IMDb > Alex Cross (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Alex Cross
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Alex Cross More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 15: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]
Index 149 reviews in total 

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Cross? You will be...

3/10
Author: Tony Bush from United Kingdom
14 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Last time I saw the titular character on screen he was played as a more cerebral type of detective by Morgan Freeman. Freeman is an actor who has an effortless natural cool and gravitas, a crumpled sort of chic dignity, careworn and human. He can manage sharp and business-like, thoughtful and compassionate, passive and aggressive, by turns and make them all convincing components of the same character. This is because first and foremost he is a character actor.

Tyler Perry plays Alex Cross in this film and his incarnation is more of an action hero type. A physically chunky gun-toting ass-kicker who fancies himself as a profiling modern day Sherlock Holmes hunting down the bad guys. I don't know what the character of the books is like, having never read them, but I do know that Perry ain't no Morgan Freeman and that this Alex Cross is a one-dimensional shop window dummy with all the personality of a paper plate.

He's not alone here, though, because all of the characters run on rails like bland cardboard cut-outs wheeling through a CGI shooting gallery. None are particularly engaging or resonate on any meaningful emotional level and I didn't really care about the fate of any of them.

The film is a brash and crass churn through a dumb and irrational narrative that fails to sustain much interest after the first twenty minutes or so. There are some moments of jaw-dropping unintentional comedy. My favourite is when Cross employs his Sherlock Holmesian deductive techniques on his wife. It was almost like something out of THE NAKED GUN. To paraphrase:

"I deduce you have been for coffee."

Wife looks astonished at the sheer brilliance of his investigative prowess.

"Judging by the froth on your blouse, I can conclude it was a latte!"

Cut to wife and huge stain on her blouse that looks like half a pint of Camel slobber.

Wife is sooooo impressed that her husband is sooooo smart. Gazes at him with awestruck adoration

She's pregnant. She gets killed soon. That get's Alex cross and so it's time for a little revenge-seeking.

The story is something about a sociopathic assassin (are there any other kind?) bumping off foreign corporate types. He turns his attention to Cross and his team when they thwart one of his attempted hits. Much else I can't relate because I had tuned-out and was just waiting for it to run its course. I'd paid to see it so I was going to hang on in there till the bitter end.

If you are expecting something of the calibre of KISS THE GIRLS or ALONG CAME A SPIDER then don't. This isn't in the same league. Cross this one off your list.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Tyler Perry is NO actor and this was a pitiful farce

Author: flakfan from face of the earth
15 November 2012

Tyler Perry might be funny if he hasn't worn out his shuck-n-jive shtick with "Madea" out completely with everyone but blacks, maybe even them. This movie was just awful. Even my foreign born wife who knows good movies thought it was horrible and funny. I am ashamed of Jean Reno even consenting to be cast in it, he is one of the great living actors in the world. The whole movie had great potential but became an intolerable disaster. And BTW, just how many wigs does Cicely Tyson have? At least three or four bad ones in this movie at least.

I would be embarrassed to have my name in the credits even if my face wasn't seen. I mean really...............Tyler Perry as a brilliant crime solving detective with intuition to boot and who is NEVER wrong? Give me a break "shugah chile".

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Horrible waste of time

1/10
Author: amit-misra86 from Canada
10 February 2013

The trailers for this movie looked okay. Watched it thinking it would be a regular action flick nothing special maybe with some half decent acting in it. After watching this movie I was again reminded of just how awful Tyler Perry is at acting and making movies. This movie had a horrible script and story line. No character development and the most predictable plot ever. The acting in this movie was atrocious, I was actually somewhat excited to see Matthew Fox in something after lost and playing a completely different type of role. His character had no depth at all. Some pretty poor character development I must say. I would not recommend wasting any money let alone time on this movie. By that I mean that this movie is not even worth an illegal download. Better off watching something else, I am not sure how this wasn't a straight to DVD movie I would have been angry if I actually paid to watch this in the theatre.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Elementary it isn't!

1/10
Author: alex (doorsscorpywag) from United Kingdom
15 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have read some of Patterson's novels and don't think he is particularly good. I watched the two film spin offs which were OK mainly due to the superb Morgan Freeman rather than any great plot or script.

I have seen a few movies with him in but don't know the lead actor and from his performance doubt he will trouble me in the future. Bad does not even come close to his performance. Not that he was alone as some very good actors joined him in the stinking the place out stakes.

This seemed to be a modern take on a black version of Sherlock Holmes as the Cross guy would for no particular reason make wild deductions of his daughter, friends and of course the psycho killer called Picasso. Ed Burns (who is a very good actor) seemed to spend all his time looking lovingly at the genius of Shelock Cross as he burbled out his 'keen' insights into the mind of the killer which frankly would embarrass the dog in the Famous Five which had more idea. If this was the best the department had then it must have been staffed by some of the stupidest cops in America.

The script was not even pedestrian and there was no character or plot development and the one dimensional killer, victims and detectives who peopled this so called thriller were ordinary in the extreme. Only the very dull Alex Holmes stood out from this dismal pack because he could throw out some nonsense that had them in awe of him.

But of course there was no deduction involved. Simply he would say something that turned out to be right. Such as the ridiculous scene with the train when looking around the square with cops and victims everywhere he deduced with seconds to spare that the threat was coming from a train that had not yet hoven into view.

The killer who was supposed to be some super expert mercenary hit-man did some pretty stupid things such as driving around in the same car oblivious to whether some camera would photograph his number plate. Why he bothered to target Cross made no real sense as the detective surely was nothing more than a minor irritant to such a professional. But of course we needed Cross angry for the final section of the film.

The angry Cross even more ridiculous then a calm one as he and Norton carried out an armed robbery, beat the hell out of a drug dealer and somehow illegally stitched up a perp from thousands of miles away.

The finale and then the shock ending where Sherlock solved the case and the perp was brought to 'justice' was laughable. How a cop who looked like he could skip a few meals could overpower a man who looked like (and had shown in the opening sequence) that he could eat Seal Team 6 for breakfast left me bewildered.

Hopefully this will be the final nail in a series of films that was OK at best only due to the presence of Morgan Freeman.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

poorly done formula movie

3/10
Author: xcell444 from canada
15 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

could be spoilers but I don't think so I'm not being too specific

well this movie was not as good as it should be with today's talent. The plot had pieces missing then all of a sudden your someplace else. But what killed me is every action seen they use a hand-held camera and started to shake it. I was getting sick. Cheapest special effects why did the director call for this. Anyway overall a poor formula movie totally predictable and disappointing. If you don't mind brainless action and acting then it's great. But if you're looking for something well made this is not for you.

What gets me even more is how the writers and director expected us to believe the impossible collision and capture of the villain completely by accident. There's no real plot here of trying to capture or hunt down your psychotic killer it's just he will be handed to you on a platter completely by accident. I almost started laughing but painfully this expert bad guy seem to lose all his talent even his acting talent right at that crucial moment. They should have made this a little bit more suspenseful instead it's like they just through the script away. Just a waste of writing and acting.today's movies with all the wealth of information and skill on how a movie should be made I still wonder how these ones get produced with such obvious lack of insight and skill

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Stay Away !

1/10
Author: steli-babu from Switzerland
15 December 2012

To begin I have watched tons of movies in the past years out of which many were really bad. However, this is the first time I am reviewing a movie and if you watched it you surely understand why. I got this movie from a friend and I went out to read the reviews before watching it, as I usually do. Although I had the feeling it's going to be a bad picture and I postponed watching it as long as possible, I gave it a try on a boring Thursday evening. My opinion: DREADFUL. The screenplay is the worst I've ever seen. There is absolutely nothing exciting, entertaining or even interesting. To me, it looks as if it was written by a toddler. Friendly advice : do not watch it under any circumstances!

After seeing this, I went to borrow Kiss the Girls, basically the older version of Alex Cross. There is no possible comparison between these two movies, and I honestly think that Morgan Freeman deserved better. Tyler Perry should stick to Madea as it suits him much better.

1 out of 10 !

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

What.. was that?

3/10
Author: killer1h from United States
22 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm a big fan of the Alex Cross series, now after watching the first 2 movies where he was depicted correctly and played great, I just have to say. What in the hell happen here? This was a movie but it definitely has nothing to do with Alex Cross.

Let's Start at the beginning. Instead of being a profiler and knowing that giving the subject exactly what he wants is always a mistake he goes right along with playing his game and as a result loses on every front possible. Now lets look at the actual comparative of the way the movie fairs against how the other movies did. Instead of following a string of clues designed to lead to an ultimate destination this was just a run around shooter the entire time. This version of "Alex Cross" acted like a complete amateur and did nothing in the way of psychological detecting all he did was guess here and there until finally something panned out. The only time he got into the mind of the killer was right before the killer blew up his mark thus making it a complete and utter waste of time.

This movie was a great action flick and would have brought in quite a bit if some idiot didn't decide to stick the name Alex Cross on the cover and call it one of the series. The only redeemable quality I saw in the entire movie was the killer himself(Matthew fox). He did an amazing job and if you look at it from a hired assassins point of view an absolutely brilliant performance. It was very sad when he died at the end I thought it would have been a much better ending if he had killed Alex Cross which after watching this movie I'm sure the backers of this sad abomination would agree would be the highlight of all of our days.

3/10 great action movie, not even close to an Alex Cross novel.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Book vs. Movie

3/10
Author: mdavis803 from Columbia, SC
20 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Not only was this movie not like the book, it wasn't even the same story. Where's John Sampson? The Butcher of Sligo is supposed to be handsome...that's how he picks up women, but that didn't happen in the movie. It took place in Detroit not Washington, D.C. Also, where's Ali, Alex's youngest son?

I'm further PO'd that James Patterson would release the book Alex Cross (which is a re-publication of Cross) with the movie promo picture, but the story bears no resemblance to the movie.

If you've never read any of the Alex Cross books, then it's probably an OK movie. It had some good special effects.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

3.5/10, go on a cheap day

3/10
Author: scifiactionfan from Canada
20 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Really boring.

The was lots of action but very little excitement.

The ending was a nice twist but it isn't enough to make it a decent movie.

It was totally unbelievable that Alex Cross could beat Picasso in hand to hand especially after Picasso showed what he could do.

It would have been nice if they told more about Picasso's background. It's hard to believe they never profiled him in depth.

It was a bad movie and it won't surprise me when it doesn't stay in theaters very long.

I give it a 3.5/10 and my friend also gives it a low rating.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

None of the 'so called' talent attached does anything to make it bearable!

5/10
Author: Hellmant from United States
24 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

'ALEX CROSS': Two and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

Tyler Perry takes over the titular role from Morgan Freeman (who previously played the detective in 1997's 'KISS THE GIRLS' and 2001's 'ALONG CAME A SPIDER'). The film also co-stars Matthew Fox (looking very slim) and Edward Burns and was directed by Rob Cohen (the popular B action film director of hits like 'THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS', 'XXX' and 'THE MUMMY: TOMB OF THE DRAGON EMPEROR'). It was written by Marc Moss (who also wrote 'ALONG CAME A SPIDER') and first time feature film writer Kerry Williamson and based on the book 'Cross' by James Patterson (writer of the entire 'Alex Cross' book series). Patterson also served as a producer on the film. As far as reboots go this one took the series in a seriously wrong direction (and there's already a sequel planned with Perry reprising his role called 'DOUBLE CROSS', adapted from the thirteenth novel featuring the character). The films with Morgan Freeman were much more respectable crime thrillers. This isn't even 'so bad it's good'!

This film centers on Alex Cross (Perry) discovering his wife (Carmen Ejogo) is pregnant with their third child as he's also offered a job working for the FBI. He breaks the news to his partner Tommy Kane (Burns) who also breaks the news to Cross that he's began relations with another officer on their team, Monica Ashe (Rachel Nichols), much to the disapproval of Cross. The two respond to a murder scene where a madman (Fox) tortured and murdered a young woman (Stephanie Jacobson) and her bodyguards. Clues lead them (and Officer Ashe) to the offices of a businessman known as Erich Nunemacher (Werner Daehn), who they realize is the insane assassin's next target. They engage in a conflict with the killer before he escapes. This causes the three detectives to be marked for death by the killer and all hell breaks loose when the Cross family is put in harm's way.

The movie, like most of Cohen's work, is heavy on action and extremely light on plot and character development. The characters aren't really fleshed out at all, despite whatever moves the plot along in typical 'cops chasing killer' crime thriller fashion. The dialogue is dull and the acting is even worse. Fox is somewhat creepy as the psychopath bad guy but given his atrocious real life image as a women beating asshole it's not hard to dislike him at all. Burns is wasted and Nichols looks beautiful but offers the film nothing else. Perry is severely miscast. I've only seen one of his awful 'Madea' movies but it was enough (along with the trailers for the others) to know I'd never want to go through the pain of watching one again. He might actually be better in action films like this but he's still no actor and he's definitely no Morgan Freeman! I had heard Idris Elba was originally cast in the film instead of Perry. He would have made the movie much more intriguing and fun. As it is it's pretty bad and none of the 'so called' talent attached does anything to make it anymore bearable.

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGpMUj20Xx4

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 15: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history