IMDb > Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 26 reviews in total 

10 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Nice Movie

8/10
Author: talalz from Canada
30 January 2011

Madhur Bandharkar has recently brought us great movies to watch such as Fashion, Jail, etc. Now he has stepped into the romantic comedy genre with Dil To Baccha Hai Ji.

It isn't the best movie or the best comedy in recent times, however its definitely 2 hours well spent. There has been some criticism that the movie's foundation resides on sexual jokes. Sure, i agree that there are quite a few of them but there aren't as vulgar as seen in other movies for example Masti. The 3 male actors, Tisca Chopra performed really well however the other 3 actresses did not shine in my opinion. Especially, Shruti since her role only lasts 15-20mins. The love stories for Ajay and Omi are well structured but i found Emraan's story to be kind of random. It is never clear when he falls in love. The music in the movie is quite good and i really liked the use of 'Jadugari' in the BGM.

Ajay is already set but this movie is a stepping stone for both Emraan and Omi. Emraan in the past has stuck to Mahesh Bhatt movies and this could be his introduction to more commercial movies - he is very talented and deserves a chance to shine. Omi's acting even though was very similar to his character in 3 idiots but the context was different and maybe we will see him in other comedies soon.

As far as 2011 is considered, after No one killed Jessica, this is my favorite movie of the year so far. I recommend that everyone (adults) should go and give this one a shot.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A nice romantic comedy

8/10
Author: MovieInspector from United Kingdom
6 June 2011

Madhur Bhandarkar, a national award winning director, is well know for his hard hitting movies such as "Fashion" and "Chandini Bar", and that's why you have to give him lots and lots of credit for going out of his comfort zone.

The performances by all 3 of the leading males (Ajay Devgan, Emraan Hashmi and Omi Vadiya) are good. The character development makes up the story; hence, we get to know more about the personalities of the three characters as the film progresses. Their respective stories are all different so the theme of love, of course, is thoroughly explored.

The cinematography is good as you would expect, as is the screenplay.

Music has been nicely incorporated; there are no songs that don't 'fit in'.

Verdict: a nice, funny and romantic movie that shouldn't be missed. 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Madhur's Rom com delivered!

8/10
Author: Manoj Radhakrishnan from India
17 April 2011

This is a Hindi movie with a difference! Yeah, I expected something from the promos and well, I got exactly what I was expecting. But I said it is different, because unlike many Hindi romantic comedies I have watched, it does not portray love as stupid.

The characters in the movie are pretty detailed and distinct. The first half of the movie takes a bit time introducing the protagonists, which is a good thing, so that we actually give a damn about the characters! The title is so apt because the 3 lead characters are so different in character, but they all have a common attribute - falling in love. And their love for the girls, why they fall for them and the incidents following that, make up the story.

I don't wanna reveal anything. I am posting this review here because I have found some negative reviews here. I don't understand why! Hats off to Madhur Bhandarkar for making this movie! He had done a good job..Guys, don't miss this movie! Its kind of an eye opener too, because of some unpredictable stuffs followed by a strong climax. Awesome!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A nice realistic comic film which teaches that life should move on.

6/10
Author: bobbysing from India
2 February 2011

Having so many strong, bold and issue based movies in his kitty, Madhur trying his skills in a comedy actually had me in doubts initially. But with DIL TOH BACCHA HAI JI, the talented director surprises the industry as well as the viewers, revealing a new undisclosed dimension of his personality, which is light, fresh and enjoyable. Thankfully following the comedy genre of Hrishikesh Mukherjee or Basu Chatterjee and not Aneez Bazmee, Priyadarshan or Rohit Shetty, Madhur comes up with a nice, feel good realistic comedy which also tackles the mid life crisis problem of men in a delightful manner.

Revolving around the three one sided love stories of Ajay, Emraan and Omi, the film has an entertaining first half and a realistic second one with some regular comic touches inserted smartly to keep the viewer smiling. Plus DTBHJ also has the Madhur Bhandarkar we all are familiar with, evidently visible in few sequences dealing with the rich socialites and office colleagues. In its first hour the film keeps on moving at a pleasant pace introducing all its characters in no time and moving into their individual love stories effectively. And just before the intermission, Madhur brings on a surprising twist in the script which further adds a new dimension in the movie and one expects to see a much more exciting second half coming up.

But post intermission, as usual the pace drops a little with all the emotional drama coming in and that does make you feel restless for a while. However, Madhur hits back again in the last half an hour and gives you a completely unpredictable climax which makes the viewer feel light and refreshing with a smile on his face. Still, as I see it, the post interval part of the movie could be much better with a faster edit and a better selection of supporting actors. In fact the choice of actors by Madhur Bhandarkar in DTBHJ remains quite strange and questionable keeping in mind the fact that he could easily have roped in much better and known actors for some important roles in the script.

The merits of the movie include its fresh and cool, story-telling style which is very close to the one seen in Hrishikesh Mukherjee and Basu Chatterjee movies. So for that Madhur indeed deserves his praises considering the fact that he has never ever tried this genre before in his career. The other major merit is the way the film tackles the issue of mid life crisis in both men and women. At one side Ajay Devgan is shown fighting with his divorce and new one sided love life together in a hilarious manner and on the other is Tisca Chopra dealing with her middle age after having a successful career as a famous model and former Miss India. Along with that the film has a very soothing presence of Shazahn Padamsee, who looks very pretty, bubbly and ravishing on the screen.

The weaker points of the movie include the same old or monotonous kind of role given to Emraan Hashmi who plays a Casanova in the film as seen several times before in his previous films. And second is the not so great kind of character given to Omi Vaidya who is now hugely famous after 3 Idiots. Though both Emraan and Omi have done full justice to their assigned roles but their fans may feel disappointed as there are no specifically enjoyable scenes featuring both the actors. In addition to this, I found the casting of Shruti Hassan not up to the mark as she looked very heavily over confident in her role of a rich socialite. In other words I found Tisca Chopra much better and impactful in comparison.

Actually it's the main story of Ajay - Shazahn and the scenes of all the three friends Ajay, Emraan and Omi together, which keeps the ball rolling and you don't mind the other minor hiccups in the second half. Ajay Devgan once again proves his versatility with a brilliant performance which simply shows that he can equally perform well in both Hrishi Da style and Rohit Shetty kind of comedies made in Bollywood. Emraan Hashmi has got nothing new to do but still he looks charming and inviting in his lover boy role. Omi Vaidya underplays his part well and impresses but his fans may not find what they were looking for in his shy character of a poet. Shazahn as stated before looks great and acts well too but Rituparna Sengupta and Shraddha Das are just OK. Shruti Hassan overacts whereas Tisca Chopra is simply superb in her scenes with Emraan.

Musically I liked the track "Abhi Kucch Dino Se" instantly after a long time and also "Tu Khwaab Hai Ya Koi Jaadugari" playing in the background. So Pritam once again gives you something to cheer about in his soundtrack. But I couldn't understand why 'Abhi Kuchh Dino Se" was not used and promoted in the film's promotions. Cinematography is pretty descent with an eye catching art direction along with some enjoyable dialogs from Sanjay Chhel. But after watching DTBHJ I really wondered why the Censors gave the movie an 'A' certificate. May be they just gave the rating by only seeing the name of Madhur Bhandarkar in the credits without even seeing the movie entirely.

Summing up, if you want to have a good time in the theater with nothing loud or over the top, keeping your comedy expectations on hold, then the chances are that you might like the movie on the whole and would enjoy it with a smiling face. In all its a nice, welcome changeover from the serious and bold director.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Entertaining Movie... MUST WATCH!!!!!!

10/10
Author: souravt9 from India
31 January 2011

National Award-winning director Madhur Bhandarkar, known for making hard-hitting and realistic films like CHANDNI BAR, PAGE 3 and FASHION, traverses a completely new terrain with DIL TOH BACCHA HAI JI. Mind you, it takes a lot of courage to get out of your comfort zone and make a completely different film.

DTBHJ brings back the successful jodi of Ajay Devgan and Emraan Hashmi after ONCE UPON A TIME IN MUMBAAI. It also stars Omi Vaidya (3 IDIOTS fame) in a pivotal role. The quirky promos and some smart marketing went in favour of the film and managed to create the right buzz.

In a hilarious voice-over by Paresh Rawal, we are introduced to bank officer Naren Ahuja (Ajay Devgn), playboy Abhay Suri (Emraaan Hashmi) and Milind Kelkar (Omi Vaidya). Abhay and Milind are paying guests in Naren's house.

The film basically traces the lives of Naren, Abhay and Milind and their encounters with women. Unable to resolve their rising differences, Naren and his wife (Rituparna Sengupta) are about to end their seven-year-old marriage. In a disturbed state of mind, Naren falls for a cute 20-year-old new trainee June Pinto (Shazahn Padamsee) in his bank. Abhay is a gym instructor who can't get enough of girls and women (married and unmarried). He even loses his job for teasing the wife of an underworld bhai from Dubai. On the other hand, Milind writes 'dard bhari shayrees' which cause 'sir dard'. He also works in a matrimonial site, zhatpatshaadi.com, but is unable to find himself a suitable match. He gets infatuated by radio jockey Gungun Sarka (Shraddha Das), who just uses him to get out of troubled situations. The rest of the film shows how their respective tracks move forward.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Lovely movie!

9/10
Author: Dr Jumoke Ojo from Nigeria
7 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As an Indian movie fan, this was one of the best movies i have seen this year (i saw it late in 2012), but still its a great movie. Great acting, wonderful love story that gets you in touch with the characters. Slowly slowly we got to know more about the characters and fall in love with them. I was happy also that it wasn't the normal cliché story of boy meets girl and ends up with girl........the end of the movie was superb. First time seeing Shazahn Padamsee in a movie and i think she did quite well. Wish there could be a sequel to the movie, its worth watching. In summary i think this was a lovely movie, especially for romantics like me.

Great acting. Kudos to the producers.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A modern day sweet romantic comedy movie which is good for one time watch!

7/10
Author: HollowScar from Canada
31 January 2011

After watching Once Upon A Time In Mumbai, seeing an Ajay-Emraan duo was exhilarating only because of their stellar performances in the previous movie. If you are like me and watch this movie after that, you can notice the significant difference in the acting abilities of Ajay Devgan. With Emraan however, there is a common pattern in his character. He never plays a saint, and his reactions and playboyish charm is almost anticipated. The third guy was great too in his awkwardness and did remind me of the nerd from Three Idiots. Unfortunately, the women are overshadowed by the men in their performances. Still, you cannot detect any mistakes in their part.

Going to the storyline, it is a modern tale of three bachelors who look for love. Even though Ajay is a middle aged divorcée, Emraan is a playboy, and Omi is the naive salesman with no prospect for future, they all follow the same trends of luck and failures around the same time. This is evident as they celebrate together, mourn together, and share together. However, the saving grace of this movie is not the comedy which is barely existing, but rather the sweet day to day lives of average people without love who many can relate to.

Overall, it is a good watch if only you can watch it once. There are some sexual jokes, but nothing that might put you in a position of sheer embarrassment (unless your parents are really intolerant and strongly religious). There are no sex scenes even though there are implications. Emraan himself managed to stay away from any boldness even though he is wooing both mother and daughter at one point. Overall, it is a sweet movie for all the loveless bachelors, but could have benefited with a February 14th release day to really get the spirit flowing. It is a good watch for family too as it is not really as predictable as other Hindi movies. A good watch for a quiet night, but unfortunately nothing out of the ordinary.

Was the above review useful to you?

Quite amateurish & immature film

5/10
Author: Anup Chakraborty from India
14 June 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Well, we all know that the Kids today are more like Adults. And the Adults here in Bhandarkar's films are like Kids. The way their love life goes. Stubborn, Greedy and Innocent! Anything is possible in love, after all the heart is a kid! Madhur, you and your actors need to actually grow up! And, I am not kidding at all.

A rose is a rose is a rose. And if its a bud, it could go dud, when you propose a girl who you love and also assume that she has the same feeling towards you with the way she behaves. Bhandarkar who made hard hitting realistic films from Bar to Signals, from Corporate to Fashion Shows and ended up in Jail, all this got a Page 3 mileage, but yeh Film Toh Bilkul Bachpana Hai Ji! These Trishakti has no power at all! Although its a light hearted movie from serious filmmaker Madhur Bhandarkar, It looks amateurish, kiddish (not the way the title relates), Half baked, incomplete film! And if this is what one expects from a National Award Winner, then... sorry, Yeh Film KACCHA Hai Ji (Very Raw) and Nothing to rave about ACHA ya BACHA (child like).

And think of it, this BACCHA got an A Certificate Merit from the Censors! Its SEX that Talks in this film! All the Male Counterparts are 'Shaukeen' mizaaj! (The elderly men Ashok Kumar, Utpal Dutt and A.K. Hangal are replaced by not so elderly men Ajay Devgan, Emraan Hashmi and Omi Vaidya)

A divorcée, a Casanova and a Virgin stay under a roof and get their love life going. In the process they end up at a disco, bed and a Radio Station with their female co stars who play an Intern in his office, An elderly married woman plus her loud stepdaughter and a Radio Jockey who aims at becoming an actress. The Men fantasies them and have their dreams with them, while the Females have their own dreams and aims and the Men whose heart is like a child goes Bingo! Three Cheers to this Not so Lovable - Love Story!

If Devgan can do comedy at his BEST with Golmaal series and here and there (Athithi, Toonpur), then - YEH FILM TOH KACCHA HAI JI (as his comedy is very raw, nothing to smile upon). Omi Vaidya talks and behaves more or less like a IDIOT in this film too and the Casanova Hashmi gets to do what he is best at! Kiss and Bed with females galore! Shruti Hassan who appears more or less like a special appearance should actually take tips from her great father before she does anything else in celluloid! Shahzan and Shraddha are just not promising! The finale with some stars appearing on screen does not even bring smile to your face too!

Overall as the film is about unrequited love, heartbreaks, and renewed hopes, all I can say is the Love is not mortal, heart does not break for the characters and have no hopes with the film to get any awards! And advice to Madhur: Please make films that are Real and Shocking as that is your forte! Comedy Genre Aapko Suit Nahi Karta Hai Ji!

Was the above review useful to you?

watch with good quality

Author: rahultrivedi410 from India
2 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

hie friends here is rahul trivedi glad if you want see full length movie then click this link here I'm sure you will enjoy this again thanks http://www.hulu.com/watch/357308 thanks guys plz support my page on hulu.com i will be very thankful for getting a worth support from the audiences so plz watch and post comments on rahultrivedi410@yahoo.com thanks again bye and enjoy the movie hie friends here is rahul trivedi glad if you want see full length movie then click this link here I'm sure you will enjoy this again thanks http://www.hulu.com/watch/357308 thanks guys plz support my page on hulu.com i will be very thankful for getting a worth support from the audiences so plz watch and post comments on rahultrivedi410@yahoo.com thanks again bye and enjoy the movie

Was the above review useful to you?

One of Madhur's below average movies

4/10
Author: silvan-desouza from India
18 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

How could Madhur do this? Madhur's films off recent have become more or less similar with similar treatment? Perhaps after AAN MEN AT WORK he tried to make something different from his formula and came up with a romantic comedy It is hard to believe however what he found with such a story The film had potential to be a great film but ends up being an average film The camaraderie of the 3 guys is well handled, some love stories are well handled but the problem is the film is predictable, another thing is the comedy more often teeters towards juvenile situations The film does have several good scenes too no doubt, like Emraan's relationship or Ajay's romance with June but the film lacks the vital element- a tight script

Direction by Madhur is decent Music was a big hit, Abhi Kuch Dino Se and Tere Bin are fab

Ajay Devgan does a brilliant job and suits the role, sadly one expected a lot more from Madhur-Ajay, both finest names in Bwood and hence fireworks are missing. Omi Vaidhya fresh after the success of 3 Idiots does well but seems typecast, he should try a different approach to his characters as he got stuck in the same rut Emraan Hashmi returns to his serial kisser type roles and does well but it's nothing new.. Surprising Madhur didn't give this talented actor something unique Amongst actresses Tisca Chopra is fab, Shraddha Das is good, Shruti Hassan in a small role is tolerable, Shazahn looks cute and does well Mukesh Tiwari is okay rest are OK

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history