Stolen (2012) Poster

(2012)

User Reviews

Add a Review
90 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
5/10
This is as generic as it gets. Nicolas Cage makes the movie watchable, just barely.
Andrew Gold2 May 2015
The revenge plot has been done to death. Kidnapping the protagonist's daughter has been done to death. Everything about this movie has been done before, and done much, much better. This is just another extortion movie where the former friend of a former bank robber wants his share of the heist, and kidnaps the hero's (Nicolas Cage) daughter as ransom. The thing is, Cage burned the money. So how is he going to pay this lunatic? Well, he's gotta commit one more heist for it to be all over. Sound predictable? That's because it is.

Every beat of this movie is predictable. It wouldn't be so bad if they added some depth to the characters but everything is so one-dimensional. Will (Nicolas Cage) loves his daughter and used to rob banks - that's all we get as far as character development. Vincent (played by Josh Lucas) wants money. They both were involved with a robbery gone wrong at the start of the film and Will burned the money before being arrested and jailed for eight years, but Vincent still wants his share. He waited eight years to exact his revenge. Eight. And the diabolical plan he came up with during that time is to kidnap Will's daughter and threaten to kill her if he doesn't get paid. It's like the writers weren't even trying.

What the writers do is explain EVERYTHING that's happening to the audience. They spoon-feed everything with the subtlety of a sledgehammer, and this constitutes about 90% of the dialogue: Explaining what you are seeing on screen. The other 10% is forced relationships and throwaway police banter. It's really stupid. Watching the movie on mute is probably much more entertaining.

Let's talk about the villain for a minute because he's really quite a character, or caricature rather. He has no personality whatsoever so they give him all of these weird traits to mask the fact that he's boring as all f*ck. A metal stick for a leg, long messy hair, a rugged shady look, a twisted sense of morals, and he's a cab driver. It's like baby's first psychopath. Now I don't blame Josh Lucas for this at all, in fact he makes the character watchable, but not even good acting can save the villain from being a walking, talking cliché.

The police are just stupid in this. Stupider than usual in fact. They're not even worth talking about. All you need to know is that you know what you're getting into with this movie before it even starts and it gives you absolutely no surprises or suspense. It's a by-the-numbers action thriller with Nicolas Cage. It has a few funny moments sure, most are unintentional, but if you're hoping that this would at least be a fun, over-the-top Nicolas Cage action movie, then I'm afraid you'll be sorely disappointed. Stolen is overwhelmingly and sometimes painfully average.
65 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very familiar stuff
Wizard-817 January 2013
If you are wondering, "Why is Nicolas Cage starring in a movie that only got a token theatrical release before being dumped on DVD?", well, from what I've heard, Cage's overspending combined with a massive tax debt has made him take less prestigious projects in order to raise money. Actually, I had high hopes for this movie, because it was a production from Millennium Films, a company that often makes high quality action movies. However, this movie is one of their rare misses. Technically, the movie is above average for a movie aimed primarily at the DVD market. However, the basic story has been told so many times before that there are few surprises this time around. Most likely you'll be impatient long before the end because at times the movie seems to be stretching things out. Also, Cage's character never really becomes sympathetic - you'll never get involved in his plight and be rooting for him. And this is yet another movie where filmmakers don't know how heavy gold bars are in real life! Let's hope Cage managed to pay off his debts with this movie so he can be free to pick more quality projects.
15 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Nothing special, but not bad... And less than 1,5 hours
Bene Cumb16 October 2012
The plot is rather simple and not original, but chases during and within Mardi Gras festivities in New Orleans are interesting to watch (here, adding the carnival does make sense, in most other movies it is just meant to confuse viewers and chasers). However, the "final end" could have been different, more sophisticated.

Nicholas Cage is good as usual, but the real star (and best villain) of the movie is John Lucas - vicious inside and outside. Female characters tend to be sketchy, although actresses do their best.

An OK movie for killing time, but it is neither Heat nor Snatch or similar. A typical Cage-related action.
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Predictable, Flawed, Full of Clichés but also Entertaining
Claudio Carvalho14 April 2013
In New Orleans, the notorious bank thief and family man Will Montgomery (Nicolas Cage) steals ten million-dollar with his partners Vincent (Josh Lucas), Riley Jeffers (Malin Akerman) and Hoyt (M.C. Gainey). However, he has an argument with Vincent in the runaway and Hoyt leaves Will behind. He tries to flee but the FBI agent Tim Harlend (Danny Huston) organizes a manhunt and Will is captured, but he burns the stolen money to get rid of the evidences against him.

Eight years later, Will leaves the prison and he goes to the house of his teenage daughter Alison Loeb (Sami Gayle), who has issues against him. Alison leaves Will alone in a coffee shop and takes a cab to go to a session with her shrink. However, a couple of minutes later, Will receives a phone call from Vincent, who is presumed dead, telling that he has abducted Alison and will kill her unless he receives the ten million-dollars of the last robbery. Now Will has twelve hours to find a way to rescue his daughter from the hands of the psychopath Vincent.

"Stolen" is a predictable, flawed, full of clichés but also entertaining action movie with Nicolas Cage in the lead role. This is the type of movie where the viewer can guess what is going to happen on the next scene but nevertheless is not as bad as I expected. I really did not understand how the cellular with GPS that was left in the train to Tallahassee was back again with Will Montgomery and how the handcuff on his left hand has vanished. Further, how many golden bars have been easily melted, hardened and carried in a bag? At least, seeing the gorgeous Swedish actress Malin Akerman makes this forgettable movie worth. My vote is five.

Title (Brazil): "O Resgate" ("The Ransom")
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Yet Another Nicholas Cage Movie
can-da-spam2 October 2012
Y A N C M

Nicolas Cage made some good movies a while ago. Not this one.

End of story.

Long story: It's not all that interesting. The plot is like junk food -- dulls the mind, weakens the heart -- unsatisfying. The action is dreary and slow. Even the attempts at slowing down the pace are annoying. The absurd characterization of an Australian is ridiculous. The sound track is stolen from "The Saint" and Val Kilmer. The pretense of a hectic "Fat Tuesday" is idiotic. The visual effects stolen from "Heat" are disconnected from the action. Each character is a grotesque cliché. Each plot step is predictable.

Yet Another Nicolas Cage Movie.

Here's hoping he delivers a couple more good ones eventually.
92 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Cage and West re-team for Stolen
rgblakey16 September 2012
Nicolas Cage is one of those A-list classified actors that somehow manage to churn movies out left and right no matter the quality or subject matter. His over the top persona is most likely the biggest reason delivering some memorable characters whether you like him or not. The trailer for his latest Stolen comes off more like a rehash of Taken, but with Cage's added unique character delivery and Expendables 2 director Simon West in the mix could it give something a bit more or will it be another in a long line of low end releases to Cage's career?

Stolen follows a former thief frantically searching for his missing daughter, who has been kidnapped and locked in the trunk of a taxi, while trying to avoid FBI agents convinced he is lying and looking to find the money he stole 8 years prior. While the story seems like Taken it really isn't. Yeah there are similarities, but really no more than there is in tons of other action thrillers in this genre. The story here is more straight-forward and on a smaller scale, but still works fairly well. Cage delivers a bit more of a relaxed performance, but still manages to execute some of his over the top performance in there from time to time. Luckily it's usually when it is needed so doesn't distract too much from the overall film. The supporting cast is pretty good featuring Malin Ackerman, Mark Valley, Danny Huston, and Josh Lucas who seemed to take over with the over the top delivery here. While a bit silly at times, Lucas character still works decently. What really make this film work at all are the decent action and the clever robbery scenarios. It has become pretty rare to deliver something all that interesting in film bank jobs, but here they did some pretty creative stuff.

This is a pretty average action thriller, but works well enough to have some fun. Most likely this only got theatrical release thanks to West's success on Expendables 2 and Cage's name, because on some levels it really feels more like a straight to video release. Either way, fans of Cage will have a good time and most likely everyone else will have mixed opinions.

http://www.examiner.com/movie-in-dallas/bobby-blakey
58 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Casey's Movie Mania: STOLEN (2012)
caseymoviemania11 October 2012
Zero fanfare, barely-there 141 theaters count in the U.S. (a surprise, considering it's a movie starring Nicolas Cage and directed by Simon West of CON AIR and THE EXPENDABLES 2 fame), and scathing reviews -- everything about STOLEN spells rotten. Many have even lambasted this as among the worst Nicolas Cage movie he's ever acted. Personally, I don't blame them for being so harsh since Nicolas Cage's movies nowadays are mostly rubbish. But surprisingly, STOLEN isn't as bad as I thought. It isn't good either, but rather a fairly worthwhile action thriller.

The movie follows Will Montgomery (Nicolas Cage), a master thief who has been sent to prison for 8 years after being double-crossed by one of his partners (M.C. Gainey) in a $10 million robbery gone awry. Upon his release, he plans to leave his criminal past behind and attempts to rekindle his shaky relationship with his estranged daughter, Alison (Sami Gayle). However, FBI agents Tim Harlend (Danny Huston) and Fletcher (Mark Valley) are both convinced that Montgomery must have stashed the $10 million somewhere before he was arrested. But Montgomery insists he's already burned all the money before he surrendered himself, so his prison sentence will be significantly reduced. Soon, it doesn't take long before Montgomery's past comes back to haunt him when his former partner, Vincent (Josh Lucas), who is long thought to be dead, works as a taxi driver and kidnaps Alison. Vincent has been waiting for 8 years to exact revenge against Montgomery, who shots his leg during that fateful robbery, and now he wants the missing $10 million as ransom. Montgomery is given 12 hours to retrieve the money at all cost, or Vincent will kill Alison. As time running out, Montgomery has no choice but to go back his old self again and re-teams with his another partner, the beautiful Riley Jeffers (Malin Akerman) to pull off a bank heist.

STOLEN plays strictly by-the-numbers, and it's terribly clichéd all over the place. David Guggenheim's screenplay is full of implausibilities, and the characters are all caricatures at best. But the movie's ludicrous tone has somehow plays out fairly good to its advantage. Thanks to Simon West's energetic direction, the movie zips along fast enough. Frankly, watching STOLEN is akin to watching a mindless '90s action movie -- enjoyable as long as you put your logic aside. The action are quite entertaining , especially given its $35 million low-budget cost (the opening heist scene and the car chase scene inside the parking lot comes to mind), even though they tend to get a bit distracted by its fast editing. Mark Isham's score is catchy and entertaining enough, but its snappy tone that favors over its caper genre does sounds awkward during its more dramatic moments.

Acting-wise, Nicolas Cage plays the same old character we have seen too many times before -- twitchy, that is. But at least, it's not as worst as critics might lead you to believe here. Josh Lucas certainly has a field day playing an over-the-top, crazy psychopath while both Danny Huston and Mark Valley make quite a worthwhile comic-relief pair as two buffoonery FBI agents. Malin Akerman puts up a thankless role here, which is nothing more than showcasing her beauty and little else.

While STOLEN won't top anyone's list as one of the must-see action movies of the year, at least it delivers adequate supply of guilty-pleasure entertainment.
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
if you like Cage then watch this.. This is all cage ..
Anna G6 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I give it a 7 because Its all so predictable and these plots have been made earlier. Cage keeps us on the edge and carries every scene on his shoulders.

Malin Akerman is almost non-existent There is no Love angle only a father going about to rescue his daughter Like watching Kurt Russel in Breakdown searching for his wife.

The FBI team is good have made their presence worth it

Other characters of the movie might well be out of any B movie

A nice thrill ride if you ignore the predictable turn of events ..

I give it a seven only because Cage make this ordinary bag of movie watchable
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Liked the first one better.
James Jacobs3 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers in here.

Nicolas Cage...check. Job goes bad, one of Cage's family members gets kidnapped...check. He has to steal something almost impossible to get them back...check. With the Feds watching following him the whole time...check. He goes one of his ex partners, who has sworn off crime for help...check. She's hot...check. She does it anyways...check. Gets the job done, but leads to a fight at the end...check. Bad guy dies, family member safe...check. Cop lets Cage walk...check.

Why is this movie not called "Gone in 60 Seconds 2"?

Good movie, but it's already been done...with the same lead actor.

Was this written by the same guy?
28 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
not THAT bad, still quite watchable actually
rightwingisevil2 October 2012
this movie is action-packed and of course, there are mucho take-for-granted flaws throughout the whole movie that usually a quick tempo thriller could never avoid. but there's one thing we should admit, nicholas cage did every of his movie 110% with his 110% over-the-top acting or shall we say, commitment. his endeavor in this movie is no exception: he never stopped running from the very beginning to the end; and it's not easy at his age to play such action role, even all the scenes in his movies could be edited. the investors of his movies should consider their money never wasted on this actually quite superb actor. again, i'd like to reiterate, even this is not a great movie, it's still quite watchable, and you can't treat it as a B movie.
56 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Nothing New! 10 Things that come to my mind
jasskTV4 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
(1) Nothing new in story. Just a mix-up of movies like taken, gone in 60 seconds.

(2) Same old dialogues we have heard before.

(3) Poorly executed bank robberies.

(4) Badly done action scenes.

(5) Good actors with week roles. Danny Huston(Conspirator -Good!), Mark Valley(Human target -Amazing!), Josh Lucas (The Firm - Decent!)

(6) Tired of father-daughter action movies. Hanna. Taken. Taken 2. The Expatriate.

(7) Horrible ending scene. Arghh

(8) Did not shine in any genre. Thriller? Action? Suspense?

(9) Does NC do which ever movies comes his way and just hopes its will be a blockbuster? Why cant an actor at his position "choose" to only do films with substance.

(10) Leaving the theater with bad taste, this movie left me unsatisfied.
24 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Generic & un-original but it is entertaining. For a non-Cage fan I will admit the movie is pretty OK. This is watchable. I say B+
Tony Heck3 December 2012
"Bad idea to steal from American's greatest bank robber." Will Montgomery (Cage) is the best at what he does. He picks a crew and breaks in and steals what he wants when he wants. He has decided on one last heist. Four people, ten million dollars, and they go their separate ways. At the end of the heist one wrong move changes the lives of all four people involved. Eight years later Will is out of prison and ready to start his life over, but nothing is ever easy for an ex-con. Most of you know that I am not a Nicholas Cage fan at all. This movie isn't terrible and he really is toned down in this for the most part but still has a few Cage moments in this. The idea of this is a little overused and like most Cage movies lately the movie feels really cookie-cutter like but I will admit that the movie is pretty fast moving and is entertaining. For a non-Cage fan that's a pretty high remark. Overall, generic but entertaining. I give it a B+.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
All quiet on the West(ern) front?
kosmasp28 October 2012
Not really, especially if you think about what he did last year (Mechanic, Jason Statham) and more recently with Expandables 2. So Stolen is kind of the odd one out of that trio of movies. While it does have some fine acting talent involved, it never really takes off. It's not a complete letdown either, so you get a movie by the numbers.

There's quite a few things that you can see coming (rather predictable then) and the story does have some neat coincidences happening, that could only happen in a movie like this. One of my pet peeves gets checked too (unfortunately). It's when a character explains what is obvious. It's selling the viewer short (most of them anyway) and it's something I don't like at all.

Acting-wise it's OK and the "tension" is there almost until the end.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Disappointing
bob-rutzel-122 December 2012
Master thief, Will Montgomery (Nicolas Cage), leaves jail after serving 8-years for a heist gone bad. His cohorts (he never gave them up) in crime believe Will has the 10-million somewhere and they want it. They kidnap his daughter Allison (Sami Gayle) as leverage to get that money. Will claims he burned the money before he was caught. What to do? What to do? What to do?

This starts out good up to the time when daughter Allison is kidnapped. Then it becomes too workman-like rushing around to save Allison. Will tries to get the cops to help but they don't believe him either about the 10-million and watch him like a hawk. Vince (Josh Lucas) the former partner in crime who kidnaps Allison plays the role somewhat over the top. Lucas doesn't make a good bad guy and for the most part was too animated, hence: annoying.

So we are left with a chase movie the rest of the way with the cops always in the wrong place and trying catch up. The vehicle stunts were very good and hard to believe they did these stunts during a Mardi Gras parade in New Orleans. Ouch !

Yes, there are similarities to the movie TAKEN, but in that movie Liam Neeson had fighting skills we agreed with. In here no such karate, Judo or other moves were demonstrated. Bummer.

I like Nicolas Cage, but this movie was kind of disappointing and I just didn't care if Will succeeded with his plan. I must admit that when Will and Vince meet up for their fight at the end it was very exciting and kept me on the edge of my seat. Great choreography. However, that didn't make up for everything that went before. So I have no choice to chalk this up to being disappointing. (5/10)

However, I will still run to a Nicolas Cage movie in the future. It's what I do. HA !

Violence: Yes. Sex: No. Nudity: No. Language: No.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
average movie
bilal amjad5 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I watched this movie just because of nicholas cage but he really disappointed me.An actor like him should not work for this movie.

stolen is just an ordinary story like other movies in which time domain and money relationship is given to the hero and he has to complete this task otherwise his loved one will be harmed..

there are some out fashioned "X" factors like 'when his daughters finger was about to reach the mobile the cab suddenly stops and the mobile slips off from the seat..

in actual FBI is not as inefficient as shown in the movie.

And in the end hero has no gun for protection although he is a mastermind and a welknown thief..
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Fast-Paced Thriller!
namashi_16 April 2013
Simon West Directed 'Stolen' is A Fast-Paced Thriller that lives up-to the expectations. It has the potential to keep you hooked!

'Stolen' Synopsis: A former thief frantically searches for his missing daughter, who has been kidnapped and locked in the trunk of a taxi.

'Stolen', though predictable, doesn't fail you engage you. It has an interesting story-line, that has been executed appropriately by Simon West. David Guggenheim's Screenplay is surely predictable, but entertaining & fast nonetheless. Cinematography is eye-filling.

Performance-Wise: Nicolas Cage is in terrific form. The Oscar-Winning Actor carries the film on his shoulders. Josh Lucas is gloriously evil in here. Malin Åkerman looks stunning & delivers a subtle performance. Danny Huston is first-rate. Sami Gayle is sincere. M. C. Gainey is as usual.

On the whole, 'Stolen' succeeds by your holding your attention well.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Creepy Good Performances
simonkie29 March 2013
Sometimes the way a movie is marketed and released often makes people pass judgment and the fact that a Nicolas Cage action movie was released straight to DVD may give people a bad impression of the film even before they see it. The movie has to be much more entertaining and this is exactly what I found in Stolen.

Nicolas Cage gives another fine heartfelt performance and Josh Lucas plays one of the creepiest characters that will surely be remembered. "My kids are afraid of him and my kids are in their twenty's". A classic line in the movie describing Lucas's character. Danny Huston is a very underrated actor who also portrays his character with a bit of creepiness.

Plenty of action to start the movie and a great cast with terrific chemistry makes Stolen worth every minute.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Worst NIcolas Cage movie I've seen for ages
Christine Carrig3 October 2012
I'm a huge Nicolas Cage fan, and was really excited about this movie, but I was let down. To be honest, it didn't hold my attention at all. I was bored, it was too predictable, and honestly I wouldn't bother with this one.

I won't spoil it by telling you the ending, but if you have a brain, you can work it out yourself.

big waste of time and energy.. I don't recommend this at all. Find something with more "grunt" to it.

I love action movies, but not this one.

Even the acting by Nicolas was average. ho hum. another dud
24 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Terribly painful and very predictable
botev19217 October 2012
You would think Nick Cage would finally stop with the identical and always predictable actions, but this one just hits rock bottom. The moment I saw the trailer I was kind of confused as to wasn't there such movie made just a year ago with Cage? Kidnapped daughter, granddaughter, some cheap fighting scenes and banal storyline is all you can associate with Cage lately. However, unlike Drive Angry, this one is so terribly made it is almost painful. The whole story reminds you of the typical action movies from the mid-90's and everything is so claustrophobic, it is hardly watchable. It feels as if all the action is taking place in one street. The acting is atrocious and I will not even go there with details. Cage is predictable and seems as bored with the role as he was in the second Ghost Rider movie. If you are new to Cage and under 16 you might find this remotely interesting, but otherwise, you could just find Gone in 60 seconds and enjoy it again.
13 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Better than expected
hanssneek5 October 2012
I really enjoyed watching this movie, I'm not going to write a big review since I'm not good at English. I'm not sure why this movie scores so low because the story line is good and the movie haves some funny moments in it. It's a good action movie and I recommend it to watch.

The movie scored low so I didn't had high expectations. This is really a movie I like to watch. it haves everything I like in it.

The acting wasn't the best acting ever seen but it wasn't terrible either.

Go watch this movie when you have the time for it. It will be worth it.
13 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Worth A Watch
LeonLouisRicci2 March 2013
This is a B-Movie with some A-Movie Trappings. Some Clichéd Action but overall it is Entertaining enough thanks to a couple of Engaging Actors and a mostly Fun Time Director.

It is Over the Top in some regards that keeps it from becoming a Classy Affair, but has some Interesting Elements that make it a slightly Better than Average Romp.

The two Heist Scenes are somewhat Original and you Gotta Love its Energy and Enthusiasm.

The New Orleans Scenes are getting Obnoxiously Over Exposed (and one could say same about Nick Cage) but the likable Every-Man has still Got It and Josh Lucas mangled Villain is Gloriously Grotesque.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Terrible MOVIE
dextoon1236 October 2012
This is by far Nichola Cage's worst movie ever! I mean the story sucked, the acting was terrible and if you pay attention to certain scenes they are just dumb. BY FAR WORST NICHOLAS CAGE MOVIE EVER! From the part when he saves his daughter from the trunk and the car doesn't sink until he locks up the retard who stole his daughter and then all of the sudden it dropped down to the bottom of the ocean all the way to the FBI detective who was driving was being told to look up some type of information as he is driving and the dumb detective is sitting on the passenger seat doing nothing as they are trying to catch up to the next crime scene! This movie was totally unrealistic and dumb. He goes to jail for 8 years and comes back out to steal more money which he could have easily done the first time around but instead he decides when his daughter gets snatched up he can go ahead and steal millions of gold bars by melting them through the floor of the vault! COME ON! That was totally dumb and unrealistic! THE MOVIE IS TERRIBLE! Don't WASTE YOU TIME!
13 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
One of the worst movies of 2012
dgefroh18 October 2012
Hey, do you like action films, chase scenes, speeding cars, cool guys and super bad villains? If you do don't bother with this mindless piece of junk. People, life is way to short to bother spending a couple of hours watching these pathetic actors/actress go through their robotic paces with a script so transparent a 5 year old could of written better. To say I hated this movie would be paying it with too much praise. There are so many good movies to view, don't even consider this one. Hollywood needs to know that the general public won't stand for these mindless, brain-dead, dime a dozen movies. And by the way, I'll never watch another Nicholas Cage film again, he must be desperate to sign on for the junk he's put out this year, enough is enough!!
11 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
an average action movie , with too many missing points!
ali salman7 September 2012
OK , of course I wouldn't enter this movie in the cinema because of the bad rate in IMDb .. but I entered it because I don't have a choice .. but actually it wasn't that bad ! the movie is simple and easy to catch , and despite u can expect what will happen next u keep watching and enjoying the movie. But there are some scenes I didn't understand how it developed .. maybe it's a directing problem ! Nicolas cage .. I dunno but he hadn't that successes in action ... It will be better to him to back acting some drama movies .. and for his fans of course. Finally, just don't make a comparison between this movie and TAKEN , because the latter is one of the best movies in the last 10 years ! my vote is 5,8
19 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Stolen.. Two Hours of Your Life
pexu4 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The best way to ruin a movie is to have hopes set too high. As Nicolas Cage hasn't really been up to the task (or maybe it's been the script, or perhaps director) lately, Stolen wasn't really on that must-see movie list. Better still, as Simon West (Con Air, The Mechanic [2011 remake] has pulled some entertaining movies in the past and the script was coming from David Guggenheim (Safe House) maybe this could be Cage's way out of the B-grade movie swamp.

Well, one thing is for sure. This three lines of defence system fails on all sides. Horribly.

It all starts crumbling down from the very beginning. During the intro soundtrack it's not really apparent if this is an action movie, or some strange television comedy. The first five or ten minutes do actually lay down some basic but solid ground, but then it all goes down the drain.

Something goes horribly wrong, we've seen this. One old and crampy janitor at a wrong place, at a wrong time, we've seen this. Best friends forever partners get cranky in less than ten seconds and a gun goes off. Seriously, we've seen this. Too many times. However, not so often in such a record breaking time that all this takes place in Stolen.

The rest of the movies goes like that. Plot takes a new route (not the plot destination, grande finale) every second scene and things happen so fast, so quickly without any planning or momentum building whatsoever. But unlike blockbusters, there's no shiny CGI anywhere, just some unimportant dialogue and speeding cars here and there.

Yes, it's a movie. A movie usually exists solely to present a scene that takes place far from a real, everyday world. However, the stunts that are pulled in Stolen are so far fetched that this might be indeed more like a comedy than a proper, serious action movie.

And the ending? Well, it's so obvious at this point that there wasn't any other option than to warn you about the spoilers.

Skip this one unless you want Stolen to steal any more than what reading this review took of your precious time. You've probably seen all Stolen has to offer anyway, not just under that title.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews