IMDb > Father's Day (2011/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Father's Day
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Father's Day More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 23 reviews in total 

27 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

The most fun you could possibly have at a festival!

7/10
Author: Coventry from the Draconian Swamp of Unholy Souls
11 April 2012

In all my years of a horror fanatic and throughout the experience of writing more than 3.000 film reviews, it hasn't happened to me very often (not once, in fact) but right now I'm completely … utterly … speechless! I anticipated something quite bonkers, but "Father's Day" is truly the most demented, twisted, sickest and derailed genre outing that I ever watched. And I'm glad that I watched it on a big screen, at the Brussels International Festival of Fantastic Films, together with a chock-full theater of equally avid and enthusiast freaks like myself. The crowd literally went wild upon being exposed to such a massive amount of gore, perversity, craziness and smut! This movie truly embodied the absolute most fun you can experience at a festival. Written and directed by a collective of no less than six creative minds – who are undoubtedly all mentally ill beyond repair – and produced by the legendary infamous Troma Studios, "Father's Day" is best described as a sort of homage/throwback to gritty & low-budgeted Grindhouse cinema from the 70's and early 80's, but I assure you that even throughout that entirely lunatic era, there was never a film so extreme as this one.

Where and how to begin with describing this unique piece of trash? With the plot, perhaps? It's practically impossible, but I'll give it a shot anyways. The pauperized ghetto streets are terrorized by the psychopath Chris Fuchman; an anal rapist and serial killer targeting distinguished middle class fathers. One of the victims' sons (a gay teenage prostitute) teams up with an ambitious young priest, but they quickly realize they'll need the help of the eye-patch wearing warrior Ahab. He hunted down Fuchman once before, but now retired to the Canadian forests in order to devote his life to making maple syrup. I kid you not. Ahab can be convinced to fight, however, as this grants him the opportunity to restore his relationship with his estranged go-go dancing sister Chelsea. Together, this crazy wild bunch tracks down Fuchman, but their work isn't even finished when they kill him, as his soul and even his evil sperm carry forward the killing spree. Mind you that this short description doesn't give you one quarter of insight about everything that's going on in "Father's Day". The plot is much more convoluted and insane than this, complete with dead-end sub plots, a massive load of flamboyant supportive characters, depraved undertones and a finale that left a complete theater full of horror freaks startled! I don't suppose I have to emphasize this, but "Father's Day" should most definitely be avoided by all easily offended, prudish, squeamish and politically correct viewers. The film is a smörgåsbord of blood and intestines, cut off body parts, ripped out organs, bludgeoned faces and – oh yes – even cut open/bitten off penises and crushed fetuses. The acting performances are all extremely over-the-top (like they ought to be) and the movie is supported by a penetrating soundtrack, raw & primitive cinematography and awesomely animated opening credits. Particularly the depiction of heaven and hell near the climax are deliciously deranged. And, as some sort of extra reward for the fans, there's a brilliant cameo appearance by Troma's smut-deity Lloyd Kaufman in a genuinely apt role.

Lloyd Kaufman and Jeremy Gillespie, one of the director's collective Astron-6, were present in Brussels at the festival to introduce their film and provided some interesting background production info. The crazed out collective initially fabricated a fake trailer for "Father's Day" and sent it to the Troma headquarters. To their own surprise, Troma contacted them back and offered them the relatively low (at least to make a full-feature film) sum of $10.000. Gillespie elaborated that it's incredibly difficult to make a full movie out of a fake trailer that actually even started as a little joke. Most of the downright absurd and unfathomable situations and plot twists in the film are a direct consequence of the fact that Astron-6 stuffed nonsensical ideas into their trailer, unaware they later had to bring coherence between it all. But the result is there. "Father's Day" is destined to become a Troma cult favorite for sure.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

B Brilliant!

10/10
Author: Jane Doe from United States
29 October 2012

I went into this viewing cold having never heard of it before, wasn't really expecting much. I was completely blown away. First off you will want to get in the correct frame of mind for it so break out the tent and hiking boots because this is 100% camp from start to finish. Now imagine you are camping with Kevin Smith and Quentin Tarantino and spend the weekend frying on acid and watching Roger Corman and gay porn. So you get home, talk your aunt into loaning you 10K and hit a couple friends and a few strangers with the 'you want to be in a movie?' line and start filming. This would be that movie. The FX are what they are, the CGI adheres to the 'less is more' model and works very well. The stop motion is adequate much like the claymation in Evil Dead was but much better technically. This movie also boasts one of the best 'well what did you think was going to happen?' endings I have seen ever! I give it 10 stars from the shear amount of pleasure I got from watching (something I think gets lost in the mix at times). Is this for everybody? Most assuredly not. But if Hobo with a Shotgun sits in a place of honor in your collection this is an absolute must see!

On a serious note it is easy to see this studio/team has some genuine skills.. real quality work to the point of being sublime.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Modern Exploitation at it's finest!

7/10
Author: hch91 from Fayetteville, AR
7 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

FATHER'S DAY is another movie filmed the style of an old grind-house film. Many filmmakers have tried this technique, but none that I have seen have captured that true grind-house style quite like FATHER'S DAY has.

This is one crazy movie. I can guarantee you that you have not seen a movie quite like this before. The movie is done in perfect style that reminds you of watching a film late at night on TV back in the 70's or early 80's including a TV station introduction of the film and a commercial break in the middle of the film advertising the late movie coming on after FATHER'S DAY, called, STAR RAIDERS, which looks hilarious by the way.

The film is great and has something in it for everyone. There is action, some humor, and loads of great gore, including a nasty scene where a man literally vomits his guts out! Gross!

This movie is actually very hard to describe, because there is just so much going on. The film gets especially crazy at the end when the the main characters descend into Hell to fight the Father's Day killer, who is a gigantic demon they three men must do battle against.

This movie is sick, twisted, perverted, and everything in between, so naturally, I loved it! Check this one out if you have the chance.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Best movie to ever come out of Troma.

10/10
Author: wesnoysz from United States
15 August 2012

First off let me say that Troma did not make this movie they produced it. Astron 6,a group of film makers from Canada made and stared in the film.

Father's Day is gross, tasteless, gory, full of nudity, low budget and unapologetic. It's no doubt the best movie out of Troma- and with its only competitor being Cabin in the Woods- best movie of 2011.

The story fallows Ahab- a man on a quest of revenge against the demon who raped and killed his father (and many other father's for that matter). A man whore teenager and fresh out of the the Vatican priest join Ahab on his quest all of whom bring very grindhouse (not Tarantino) qualities to the film.

Set in Tromaville, the film has a start that is a little slow but that all changes once we meet Ahab- from that point on every second of the movie is non-stop entertainment all the way up until the end.

It's Hilarious, gory, creative, gory, raunchy, and really frickin' gory. Basically everything that is good.

You can tell the actor's/film makers are all long time friends with their great chemistry together.

The soundtrack is glorious, it just makes the movie- it's like 80s techno- I can't explain it. The best I can say is watch and listen because the imagery of Father's Day along with the soundtrack is the best combination since a burger and fries.

I'm trying to give as little away as possible because I want you (the reader) to watch this film knowing nothing more then the bare, stripped down, simple plot summery I gave you in the beginning of this review.

You will be surprised, shocked, disgusted and have your pants soiled from the uncontrollable laughter you will be experiencing while watching this film.

There were issues between the makers and producers of this Film (Astron 6 and Troma). I myself am not familiar with the whole situation but basically (though only part of it) Troma didn't give credit when credit was due.

I highly suggest you watch this film with friends (what's the point of entertainment if you're the only one to enjoy it?).

It's a great movie, incredibly fun and unforgettable.

You can buy it off of Tromashop.com or Amazon.com

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Loved It

10/10
Author: Sorpse
17 August 2012

Hell yeah I had a great time watching this movie. Sure maybe I was setting myself up for some awkward moments by brining my girlfriend to watch it at the Calgary Underground Film Festival but i cant say i wasn't warned. Any synopsis on this film will tell you that its about three guys who are trying to kill a man who raped and murdered their fathers. I was hoping that maybe they would go light on the father raping and get right into the revenge plot but the truth is they didn't go light on anything but modesty and morality. For anyone wondering if they should watch this movie or not just know that it is extremely offencive, gory, wrong, and funny all at the same time and is absolutely never boring. Thats what i loved most about this movie is that it is never dull, not for a second. Sure there is one scene out of all the nasty shat going on that truly made me uncomfortable (it involved our introduction to the Tweek character), but it happened early on in the film and they definitely made up for it with the copious amounts of comedy in the second half. The dialogue and chemistry between the actors is spot on and hilarious and i both laughed out loud and cringed and groaned more than a couple times. The gore is hilarious, the characters are hilarious, the plot is hilarious, hell even everything i've heard from these guys on facebook and other blogs since watching this movie has been hilarious. Since watching this at CUFF i've become quite intrigued by this group. They are incredibly inspiring having made a film that looks 5 times more expensive than what they made it for. I've also picked up their "wtf is astron-6" DVD compilation which isn't quite as amazing as this movie but is just as inspiring. Now i honestly cant wait for "Manborg" which I'm guessing will be released approximately 2 months after whatever release date they first present us with but after watching Fathers Day I'm basically guaranteed it will be well worth the wait. If i won the lottery i would donate it to astron-6.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

"You don't call a man a tree."

10/10
Author: atarichild1211 from United States
18 February 2012

I have been a fan of Troma since I was far too young to be watching their movies. I had the pleasure of seeing the newest movie from them called Father's Day directed by five lunatics known as Astron-6. I'll start this review by saying this movie is far too good to be a Troma movie. Yeah I said it. I heard this movie cost 10,000 dollars to make and I don't believe it. It transcends several genres by being really good and laugh out loud hilarious. It marries the sensibilities of Grindhouse cinema with moments of absurd comedy that work every single time.

I'll stop the butt kissing for one second to give a bit of synopsis but I will try to do so without spoiling too much of the plot. The story is about a one eyed man named Ahab ( Adam Brooks) on an epic quest for revenge against a cannibal serial murderer/rapist of fathers named Chris Fuchman (Mackenzie Murdock) he's joined in this quest by Father John Sullivan (Matthew Kennedy) and underage male prostitute Twink (Conor Sweeny) along with Ahab's Stripper sister Chelsea (Amy Groening). For starters everyone's acting works really well and they all click off each other in a way that's great on screen. The dialogue is also smart and funny. The movie starts off somewhat serious and had quite a few graphic scenes of Fuchman raping dads which will send some prudes running for the hills. The violence and gore will also. I went into this expecting these things so I enjoyed it a lot.

There were homages to movies and things I understand (The lurid lighting at times evoked feelings of Dario Argento and comic books) I've heard some people say Escape from new York was one but all they ever say is the eyepatch was the homage. I've seen plenty of eyepatches in movies. True grit. Captain Ron. So I don't know.

The comparisons to the bunch of grindhouse movies that have been coming out lately is inevitable. Hobo with a shotgun, Machete, and Grindhouse are of the same ilk but I would hardly say they are in the same league. Father's day is really funny because it knows it's absurd and revels in it. There is a part where the intense Detective Stegel (Brent Neale) shows up and the heroes have to slip past him unnoticed, so they dress up in dresses and walk openly past him despite the fact Ahab has a beard and a picture of an eye taped to his eyepatch. (I guffawed at that might I add) From the very beginning it evokes a sense of 80's-90's nostalgia, like the movie is being shown late at night on some local TV channel. It even has a commercial break midway for the next movie which is an awesome low budget Star wars-esque movie that I won't ruin.

I cannot recommend this movie enough because it transcends the Troma name. Yeah it's filled with male rape, ultra violence, lots of female nudity, the occasional penis, lots of swearing. All the things I enjoy in movies because it's mixed with absurd comedy.

As I said before I am astonished this movie cost $10,000 because it looks really good. I've also heard people say the music is intentionally bad. I disagree. "We are the universe" will be my ringtone sooner than later. I expect to see more from Aston-6 after this because this is a grand achievement and should get a lot of people's attention. See it in the theater with an audience of like-minded individuals and you won't be disappointed! This is now my favorite Troma movie and honestly one of my favorite movies to come out in a while.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

My new favorite Troma movie

9/10
Author: lovecraft231 from United States
26 August 2012

It's hard to mention "Father's Day" without talking about the controversy surrounding it. It all started in 2010, when it was announced that Troma was going to help finance a movie based on a mock trailer made by a Canadian collective known as Astron 6. The movie eventually got released in festivals and midnight screenings-and when it came time for a DVD/Blu-Ray release, word got out that there were problems between the two. Apparently, Lloyd was selling bootleg copies of the movie, and that the Astron 6 logo was not included on the poster. I don't know if this is true, but if it is, then that really sucks. Especially when the end result is probably my favorite Troma movie, and is the best thing they've done in forever (I'm not a "Citizen Toxie", "Terror Firmer" or "Poultrygeist" fan to be honest.)

The story is one we all know well: As a kid, Ahab saw his father become raped and murdered by serial killer Chris Fuchman (Mackenzie Murdoch), who has a thing for dads. Years later, the spree continues, and Father John Sullivan (Matthew Kennedy) and a gay street hustler named Twink (Conner Sweeney) want a now adult Ahab (Adam Brooks) to stop this father rapist once and for all. However, things are going to be hard, as Fuchman also has his eyes set on Ahab's sister Chelsea (Amy Groening.) To make matter worse, it turns out that this killer isn't all he seems to be.

First things first: This is not a movie for the squeamish. There's multiple scenes of male rape, tons of male nudity (some of it comical, though there's also plenty of female nudity to go with it), graphic gore and even genital mutilation. In spite of all that, this is actually a comedy that serves as both a homage and a satire of exploitation films. Think what would happen if a Canadian sketch comedy troupe like The Kids in the Hall did a horror/comedy, and you might be close. Thankfully, it's also frequently funny, with at least 98% of the jokes hitting their target. Next to "Black Dynamite", this is the funniest Neo-Grindhouse movie I've seen. Plus, it has the best Lloyd Kaufman cameo ever, as he shows up as both God and Satan.

On top of that, it's also very well made. The direction is top notch throughout, and actually manages to do what most micro-budget (this cost $10,000) movies can't do and makes it look at least 10 times it's budget. The acting is also good, with everyone hitting the right tone and managing to make their characters interesting (Twink is my favorite. Dude's hilarious.) Add a dead on score, great make-up and gore effects, great one liners and tons of enthusiasm and literal blood, sweat and tears to make it, and you have yourself a winner.

"Father's Day" will not be for everyone. Those who are easily grossed out or offended (hell, even those of hardened sensibilities will find themselves cringing) will most likely avoid it. For me though, this is one of the best exploitation tributes I've ever seen, and is a must for fans of Troma or warped comedy in general.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Father's Day 2:Fuchman Family Values

7/10
Author: danherrera3 from United States
10 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a review Im going to write as fast as I can!It takes,not only balls to make or distribute a movie like this.It also takes lots of psychedelic drugs to understand where Astron-6 is coming from when they make it their "goal" to bring back the "strait to tape"independent movies of the 80's.These are the movies I grew up watching as a kid!Others were watching mainstream movies like The Goonies,My Pet Monster,The Wizard and The Wonder Years and all that crap..I was watching movies like:Screwballs,Phantasm,Creepshow,Gotcha,Hamburger"The Movie"and you get the idea!!Dad Raping is a sick twisted way of telling Hollywood "I'm gonna f-you and you are going to pay me to do it"!I must say I heard rumors of Lloyd Kaufman saying "he likes little boys" in a past interview!!This I hope isn't true!!He seems cool,he has a wife(that's not a little boy)and I think it's all B.S!!Anyway!I have a great idea for a sequel!!Also,I think Astron-6 should make Star Raiders into a space-alien/soft core porno knock-off!!Like Loose Screws meets Christmas From Mars and then they "gang-bang" Star Trek!!Father's Day made history,to be the first movie to introducing Dad Rapage!A man named Ahab(Adam Brooks)is tormented his entire life,because he witnessed the rape and murder of his father many years ago,by "The Fuchman".The Fuchman stabbed him in the eye and little Ahab survived the attack. Ahab(now wearing an eye-patch)and now a grown man living in the woods,living off of "maple syrup"(or so he thinks that's what it is)and living with constant nightmares about The Fuchman. Ahab is seeking peace and a much delayed revenge for his father's rape and murder on Fathers Day.Twink(a male prostitute)is a person who would do anyone or anything(for that matter)if the price is right.His father(in the meantime)is sick of bailing him out of jail and sick of him being a "male prostitute".So Twink and him have a disagreement and Twink runs away from home.Only to comeback home to find his dad raped and killed by The Fuchman.Twink,now homeless and still a prostitute,runs into a priest(of course)who wants to help him find god and instead they try to find The Fuchman.They do some research and find Ahab(still seeking revenge)in the woods"living off the syrup of the local trees"in a isolated cabin.They team-up together and hunt down The Fuchman.I will not say anything else!!Other than in the end,Twink finds a piece within himself.The priest finds who he is as a person and Ahab bangs his own sister.Now here is my idea for the sequel(if there is going to be one).The Fuchman Family should be explored!!They should be family of "serial rapists" who live on a "steady" diet of their victim's's genitals.The Fuchman family are the ones now seeking revenge,for Chris Fuchman's(The Father's Day Killer)death.Ahab(now living with his sister at a strip-club)is clueless of the fact that there is a family of "pecker-eating serial rapists" hunting him down.So on all of the days in the year he picks Father's Day to bang his sister for the 666th time and in doing so,he unlocks a curse to where everyone he is in contact with becomes a serial rapist.This should be interesting;considering he's living at a strip-club,and he's constantly around beautiful women...OK,I know better than to give "certain filmmakers" too many ideas;but that one I'll give to The Astron-6,free of charge of course..I was going to go into the whole "psychedelic adventure" I had getting to the Los Angeles premiere of Father's Day(at a midnight screening).Where it involved a L.A Metro bus load of drunken Mexicans who were half-mad on cocaine and Modelo beer;and me smoking D.M.T with them,still on the bus,talking in Spanish about drugs and politics..That doesn't seem appropriate for a review,but it did happen and nobody got hurt or killed...Good Times!!

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

One of the best of 2012

Author: Dave Freeman from United States
11 April 2012

This is an amazingly well crafted and funny homage that get's a 10 on the gore score. Unpredictable and inspired. The cast is very good and works well off each other. The scope is enormous for a low budget film. There have been so many retro style films coming out and this one like RUN BITCH RUN and DEAR GOD NO! brings more to the table than the one dimensional HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN and all the Tarrantino / Rodriquez clones. It's a pure DIY no holds barred, we don't care what you think, all out go for broke gem. When can I buy a copy? Why isn't it out? This future cult classic needs to be released. Are you listening Troma? Astron 6 needs their own television network. The world would be a much better place.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

A shotgun blast to the sense of humor

7/10
Author: Tromafreak from Tallahassee, Florida
1 September 2012

I have not a clue as to why Troma would set half a dozen DVD release dates for this film, which would come and go with nothing. Not a single explanation given. Just another release date. After a year of being jerked around, I was convinced that this film couldn't possibly be worth this kind of wait. But finally, the real release date came, and I finally got to see Father's Day! And I'd just like to say that I was dead wrong. Father's Day was definitely worth the wait.

Considering the worthlessness we've seen outta Troma the last few years, I'd say acquiring Father's Day was the smartest move they've made in forever. Father's Day is simply amazing! In what begins as a slightly less than normal, yet serious crime-drama, slowly becomes an outrageous, and often insane homage to the B-cinema of the good old days. Thankyou Astron-6. And thankyou Troma for making a wise decision

It seems as if there's a killer out there that fancy's raping dads. Chris Fuchman is the Father's Day Killer. And Ahab is the man who sets out to end him. But it won't be easy. Especially since the only help this ex-convict has is his prostitute sister, an eager priest, and a disgruntled teen hustler named Twink. Together, they just might be able to put this rape-happy Fuchman fellow in his place. On the way, these characters give us the most epic B-movie experience in Troma history. And when it's all over, and the dust settles, it is no longer the same film it once was.

This film has it all! Sleazy characters, gore, stupid, yet subtle humor, grainy screen quality, and incest. Like I said. Father's Day has it all. Over the last decade, I've seen a lot of these old school B- movie throwbacks. Stuff like I Spit Chew On Your Grave, Jessicka Rabid, and the truth is, nothing of the kind that I've seen can compete with this magnificent film. As far as pseudo-Grindhouse flicks go, it don't get no better than this! 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history