IMDb > Vile (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Vile
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Vile More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 30 reviews in total 

36 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

Not bad at all

6/10
Author: pslester from United Kingdom
12 September 2012

As a rare reviewer on IMDb I only decided to comment on this after reading the rather negative posts from others. It ain't half bad - yes there are Saw/Hostel comparisons and it fits rather aptly into the "torture-porn" genre. It seems as though the production staff are fairly new to the game and I don't think they deserve the kind of criticism handed to them by the other (two, at the time of writing) reviews seen here.

Without giving anything away, it's a solid, tense first hour with questionable (but believable, considering the circumstances, and assuming you have an open mind) character development that would have benefited from a less ambitious attempt at a dramatic conclusion and something that's worth a watch for fans of the genre.

Was the above review useful to you?

22 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

If by vile you mean tedious then yeah

2/10
Author: movieman_kev from United States
13 September 2012

Two couples regret picking up a cougar hitchhiker after she knocks them out and they come to in the basement of a locked down house with some others. These others show them a video that explains that the only way out is through torturing one and other. The timer starts counting down and it's down to business.

Further testament to the (sometimes sad) fact that I'll watch just about anything on Instant Netflix, this film has a threadbare plot, even for a torture porn film. That would almost be excusable if it bought anything new to the table, it doesn't. The characters never seem real, the violence never reacher the caliber of Saw, much less Hostile. And before too long the whole thing grows very tedious.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Simple story spiced up with some good torture scenes...

5/10
Author: Paul Magne Haakonsen from Denmark
6 January 2013

Another cash-in in the wake of the success of the "Saw" movies. But that is not necessarily a bad thing. "Vile" turned out to be an adequate movie, actually, and it did have some pretty interesting scenes and moments that will have you curling your toes.

So was the movie vile, as the title claims? Hardly, but it was a good movie in itself, and a good jab at this particular torture movie genre. But compared to the "Saw" movies, then it is fairly tame.

The story in "Vile" is about a group of young people who get kidnapped and end up in a strange house where they are trapped along with another group of people. To get out of the house, they need to torture each other (or themselves) in order to collect some chemical that is released in the brain. They have to collect enough of this chemical to reach 100% before they are released.

I will say that the movie concept was interesting and well enough executed. It really helped the movie that there was a good amount of rather gruesome scenes of mutilation and torture. So there was even something to please us gore-hounds. But again, next to the inventive ways of mutilation and mayhem seen in the "Saw" movies, then "Vile" was like water in comparison.

As for the acting in the movie, well it was alright, but nothing groundbreaking or outstanding. Most of the characters tended to be generic and not really stand out from one another. The movie could have spent a bit more time on fleshing out the various characters, as to give the viewer some insight into whom was whom and what their personalities were. But then again, on the other hand, with this type of movie, the characters are merely just fodder for the grinder, so having generic characters is acceptable.

If you enjoy bloody movies that are violent and doesn't need to have a deeper and more meaningful storyline, then "Vile" might be right up your alley. I found it enjoyable because it was so simple, yet brutal in itself.

Without revealing anything of the ending of the movie, then I found it to be a rather lame and unrealistic ending to it. It was just downright insulting to end the movie that way for us who sat through it and hoped for something better at the end.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Tries too hard and delivers simply too little

3/10
Author: Robert W. (Robert_duder@hotmail.com) from Ontario, Canada
8 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The incredibly successful Saw franchise gave birth to a new breed of torture type horror that many have tried to emulate but none ever come close to. The makers of the Saw knock offs miss the point that made Saw so successful and Vile is a perfect example of that. Vile is gory and torturous just for the shock value. It has a weak strand of a story, characters you just don't care about no matter how invested they try and make you, and no real villain per se. You know a "twist" is coming...its a given but you don't care by the end of it. The film will make you wince, there is no doubt about, some of the torture scenes are brutal although they try (again like Saw) to leave a lot of it up to your imagination. But there is also a fair share of true bloody gore. I really had to push myself to get through it just because the story was just really bad. I mean, the whole fill the meter with torture on each other is sort of an interesting concept but its so badly delivered. The most important part of the film is that you just don't care...how it begins, what goes on, and how it ends.

April Matson plays the scream queen of the film. She does okay, much like the rest of the cast but they are given little to no personality. Her schtick that they make clear early on is that she's pregnant and that's her character in a nutshell. Eric Jay Beck is her boyfriend and pays an important part in the whole story. He does well too. He probably gives a slightly better performance but not by much. Akeem Smith is the token minority of the film. I liked his character, he was kind of feisty and actually more of a hero than the rest of them. Greg Cipes seems like the geeky second string character but plays a bigger part in the final outcome. I found his acting strained and almost annoying. There are a few other supporting characters that really do not much of anything than scream and run around frantically. The last main character would be Maya Hazen who plays the obnoxious and loud girl who wants to turn on everyone. She's okay but she truly does get obnoxious and has a ridiculous scene where she "accidentally" scratches wildly and ends up killing a girl ridiculously severing her neck artery.

The actors are not the issue with this movie, they could have likely done a better job with a much better script. The story is simply poorly written. It's a hack job written by someone who wanted nothing more than to get their piece of the "Saw" induced pie. It comes as a zero surprise that the co-writers and producers are first time writers. Eric Jay Beck (who also stars in the film) and has a tiny bit of experience behind the camera and Rob Kowsaluk who has only this film to his credit. On top of that director Taylor Sheridan has done lots of TV performances but this is his only directing credit. Sometimes actors don't translate well behind the camera and this is the perfect example. Even fans of gore won't find much likable about this. 3/10

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Good movie if your stomach can handle it

7/10
Author: rojidodge from Australia
25 January 2013

On the surface, the plot of this movie would seem like another lame piece of junk written by some dumb teenager who doesn't have a clue about anything. Many comparisons have been made to Saw and other torture movies, but really, it's not the same kind of thing at all. But make no mistake, this is not for the squeamish, it is quite gruesome. But it is not gruesome for gruesome's sake. Many of the gory parts are implied rather than shown, which I think is done so you can connect to the story rather than the gore. The acting and directing have done an outstanding job to pull off what I think is a great success in what could have been a dismal failure, given the plot. There are also a couple nice twists at the end to give it a bit more credibility.

It held me captivated because it wasn't just predictable guff. If Big Brother was more like this, maybe I would have watched it.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Saw-lite

2/10
Author: kosmasp
24 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

As much as I love Saw (and was curious about the evolving story in its sequels), I almost kind of despise it for what it kick-started. One of the (many) movies that seem to take the formula out of context is on display here. I watched it at Frightfest in 2011, which should be a good place to watch any horror movie ... if it is worth it. This one unfortunately isn't really worth the money.

You get a bunch of people locked in a house. They wake up not remembering anything, but a video tells them, they have to hurt themselves to get free. As a reviewer (who was harsher then me) on Dreadcentral pointed out, there are options that don't even get discussed. But it's not the dialogues that try to be the strong point here. It's the torture scenes. While you could see some human behavior issues on display here, too much is left out to make it really count as psychological thriller. The actors seem to have too little to work with, but even that gets squashed away (no pun intended) ... I can't really recommend this at all

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

An Honest Review

7/10
Author: natmckn from United States
14 November 2012

I watched this movie without first consulting IMDb (as I usually do) and had a completely open mind. I must say, I'm quite shocked at all of the negative reviews and ratings on here. What I watched was a well-crafted, intriguing, and genuinely entertaining indie "horror" flick. The actors kept my attention without straying into too much cheesiness, which is not unexpected for an independent feature, and carried the film diligently on their shoulders. The gore usage was not as liberal as you would think, and was used tastefully to further the story. And furthermore, I was never bored at any time during the film. It stayed interesting until the very last minute. So, give this movie a chance. If you like this particular niche of the art of film, I believe you'll enjoy it.

~NateMcCheezy

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Terrible movie...

2/10
Author: khaymanbb from United States
27 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Okay, I tried to like this. I really did. When the synopsis is to inflict pain on someone to gather the "chemicals" in the brain, you would think that the people could think of creative ways to cause pain without breaking a leg, or disfiguring yourself via burning. I mean come on, really? Getting your fingernail ripped off hurts incredibly bad, and they do this to give them the extra "pain boost", so why not do that only? You have 20 of them for pete's sake, and they grow back! I felt sad watching this, as the bad person gathering these people must have chosen from a group of people that rode the short bus to school and only for getting off on watching them hurt each other. Yet at no time was any of that mentioned, just camera's to make sure they do what they are supposed to do. Dreadful acting, pathetic attempts at hysterics, just plain awful. If you see this on Netflix just ignore it. You'll wish you had...

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Better than similar torture horror

8/10
Author: creativehands from United Kingdom
13 September 2012

This film may not have the greatest of plots but for all horror gore fans it has its nice little moments, the characters are well acted and believable. I didn't expect much from this film, but would personally rate it higher than other similar films such as hostel.

If you are looking for a nice bit of gore and torture you can't go wrong with this film. and at least it's not a group of teenage kids getting bumped off one by one and shot on a camcorder like most horror coming out of America at the moment!

Here's hoping more of you out there will watch this neat little horror and they will get round to making vile 2.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Not a bad Indie torture horror.

7/10
Author: Michael 'Hallows Eve' Smillie from New Zealand
14 September 2012

This movie was a refreshing take on the "torture/pain" style horror films like 'SAW' and alike. Some of the scenes had me cringing which I haven't done in a while. Although the acting wasn't groundbreaking, it wasn't the worst I've seen. The movie kept me intrigued from go to whoa, and some of the torture scenes were quite graphic. It wasn't the typical stuff you've seen in the 'SAW' films, which in my opinion is what made it a good little Indie movie, one of the better one's to come along lately. I was pleasantly surprised by this film, and it helped as I wasn't expecting too much. If you're looking for a good film to watch on a lazy day or night, then this is not a bad movie. I give it a 7 out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history