IMDb > 360 (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
360
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
360 More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]
Index 37 reviews in total 

79 out of 128 people found the following review useful:

A beautifully crafted film with stellar performances. I recommend to everyone

10/10
Author: angelicaronald
12 September 2011

360 is a beautifully made film that oozes class and tells us something about where we are at as human beings in the 21st century. The film makers and actors should be applauded for this huge achievement. The Cast are made up of fine actors from around the world and headed by sympathetic and unshowy performances from Anthony Hopkins, Rachel Weisz and Jude Law. Ensemble films like this don't always work, but in the hands of a master director such as Meirelles, Peter Morgan's script comes to life in a vivid and evocative way. I love the way the story progresses from one pair of characters to the next and the cinematography is superb. Verticals and horizontals are crisply defined and move into split-screen that unites the stories. 360 is a film with real heart and real purpose made by real talent.

Was the above review useful to you?

43 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

a pleasant surprise

8/10
Author: dragokin
15 July 2012

I ran across 360 by chance and really enjoyed it. Yet, when searching for more information in internet the generic title proved difficult to google. After some clicking things started to unfold: the same author directed City of God and the movie is a loose adaptation of one Arthur Schnitzler's play. Although i can't say much about the latter, the former impressed me even more since i've enjoyed that movie, as well.

The cast is brilliant with famous actors popping in and out of view and blending discreetly with otherwise great performance of less known colleagues. We effortlessly move with them across cities, countries and continents as it otherwise is the case in globally interconnected world at the start of the 21st century.

The more i think about 360 the more interesting details i discover in retrospect. Probably the strongest message is that there is a good seed even in the worst of us. The other is that we all eventually get what we want but some of us also get what they deserve.

What i particularly enjoyed is that a lot of things are either foreshadowed or left unsaid. This gives room for viewer's imagination to kick in, which, in turn, is rather uncommon in the era of realism and boredom in movies with artistic tendencies.

To sum it up, the only reason my vote is two stars shy of the best note is that i understand how this kind of movie might not be everyone's cup of tea.

Was the above review useful to you?

24 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

Coming full circle

8/10
Author: blogurious from Netherlands
17 August 2012

As the beginning of the story goes, life will eventually present us with two possible directions: the one we choose to follow is for no one but us to decide.

"360" is the latest movie by Fernando Meirelles, a man with some good achievements under his belt. And taking life in its pure existence is a great source of inspiration for his work, where it is hard not to relate to. This time Meirelles brings us a beautiful concocted plan where some aspects of daily life are put into context, mixing different Nationalities and aspirations, dreams and sometimes tragedies that come together full circle, as the title itself states. It is moving, but never funny. Intelligent and simple, granting almost two hours of reflective observation that may teach us one thing or another. All stories are able to stand alone for themselves, but they are smartly interconnected, showing life never differentiates wherever it is at. Beautifully done.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Complex and ambitious and interesting, but it gets forced, too

7/10
Author: secondtake from United States
23 March 2013

360 (2011)

In many ways this is a fabulous movie--complex, warm, chilling, even poignant. It's meant to be an almost serious look at contemporary relationships, including sexual ones with prostitutes, affairs with fellow workers, quickies with someone new, and long term loves between married husband and wife. It works overall, sometimes really well.

Because of its seriousness you might notice a few scenes where things are pushed a little hard. The main one of these is when a Brazilian girl comes on hard to a recently released sex offender in an airport after moments before being put off by him and having plans to meet someone else for a polite drink. At first it's improbable, then the writers decide to push the encounter harder and harder until it becomes extreme and sensationalist. Too bad, because in other parts of the movie the extremes--such as a prostitute getting started through sleazy photographer listing her on the web, even though she has zero experience--get pulled off with conviction. Not that most of us know the ins and outs of that world.

There are too many characters to make things clear here, but it's worth saying that Anthony Hopkins again shows how he can command a scene like no one else in the film. His monologue at an AA meeting is a short masterpiece, and his performance in general is almost enough to justify seeing the film all by itself.

Other characters are excellent, including Jude Law in a restrained part as a married businessman looking for some action on the road. (His wife has her own affair in full swing.) Yeah, come to think of it, there is a lot of infidelity going on here. The one sincere relationship is another unlikely moment, with a sweet girl going off with a somewhat mixed up Russian in a Mercedes (and she leaves her bag on her park bench for no good reason, she's not in a hurry). But hey, all of these things are happening so rapidly and with so much overlap, who knows? It even includes many cases of split screens reaching three or four simultaneous panels at times.

You start to see how the world works for some people in a contemporary way. It's sordid on some level, filled with deceit and sadness. But it's also believable, at least for this certain urban, footloose set. I assume the title means that it all comes around full circle somehow, that we're all in the same big boat. Watch with attention. The characters are all distinctive but there are a lot of them. The director, Fernando Meirelles, is ambitious, for sure, but he made of the most highly regarded films of recent years, "City of God," so this is worth watching even just for that connection. "360" is limited and flawed by comparison, but it's better (I think) than its rating might let on.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 30 people found the following review useful:

i was really offended by the average notation of 5.7 for this brilliant cinéma

Author: ESam-Mak from france
14 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

i was really offended by the average notation of 5.7 for this brilliant cinéma. a part from the talented director, the cast alone as excellent performers ça donne envie de voir ce film.

i regret not watching in theater, but i enjoyed this movie A LOT. It made me appreciate the aesthetics of a more human-based cinema , rethink again and re watch the movie. this film blows your mind

Mise-apart from the the characters, and the stories of their choices, responsibilities and change of point of view. . the cinematography was so close to the human relationships. the inter-connection of lives all this beautifully performed by all the cast, needless to say it's always a pleasure watching some HOPKINS' MOMENTS.

i would definitely recommend this movie, although i think it would be really appreciated after a deuxième read-watch. by the way excellent sound and music.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

This is the film that "Crash" wanted to be.

9/10
Author: Rolly Dodger from Canada
5 April 2013

360 is the film that "Crash" wanted to be. Unlike the overt manipulations of "Crash", 360 is a slow burn with a deft sleight of hand.

Rather than leading you along with neon coloured sign-posts, lets your mind do a lot of the driving. Shot in a muted, bluish pallet, the gorgeous cinematography captures the attention, while your imagination is allowed to build up steam. It doesn't demand your attention, it flirts with it. I found that refreshing.

The first few plot twists put my brain was on alert, trying to predict where the stories would lead. All the while the tension built, waiting for the axe to fall or the excrement hit the fan.

A few people have complained that 360 was slow and boring and left story lines unfinished. But that is what made it such a good film for me, it took its time and avoided clichés. The characters were neither good nor bad, they simply struggled. Some triumph and some fall, but none are unchanged.

It isn't without faults, nothing with intertwined stories can avoid some contrivance. But it didn't fall prey to the imagined demand of the audience, that everything resolve neatly. Some plots twist and turn until the very end, some evaporate like mist in the light of hearts restored while others end badly.

I can understand how the film's pacing might annoy if you aren't in the mood but if you are prepared to be a bit patient and to do some of the work, 360 is a rare treat.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Nice to see relatively unknown actors given as much time as name actors

6/10
Author: Arit
11 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched the film at the Toronto International Film Festival three days ago. 360 is very multi-threaded, and there are probably 8-10 "main" characters equally in focus, and many of them are played by relatively unknown actors whose primary languages are not English.

Each character is multicultural or itinerant one way or another, and connected to a few other characters as though they were international flight hubs themselves. Many modes of transportation are cleverly used as contact points or transition points for those characters. Although it's sometimes very hard to grasp all the relationships at once, different characters, languages and locations make watching this film an interesting experience nonetheless.

Out of those many stars, perhaps Anthony Hopkins, Maria Flor, Jude Law, Gabriela Marcinkova play slightly more important roles than other actors (it's worthy to note Flor and Marcinkova don't even have their IMDb head pictures as of now). It's a refreshing change to see none of the big names are claiming the entire show.

Though all the threads neatly come full circle by the end, I wish the filmmaker had added a bolder message or impact to make the film more enjoyable to compensate the lack of true lead characters. There are religious and monogamy related themes that I felt only half explored. The voice-over in the beginning encourages us to take chances in life. 360 could have been a much more compelling story if it had heeded its own advice.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Under the Radar Hit

8/10
Author: BrianLlywd from Toronto
16 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I gotta say I really, really liked this picture. Now appreciate - I'm an iconoclast and whenever I smell studio BS promo I stay clear away. But this picture has none of this smell (cause it's an indie) but had plenty of pleasant aroma. It had a number of story lines, a number of twists and surprises, a very attractive cast and they all acted well. The plot... could it have been tighter? I suppose. But the apparent joy of the performers lead this picture into high level territory. Hopkins, in his AA soliloquy, was as brilliant as an actor can be. Absolutely authentic and believable. Maria Flor is stunning as a young lost waif looking for love in all the wrong places and Ben Foster as a sex offender trying to control his urges is exceptional. There are more moments of unanticipated joy in this picture than there are expected times of sadness. I recommend this film and will watch it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Blah Movie has some good performances--but absolutely nothing to tie any of them together

3/10
Author: Matthew Stechel (mateob25@aol.com) from United States
23 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Interconnected story lines of various people's lives criss-crossing across the globe film in the vein of Babel--doesn't have much to either recommend or even keep you watching once you're a good half hour or so in it. I kind of liked Anthony Hopkins' performance and i kind of thought Ben Foster's storyline was interesting--at least at first since it doesn't really go anywhere after the big reveal of his character---i kind of liked the ending with the big hearted Russian guy and the younger sister of the exploited call girl coming together with their story lines (does that count as a spoiler? i'm honestly not sure because i'm not sure anything that happens in this movie could be called a spoiler since a spoiler would imply that something happens towards the end of the movie that affects the outcome of the story---and that's really not the case with anything that happens in this movie) I wanted to like Jude Law--indeed i thought the first scene with him was setting up a potentially interesting storyline but then he all but disappears throughout the majority of the film only coming back at the tail end to give the illusion of coming full circle. This film doesn't seem to have much of a point unless you count the very vague notion that we're all people living on this planet and we're all worthy of happiness even if we're not entirely sure that we are worthy of it---i suppose that could work as a synopsis for a film but its about as vague as anything else that i managed to take away in the two hours of watching this movie unravel. It is i will admit well shot--and rather pretty to look at for the most part---a lot of the tracking shots are well done and the score is pretty good. I just wish there had been something or some point that could've tied this entire thing into a whole--it was really just an accumulation of scenes that don't quite build on top of each other the way i imagine the writer and director thought they would. In short its kind of a blah movie--and very much a rather large disappointment from the director of City of God, The Constant Gardner, and Blindness.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Strong interconnections in a small world

9/10
Author: OJT from Norway
6 September 2013

360 is a kaleidoscope movie of which holds a tension I liked very much. The film immediately grabbed my attention, and the longer into the movie the more interesting it gets. The film is about both choices, lust and the need of love. A sort of life travel on the dark side, or maybe more like on the unhappy side, meeting people, connecting coincidentally. People who wants to start new lives. We see both the bad and more sympathetic sides of these people in a way that I haven't seen done so complex and interesting ever before. (My thoughts here went to the Oscar winning "A separation".)

We start off in Vienna, where a Slovakian woman is getting photographed for a escort girl website. From there we move around the world with meeting people from around the world in stories which are becoming interconnected spoken in a lot of languages. Bratislava, Paris, London, Phoenix, Colorado...

He film is full of such strong actors and performances that it's almost a reason of it's on to watch this movie. The film manages us to connect with all these people in very short time. Impressive. Which actor does the greatest role here, is difficult to say, but it is impossible to not mention Anthony Hopkins and Jude Law. Electric performances. But Imust say they are all really great, every single one of them. Vladimir Vdovinchenkov, Danica Jurcova, Gabriela Marcincova... In a very international cast. Brilliant cast, brilliantly instructed.

When this film doesn't get a 10 from me is only because I wanted to know more about the ones we weren't seeing in the end. More could have been made out of it in the end, though I understand that is quite difficult in such a complex told story. I also though the music was not well suited all the way. Some is working. But half of it is very far from what I would have chosen.

The writer of this script is Peter Morgan which I have recently discovered is the writer behind a lot of awesome movies. Amongst these are The last king of Scotland, Frost/Nixon, The Queen, Longford, Hereafter, The damned United, Henry VIII, and the upcoming Rush. What a screenplay writer!

A gem if you like a mosaic of life story, well acted, but far from a popcorn movie. It needs your attention along the way. It deserves your attention.

If you like this, or film like this, I would recommend the following: Crash, Hawaii Oslo, Grand Canyon, Mr. Nobody and The Dead Girl. All great kaleidoscope movies showing the mosaic of life.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 4:[1] [2] [3] [4] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history