IMDb > Wanderlust (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wanderlust
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wanderlust More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 139 reviews in total 

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Terrible and Unfunny Silliness

3/10
Author: Claudio Carvalho from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
30 April 2014

In New York, the aspirant filmmaker Linda (Jennifer Aniston) convinces her husband George Gergenblatt (Paul Rudd) to buy an expensive Micro Loft apartment in Manhattan. Linda expects to sell a documentary about penguins to HBO to help the payment of the installments and George expects a promotion. However, HBO rejects the documentary and George's company has folded and he is fired. With the American crisis, they lose a large amount selling the apartment and George does not find a new job. George's brother Seth (Justin Theroux) offers a job position in his company in Atlanta.

They drive from New York to Atlanta and they decide to stop for the night in the hotel Elysium. However they see a naked man running toward their car and George tries to return to the highway but accidentally he turns his car over. Soon they learn the Elysium is a hippie and vegan community and the dwellers invite George and Linda to stay with them. However, they decide to go to Atlanta but soon George has an argument with his arrogant brother. George returns to Elysium with Linda and they decide to stay for a two-week trial. A couple of days later, Linda feels well with her new friends but George has difficulties to adapt himself to the rules of Elysium.

"Wanderlust" is a terrible and unfunny comedy with a silly story. Jennifer Aniston is a great actress but his agent or she should be more careful with the screenplays they select. The cast has other good names, such as Paul Rudd, Alan Alda, Lauren Ambrose and Malin Akerman, but the moronic plot is too stupid and does not make laugh. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): "Viajar É Preciso" ("Triping Is Necessary")

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Surprisingly Disappointing

5/10
Author: headstocki from United Kingdom
16 June 2012

WANDERLUST - 5/10.

Being as I am more than fond of both Judd Apatow (Producer) and Paul Rudd (Lead Actor/Co. Producer) I was extremely eager to watch Wanderlust but came out of it disappointed and honestly quite shocked by the fact that Apatow had produced something so mediocre!

That being said I did laugh in this film on quite a few occasions actually, in particular the mirror scene which was to say the least hilarious. In my opinion it was these rare moments of overstated humour and light satire which made the film bearable. Another strong point is the running time; thankfully this film doesn't drag on too much to the point where it becomes tedious.

Rudd is consistently brilliant in nearly every release he has been in and Wanderlust is certainly no exception, but the person that stole the show for me personally was Joe Lo Truglio as Wayne the nudist novelist. I feel that in previous films Truglio has shined, never having a large part but still managing to have a huge impact on the overall humour of a film, notable examples are Kuzzick in Role Models (also alongside Rudd and director David Wain) and my personal favourite Lonnie in I Love You, Man (again, alongside Rudd). I feel that Truglio has this same effect in Wanderlust and that he played one of the more likable and overall interesting characters amongst a cast that is generally dull.

Jennifer Aniston tries. Everything she does in this film comes off as a bit too eccentric, for example the weird acid trip she has just felt awkward and kind of unnecessary. The only thing that the does to a truly good standard is playing the 'un-employed go-getter living in the midst of a bustling Manhattan' but to be fair this sort of role has got to be second nature for her. Frankly the more in-your-face kind of comedy is a little out of Aniston's comfort zone and this does show a bit in Wanderlust.

A lot of other reviews are advising you not to watch it but I disagree based on the fact that you could definitely do a lot worse. You should especially watch this if you enjoyed Wain's Wet Hot American Summer being as both films share a light form of satire. Wanderlust does not match Wet Hot American Summer in terms of overall comedy but I feel that the two are still comparable. Sure, nothing in Wanderlust is worth writing home about (apart from maybe the mirror scene which truly is, hilarious) and it is fairly forgettable but if you are ever in the mood for something light-hearted not to be taken too seriously kind of film then you can't go wrong with Wanderlust.

Was the above review useful to you?

48 out of 95 people found the following review useful:

Dreadful,...

1/10
Author: Saad Khan from Pakistan
11 June 2012

Wanderlust – TRASH IT (D) It won't be wrong to say that Wanderlust is Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd's worst movie till date. There is no story and even they don't utilize the R-Rating in their best benefits. For Jennifer, if she is not comfortable with the R-rated scenes she should not have done this movie. I think they did cut the Justin Theroux and Jennifer Aniston sex scene since they've started dating in real life. Anyways it wouldn't have made any difference but still at least it would have made sense to the story. Paul Rudd, Jennifer Aniston, Justin Thereoux, Malin Akerman all are victim of bad script and screenplay. There is nothing funny about cult or nudists as such. Simply trash this garbage. No wonder its one of the biggest duds of 2012.

Was the above review useful to you?

Wanderlust

4/10
Author: Jackson Booth-Millard from United Kingdom
9 June 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I had to search what the title meant, the dictionary definition of "wanderlust" is "a strong, innate desire to rove or travel about", I was just interested to try it having seen the colourful poster, directed by David Wain (Role Models). Basically in New York, aspiring filmmaker Linda Gergenblatt (Jennifer Aniston) convinces her husband George (Paul Rudd, also producing) to buy an expensive micro- apartment in Manhattan, Linda hopes to sell a documentary about penguins to HBO to help pay for instalments, and George is expecting to get a promotion. However HBO rejects the documentary from Linda, George is fired when the company folds, they are both forced to sell the apartment, but they lose money selling due to the financial crisis, and George is unable to find a new job. George's brother Rick (Ken Marino) in Atlanta, Georgia offers George a job position at his company, so he and Linda drive from New York to head for Atlanta, deciding to stop for the night at the bed and breakfast hotel Elysium. However a naked man runs towards them, George tries to drive away backwards to head back for the highway, but ends up accidentally turning the car on its side. Linda and George soon learn that the Elysium is in fact a community, many residents with various hobbies are allowed to express themselves, and they remain hippies and vegans, they are invited by the dwellers to stay with them. They plan to continue to drive on to Atlanta, but George has an argument with his arrogant brother, they return to Elysium, because of a great night they spent with the community Linda suggests they stay for a while until they figure out what to do next, George agrees that they will stay for two weeks. A few days later, Linda really allows herself to become part of the commune, making friends, not having to worry about money, and even embracing an option of free love, but George has difficulty adapting to the rules of Elysium. There is the point when George finds out that Linda has sex with resident Seth (American Psycho's Justin Theroux), and Elysium's owner Carvin (M*A*S*H's Alan Alda) is forced to fight for the right for the commune to remain, but in the end the married couple reconcile and start a publishing company, and Elysium is saved with a copy of a deed. Also starring The Heartbreak Kid's Malin Akerman as Eva, Kathryn Hahn as Karen, Lauren Ambrose as Almond, Kerri Kenney as Kathy and Joe Lo Truglio as Wayne. Anistin and Rudd, having been in Friends and another film together, are attractive leads and have good chemistry, producer Judd Apatow has made hits like Anchorman and Bridesmaids, this has nowhere near the same calibre, I may have giggled at a little of the obvious slapstick and explicit material, and the story of a married couple escaping modern society and entering a commune is alright in parts, but it is certainly not funny enough overall, a fairly disappointing comedy. Okay!

Was the above review useful to you?

Occasionally funny, never intentionally so

4/10
Author: dierregi from Belgium
17 April 2016

I despise pretty much everything with the Apatow stamp on, so I watched this movie only because it was a lazy Saturday evening, nothing much to do and no idea Apatow had any part in it. It started almost OK, with likable couple Aniston- Rudd going broke in New York.

Forced to move to Atlanta and share the house of the Rudd's character obnoxious brother, our couple stumble into a hippie community, with more or less hilarious developments. Should be a pretty innocuous comedy, but it is ruined by the following:

- both Rudd and Aniston are way too old to play a "young couple". In 2012 they were both 43 but in the movie they are playing at least 10 years younger. Indecision and confusion may be appealing in youth, but are sort of pathetic in characters over 40.

- the brother character. I totally hated him and his performance, although it seemed to have been appreciated by many. Perhaps that sort of humour does not translate in other cultures, perhaps "obnoxious" is just not funny in my book

- the crass vulgarity of modern society. This is not an Apatow fault "per se", but he is certainly very good when it comes to show the worst of the American middle-upper class. In fact, he is so good that he carries things too far - just watch the uncomfortable scene of Paul Rudd shouting obscenities at the mirror. It drags on for what seems forever, it is excessive, it stupid, but most of all, it is not funny at all.

This pretty much summaries every Apatow endeavor: filled with crass obscenities, vulgar, repetitive, unfunny and a sad reminder of modern American society.

P.S. Apatow is the producer

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not bad but not a winner in the long run

6/10
Author: mgulev from Copenhagen, Denmark
17 September 2015

Paul R and Jennifer A play a couple who think they'll make it big in the big city. When things go sour and they have to give up their "luxurious" apartment, they end up in a commune and have their relationship tested.

This is a typical "fish-out-of-water" comedy, where Paul and Jennifer must try to change their previous capitalist ways to live in a "sharing" community. It's not without smiles, but the big laughs are few and far between. Oh, there IS character development. Both Paul and Jennifers characters grow from their experiences and Pauls sister-in-law makes an (un?)espected decision.

There are better ways to spend an evening, but if you just want to relax on the couch and not think too much - there you go.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Aniston Non Nude Tripe.

6/10
Author: Python Hyena from Canada
13 May 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Wanderlust (2012): Dir: David Wain / Cast: Paul Rudd, Jennifer Aniston, Justin Theroux, Malin Akerman, Lauren Ambrose: Director David Wain seems willing to dabble in forbidden vulgarity, as seen in the wretched Role Models. Now he has dived into a project of equal depravity but the difference is the concept is much more curious. It regards the forbidden fruit within a hippie community that a financially struggling city couple happens upon one evening after several hours of driving. Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston are jobless yet find certain freedom with these people. They are nudists who live off the land and do not believe in closed doors. They also do not believe in the sacredness of marriage because they encourage sexual freedom. This troubles Rudd whose interest in the place is tainted after he learns that his wife had sex with the doped out leader. After the initial concept passes, the film becomes bent on shocking viewers with constant nudity including a slow motion shot of several overweight and elderly folks running towards the camera. It is strange that when Aniston pulls her top off, viewers are greeted with a fuzzy censor. It is rather insulting that she is censored yet any scene that is off putting is exploited. Rudd and Aniston survive the pornographic charade but Justin Theroux as the hippie leader is way too obvious in his intentions. Malin Akerman steals scenes as a sexually loose female who offers herself to Rudd without hesitation. Other characters are about as plain as the clothing they strip off. Strangely enough these communities do exist and are a great subject for comedy despite its willingness to tease our lust. Score: 6 ½ / 10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Average, doesn't deserve all the hate

6/10
Author: Josh
4 December 2014

This is a movie i've wanted to see for a while, and the perks of being a student is that you always have time to watch movies. Wanderlust features George (Paul Rudd) and Linda (Jennifer Aniston) who are hit with sudden unemployment. This couple looks for life elsewhere, when they stumble across Elysium, an alternative rural commune where free love rules, yeah. After being invited to live with the community they begin to experience their lifestyle, which leads to some funny encounters.

Wanderlust has received a lot of hate for not being that good, and yeah its not the best movie in the world but it doesn't mean its the worst. Wanderlust is a strange movie, its funny at points, largely finding humour in awkward experiences and the scene with Paul Rudd and the mirror is probably its most recognisable scene, as it is hilarious. As far as being a great movie, id say its a pretty average film, you'll get some laughs, but in comparison to some of Paul Rudd's other movies its not as good, not forgetting the large amount of inappropriateness.

The cast of this movie is packed full of hilarious actors and i think the reason we don't find it as good as we expect to be so because there are so many funny actors in it. For anyone watching this, its average but some funny parts and definitely not one to watch with the parents.

Check out my other reviews on http://russellviews.blogspot.co.uk

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not great - but not rubbish either.

6/10
Author: David Holt (rawiri42) from Australia
30 July 2014

Wanderlust is certainly not a great movie that will go into the annals of Hollywood movie-making for eternity. But then, how many are?

Maybe I'm getting Alzheimer's but an interesting thing happened for me with Wanderlust. My neighbour rented it and, before returning it, knowing my liking for comedies, asked if I would like to borrow it so I naturally accepted. After watching it from beginning to end (and laughing occasionally), as I always do, I entered it into a database I have set up on my computer of all the movies I have seen along with a personal rating out of 100. However, when I told the database to sort it into alphabetical order, I noticed that I already had Wanderlust listed - with (would you believe) the same score! According to the existing record, I had watched the movie just under two years ago and yet, this time around, absolutely nothing reminded me that I had seen it before. My suggestion about Alzheimer's was, by the way, in jest because I have watched other movies subsequent times and, after just a few moments, realised that I had already seen them and even remembered the next lines. So what does this say about Wanderlust? No doubt, some psychologist would have all sorts of theories about that and, to be honest, I would love to know what they are. Unfortunately, the chances of me ever finding out are remote, to say the least.

Lots of reviewers seem compelled to include a synopsis of the movies they review even though IMDb already does that very adequately. I will not waste readers' time by doing that. However, I will repeat a comment I have made more than once on IMDb that they should add another genre - that being farce - because Wanderlust is just that. The reason I say this is because, for those who check out IMDb before watching movies, when seeing a movie listed as both a comedy and a farce, they would be better mentally prepared for what is to come. (After all, why do they check in the first place?)

Never having even visited a hippie commune, I am totally unqualified to say how true or otherwise the portrayal of one in Wanderlust is but, if it IS true to life, then I sure as hell don't want to go there! sure, it's hilarious to watch someone else sitting on the toilet trying to have a crap with all and sundry surrounding him and offering advice but I wouldn't want to BE him! But then I wouldn't want to ever live in a puny little box like that George (Paul Rudd) and Linda (Jennifer Aniston) had in New York either. I guess the whole point of the movie is a comparison between the two - which is somewhat polarised. But then it IS a comedy and I DID watch it twice and enjoyed it both times so take that how you will.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Wanderful life

6/10
Author: Prismark10 from United Kingdom
26 April 2014

Paul Rudd is a financial executive who has been fired just a few weeks after he purchased micro loft in New York. Jennifer Aniston plays his wife who wants to make a documentary on the sex lives of penguins.

They head out down south to work for Rudd's obnoxious brother but cannot stand being with him and end up in a hippie commune called Elysium whose figurehead is Alan Alda.

As the tile implies in the commune which has a lot of nudity both male and female, no doors and talk of free love the couple decide to find themselves, away from the rat race. Justin Theroux has designs on Aniston and may also have designs on money offered by developers who want Elysium.

Rudd has the hotels for Malin Akerman and also wants to get back on his financial feet leading to a clash between him and Aniston.

The film is not laugh out funny but is edgy enough, some nice characters in the commune although some are eccentric and Theroux is obviously a shifty one. Some of the plot is rather predictable and it is unashamedly aimed at an adult audience.

Its also good to see Alda playing a nice guy for a change after a run of oily unlikeable characters.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 14: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
External reviews Parents Guide Official site
Plot keywords Main details Your user reviews
Your vote history