Après le sud (2011) - News Poster



Nineteen Films Vying for 2011 Caméra d'Or Award

This year Korean writer and director Bong Joon-Ho will preside over the jury that hands out the Camera d'Or (Golden Camera) award - the only cross-section award on the Croisette that is given to the best first feature. This year's winner will join the ranks of Michael Rowe (Leap Year, 2010), Warwick Thornton (Samson & Delilah, 2009), Steve McQueen (Hunger, 2008), Etgar Keret & Shira Geffen (Jellyfish, 2007), Corneliu Porumboiu (12:08 East of Bucharest, 2006) who all won the prestigious prize in the last five years. There are 19 first features contenders are spread out in all the competition sections including a pair in the official Main Comp, Un Certain Regard, Critics' Week and Directors' Fortnight. It's anybody's guess at this point what Joon-Ho and jury will pick but the winner will join the ranks of auteurs (Jim Jarmusch, Tran Anh Hung and Naomi Kawase) that were discovered and crowned at the world's greatest festival. Here are the
See full article at IONCINEMA.com »

See also

Showtimes | External Sites