IMDb > Lemonade Mouth (2011) (TV) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Lemonade Mouth
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Lemonade Mouth (TV) More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 15 reviews in total 

24 out of 27 people found the following review useful:

For the 1st Time in a Long Time, Disney Got it Right!!!!! Awesome

10/10
Author: Kobe Busia from United States
4 June 2011

As many of you know, in the past years, Disney channel is known for releasing films such as "High School Musical", "Camp Rock" and the "Cheetah Girls" franchises, all of which were popular but corny in some way, especially the disastrous "Camp Rock 2". I gotta say that for a Disney Channel Movie, in my opinion Lemonade Mouth was just a sweet knockout!!!!!!!!! It's the best musical movie that Disney Channel has ever made, and I'm hooked on it. The actors in the movie did a great job, each character was given a great amount of significance, and best of all, all 5 of them are really talented not only as actors but as musicians. I'm amazed that Adam Hicks wrote his own rap lyrics for 3 songs in the movie because it allowed him to showcase his true musical talent, and even though all 5 actors were great, I feel that he and Hayley Kiyoko are the 2 strongest actors in the movie. Also the movie was great on character development, and the filmmakers didn't make 1 character feel more important than others, and it was almost completely unpredictable because I had no idea what would happen throughout this movie, though I will say that the only predictable thing about it was that after Charlie(Blake Michael) flipped the coin, it would land on heads, other than that, completely unpredictable. Even Chris Brochu's character Ray wasn't entirely annoying, but he was a jerk. The soundtrack's amazing, you'd actually want those type of songs on your Ipod, and they're genius. Finally, Lemonade Mouth actually has a strong morale, and it's the kind you can take seriously, unlike corny stupid lines like "This is our summer"!!!!! I can also praise this movie for presenting a realistic plot, and it proves that Disney finally learned from all the mistakes they've previously made with past DCOMS. PS: All 5 members of the band can sing, not just 1 person, who wouldn't want that in a band(which by the way they should be a real-life band)?!?!? Here's 1 character I didn't really talk about and that's Scott Pickett, lead guitarist of Mudslide Crush. Scott is played by Nick Roux, and while he's a nice guy, he can be a little selfish, and I don't think anyone expected him to end up joining Lemonade Mouth by the end of the movie, but it was best that he did. I will say that it was unnecessary for Mo to get jealous of Scott for simply talking to a girl named Jules, it's not like he was making out with her. Also how the mural of the band had ended up on the pizzeria billboard was never explained, so therefore it didn't make sense. Something else I should add is that there was a review saying that the music continuity was an issue, and I'd just like to say that 1st of all, that's not something to complain about, 2nd of all, of course you're still gonna hear keyboards in the background while Wen's rapping because he's not really playing, so that's not really an issue. Also during "Breakthrough", Scott had already joined the band, and he's the one who played guitar for that song so it doesn't matter if Stella's not playing guitar, but you're right about "She's So Gone", Bridgit should have been playing bass instead of a 2nd guitar, and in "Breakthrough", and Highwire, Naomi's not playing bass which is odd. Overall,This movie couldn't have been done in a better way, it deserves a sequel but I'm afraid it'll be a disaster like Camp Rock 2. Well done Disney, keep this up, your coolest musical film yet. I give it a perfect 10. Rock on, Lemonade Mouth!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

21 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

One of Disney's finest!

10/10
Author: Humacorn from Trinidad and Tobago
7 May 2011

I personally found this movie to be extremely inspiring. You would think that it'd be your typical Disney musical but I think that Lemonade Mouth took it to a different level. It's not just a High School Musical where students from different cliques come together with a common interest despite what their friends think. With Lemonade Mouth the obstacles were not only at school but at home. It touched on some major teen issues.

It spoke about true friendship, through life's struggles Not to mention, the songs had soul. They didn't just have funky/hip beats, the lyrics had meaning.

Lemonade Mouth really defies all odds. In regular band there is only one leader singer, despite who writes the song. With this band they got personal as each song meant something different to each member and the one that related most sang that song. I found that really interesting. It gave the band flavor, as it had different voices.

This movie teaches you about the meaning of true friendship, overcoming family problems, dealing with relationships, the right way to deal with bullies and following your dreams at all costs.

This is truly a movie for all ages! Honestly, more appeal to teens and pre-teens.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

A Great Disney Movie

9/10
Author: Brooklyn Sherman
16 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

"Lemonade Mouth" is a story about five teenagers with different problems coming together and forming a band to be heard after being mistreated by the principal and popular kids.

—Characters: 16/20— The characters each had a distinctive personality, but some characters weren't very well developed. I can't tell you much about Charlie, and just barely more with Wen. Then Scott wasn't as developed either, and all they did for Ray was show that he was a huge jerk, but otherwise, all the other characters were great.

–Story: 17/20— I had to count off of originality because it was based off a novel, but otherwise it was a great story about how, like I said earlier, five teenagers escaping from family problems by trying to speak up against their principal by forming a band. You can totally relate with the characters, and you find yourself wanting to just whack the crap out of some of the characters. Some of the scenes seem a little over dramatic, like people just randomly start yelling, or in one scene, when the lead jerk Ray decides to just spontaneously decides to steal the microphone and start a fight. That scene was very confusing. I had really no idea how the fight started, and it went so fast that it perplexed me; then I don't know why the band wasn't allowed to perform there anymore when it was the other guy who started it. It was also confusing how when they got their gig at the pizzeria, they had a sign already advertising to "fight the power" even though the band had only preformed once, and that was at a school. Besides that, it had a great story, and a great ending.

—Acting: 19/20— The acting was PERFECT. I applaud every person they hired for the band Lemonade Mouth, because they did an awesome job. They also hired some very talented singers and musicians, if I can say. If the people who played instruments really couldn't play that instrument, then they did a great job acting like they played it. I had to count off though because of the jerks. Scott was very vague and strange, which might've been why the character didn't seem too good. Ray was also very jerk-ish, which was correct on his part, but he sort of over-acted and since there was no other part in the plot about his personality, you couldn't see his full acting talents (if he could do better).

—Moral and family-orientation: 20/20— Yes, it is a Disney Channel movie, so it HAS to be family-oriented, but the moral was strongly showed in the movie: speak up for what you believe in. That's what the whole movie centered on, what they actually exhibited; that's why the band was formed in the first place. Now, if you're a person who watches porn and people's heads being blown off every second of the day (or you know what I mean), you would hate it. If you enjoy a movie that the whole family can enjoy and a movie that you can relate to with great music, then you would enjoy "Lemonade Mouth". I certainly did.

—Music: 19/20— I hate rapping. Sorry. They rapped in this movie, but this rapping wasn't about sex or drugs or anything, and I was actually okay with it. For a white guy, Adam Hicks isn't a bad rapper. The music by the band just drills in your head and motivates you to do things. Great music, and too add on, it's about standing up for yourselves.

—Overall review: 91/100— In conclusion, "Lemonade Mouth" is a great movie about taking a stand for what you believe in that actually has some personality while being suitable for all ages.

—Bonus Review- Cinematography: 17/20— Cinematography is my picky spot, so sorry, but I HAVE to review. I absolutely LOATHE when cameras shake on purpose in scenes to cause "suspense" or "tension" or whatnot. Blech, I DESPISE it. They used the technique in this movie once or twice, and when I got to the point where I started getting annoyed (around twenty or thirty seconds) it stopped. They also had some confusing angles, but otherwise, it was okay.

Was the above review useful to you?

16 out of 20 people found the following review useful:

Serendipitous Detention

6/10
Author: bkoganbing from Buffalo, New York
17 April 2011

With the kids from High School Musical now grown and some of them even leaving the Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney Studios had to get a fresh group of musically talented young folks for a new musical film. The result is Lemonade Mouth.

Which is the band that a group of kids who serendipitously sent to the same detention for violating one of martinet principal Christopher McDonald's dumb rules at the same time. That kind of coincidence would tell most people including these kids that there is some karma at work here and that they've got to form a band.

The main thing that Lemonade Mouth is supposed to do it does well, that is give Bridgit Mendler a showplace for her singing talents. I guess it's kind of a tossup between Mendler and Demi Lovato to see who will be the next Miley Cyrus for Disney. Lovato has some great comic ability, but as for singing I think Mendler has it over her. In any event she's also got a nice wholesomeness about her that I hope she neither loses and that just might give her career some staying power.

The songs aren't bad either and Christopher McDonald who usually does quite serious roles shows some hidden talent for comedy. The kind of principal you love to hate. Maybe Lemonade Mouth might just get a few more viewers than those who normally frequent the Disney Channel.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Acceptable for the demographic...

8/10
Author: Mike Smith from United States
10 May 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Having watched and discussed this movie with my nine-year-old niece, I found it both entertaining and disappointing.

I hadn't intended to post here, but after reading reviews on a number of different sites, I decided what the heck – 'be heard'! :-) *steps up on soapbox* It was definitely entertaining, even with the necessity to 'suspend belief' in a lot of instances – as was pointed out in a number of postings I read, by 'youthful' reviewers. I'm also was quite comfortable with the 'message' I believe the story was meant to convey – with some effort, we can ALL overcome and achieve.

Decent cast, although I have issues with how the 'adults' were portrayed. But then, it's a Disney movie and is of course, meant to reach a demographic other than my old self. *laughs* While all the 'kids' did seem to mesh and work well together, I thought I noticed some kind of 'connection' between Miss Mendler and Mr Hicks – or their characters at least. Miss Scott did, in my opinion, exceptionally well with the whole 'American' accent thing. Kudos to her.

Now... the 'disappointed' part. As is usually the case when going from print to screen, I feel the original story (I did actually read the book before I gave it to my niece) was indeed, lost in the conversion. And, as we all know, movie-making is a business, and for the most part, projects are evaluated on the premise of profits. And yes, as I have seen posted by a number of youthful revolutionaries, *smirk* it shouldn't always be about profit. Unfortunately however, without profits, we'd have FAR FEWER movies worth watching. I will say that in this case, the changes from book to movie seem to have worked – quite nicely.

I am VERY disappointed with the production of this movie. There are a BUNCH (a double-digit number) of filming/editing errors in it, making it blatantly apparent that Disney shot this solely on the premise of showing it on TV – and not in theaters. While I'm not going to delve too far into this, I will give you what I considered the most obvious. It involves a label-less bottle of water. In one scene, to characters are sitting at a table talking, the camera changes angles from one to the other as each of them has dialogue. During one of the cuts, a bottle of water appears between them, and then on the very next cut, disappears. There are a number of others, but my point is; the actors involved deserved better than to have all their efforts tossed into a blender, with the final result being a 5 (barely) on a scale of 10 for editing.

Shame on you Disney. Good thing your demographic turned out to be YOUNG.

Ultimately, I will say this: Any movie that can get a nine year old to continuously repeat 'be heard, be strong, be proud', is in this writer's opinion, a GOOD MOVIE.

*steps down off his soapbox*

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

All-around good movie

9/10
Author: TuMay91 from United States
16 April 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Everyone in my family is 15+ years, but we'd heard a lot about this movie, so we decided to watch it - and loved it! It is an all around good movie for anyone to watch. No sex, violence, swearing, etc. making it a good family film. The music, acting, and story keep older family members entertained - mostly the music, for my family at least. The songs are still going through my head!

The only thing that parents might want to be warned about, is that one of the themes, beside friendship, seems to be to question authority. One other slight problem might be that the dad of one of the teens in the movie has a much younger, 28 yr. old, girlfriend.

Brigit Mendler is a very talented actress with an amazing voice! Her co-stars are all extremely talented as well. I see a bright future for all of them!

Was the above review useful to you?

Disney Is Running Out Of Ideas

2/10
Author: M MALIK from Pakistan
5 October 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

How many times they are going to try and fail but still they never learn specially Disney don't they get it that their success key is only animation and big budget Hollywood films with big stars not some bad TV shows or cheap films with local teenagers and kids the company is just after cash these days not good work let me just take you back to the past almost 60 years ago their films were best and still are specially in animation i am a really huge fan specially when they work with Pixar the results are outstanding but films like lemonade mouth 2011 are ruining Disney;s legacy if only Walt Disney was alive he would be so mad at these people.

This lame excuse for a love story is simply boring and uninteresting for the viewer to watch its not like the cast is bad or story was not right but this topic is repeated so many times plus these people were trying way too hard to be serious end up failing even the title of the film is awful and does not match this movie was based on the novel and to be honest here someone's work got ruined just check out the novel and see how Disney killed it by adapting it on screen

The Plot:some 5 high school kids meet in a detention room thing go in their favor quickly as they are talented this leads to the creation of one huge band named lemonade mouth.

The Cast:none of the members are impressive but Naomi Scott steals the show she looked amazing and have a good dialog timing wonder why she is not so famous.

These guys make a band and lip syncing to pop songs mostly but are these songs any good totally not and somehow you feel the characters are way different and these cast members are extremely wrong choice for this film some mature actors could have been hired as for Disney they should concentrate on goof films instead of wasting money on forgettable projects it seems they are running out of ideas.

Overall Lemonade Mouth 2011 is a film for those who like high school musical series or Hannah Montana it is just missing Miley Cyrus my rating is 2/10.

Was the above review useful to you?

family movie with great messages

10/10
Author: candacejac15 from United States
5 August 2014

Just watched this movie and was amazed! I didn't like high school musical(seen compared to many times) movies at all and usually musical movies i don't care much for but this movie was pretty good. Great motivation and determination message. Great family movie. As i am grown with two children i still enjoyed this movie. Not something i seen before. It has a great message. One downside i knew what was ganna happen next for the most part, as with most movies. some things were surprising that did or didn't happen. It is a must see for family. A great family movie with great messages!

KEEP IN MIND: Side note i have never reviewed a movie and made an account just so i could review this. Mommy of 2 and a very observant 7 year old daughter this was perfect!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Different for Disney... Question Authority?

Author: movieguy592 from United States
7 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In a world populated by mega pop and rock franchise films such as High School Musical and Camp Rock series I wasn't sure what to expect when flipping through the guide on Netflix and found Lemonade Mouth. I was working on a few things for one of my own screenplays and needed something mindless to watch and I thought..."oh a Disney film, this should do it" as I remember from an add as a Disney Channel Original movie. So I started it up...

Let me just say I wasn't able to get much done on my screenplays. This is one of Disney's better films in a while. No it's not High School Musical or Camp Rock, it's different than a lot of Disney films... It deals with questioning authority. Some might say that Disney's done that before but not in this tone and not to this extent.

The focus of the movie and how the band came together has the undertone of being heard, standing up for what you believe in.

This movie isn't perfect, but there's was something missing from this film... the majority of the cheesiness/corniness factor that you see in a lot of Disney films. This is one film that while scenes were awkward at times it was during situations that would more than likely be awkward in real life. Very well played by the actors.

For those that said scenes were awkward - THAT WAS HOW THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO BE PLAYED. Thing aren't always peachy. Lemonade Mouth was dealt with the real issues with realism. It was a welcome surprise.

The one thing you may have to get used to is like in High School Musical and Camp Rock music and singing start with little warning like the traditional musical film. While the film attempts to connect the story from rag tag to the instantaneous singing and we are know how to play it's better if you just accept it, otherwise you'll find yourself back in reality when you should be just enjoying the music.

There's a good pace and I found the songs are a lot more rock than other Disney Films and were quite enjoyable.

All in all this movie I give 8/10. There were a few scenes in the beginning - the soccer scene and a couple others that weren't up to par, but they were kind of necessary.

Disney (Channel) seems to be branching out and realizing that it's audience is not just limited to kids and preteens as those that grew up watching the Disney Channel are now in their teens/twenties and those older folks that remember when Disney Channel was still a premium pay channel like to relive their youth.

Solid display of different from Disney, but in a good way. The film as a whole is entertaining and if this is the start of a Disney revolution for less cheesy films, the the future is bright for Walt Disney Enterprises.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Same old song and dance my friend

2/10
Author: vikezupa from United States
27 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Same old story: School kids parents don't understand them, overbearing boyfriend, overbearing principal, same old songs re-packaged. It's terrible, unless you're 8 years old and your parents let you watch it. There must be a group of writers out there who write this type of junk. Demonize parents, demonize authority, demonize jocks, demonize cheerleaders, all in an effort to tell the story of the down-trodden, misunderstood students who don't add value to the school sports teams. The songs are liberal Disney: Predictable lyrics about being misunderstood but standing firm. Predictable chord changes and time signatures. Some kids will like it. Most parents won't.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings Awards
External reviews Parents Guide Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history