IMDb > Wanderlust (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wanderlust
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wanderlust More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 139 reviews in total 

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

are hippies funny...

5/10
Author: MLDinTN from TN
9 December 2012

that is the question this movie tries to answer. The film is about married couple, George and Linda, whom must leave New York City after George loses his job. My favorite part wasn't the hippies, it was when George and Linda go to George's brother's house. The brother says the most inappropriate things and his wife is a lonely, depressed woman and they have a foul mouthed kid. Needless to say, they can't stand to be there long and go back to the hippie place in which they had spent the night at before arriving at the brother's. There they live without doors, smoke pot, have free love. Some of it was funny, but there are much better comedies out there. And of course George and Linda must find each other at the end.

FINAL VERDICT: It was OK; worth a view if you want some raunchy humor

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Really funny. I have no idea what film critics and audiences saw, but it wasn't this one.

8/10
Author: zetes from Saint Paul, MN
30 July 2012

The most undervalued film of 2012? I think so, anyway. Critics and audiences alike have decided that this comedy is lame, but I laughed at pretty much every gag and found the writing to be top notch. I'm a long-time fan of David Wain, who first appeared in the classic 90s sketch show The State and has done many things since, most recently the hilarious Children's Hospital, which shares many of the same actors as Wanderlust. Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston star as a married couple from New York who are forced to flee the city when they become unemployed. On their way to Atlanta to stay with Rudd's brother (Ken Marino, who co-wrote), they stay at a bed and breakfast which turns out to be a hippie commune, which they decide is a better place for them than Marino's house. There's conflict when she loves it but he doesn't. The best thing about the film is the care that went into the creation of the hippie characters. They could have easily been two-dimensional stereotypes, but the filmmakers and actors have fleshed them all out nicely. Justin Theroux plays their apparent leader, a charismatic, bearded man who has lived away from normal society a bit too long ("Why don't you just leave behind your VCRs and Nintendo Power Gloves?"). Among the others are Alan Alda, one of the original founders, Joe Lo Truglio, a nudist novelist, Kerri Kenney-Silver, kind of a soul mother, Kathryn Hahn, a judgmental ex-porn star, Jordan Peele and Lauren Ambrose, an interracial couple with a baby on the way, and Malin Akerman, a hot gal who believes in free love. Marino is also hilarious as Rudd's a-hole brother and Michaela Watkins is great as his alcoholic wife. Stand-up Todd Barry and Broadway star Linda Lavin also have great cameos as Rudd's co-worker and a real-estate agent respectively. Director Wain along with Michael Ian Black and Michael Showalter, who were all together in The State (along with Kerri Kenney-Silver, Joe Lo Truglio and Ken Marino) and were also the comedy troupe Stella, appear as banal Atlanta news anchors. The story isn't anything too special, but the lovingly created characters and their interactions carry the movie perfectly well. I suspect that, much like David Wain's Wet Hot American Summer, this will become something of a cult classic in the coming years.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A very funny comedy that is not for the easily offended. Rudd has great line delivery as always. Cast is hilarious. I say B+

7/10
Author: Tony Heck (cosmo_tiger@hotmail.com) from United States
16 June 2012

"We prefer 'intentional community. We're not a bunch of hippies sitting around playing guitar." George (Rudd) and Linda (Aniston) are finally starting to relax. George has a great job and Linda is an aspiring filmmaker who is set to sell her documentary to HBO. They buy a house in one of the nicest parts of New York City and everything is going great. When everything falls apart they move to Atlanta to live with George's brother. Along the way the find a commune called Elysium with a very eclectic group of people. They find more then the expected there. This is a very funny movie but it is not for everyone. This is the type of comedy where if you offend easy I would avoid it. Like most movies by Apatow or Rudd the dialog is so great that you find it hard not to laugh at the lines or the delivery of them. The cast is great in this and everyone adds their own brand of comedy but at the same time no one really gets in the way of the others. Just as a heads up though there is a lot of full frontal male nudity in this, but its really funny when it happens. I laughed threw the entire movie and there are a ton of quotable lines in this, but this is not a movie I would buy. Overall, a very funny movie that fans of Apatow will love. I give it a B+.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Plenty of wander not much lust.

5/10
Author: Quietb-1 from United States
1 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The trailer sums up the plot. A New York couple find their way to a "hippie like" community. The movie looks bright and sharp as if it was shot on real film.

The usual high on some substance and free love jokes you would expect. A few laughs but short on heart.

The scene where everyone claps when the car is up righted must have been filmed before the soft noiseless clap element was established. Plenty of male nudity and language got this an R rating. The little girl that helps saves the day seemed to come out of nowhere or her other scenes didn't make the final cut.

It seems like we've seen all this before. No need to rush to this one. It's the kind of movie that will work well on DVD or cable.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Unpredictable and hilarious

9/10
Author: makara79 from United States
7 July 2012

I thought this film was a really good, solid comedy. Hilarious and refreshingly random. Below is a quick run down of things I like. If you have similar tastes to me, maybe you'd agree with me on Wanderlust.

Great comedies: The Office (UK) Curb Your Enthusiasm Seinfeld Portlandia Cedar Rapids Kids in the Hall Larry Sanders Show Big Lebowski / Barton Fink / Serious Man Louie Best in Show Waiting for Guffman Bridesmaids

Good, solid comedies: Modern Family SNL The State The Hangover There's Something About Mary Dodgeball The Birdcage Wedding Crashers The Office (US) Superbad Due Date Napoleon Dynamite

Not-really-for-me comedies: Two and a Half Men Hot Tub Time Machine Friends Will & Grace Dumb and Dumber MadTV Blades of Glory The Waterboy American Pie Austin Powers White Chicks Idiocracy Legally Blonde School of Rock Rush Hour Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle Miss Congeniality

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

If you were a fan of The State, and are a fan of irreverent humor in general, you'll like it

8/10
Author: soko355 from United States
29 June 2012

Everyone on here complaining about acting and character development and blah blah blah needs to get over themselves. It's not as over-the-top as The State or Wet Hot American Summer, but this movie promised to be a ridiculous comedy, and it was a ridiculous comedy. The humor ranged from subtle to silly to raunchy, but rarely any toilet humor or basic stupidity. It wasn't the funniest thing I've ever seen, but it made me laugh out loud unexpectedly at lots of points throughout the whole movie, much like other stuff involving these comedians/writers always have. So no, don't go in expecting an Oscar winner, just relax and enjoy the laughs.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Disappointing

5/10
Author: headstocki from United Kingdom
16 June 2012

WANDERLUST - 5/10.

Being as I am more than fond of both Judd Apatow (Producer) and Paul Rudd (Lead Actor/Co. Producer) I was extremely eager to watch Wanderlust but came out of it disappointed and honestly quite shocked by the fact that Apatow had produced something so mediocre!

That being said I did laugh in this film on quite a few occasions actually, in particular the mirror scene which was to say the least hilarious. In my opinion it was these rare moments of overstated humour and light satire which made the film bearable. Another strong point is the running time; thankfully this film doesn't drag on too much to the point where it becomes tedious.

Rudd is consistently brilliant in nearly every release he has been in and Wanderlust is certainly no exception, but the person that stole the show for me personally was Joe Lo Truglio as Wayne the nudist novelist. I feel that in previous films Truglio has shined, never having a large part but still managing to have a huge impact on the overall humour of a film, notable examples are Kuzzick in Role Models (also alongside Rudd and director David Wain) and my personal favourite Lonnie in I Love You, Man (again, alongside Rudd). I feel that Truglio has this same effect in Wanderlust and that he played one of the more likable and overall interesting characters amongst a cast that is generally dull.

Jennifer Aniston tries. Everything she does in this film comes off as a bit too eccentric, for example the weird acid trip she has just felt awkward and kind of unnecessary. The only thing that the does to a truly good standard is playing the 'un-employed go-getter living in the midst of a bustling Manhattan' but to be fair this sort of role has got to be second nature for her. Frankly the more in-your-face kind of comedy is a little out of Aniston's comfort zone and this does show a bit in Wanderlust.

A lot of other reviews are advising you not to watch it but I disagree based on the fact that you could definitely do a lot worse. You should especially watch this if you enjoyed Wain's Wet Hot American Summer being as both films share a light form of satire. Wanderlust does not match Wet Hot American Summer in terms of overall comedy but I feel that the two are still comparable. Sure, nothing in Wanderlust is worth writing home about (apart from maybe the mirror scene which truly is, hilarious) and it is fairly forgettable but if you are ever in the mood for something light-hearted not to be taken too seriously kind of film then you can't go wrong with Wanderlust.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Stupidest movie I watched in the last decade!

1/10
Author: Samer b
30 March 2012

Basically, if you fancy stupidity and disgusting comedy then this might be something you like. it's the stupidest most worthless movie I've seen in a decade.

I wanted to leave 20 minutes in but I had to stay because it was a birthday present.

The stupidity, disgusting images and regret for the 2 hours waste of my life haunted me for days.

Intelligent and creative humor is absent except for a 1 minute scene in the whole movie.

Not worth it.

Was the above review useful to you?

27 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

Raunchy, vulgar, disgusting, and downright hilarious

8/10
Author: chrismsawin from United States
24 February 2012

After missing "The State" when it was on the air, I became a fan of David Wain when "Stella" hit Comedy Central in 2005. From there I went back and visited Wet Hot American Summer and Role Models. Wet Hot American Summer is a classic while Role Models is humorous but just slightly better than average overall. Expectations were honestly pretty low for Wanderlust. The trailers were mostly just toilet humor (literally) and what appeared to be your everyday modern couple going to live with a group of hippies. How good could that be? It's probably because expectations were so low that Wanderlust is as great as it turned out to be.

George (Paul Rudd) and Linda (Jennifer Aniston) are moving to New York to follow their dreams. Well, George is reluctantly moving there while Linda follows her dreams. Now they find themselves with a studio apartment (oh excuse me, a "micro-loft") that is incredibly tiny and massively expensive. But things get rough when Linda's hopes get washed down the drain and George loses his job. George's brother Rick (Ken Marino) has a job waiting for George, but they're all the way in Atlanta. Leaving their dreams behind, George and Linda go on a road trip and stop at Elysium before reaching their destination. Elysium is unlike anything George and Linda have ever experienced before as everyone shares everything, is so open with one another, and even believes in free love. As everything that could go wrong does, George and Linda are faced with the decision of continuing to live in the city for the technology and advancements they love or moving to the country, being stripped of that technology, and feeling happier than they can ever remember.

One could argue that Wanderlust uses the same formula over and over involving raunchy jokes and dialogue and featuring the most nudity of any film in your recent memory. That may be the case, but if you're familiar with David Wain's humor then this should come as no surprise. You probably know what you're getting yourself into and you're either a fan of his work or you hate it (but then why would you be seeing this anyway?). Wanderlust is labeled as a comedy and if it makes you laugh, then it's done its job. If anything, this is actually a return to form for both Wain and the majority of the cast of "The State." The film throws you headfirst into hilarity as the "breaking the apartment in the old fashioned way" scene is kind of a warm-up for what's to come. George's sarcasm is what will more than likely win you over the most while Linda's inability to commit to any sort of career causes her character to be pretty unpredictable. Elysium is a gold mine of eccentric characters; the most noteworthy being Wayne (Joe Lo Truglio) the nudist and Seth (Justin Theroux). Wayne's nude habits will either have you in tears from laughing so hard or cause you to turn away in disgust while Seth's outdated technology references, his ability to loiter around doorways out of sight and selfish tendencies are hilarious in their own right. Paul Rudd's mirror scene is what you'll remember the most though as you'll be laughing for a good two or three minutes straight from that scene alone.

Wanderlust does get pretty outlandish in its second half, but it isn't exactly the most grounded concept to begin with. There are several dream-like sequences that are fantastically surreal. The two that come to mind are Linda's peyote-like trip during the trust circle and George's fly dream. The fly dream is actually one of my favorite scenes in the movie since it's just so bizarre and random yet manages to fit the flow of the movie somehow.

The R-rated comedy does have its shortcomings though. Rick is easily the most annoying character to be featured in any film so far in 2012. You'll breathe a sigh of relief once his story arc is resolved. The other main one is the film's conclusion. It feels a bit generic when all of the raunchiness is dropped for heartfelt speeches and the struggle to do what's right. Everything still comes together in a logical sense, but it's in a way that seems so familiar which is kind of a letdown. The transition just doesn't feel as smooth as it should.

Wanderlust is vulgar, obscene, littered with jiggling unclothed man and lady parts, and downright disgusting at times, but it's laugh out loud funny because of all of these things. The story may be a bit lacking in parts, but your laughter will drown out whatever flaws the movie may have. While Wanderlust may not be for everyone, it certainly soars and caters to those who love this type of comedy.

Was the above review useful to you?

unfunny, sexist, direct-to-streaming tripe

1/10
Author: bp Smith from United States
25 July 2016

I usually don't bother to warn others against truly bad pieces of Hollywood sharp practice like "Wanderlust", but this time I'll make an exception.

Essentially, this is what it all boils down to:

* Women don't want to work, but want to be "provided for" by men (whose job, according to Apatow and Co., is to support these fickle, ungrateful women).

* Hippies are old, stupid and ugly, and vegetarians secretly crave animal flesh.

* Don't ever stray too far from Breederville, you'll only find *icky, weird, liberal people out there!*

I should have known better than to waste my time on this, but I like most of the cast (in other things).

PSA to film lovers: Avoid At All Costs

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history