8.0/10
386,305
493 user 369 critic

The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012)

PG-13 | | Drama, Romance | 12 October 2012 (USA)
Trailer
2:26 | Trailer

Watch Now

From $2.99 (SD) on Amazon Video

ON DISC
An introvert freshman is taken under the wings of two seniors who welcome him to the real world.

Director:

Writers:

(screenplay), (book)
Reviews
Popularity
444 ( 76)
19 wins & 49 nominations. See more awards »

Videos

Photos

Learn more

People who liked this also liked... 

Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.8/10 X  

Two teenage cancer patients begin a life-affirming journey to visit a reclusive author in Amsterdam.

Director: Josh Boone
Stars: Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, Nat Wolff
Comedy | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.7/10 X  

An offbeat romantic comedy about a woman who doesn't believe true love exists, and the young man who falls for her.

Director: Marc Webb
Stars: Zooey Deschanel, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Geoffrey Arend
Comedy | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.8/10 X  

After a stint in a mental institution, former teacher Pat Solitano moves back in with his parents and tries to reconcile with his ex-wife. Things get more challenging when Pat meets Tiffany, a mysterious girl with problems of her own.

Director: David O. Russell
Stars: Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro
The Notebook (2004)
Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.9/10 X  

A poor yet passionate young man falls in love with a rich young woman, giving her a sense of freedom, but they are soon separated because of their social differences.

Director: Nick Cassavetes
Stars: Gena Rowlands, James Garner, Rachel McAdams
Juno (2007)
Comedy | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.5/10 X  

Faced with an unplanned pregnancy, an offbeat young woman makes an unusual decision regarding her unborn child.

Director: Jason Reitman
Stars: Ellen Page, Michael Cera, Jennifer Garner
Easy A (2010)
Comedy | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

A clean-cut high school student relies on the school's rumor mill to advance her social and financial standing.

Director: Will Gluck
Stars: Emma Stone, Amanda Bynes, Penn Badgley
Stuck in Love (2012)
Comedy | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.3/10 X  

An acclaimed writer, his ex-wife, and their teenaged children come to terms with the complexities of love in all its forms over the course of one tumultuous year.

Director: Josh Boone
Stars: Greg Kinnear, Jennifer Connelly, Lily Collins
Comedy | Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.1/10 X  

A hard-partying high school senior's philosophy on life changes when he meets the not-so-typical "nice girl."

Director: James Ponsoldt
Stars: Miles Teller, Shailene Woodley, Kyle Chandler
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 6.6/10 X  

A young man and woman decide to take their friendship to the next level without becoming a couple, but soon discover that adding sex only leads to complications.

Director: Will Gluck
Stars: Mila Kunis, Justin Timberlake, Patricia Clarkson
Love, Rosie (2014)
Comedy | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.2/10 X  

Rosie and Alex have been best friends since they were 5, so they couldn't possibly be right for one another...or could they? When it comes to love, life and making the right choices, these two are their own worst enemies.

Director: Christian Ditter
Stars: Lily Collins, Sam Claflin, Christian Cooke
Me Before You (2016)
Drama | Romance
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.4/10 X  

A girl in a small town forms an unlikely bond with a recently-paralyzed man she's taking care of.

Director: Thea Sharrock
Stars: Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin, Janet McTeer
Comedy | Drama
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 7.8/10 X  

High schooler Greg, who spends most of his time making parodies of classic movies with his co-worker Earl, finds his outlook forever altered after befriending a classmate who has just been diagnosed with cancer.

Director: Alfonso Gomez-Rejon
Stars: Thomas Mann, RJ Cyler, Olivia Cooke
Edit

Cast

Cast overview, first billed only:
...
...
...
...
Senior Bully
...
...
Linebacker
...
Nose Tackle
...
...
...
Susan
...
...
Mr. Callahan
Emily Marie Callaway ...
Mean Freshman Girl (as Emily Callaway)
...
...
Shakespeare Girl
Edit

Storyline

Based on the novel written by Stephen Chbosky, this is about 15-year-old Charlie (Logan Lerman), an endearing and naive outsider, coping with first love (Emma Watson), the suicide of his best friend, and his own mental illness while struggling to find a group of people with whom he belongs. The introvert freshman is taken under the wings of two seniors, Sam and Patrick, who welcome him to the real world. Written by Anonymous

Plot Summary | Plot Synopsis

Taglines:

We are infinite. See more »

Genres:

Drama | Romance

Motion Picture Rating (MPAA)

Rated PG-13 on appeal for mature thematic material, drug and alcohol use, sexual content including references, and a fight - all involving teens | See all certifications »

Parents Guide:

 »
Edit

Details

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

12 October 2012 (USA)  »

Also Known As:

Las ventajas de ser invisible  »

Box Office

Budget:

$13,000,000 (estimated)

Opening Weekend:

$228,359 (USA) (23 September 2012)

Gross:

$17,738,570 (USA) (3 February 2013)
 »

Company Credits

Production Co:

,  »
Show detailed on  »

Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

|

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

1.85 : 1
See  »
Edit

Did You Know?

Trivia

Stephen Chbosky is a native of Pittsburgh, where the movie is filmed and set. In an interview with Hollywood.com, he reported that his parents have breakfast three times a week, at one of the filming locations, King's Restaurant. See more »

Goofs

When Charlie is drinking the milkshake made by Sam, the contents in the glass does not move at all as he moves it around when talking to people. See more »

Quotes

[first lines]
Charlie: [voice-over] Dear Friend. I am writing to you because she said you listen and understand and didn't try to sleep with that person at that party even though you could have. Please don't try to figure out who I am. I don't want you to do that. I just need to know that people like you exist. Like if you met me you wouldn't think I was the weird kid who spent time in the hospital. And I wouldn't make you nervous. I hope it's okay for me to think that. You see, I haven't really talked to...
See more »

Connections

References On Golden Pond (1981) See more »

Soundtracks

Love Him
Written by Ali Dee (as Ali Theodore), Alana Da Fonseca, Zach Danziger, and Joey Katsaros (as Joseph Katsaros)
Performed by Perfect
Courtesy of DeeTown Entertainment
See more »

Frequently Asked Questions

See more (Spoiler Alert!) »

User Reviews

 
Not Just a High School Movie
28 August 2012 | by (Boston, MA) – See all my reviews

Went to an advance screening expecting your usual "shy kid in high school learns to stick up for himself" sort of feel-good drama. This movie is so much more than that - I was truly blown away by the mature themes and moving characters. Mental illness, sexual abuse, drugs and alcohol... I think the writer/screenwriter/director said it best in the Q+A after when he said it was a film that looked at the emotional aspects of that point in life without being sentimental. I really cared about these three teens - Charlie, Sam, and Patrick - and their story never felt cheesy. Just real, and moving, and touching. Go see this movie!


449 of 515 people found this review helpful.  Was this review helpful to you?

Contribute to This Page

Create a character page for:
?