IMDb > Wanderlust (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wanderlust
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wanderlust More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 138 reviews in total 

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

What a laugh!!

8/10
Author: aliciadipesto from London, England
19 January 2013

Maybe I'm off the mark here but I can't understand why this had had such a bad press. I've seen this film 3 times now and every time fall over laughing. It's imaginative, witty, warm, clever and refreshing. Some great actors too, surely they wouldn't have signed up to a turd of a movie - that speaks volumes for me. Sure the characters are a bit pantomime at times especially the brother of the main character but still, it's so well written such a crime is entirely forgivable.

I'm surprised too that in the 4 years we've been in recession there hasn't really been a lot of content has been released concerning the recession itself, and this also sets the film apart. Maybe I'm just a frustrated hippie. But this movie is funny as hell and the dialogue alone is cracking. A real feel-good way to while away a couple of hours and very entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Comedy is a funny thing

8/10
Author: kosmasp
16 August 2012

Although this always play out in the eye of the beholder. I could imagine that some people could not relate or find anything funny in this, but I also read it in another guys review here. Just because this is R-rated, doesn't mean you're going to see a lot of the two main actresses (you will see a "bit" from one of the male leads though, even if it's not really his bit).

I on the other hand as you can tell by my rating did really like it. I know the story has more than its fair share of flaws, but it's a lot of fun to watch. If you can laugh at the jokes at hand that is of course. Paul Rudd is playing his usual sch-tick, but his "brother" is the real revelation. He's really funny and awkward! The morality of the whole thing is one dimensional, but you can overlook that, if you can laugh about the movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

wanderlust - laugh out loud

Author: terbear505 from United States
6 July 2012

This movie has just a many funny scenes as the hangover. I am sitting at my office at work, laughing about this movie. From the beginning with falling asleep during sex to the micro mini studio apartment to the hilarious brother's wife to landing upside down in their car with a naked man standing right at his face. The scenes continued to be funnier. Best Part, was Paul Rudd gearing up in front of the mirror for his love affair, and ending up watching a girl naturally deliver her baby. Yes, the story line is simple, but, if you are in a mood to laugh. I promise, you will. Jennifer and Paul are a great duo. I hope they plan many more movies together.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

are hippies funny...

5/10
Author: MLDinTN from TN
9 December 2012

that is the question this movie tries to answer. The film is about married couple, George and Linda, whom must leave New York City after George loses his job. My favorite part wasn't the hippies, it was when George and Linda go to George's brother's house. The brother says the most inappropriate things and his wife is a lonely, depressed woman and they have a foul mouthed kid. Needless to say, they can't stand to be there long and go back to the hippie place in which they had spent the night at before arriving at the brother's. There they live without doors, smoke pot, have free love. Some of it was funny, but there are much better comedies out there. And of course George and Linda must find each other at the end.

FINAL VERDICT: It was OK; worth a view if you want some raunchy humor

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Really funny. I have no idea what film critics and audiences saw, but it wasn't this one.

8/10
Author: zetes from Saint Paul, MN
30 July 2012

The most undervalued film of 2012? I think so, anyway. Critics and audiences alike have decided that this comedy is lame, but I laughed at pretty much every gag and found the writing to be top notch. I'm a long-time fan of David Wain, who first appeared in the classic 90s sketch show The State and has done many things since, most recently the hilarious Children's Hospital, which shares many of the same actors as Wanderlust. Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston star as a married couple from New York who are forced to flee the city when they become unemployed. On their way to Atlanta to stay with Rudd's brother (Ken Marino, who co-wrote), they stay at a bed and breakfast which turns out to be a hippie commune, which they decide is a better place for them than Marino's house. There's conflict when she loves it but he doesn't. The best thing about the film is the care that went into the creation of the hippie characters. They could have easily been two-dimensional stereotypes, but the filmmakers and actors have fleshed them all out nicely. Justin Theroux plays their apparent leader, a charismatic, bearded man who has lived away from normal society a bit too long ("Why don't you just leave behind your VCRs and Nintendo Power Gloves?"). Among the others are Alan Alda, one of the original founders, Joe Lo Truglio, a nudist novelist, Kerri Kenney-Silver, kind of a soul mother, Kathryn Hahn, a judgmental ex-porn star, Jordan Peele and Lauren Ambrose, an interracial couple with a baby on the way, and Malin Akerman, a hot gal who believes in free love. Marino is also hilarious as Rudd's a-hole brother and Michaela Watkins is great as his alcoholic wife. Stand-up Todd Barry and Broadway star Linda Lavin also have great cameos as Rudd's co-worker and a real-estate agent respectively. Director Wain along with Michael Ian Black and Michael Showalter, who were all together in The State (along with Kerri Kenney-Silver, Joe Lo Truglio and Ken Marino) and were also the comedy troupe Stella, appear as banal Atlanta news anchors. The story isn't anything too special, but the lovingly created characters and their interactions carry the movie perfectly well. I suspect that, much like David Wain's Wet Hot American Summer, this will become something of a cult classic in the coming years.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

A very funny comedy that is not for the easily offended. Rudd has great line delivery as always. Cast is hilarious. I say B+

7/10
Author: Tony Heck (cosmo_tiger@hotmail.com) from United States
16 June 2012

"We prefer 'intentional community. We're not a bunch of hippies sitting around playing guitar." George (Rudd) and Linda (Aniston) are finally starting to relax. George has a great job and Linda is an aspiring filmmaker who is set to sell her documentary to HBO. They buy a house in one of the nicest parts of New York City and everything is going great. When everything falls apart they move to Atlanta to live with George's brother. Along the way the find a commune called Elysium with a very eclectic group of people. They find more then the expected there. This is a very funny movie but it is not for everyone. This is the type of comedy where if you offend easy I would avoid it. Like most movies by Apatow or Rudd the dialog is so great that you find it hard not to laugh at the lines or the delivery of them. The cast is great in this and everyone adds their own brand of comedy but at the same time no one really gets in the way of the others. Just as a heads up though there is a lot of full frontal male nudity in this, but its really funny when it happens. I laughed threw the entire movie and there are a ton of quotable lines in this, but this is not a movie I would buy. Overall, a very funny movie that fans of Apatow will love. I give it a B+.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Plenty of wander not much lust.

5/10
Author: Quietb-1 from United States
1 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The trailer sums up the plot. A New York couple find their way to a "hippie like" community. The movie looks bright and sharp as if it was shot on real film.

The usual high on some substance and free love jokes you would expect. A few laughs but short on heart.

The scene where everyone claps when the car is up righted must have been filmed before the soft noiseless clap element was established. Plenty of male nudity and language got this an R rating. The little girl that helps saves the day seemed to come out of nowhere or her other scenes didn't make the final cut.

It seems like we've seen all this before. No need to rush to this one. It's the kind of movie that will work well on DVD or cable.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Unpredictable and hilarious

9/10
Author: makara79 from United States
7 July 2012

I thought this film was a really good, solid comedy. Hilarious and refreshingly random. Below is a quick run down of things I like. If you have similar tastes to me, maybe you'd agree with me on Wanderlust.

Great comedies: The Office (UK) Curb Your Enthusiasm Seinfeld Portlandia Cedar Rapids Kids in the Hall Larry Sanders Show Big Lebowski / Barton Fink / Serious Man Louie Best in Show Waiting for Guffman Bridesmaids

Good, solid comedies: Modern Family SNL The State The Hangover There's Something About Mary Dodgeball The Birdcage Wedding Crashers The Office (US) Superbad Due Date Napoleon Dynamite

Not-really-for-me comedies: Two and a Half Men Hot Tub Time Machine Friends Will & Grace Dumb and Dumber MadTV Blades of Glory The Waterboy American Pie Austin Powers White Chicks Idiocracy Legally Blonde School of Rock Rush Hour Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle Miss Congeniality

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

If you were a fan of The State, and are a fan of irreverent humor in general, you'll like it

8/10
Author: soko355 from United States
29 June 2012

Everyone on here complaining about acting and character development and blah blah blah needs to get over themselves. It's not as over-the-top as The State or Wet Hot American Summer, but this movie promised to be a ridiculous comedy, and it was a ridiculous comedy. The humor ranged from subtle to silly to raunchy, but rarely any toilet humor or basic stupidity. It wasn't the funniest thing I've ever seen, but it made me laugh out loud unexpectedly at lots of points throughout the whole movie, much like other stuff involving these comedians/writers always have. So no, don't go in expecting an Oscar winner, just relax and enjoy the laughs.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Disappointing

5/10
Author: headstocki from United Kingdom
16 June 2012

WANDERLUST - 5/10.

Being as I am more than fond of both Judd Apatow (Producer) and Paul Rudd (Lead Actor/Co. Producer) I was extremely eager to watch Wanderlust but came out of it disappointed and honestly quite shocked by the fact that Apatow had produced something so mediocre!

That being said I did laugh in this film on quite a few occasions actually, in particular the mirror scene which was to say the least hilarious. In my opinion it was these rare moments of overstated humour and light satire which made the film bearable. Another strong point is the running time; thankfully this film doesn't drag on too much to the point where it becomes tedious.

Rudd is consistently brilliant in nearly every release he has been in and Wanderlust is certainly no exception, but the person that stole the show for me personally was Joe Lo Truglio as Wayne the nudist novelist. I feel that in previous films Truglio has shined, never having a large part but still managing to have a huge impact on the overall humour of a film, notable examples are Kuzzick in Role Models (also alongside Rudd and director David Wain) and my personal favourite Lonnie in I Love You, Man (again, alongside Rudd). I feel that Truglio has this same effect in Wanderlust and that he played one of the more likable and overall interesting characters amongst a cast that is generally dull.

Jennifer Aniston tries. Everything she does in this film comes off as a bit too eccentric, for example the weird acid trip she has just felt awkward and kind of unnecessary. The only thing that the does to a truly good standard is playing the 'un-employed go-getter living in the midst of a bustling Manhattan' but to be fair this sort of role has got to be second nature for her. Frankly the more in-your-face kind of comedy is a little out of Aniston's comfort zone and this does show a bit in Wanderlust.

A lot of other reviews are advising you not to watch it but I disagree based on the fact that you could definitely do a lot worse. You should especially watch this if you enjoyed Wain's Wet Hot American Summer being as both films share a light form of satire. Wanderlust does not match Wet Hot American Summer in terms of overall comedy but I feel that the two are still comparable. Sure, nothing in Wanderlust is worth writing home about (apart from maybe the mirror scene which truly is, hilarious) and it is fairly forgettable but if you are ever in the mood for something light-hearted not to be taken too seriously kind of film then you can't go wrong with Wanderlust.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history