it was done the wrong way. The first half-hour was uninteresting and totally unnecessary. When they got down into the tunnels, it got better, but still, the interviews some times interrupted the suspense.

But I'll cut it some slack. There are some major scares in there. Being a free low-budget film, It's not that bad.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Not bad....not good, but not bad.

5/10
Author: benlancaster09 from Australia
31 October 2012

When I started watching this movie, I wasn't really expecting much... I've come to accept that Aussie flicks are a lil less par.

For the first half an hour I found myself bored...with all the documentary-style interviews. But once they got down into the tunnel I found it watchable. There were some edge-of-your-seat moments, but nothing overly scary. You don't really see a lot (mostly walls and poorly-lit rooms), but I think there is a decent amount of tension within the film.

The actors weren't the best, but I expected that with a few no-name actors. I thought they did alright though and generally their performances were believable.

There is certainly better hand-held movies out there if you're a fan of this style, but this still provided me with some entertainment on a lazy day.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Very well shot and a nice change for the found footage genre

7/10
Author: Justin Rushing
10 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Look im going to keep this short and sweet... This movie was shot on a fixed budget, mainly comprised of community support and funding through Vodo. That should not take away from the fact that this is an excellent edition to the found footage genre. Its shot like cloverfield but has the creepiness of paranormal activity.

The movie is good in the sense that you don't know what they news crew is even looking for until it finds them. The creature in this film was Scary, thought provoking, and new to the genre. Was it a vampire? was it some kind of denizen hobo transformed by the need to eat underground? WTF was it??? I think this movie is worth a good watch at very minimum just to see this creature.. or whatever you CAN see of him...

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A trippy nightmare

7/10
Author: rivertam26 from United States
15 July 2012

Where would horror films be without the Blair Witch project(4/5)? I mean the style of film making has over taken the genre from the very popular Paranormal Activities( 4.5/4/3.5/5), to the sensational franchise from Spain the (Rec) films(4/4/5), the American remake Quarantine(3/5), Atrocious(3.5/5), Cloverfield(3/5), Troll Hunter(2/5), Diary of the Dead(1.5/5), The Last Exorcism(3/5), The Devil Inside(2/5), Silent House(3.5/5) and so many others. Of course not all of them are good but when executed the right way it can be a trippy nightmare. And the style of film making has even crossed over into a TV series The River(3/5) and even other genres of film with movies like Chronicle(4/5) and Project X. So what is it about it that makes it such a draw. Well it's simple it's because of it's simplicity. The best horror films are most effective in their simplicity. And the execution of these films is delivered in it's simplest form. It's raw and completely immersive it's hard to escape being thrust into the film which makes for a truly nightmarish journey. The Tunnel is one of those films that gets it right. It tells the supposed "true" story of a news crew that ventures into the underground tunnels beneath their subway system to investigate the rumors of disappearing homeless. A ridiculous idea by any means but where would horror films be without them but this one lends itself as do the good ones to the films overall effectiveness. Of course what they end up finding well I won't spoil for you but I will say this even though it's a bit draggish in pace for the films first half it really picks up steam and some of the disturbing images will be forever etched into my cinematic psyche. As the horror begins to play out we are taken through tight hallways, blood drenched walls, the restrictive night vision and a barrage of hideous sound effects among others. The movie has the effect of walking through a very scary haunted house except that it feels a bit more real. The acting on view in the film is solid and sells us the somewhat generic material making it throughly engaging and in that sense we always believe whats happening on screen despite the fact that we should know better. Although the genre plotting may be getting a bit tired and this one is no different it's in this execution when it's done right that it can always feel fresh. And with Paranoaml activity 4 and rumblings of a found footage Friday the 13th and Amityville Horror on it's way it's far from dying down, and that's a good thing in my opinion.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A Sound Watch But Ultimately Unfulfilling

Author: mancubus83 from Australia
16 August 2011

Honestly, I thought this movie was at least refreshing to see in the realm of Australian Theatre.

Following the style of Blair Witch and other "found footage" style thrillers/horrors, The Tunnel is, at the very least, compelling to watch. It is the story of a news crew investigating a network of tunnels underneath Sydney and discovering why the Government abandoned its plans to use an underground reservoir in the hopes of relieving Australias water crisis. Of course, as is always the way, the crew encounters something deep underground that not all of them will walk away from.

The Tunnel is, however, not without it's share of faults. The pacing is agonisingly slow, relying on the build up of atmosphere for the first half and the implied threat of something lurking in the darkness in the second half. Although these creepouts are effective (startlingly so in some places), most people will probably be turned off by sluggish pace. You'll be spending most of your time wishing they'd show you more about who, or what, this thing is that's chasing our hapless news crew, but, alas, it is not to be.

Those looking for a lot of blood and guts will be disappointed. This is a low-budget film, after all, and when you're going for realism with a limited budget, the ol' Gore-o-meter tends to suffer a little. Also, most of it happens in pitch black darkness; even if there was gore, we're not supposed to be able to see it.

The acting is above par, for the course. The movie is presented in a faux-documentary style which often calls for some deadpan delivery (not easy to pull off with an Australian accent, let me tell you), but most of them make good - although it has to be said that the standard of these actors isn't homogenous and some are definitely more worthy of praise than others (in one particularly poignant scene, an actor is criticised for 'not being there', a description which is surprisingly apt for said actors performance in this movie).

If you're a fan of the 'found footage' genre, odds are good you'll consider The Tunnel at least worthy of a watch. For everyone else, though, you may want to skip this one if only to avoid the feeling like you should be doing something better with your time.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

surprised at the good reviews

Author: arfdawg-1 from United States
13 August 2011

Not a horrible movie, but's essentially Blair Witch Lite. Very talkie...low on action....low on character development.

Takes forever and a day to get going.

I'm not even 100% sure what the plat is to be honest.

They go down into some WWII tunnels and whatever they are looking for seems to be hurting them.

It's not that its a really bad flick, it's just been done over and over since Blair witch.

Too bad they couldn't be original.

If you like a flick that is low on action, high on talk and derivative as all heck you might be interested in this flick.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

I Loved this movie

10/10
Author: thefakenet from Canada
29 June 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

While I agree with a few other of the negative comments that this movie was not necessarily the most original film concept ever conceived, I still give it a 10 out of ten. It wasn't trying to be something it's not. It had a few decent scares, but I never felt led on in a way I didn't end up enjoying.

There was never too much reveal, so we get left with a bit of mystery. And when the movie was over, I knew it wasn't real, but I couldn't help but find myself googling to see what - if anything - there may have been in fact. The tunnels, the lake, the bell, those all exist, and the bell is a spot-on match for the real thing, apart from the floor it's on being dry.

They filmed in the real station connecting to those tunnels... the plan to process and use water from the lake was a real plan... But no news crew (apparently) ever went in and lost people, and I couldn't substantiate any claims of homeless going missing. In the end, a real fun movie, that leaves you thinking, and just won't let go of you.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 5 of 12: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot synopsis Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history