IMDb > Deadfall (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Deadfall
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Deadfall More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]
Index 81 reviews in total 

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Dead Director and Script

6/10
Author: Will Merrett from Canada
11 July 2013

While I did feel this had a good story to tell and interesting perspective, it missed the mark. The characters were not developed enough for us to care about them. A huge mistake that many screenwriters make. Let us like or hate the characters but tell us something about them. The director or script had the characters do and say things that the character would not do or say in that particular scene. When Liza and Jay are in the pub after the roads get closed, she goes out to his truck and immediately goes into his pack to get his address from letters there. How did she know these were there or that there was a pack in the first place? No shot of the pack was shown to the audience to establish this fact. Is she clairvoyant? Then the little girl in the cabin scene with Addison when he kills the stepfather and saves the mother and kids, says something that appeared to be out of left field and once again, made no sense. This went on and on during the movie. Liza and Jay are just getting to know each other in the truck and the pub when all or a sudden he is dancing with her and falling in love. Not in real life anyway. I can understand that a guy just out of prison would want to sleep with the girl as soon as possible but next morning when he see's her about to get into the semi truck of another guy, he runs out half naked to stop her and pledges his affection. Once again, Really, makes no sense for his character. He would have pulled on his clothes and driven away happy to had had the night he had.

The set decoration was an issue as well to me. Having been a Set Decorator in movies I pay attention to this stuff. In the motel attached to the little backwoods pub there are stylish grey sheets on the bed. Are you kidding? What backwoods motel owner is going to splash out on expensive sheets for the rental rooms when cheap white will suffice. The pub also had a stage area for bands and during the day scene there was instruments on stage as if there was a band there. Really? During the day when the roads have been closed due to the storm, a band is going to be working there? No band was established or heard, and no pub owner is going to buy instruments on spec just in case someone with a musical bent just happens by. This kind of mistake just takes away from the story for me and I miss what's going on as I am now annoyed at the Director or Decorator for these glaring errors.

There was a missing scene at the end of the movie that was required to wrap thing up. The movie ended without doing this wrap up and we are left to ask what happened. Did Hanna become an FBI agent or stay in Minnesota as a County Sheriff. A final hospital scene where her father, Sheriff Becker thanks her and says she will make a great FBI Agent would go a long way to finishing things up.

All in all it was not a bad movie and not a complete waste of time but it could have been a great movie if more time was spent on development and attention to detail.

One other thing that confuses me is the listing of actors credits on IMDb. Why was Kate Mara listed waaaay down in amongst the one-line cast when she was so much more then a single line actor in this picture?

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Grim, Violent, and Some Ridiculous Plot Elements But I've Seen Far Worse Films

6/10
Author: Larry Silverstein from United States
8 March 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This noir crime thriller can be quite grim, violent, and have some ridiculous plot elements, but with its' rather gripping conclusion I'd have to say I've seen a lot worse movies.

Eric Bana is believable as Addison, a crazed psycho who has just robbed a tribal casino in Michigan, with a cohort and his sister who's used as a diversion. His sister Liza, ably portrayed by the sexy and alluring Olivia Wilde, has apparently more than a brother/sister relationship with Addison.

As the film opens, all three are involved in a roll-over auto accident , where Addison and Liza's partner in crime is killed. They manage to get themselves free from the car, but when a police officer comes along to help them Addison kills him in cold blood. Addsion tells Liza they must separate, in the middle of snowstorm in the frigid woodlands of Michigan (one of the ridiculous plot elements) In the meantime, Jay Mills, strongly played by Charlie Hunnam, is being released from a Michigan prison. He was a Silver Medal winner, in boxing, at the Olympics but got caught up in a fixed fight and ended up in jail. Upon his release, he calls his parents (Kris Kristofferson and Sissy Spacek)and makes arrangements to come by their home the following day, Thanksgiving.

However, when he goes by his former gym to collect money owed to him,he is attacked by his former manager. Fighting back, he knocks the manager out and believes he may have killed him. Having just been released from prison, he goes on the run through the back roads of the Michigan woods, thinking roadblocks that have been set up are for him. He comes upon Liza, shivering in the cold and takes her into his truck.

Liza finds out where they're heading, which is Jay's parents home on the Canadian border. She tips off her brother, via phone message, and tells him to meet her there.

In the meantime, Addison is going on a killing spree, as he makes his way across the wintry forest. The Michigan police, who are in pursuit of him, headed up by Sheriff Barker (Treat Williams) are made out to be complete boobs and misogynists, The only officer shown with any smarts is Hanna (Kate Mara), who just happens to be the Sheriff's daughter. However, she's told not to come on the manhunt because "she may have to change a Tampon".

Anyway, it all comes together at the parent's home and I would have to say it has a rather gripping conclusion. I imagine this can be a decent escape flick, for some, who don't mind the violence and gore.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

A pretty cool movie.

8/10
Author: (Moviefanatic777) from United Kingdom
31 January 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I must say this film was quite good and i enjoyed it. The film is about a brother and sister who are on the run from a casino job gone wrong,the characters Addison and Liza are played by (Eric Bana) and (Olivia Wilde).after their car crashes they end up separating and going different ways in the snow. this film had good characters and good character development and i like that in a film and i'd like to see much more of that in other films rather than just non stop Action. that's what i liked about this film it wasn't just Action it was also suspenseful and mysterious and there were touches of romance thrown into the story which i thought was nice. i thought this film was written and directed well and i also thought the film had a strange mysterious vibe to it which i found interesting. the sister played by Olivia Wilde is picked up by a character called Jay played by (Charlie Hunnam) a man who has just been released from prison. Jay and Liza end up in a relationship and get feelings for each other. Eric Bana the girls brother plays a dangerous crazy character and he had a troubled childhood and later in the film we find out his sister did too. the movie has a few psychological moments to it which i thought were okay. There was not much character development of the character Hanna who was played by Kate Mara which is too bad because i liked her character,her father the sheriff also could have been written better,but the other characters had more to them which made them more intriguing. i also liked the idea of the freezing cold blizzard in the story it made the film more exciting. Eric Bana's Character kills people throughout the film mainly anyone that gets in his way.i thought the acting was good from everyone especially Eric Bana, he played a really good bad guy in my opinion and i found his character interesting. i found Erics character dangerous crazy and sometimes i found him rather funny, i can't quite explain why,his character just had a certain funny charm to him and i laughed at quite allot of the weird faces he pulled in this film.he's definitely a weird character in this film especially right at the end. later in the film Eric Bana finds out where his sister is and in The last twenty five minutes of the film Eric Bana's character holds Jay and his family hostage at a thanksgiving dinner,his sister Liza is there too and he doesn't let any of them leave the house. Eric Banna was very crazy and sinister in the last part of the film and he played his part well when he started taking control of the family. Charlie Hunnam was also very good in the film especially at the end when he stood up to Addison and protected his family from him. to sum things up This film had some good fights some good mystery and some good chase scenes on the snow mobiles which i really enjoyed and the end part of the film inside the house was very exciting and intense!. I found this film very interesting and entertaining,it may not have had non stop Action all the way but it was still very entertaining all the way through,and the main Action kicks in during the last part of the movie during the hostage situation at the thanksgiving dinner. I thought this movie was pretty good and i liked it and its definitely worth a watch!. 8/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

good cast good movie and lots of snow

7/10
Author: bcheng93 from ny ny
25 October 2014

holy shoot! a Treat Williams sighting. the first page of IMDb has a blistering review of this movie giving it one star, but i guess the person had a personal vendetta against the movie...he listed everything that was wrong in the movie and there were actually quite a-lot, but even the really good and some great movies have that..hahaha!

the movie itself was very watchable with a very strong ensemble cast and the story was good. at a little over and hour and a half the romantic part of the movie still felt sluggish but that was the only bad thing about it to me. i love that the whole movie was shot in the snow and a blizzard and it was a major part of the movie in itself.

i saw the ending coming but it was still a very good watch and Eric Bana was his usual stellar self in the lead role. there is actually a lot happening in such a short movie with at least 4 or 5 relationships going on at the same time. overall the movie got generally good reviews as it will get from me to and i will watch this again sometime in the future and i totally love movies that are shot in snow or rain or the dark and this one succeeds. although not a perfect movie, it is a very good watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

A bit all over the place. But quite watchable

7/10
Author: bowmanblue from United Kingdom
30 September 2014

'Deadfall' is one of those films that sits somewhere between what you'd expect to be released 'straight to DVD' and a theatrical cinema release. It has a few relative famous names in it and is directed with enough style to make it rise slightly above your average B-movie.

Eric Bana and Olivia Wilde are a brother/sister team of robbers whose getaway goes wrong, forcing them to split up and try to make it across the border into Canada.

It's not a long film (a tight 90 minutes) and there are quite a few characters introduced to us, therefore not all of them are entirely as fleshed-out as they might have been if the story was longer. Plus it does jump from one set to the next making the story bounce around a bit. The film shows us that - good or bad - everyone is flawed in some way. I read another review that said an alternate title for this film could be 'Daddy Issues,' as most of the characters have some issue with their father.

It's certainly violent enough and there is a bit of action, but it's mainly a thriller as we see whether the police will finally catch up with the pair before they cause even more carnage than they've already created.

A minor gripe from some (mainly American) viewers is that Bana and Hunnam sometimes struggle with accents not from their native countries. However, if you just fancy an easy-going little crime thriller then this one is just high enough above the rest to make it easy watching.

6/10 generally, but it could stretch to a 7, depending on your mood, or if you're a real fan of one of the main stars.

Was the above review useful to you?

A decent movie with a vile message.

3/10
Author: TdSmth5 from US
30 August 2014

A couple being driven in a limo lose control of the car and end up flipping over several times somewhere on a snow-covered road. No Hollywood explosion though this time around. The driver is killed and the cabin is now filled with money. A cop arrives, the guys kills him. They collect the money and and decide to split, as people in movies invariably do. They're out nowhere in a snowstorm. They want to cross to Canada and somehow reunite.

The girl stops a car down the road. We've met the guy in the car before. He's a convict ex-boxer who just got released. He went to his gym to ask his trainer for money. He took all his winnings. A scuffle ensues and the trainer is apparently killed when his head hits a cabinet. So the guy is on the run. He agrees to take her to the next gas station. She flirts. When they arrive, they are told that the roads are closed due to the storm. So they stay at the bar talking. She seduces him although all she wants is a ride to Canada. He falls for her.

Meanwhile, the other guy Addison who turns out to be the girl' s brother ends up at a cabin and kills the family man there who is abusive to his wife and stepchildren. There he gets some calls from the girl about where they could meet. When the police arrives he kills some of them but makes it to the house and terrorizes the older couple that owns it. Then the girl and the boxer arrive, he's the son of the couple. What follows is one of those bizarre scenes where the villain bullies everyone to say what they are thankful for and eat cake. Then the police arrive.

Deadfall is a very watchable movie with a strong cast. Olivia Wilde steals every scene she's in and there are some tender and hot moments when she's with the boxer as when she basically tells him that she'll be any character he wants her to be. The love between the siblings is also unusual for a movie that focuses on the ugliness of life. Of course these two have to make a whole lots of dumb choices to get into the predicament the script requires. And there are just dozens of those only-in-the-movies coincidences.

Aside from those issue the biggest problem is Deadfall's despicable message. The cast and crew try to make us believe this is a movie about de-idealizing the notion of the family. It's not. It's about demonizing fathers, a project the establishment media have long pursued. Almost all the males we meet are fathers and treat their spouses and children like crap. No male is spared. Addison who did rescue his sister from...you guessed it...the abusive father also treats her like a child and slaps her around when he wants to.

The cast and crew do a pretty good job here but I just cannot forgive the evil and mean-spirited portrayal of men.

Was the above review useful to you?

Missed opportunities

Author: tieman64 from United Kingdom
24 August 2014

Some fine, wintry atmosphere is wasted in "Deadfall", a neo-noir about a trio of criminals who converge upon a table adorned with Thanksgiving dinner. Once our cast assemble around this table, director Stefan Ruzowitzky prepares his audience for a big revelation, for the film's "point" or raison d'etre...

But nope. "Deadfall" has nothing up its sleeves and nothing on its mind. Its assembly of noir archetypes and noir subplots leads nowhere and amounts to little, which is frustrating, considering how much potential each of the film's character arcs initially held. Written by Zach Dean, "Deadfall" is at its best when a button-nosed Kate Mara and a scenery chewing Eric Bana are on screen.

6/10 – See "A Simple Plan" (1999) and "The Lookout" (2007).

Was the above review useful to you?

Stuffed Turkey

6/10
Author: Lloyd Bayer from United Arab Emirates
26 October 2013

For a crime-noir film set during Thanksgiving, this wild-goose-chase of a story is burnt to a crisp, and not in a good way. Cooking the goose, metaphorically speaking, is débutant screenwriter Zach Dean using a FARGO-ish plot but injected with steroids. On the other hand, director Stefan Ruzowitzky puts together a non-stop crime-thriller with an anarchic perspective. Yet somehow, it all feels like a half-eaten turkey – one that you sink your teeth into only because it appears to be well done on the outside.

Siblings Addison (Eric Bana) and Liza (Olivia Wilde) are on the run after a successful casino heist. Their getaway car doesn't make it through Northern Michigan's infamous whiteouts. Forced to split up, they head toward the Canadian border, but Addison leaves a bloody trail that has Deputy Sheriff Hannah (Kate Mara) and her misogynistic father Sheriff Becker (Treat Williams) in hot pursuit. Meanwhile, Liza hitches a ride with Jay (Charlie Hunnam), an ex-con and shamed Olympic boxer, trying to turn over a new leaf. As fate would have it (or bad karma in this case), everyone ends up at Jay's parents (Sissy Spacek and Kris Kristofferson) farmhouse for that turkey dinner I mentioned earlier.

DEADFALL gets off to good start before slowly breaks away at the seams. Dean's premise is largely a moral dilemma that asks the question "To be or not to be". In reference to the many sub-plots, with every fork in the road, there are clear signs indicating right from wrong, but everyone seems to choose the latter. Addison and Liza are siblings with a troubled past. This is no deterrent for the life they have chosen, but Dean manifests an incestuous sexual tension between the siblings that is as fitting as a penguin in a desert. With Liza forging an unlikely romance with jay, the outlook jumps to redemption. As one of two silver linings, this is where the film comes full circle with dysfunctional family issues taking center stage. From Hannah and her sexist father, to Jay's disconcerting issues with his father, in addition to other sub-plots highlighting domestic violence, the clichés start to pile on as a dark parody to the whole idea of Thanksgiving family gatherings. The second aspect worth mentioning is Bana's taut characterisation of Addison with enough inner demons to call himself 'an angel of death'. Addison's transformation from an anti-hero into an impulsive serial-killer is as fascinating as it is frightening. As Jay's mother June, Spacek is perhaps the only other actor with some form of relief in what is mostly a hackneyed mess. Even so, I found it quite disturbing the way June manages an eerie smirk when a shotgun is inches away from leaving her headless.

There is a lot of violence - made vivid with bloodshed on snow - and some frantic snowmobile chases that keeps the action moving at an acceptable pace. What the film could have done without is a weak conclusion offset by a premise that isn't keen to deliver on its promises, in addition to a series of sub-plots that doesn't seem necessary. In the end, with the amount of plot-bloating stuffing, Ruzowitzky tries to cut a niche for himself but only manages to carve a turkey that is missing a leg a two. Good luck chowing down what's left of it.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

So, How Does it End?

Author: jackburto from United States
30 April 2013

Deadfall was a good movie overall, but the end leaves you to figure it out on your own. The movie is typical in a lot of ways. The bad guy gets killed and two people fall in love. It's a shame that poetic license turned it all to shambles in the end. If you are a person who places a lot of weight on the way a movie ends, then this one is not for you. If the ending is something that you like to write yourself, then this movie is ideal for you.

The acting was up and down in quality, but it didn't detract from the movie. It won't be the most terrible movie of all time, and is worth a look; if you go in with the understanding that the ending is going to keep you guessing. On a scale of 1-5, I would rate it a 3. I am a person who does not wish to write my own ending. If you are going to make a movie, then answer all the question people will ask. That is just how I feel. If you plan to take a look, enjoy!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Bana's Best Performance to Date

7/10
Author: Film Watchin Fool from United States
21 April 2013

Watch this if....you always wanted to see Eric Bana as a villain and a very good one at that. This is a undervalued drama/suspense film that is worth your time.

Acting/Casting: 6.5* - Well..Eric Bana is outstanding. Kristofferson and Spacek are good. Hunnam and Wilde are average at best, which is unfortunate because they have substantial roles. I absolutely loved Eric Bana in this film and believe this may be my favorite performance of his to date.

Directing/Cinematography/Technical: 7* - More than anything, I appreciate the cinematography and scenery, which really adds to the movie. The directing is very solid as well and keeps you entrenched in the film.

Plot/Characters: 6.5* - After a casino heist, two siblings are faced with difficult circumstances as a result of a car wreck and murder of a State Trooper. Meanwhile, a convict on the run just released from prison is trying to find himself and meets a strange, gorgeous women who happens to be one of the siblings involved. I like the originality, but at times found the plot a little far-fetched. But hey, its the movies.

Entertainment Value: 7* - An entertaining film that ends a bit abruptly, but manages to keep your interest. I will likely watch again in the future when flipping through channels.

My Score: 6.5+7+6.5+7 = 27/4 = 6.75

Email your thoughts to filmwatchinfool@gmail.com

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 9: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history