IMDb > Chronicle (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Chronicle
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Chronicle More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 9 of 47: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]
Index 465 reviews in total 

good i liked it.

Author: stefania jonasdottir from Iceland
4 August 2012

i liked the movie. and what i specially liked was the part that even though this movie was meant to be like "home filmed" the camera was pretty good. it didn't shake or move as much as other movies that are meant to be "home filmed" by a character. so i really liked that. and yeah i think it was a good movie. not a time waster at all.which is why i watched it at 4 am when I'm working in the morning. i mean i like supernatural movies and this one was good with all the insight that you could see into the lives of the characters quite well. and the part of how they dealt with it and yeah its a good movie. specially for people who like supernatural movies and like to possibly identify with the character. because this movie could possibly be realistic. as in there wasn't a giant green alien who came from the sky and zapped them or anything so...

Good movie and not a time waster at all.

Was the above review useful to you?

Not so much of a superhero movie.

7/10
Author: Austin Lawrence from Australia
10 July 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Chronicle is yet another found footage film about three guys who obtain superpowers.

Andrew,Steve and Matt are at a party when they discover a hole in the the ground.They venture inside it and find a alien type of thing.They all think its cool until the thing starts making noises and starts to attack them.The three wake up with superpowers and decide to record everything they do with Andrews camera.They all think its funny and great until a redneck starts beeping the horn at them and Andrew pushes the car of the road and into a lake.After that Andrew brings out his dark side and starts terrorizing the city.Its up to Steve and Matt to stop him before he destroys everything.

The special effects are OK but not Oscar worthy.The plot is good and the ending was a big surprise.Overall Chronicle is a good found footage movie thats worth seven out of ten.

Was the above review useful to you?

A good combination of Misfits and Akira

8/10
Author: siderite from Romania
8 July 2012

The film has a lot of qualities, which is not easy for a kids with special powers hand-held camera movie. It starts a lot like the Misfits show, with three random teens getting telekinetic powers from a crystal like thing in an underground tunnel, follows them around while they discover and experiment with their powers in ridiculous ways, then ends with the inevitable conclusion in situations where weak people get lots of power.

The actors play well (although I am not sure Dane DeHaan will ever be able to get the role of a normal person any time soon), the special effects are subtle, but very well done, and the film captures the emotions of those involved perfectly, ranging from inadequacy, moving through camaraderie and pure joy and ending with despair.

A really good sci-fi film, one that not only is a well done movie, but also makes a good point. And if you think it is a little boring at the beginning, bare with it; it will be worth it.

Was the above review useful to you?

What if Spider-Man had gone evil?

Author: DarthBill from United States
4 July 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Lonely, emotionally crippled social outcast Andrew, his cousin Matt and new friend Steve discover an underground energy source of mysterious origins that imbues them with the power of telekinesis. At first the three high school boys secretly revel in their new found power, but it's only a matter of time before the long suffering Andrew becomes corrupted by the power at his disposal and uses it to exact revenge on those who have wronged him - his abusive alcoholic ex-fire fighter father, the bullies at school, and inevitably the whole city.

An interesting variation on the now familiar 'Spider-Man' formula and other empowerment fantasies - what starts off deceptively appearing to be another story about a nerdy underdog triumphing over adversity by way of his mysterious new powers slowly turns into a horror film, much like Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds" or perhaps even more so David Cronenberg's "The Fly", as the protagonist, Andrew, slowly turns into the antagonist, being both villain and victim by the end of the film. The hints aren't hard to spot - early on it is evident that his empathy for others is questionable at best, so you may not be completely surprised when he goes over to the dark side, but it's still a chilling sight to behold.

Was the above review useful to you?

A very interesting take on the superhero myths

Author: gavin-thelordofthefu-48-460297 from United States
29 June 2012

Well, I didn't have anything else to do at the time this month, but at least I checked this out on a red-box DVD rental and watched it at my aunt's house to see if it could caught my very interest. When the action and special effects seemed to have surprised me, I've felt that my heart was intensely beating that only one word can describe about this flick: "Top-Notch!"

I'll admit that this film does have some overdone found-footage and high school clichés and the minute length could've been much longer (like say, a 2 hour film), but all-in-all, I had a pretty good time watching this. The story is very original as it introduces it's take on the superhero myths and it works perfectly, but it also introduces us with the characters so well along with the scientific terms of telekinesis and an apex predator. The characters are also pretty good too and the way what happens when Alex uses his powers for darker purposes progresses really well and predicts what will happen in the end perfectly.

It also has some great flying sequences helped by the fantastic special effects, but what really stands out the most is the concept which was very intriguing (even the second half of the film, which becomes dark, was not only intense, but extremely satisfying). Of course, let's not forget about the acting and boy are the performances that incredible. Dane DeHaan did great as the troubled Andrew, Alex Russell did incredible as Andrew's mature cousin Matt and Michael B. Jordan adds comic relief to the film and did well as Steve Montgomery. The rest of the actors did a decent job with their performances.

Overall, Chronicle would've had a much longer minute length despite it's nice pacing, but with a sequel in the works, I am definitely recommending this to both science fiction fans and action fans as one of the best films of the year.

Was the above review useful to you?

Cloverfield without Godzilla and the feel of reality

7/10
Author: chaugnurfaugn-269-83012 from United Kingdom
16 June 2012

The benefit of the found footage genre, and one that director Josh Trank exploits here to the absolute limit of the envelope, is that where special effects and CGI look cheesy on a big budget they look impressive and expensive on a small one. Wobbly angles, quick cut-aways as the action explodes and vague, indistinct long shots combine well. The photo-realism of the hand held camera juxtaposed with the kind of jaw-dropping FX once the sole reserve of James Cameron really make Chronicle a movie worth watching.

Unfortunately the story is nothing new, nor complex in its execution. Akira did it better and with more pathos, atmosphere and originality back in the early 90s. It's a new spin on an old idea, but brings the concept to a new audience, which is never a bad thing. It doesn't deliver in terms of depth but the shallow fun to be had before things escalate to apocalyptic levels is certainly and undeniably entertaining.

A sequel would be interesting, if not compulsory.

Was the above review useful to you?

Better than I expected

6/10
Author: JoeB131 from United States
14 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This film uses the device of "young kids YouTube every aspect of their lives" to tell the story of three teens who gain super powers after encountering a mysterious object in a cave. They develop the ability to fly, move things with their minds and become invulnerable to bullets.

Okay, to start with, they use the very tired convention that was started with "The Blair Witch Project", and continued with films like Cloverfield and Quarantine. Here it works a little better because they show the film comes from a number of sources, not just what the character themselves were filming.

The film centers around the character of Drew, who has the alcoholic father and the dying mother. So you understand when he finally loses it. The character of his cousin and their friend Steve are less developed, and that's the film's weakness, I think.

Was the above review useful to you?

The Ultimate Movie Review! - http://tss5078.blogspot.com

7/10
Author: Tss5078 from United States
9 June 2012

Using just a video camera, High School outcast, Andrew, documents the events surrounding a recent discovery. In the woods, he and his friends discovered something unexplainable, something that gives them supernatural powers. What I loved about this film, is unlike, many many others, these kids didn't take these powers and become superheroes, instead they did what any real life teenager would do and use them for pranks, popularity, and various other things. Also unlike similar "camcorder" films, it wasn't jumpy or choppy and it was quite easy to follow. The first hour of this film was amazing, unfortunately it did go downhill at the end. The whole film was done in a realistic fashion, making science fiction seem possible, until the end, when all hell breaks loose and it honestly just destroyed the whole thing for me. It was such a strong start, but such an awful ending. Most of the cast were newcomers and were very good, the story was also very solid, but this film needs a much better ending if it wants to be considered a classic.

Was the above review useful to you?

A Great Twist on the Superhero Story

9/10
Author: andrew7777 from United States
9 June 2012

Chronicle: 8.9/10 Advertised as just another "lost footage" flick, Chronicle proves to be anything but. With a surprisingly deep story of three teens who are granted telekinesis powers, one starts to lose control with his dying mother, abusive father, and harsh school life beginning to break him down to his last nerve. The director created interesting ways of filming the footage (such as moving the cameras with their powers, using the "bystanders'" footage, and even footage from security cameras in buildings) putting a whole new twist on the growing genre. The story itself is also great, as the boys harness their powers after coming into contact with an alien-like object buried beneath the earth. The biggest aspect of this film is that it feels real, unlike "Paranormal Activity" and "Apollo 18," which can seem just silly at parts. But "Chronicle's" cast of characters show superb acting skills and I found myself feeling for every one of them. Altogether, these elements craft a tremendous movie that seems to take a giant step in the right direction for the genre.

Was the above review useful to you?

Utter rubbish!

Author: theanalyst-1 from United Kingdom
8 June 2012

Don't bother. It's like Cloverfield and Blair Witch, ghastly hand-held camera work that gives you a headache after 30 seconds and too dark to see anything and the dialogue (!) is mumbled and incoherent. I just don't understand the appeal of this type of movie making. I have worked in the industry for years and the directors I have worked with such Scorcese and Mendes have always strived for clarity and plot. These young directors seem to be determined to make movies that are unwatchable. The plot line here is ludicrous and the acting poor. Save your money and buy a DVD of a movie made by a professional? Good luck. I suggest Warhorse or perhaps The Grey

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 9 of 47: [Prev][4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history