IMDb > Seven Days in Utopia (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Seven Days in Utopia
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Seven Days in Utopia More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 2 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 39 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A Deep Movie About Life (and golf)

Author: Jakemcclake from United States
2 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a well written dive into life lessons that people need to succeed at their goals. A golfer winds up in Utopia Texas after losing and imploding during the last hole of a major tournament. He finds another golfer there who teaches him about life and helps improve his game at the same time. He then leaned all of the approaches to life that he needs to succeed. The lessons are life lessons written into a complex story that everyone should see at least once. There are some stereotypical characters in this movie, but beyond that it is good. It is not a comedy, but it has a tiny bit of romance and good feeling in it. Therefore, I would recommend it.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Typical Duvall film. Fans should enjoy.

Author: JohnRayPeterson from Montreal, Canada
7 December 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you are a fan of Robert Duvall you will no doubt watch this movie; that was my immediate and only reason for noting this title and making sure I got it when it came out on DVD. He is his usual philosophical character and that's what will satisfy the Duvall fan first and foremost. The movie is not outstanding and as with most of his movies, his character is as much predictable as it is not, but it's good enough and he plays it well; there are not bad parts, mostly it is even and thoughtful. Lucas Black, the lead role acquits himself well enough but his character can't but be overshadowed by the likes of Duvall. The story takes place in town obviously called Utopia; there really is such a town in Texas, you can check it out in Google Maps. I've been to Texas but did not have a chance to see the beautiful parts depicted in this movie. The cinematography in this movie is well done and at the beginning, striking even, taking full advantage of the experience and talents of the likes of David Mullen (director of photography). As for the story itself, it does not standout for me; perhaps too many people were involved and so it lacks the single-minded passion of a creator. It's a good thing the cast, direction and visual effects people were doing fine job, otherwise I would have been disappointed by the movie. If you're not a Duvall fan, you may not think much of the film.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Sports film focus is on need and ways to focus

Author: SimonJack from United States
10 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Robert Duvall was 80-years-old when this movie was made. The mutli-award winner shows that he still has what it takes to give a sterling performance. In "Seven Days in Utopia," Duvall plays Johnny Crawford, a somewhat quirky character with a colored past. The semi-retired Johnny has been around. He has seen and done a lot, as he says to Luke Chisholm, played by relative newcomer Lucas Black.

Johnny once was on the pro-golf circuit and is a recovering alcoholic. He's acquired a lot of wisdom over the years, and now in his old age he's happy to help Luke discover his game. The movie is supposed to be about Luke, who just blew a one-stroke lead in the Texas open and fell apart with a last hole that took him 14 strokes to finish. The young athlete has issues and struggles with anger at his father, a temper and lack of confidence. If he'll just give Johnny a week in Utopia, the old hand will help him discover his game.

The film is based on a novel by David Cook, who also helped write the screenplay. It is set in Utopia, Texas, a small town not too far west of San Antonio. The entire cast give very good performances. Most are relative young actors and newcomers. However, two accomplished award- winning actresses, Melissa Leo and Kathy Baker have very good smaller roles as Lily and Mabel. Most of the movie is about the quirky ways Johnny has of training Luke. Fly fishing, painting, coin pitching, piloting an airplane and other oddities all have some connection to what Luke needs to learn about golf (and life).

Without critiquing Johnny's unusual methods, or their likely effectiveness, I'll just say that this all adds up to an enjoyable and often amusing film. The film has clear moral and spiritual overtones, but it doesn't present them in a preachy way. Johnny's unusual methods help to teach Luke by their practical results. It's not just about golf – it's about life and what really counts. Without saying it directly, Johnny's message from his example and life's experience is that faith and trust in God are the common sense guideposts that enable one to focus, relax, choose what is right and have peace and calm. In other words, to focus on what's really important and not be distracted by other things.

This is a movie as much for the future as it is for the present. Today there are many more types of addictions than existed in the past or were easily accessible. Electronic games, cell phone texting, Internet pornography, and other social media tools are among the things that may lead to addictions. Psychologists have identified the harmful effects of obsessive use and additions in these areas. All addictions enslave a person and don't enable one to focus on what's really important in life, to one's family, in one's relationships, and for one's personal wellbeing. So, we have ever-increasing social problems today.

In a nutshell, this movie might be summed up as having two messages. A person will find peace and happiness in life through love. (Not romance, but love of family, friends and other people). And we get that – and stay there – by listening to the voice of conscience. (We follow it to focus so that we make the right choices). As the movie opens, we see a quotation from scripture, Isaiah 30:21. It reads, "And your ears shall hear a word behind you saying, 'This is the way, walk in it,' when you turn to the right or you turn to the left."(RSV) The next verse tells the result of doing so. Paraphrased it means one defies the idols of the world that would enslave one.

I think the setting is a nice slice of real life found in many places yet today. It's a nice family film, especially for the older kids and adults.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

So dull, you'll wish you were watching an actual golf tournament

Author: Mark Honhorst from United States
22 August 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Trite, clichéd, predictable and dull, here's "Seven Days in Utopia". Stop me if you've heard this before- a down on his luck golfer becomes stranded in a small town where he just so happens to meet an elderly man (Robert Duvall) who just so happens to be an ex golfer. What are the odds of that? The old man becomes a mentor of sorts and reteaches him how to play the game, readying him for the next Texas Open. The golfer also finds love in a girl who just recently lost her father and has to contend with a few town bullies. Sound familiar? This movie borrows from virtually every single sports movie ever made ,but refuses to add anything new to the mix. You don't really need to even pay attention to it, as you know exactly what is happening the entire time.

While not technically a poorly made film, the performances are, for the most part, lifeless, as the actors portray characters who are flat and simply uninteresting. I bought this mainly because Robert Duvall was in it, and even he didn't do much for this film. "Major Predictable Spoilers ahead!" Anyway, up to the very end, I was planning on giving this a 3 or 4. It was bad, but at least it seemed to be able to tell a decent, if thoroughly covered ,story. However, this is what happened. The movie actually ends before you see if he made the last hole or not! Okay, leaving it up in the air is okay, but here's what sealed the "One Star" deal for me. Before the credits role, a note crawls up saying "To see if he made the last putt, visit" are you kidding me? The film makers can't even tell the complete story within their entire freakin' movie? They're advertising a website to go to see if he won or not! That really ticked me off!

So, all in all, avoid this one. Entirely predictable, with an infuriating ending.


Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

A Whole New Version of Horrible

Author: dansview from United States
17 February 2014

I feel privileged to have witnessed something this bad. It's like a milestone in my life. Having said that, I admit to only watching half of it. I just couldn't take the torture any longer, despite the spectacular scenery of the Texas Hill Country.

This was Karate Kid on Valium. Robert Duvall rehashes his old guy Texas burnout with wisdom character from Tender Mercies and mixes it with a little Great Santini. Instead of teaching a kid karate through sweeping and polishing, he teaches an overgrown man-child to play Golf through fishing and painting.

If Golf in the Texas countryside isn't obscure enough for you, a failed golfer leaves the PGA Tour and smashes into the ranch fence of a former PGA golfer in the middle of nowhere. What are the odds? Apparently it was a Christian movie. I didn't get that far.

This lead "actor," from the Tokyo Fast and Furious film has the personality of a piece of driftwood. Top that off with the deepest Alabama accent you've ever heard or hope to hear. There just happens to be a nice single girl in town who thinks he's attractive. Even though there are only 375 people in the town. Must be his dazzling personality and the fact that he embarrassed himself on national T.V. getting blown off the golf course and exhibiting poor sportsmanship. Hmm. Yummy.

The small town transforming a city guy theme is stolen from Doc Hollywood. (Michael J. Fox)The rest as I mentioned is from Karate Kid, only Mr. Miyagi is now a clichéd version of Robert Duvall.

By the way, the kid is asked to paint a picture of the golf course and he does it like a pro. Does he have an artistic background? Did he take Fine Arts at Golf College? Oh jeez.

What a disaster. Having said that, the scenery again is amazing and the basic idea of a man with a broken spirit chilling out in a small town is always appealing. So cull what you can from this train wreck. I'm sure it has its' redeeming qualities.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Way, way too predicable

Author: kiminicooper1 from United States
2 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

It's always a bad sign during a movie when I find myself thinking, "I should be doing something else with my time." Five minutes into the film and it was depressingly easy to guess what was going to happen next, and to even mouth dialog before it was said. Movies like this are like candy for the brain, which is spinning in neutral because there was no substantial story that wasn't easily predicable.

I felt that it was a very shallow and predictable story; the comments about it being just like Pixar's "Cars" are correct. Way too formulaic.

And finally there's the overly-strong religious message, with some reviews touting it as a great movie *because* of the message. Sorry, but using a work of fiction written by believers as proof of faith is called circular reasoning. Self-created "facts" don't make for good faith, or a good movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I enjoyed the beginning of this movie, but .....

Author: dgriggs6 from Virginia, United States
29 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I am an avid and pretty good golfer. Have played it for about 55 years now. Although the opening scenes in which Luke self-destructs on the 18th hole of the final round of a very important golf tournament for him -- when he foolishly listens to bad advice from his very bossy, caddying father -- was very contrived, at least something like that conceivably could happen. Later Luke drives through the countryside of the Texas hill country and decides to take the turn to a community called Utopia.

Then there is another very unrealistic scene. Luke is driving and stares at a guy (turns out to be Duvall/Johnny Crawford) in a field placing flagsticks in what does not look like (but is) a golf course. Doesn't look at the road ahead of him for about 4 seconds, then finally returns his gaze and discovers an enormous steer standing in the road directly ahead of him. Instead of abruptly down-shifting and braking, he turns off the road and slams his car into and through a sturdy wooden fence. Others here describe what happens in Utopia, quite a bit of which I liked. But at the end of the movie, after he gets into the Texas Open (an official PGA event) and has a chance to win it all, they don't even show the final putt!!! STUPID!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

It's a religious story...

Author: tan1415 from Netherlands
2 June 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

OK when the song was about born again...I know that this movie is about born again Christians...finding your faith and all that.

Till than I didn't quite realize it and actually enjoyed it for lazy Sunday afternoon movie. Like another reviewer mentioned....I was blindsided by this.

I am happy he has found his faith and others do too. Glad for it. But please don't push it in my face or when doing it at least be open about it.

To me it felt like watching the birdcage and having it described as a family film/musical drama.

Anyway i think if you are a Christian ...this must be one of the best ever Christian sports movies ever.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Know what you're in for

Author: jon lunt from United States
14 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I didn't know this movie was a religious one. The tag-line on netflix is "Talent can only get you so far. For golfer Luke Chisholm, that turns out to be Utopia, Texas -- where he's left stranded after blowing his pro debut." Naturally I thought that this would be a movie about a golfer having to deal with being stranded in a small town and getting over the fact that he just embarrassed himself in his pro debut. It starts out that way, then he meets an old man who has all the answers to golf but yet couldn't make it on tour, which obviously makes no sense, because if the dude knew how to play so well, he would have won some tournaments. The first half of the movie I'd give a 6/10. Was a decent sports flick and I love golf movies so I was interested. Then out of nowhere, it turns into a extremely religious flick. I don't like religious movies usually, explaining how God is awesome and if you believe then nothing else is nearly as important doesn't do it for me. This was worst than most. Then at the end, instead of an ending, you get the most ridiculous plug I've ever seen, and I've seen at least 1k movies. Basically instead of finding out what happens, the movie cuts off (which at this point is a blessing) and tells you to go to a website where some televangelist type dude can preach to you and plug his new book. Ridiculous. I'd be surprised if they make the second book (which I wont read) into a movie (which I wouldn't watch anyway) but you never know. If you love golf, don't want God shoved down your throat, and would prefer for your movie to end on screen; watch The Legend of Bagger Vance, The greatest game ever played, or Tin Cup.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Wake me when it's over.

Author: VoodooVince from Glasgow, UK
25 February 2013

Netflix often throws up some good to great films I haven't heard of. God Bless America, Headhunters, Hacchi. Films worth taking a chance on when they're right there in front of you. Then of course there's the flip side. The films you wish you hadn't stumbled across. Guess which category this belongs in?

To be fair Seven Days starts out not too badly. It seems a harmless, if quaint, little film about a stranded golfer. Now, I was happy to overlook the absurdity of anyone, let alone a professional golfer, being stranded for a week because of a broken car. They could surely have imagined a better reason for him staying but hey ho. We'll let that one slide.

Seven Days has quite a few flaws. The first one is the utterly charmless performance of the lead, Lucas Black. Don't hover on the name. I'm doubting we'll be seeing much of this fella. His vacant performance makes him impossible to empathise with and in one fell swoop I'm out of the movie. But wait! The great Robert Duvall is in it. Surely he can save it? Em, no. Poor Robert Duvall. He looks bored stiff and who can blame him? Acting alongside captain charisma must have been an absolute chore. Ergo Mr Duvall phones in such a sleepy performance it had me questioning whether he was actually ill and loaded up on meds.

So we have a dullard as leading man and a half asleep Mr Duvall. What next? How about cookie cutter supporting characters with such endearing hearts and spirits you wonder if any such place on earth can possibly exist. Then of course the movie reveals it's TRUE intentions. It's not really about golf. Or sport. Or anything for that matter. Why, it's all about the good LORD and how if you follow his will you TOO can be as infallible and loving as these kind folks. The equally awful Book Of Eli pulled a similar stunt.

What absolute nonsense. At least when it was boring it wasn't being offensive. The last half hour though is borderline insulting. Now I suspected, even early on, there was some religious allegory in the movie. I can accept that. Sleight of hand preaching though in a film dressed up as a sporting drama? Shame on the makers. Even more shame on the disgraceful plug for some preachy website at the end. An unforgivable slice of opportunism, even for religious zealots.

Even had Seven Days in Utopia stayed the course as a golfing drama it would have struggled to get out of first gear and remained a 3 star film. It has dull acting, entirely unbelievable characters and far too many clichés to be listed. Doc Hollywood anyone? The religious turn it takes however hammers it firmly into the 1 star category. No Utopia here. Just movie hell.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 2 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history