IMDb > Wrath of the Titans (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Wrath of the Titans
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Wrath of the Titans More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 25: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 249 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Quite simple amazing...

8/10
Author: fmekhid from London, England
15 April 2012

I have no idea why so many people are knocking these films, maybe when the director focuses more on the origin of the characters and Greek mythology instead of what 'movie-goers' want then at least then i can understand. Honestly Clash of the Titans was a really good film, awesome acting and great CGI, Greek Mythology has A lot of really interesting and amazing things so its a wonder they can encompass it in a 2h film! If you're looking for a story you have to get into to enjoy the film and really intricate character development then maybe this film isn't for you, because quite frankly the only way to describe this film is EPIC. Sometimes you just want to have a good time and be in complete awe to the scale of the action, if you get the chance watch it in IMAX!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Never listen to the critics...

9/10
Author: Jim Michaletos from Greece
12 April 2012

2 years ago, I payed 10 euros to watch Clash of the Titans. The trailers looked pretty attractive to me so I decided to try COTT out. The outcome was amazing for me, even though the majority of people didn't like it at all!

Yesterday, I watched WOTT. The movie was REALLY superb! I loved every minute! The plot is unique and very interesting while the dialogues and the visual effects were pretty cool!

A great sequel for a good movie! This film, unlike its predecessor, has more monsters, more locations and more fun! The actors perform great! Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes were really touching and created an excellent team!

Anyway, if you want an outstanding, "noisy" experience then go watch this movie! And NEVER LISTEN TO THE CRITICS! If I had, I'd have missed many great films!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

"Wrath" Tops "Clash of the Titans"

8/10
Author: zardoz-13 from United States
8 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you applauded the larger-than-life heroics in "Clash of the Titans," you'll probably embrace the derivative exploits "Wrath of the Titans" delivers in less time than the original. Greek mythology tales have never really gone out of fashion. "Wrath of the Titans" qualifies as an above-average entry in the CGI special effects laden genre where gods, men, and monsters scrimmage. Don't confuse "Wrath of the Titans" with last year's similarly themed "Immortals." Comparatively, the two PG-13 rated "Titans" spectacles are considerably less savage and sadistic than "Immortals." While "Clash of the Titans" served as an origins epic, "Wrath" concerns most of the same characters about ten years later.

In "Clash of the Titans," the infant demigod Perseus was condemned to die with his mother in a casket plunged into the sea. Miraculously, Perseus survived. A humble fisherman, Spyros (Pete Postlethwaite), rescued Perseus and adopted him. As he grew up, Perseus shunned the gods until Zeus recruited him to save the city of Argos. Hades, the cruel god of the Tartarus, loosened the legendary sea monster the Kraken with Zeus' blessing to destroy the city of Argo if the citizens didn't sacrifice Andromeda. Defiantly, Perseus and several Argos soldiers embarked on a quest for anything which would enable them to kill the Kraken. Ultimately, our resourceful hero tangled with the malevolent Medusa. Half-woman and half-snake, this deadly dame had scores of vipers sprouting from her head rather than curls. A mere glance at Medusa's face would petrify any mortal. Ingeniously, Perseus found a way to decapitate Medusa without eyeballing her. Perseus saved Princess Andromeda from a fate worse than death and defeated the enormous creature with Medusa's head.

"Battle Los Angeles" director Jonathan Liebesman's "Wrath of the Titans" emerges as a polished but predictable fantasy that imitates its predecessor. Everybody who made "Clash" doesn't show up for "Wrath." Happily, Sam Worthington returns as Zeus' rebellious son Perseus who wants little to do with his all-powerful patriarch. Instead of a boot camp cut, Perseus has a perm that makes him look like Gordon Scott of "Goliath" fame. Perseus prefers to fish on the seas instead of parade around Mount Olympus. Despite the tragic death of his wife Io (Gemma Arterton) in "Clash of the Titans," Perseus has a son, ten-year old Helius (John Bell of "Battleship"), to raise alone. Liam Neeson, Ralph Fiennes, and Danny Huston reappear respectively as Zeus, Hades, and Poseidon. Rosamund Pike replaces Alexa Davalos as Andromeda. This time around Andromeda is more pugnacious. Decked out in combat regalia, she leads her army into battle against the Titans. The biggest difference now is that the gods are losing their power because humans aren't praying to them. Places of worship lay in ruins. When humanity doesn't offer prayers to the gods, the power of gods wane, and "Wrath of the Titans" marks a turning point in the franchise.

If the third entry in the "Titans" movie franchise—"Revenge of the Titans"--materializes, Zeus and company may appear only as memories. Presumably, Hades won't be able to summon another colossal beast from the bowels of the Underworld. Like its predecessor, "Wrath of the Titans" concerns fathers and sons as well as brother versus brother. We learn that Zeus and company endured quite a family feud that ended with them imprisoning their evil father Kronos in Tartarus. Essentially, Kronos constitutes the equivalent of the Kraken. Since all blockbusters try to top each other, "Wrath of the Titans" pits Perseus against Kronos. Kronos doesn't want to demolish a single city, but wipe out mankind. Whereas the Kraken was a giant sea beast, Kronos is a towering fire god. Basically, Kronos is a volcano come to life as a monster. Greek mythology, like most mythologies, tried to make sense out of the mysteries of nature. Scenarists Dan Mazeau, David Leslie Johnson, and Greg Berlanti make Kronos the equivalent of a lava-spewing volcano. A Kraken is a pretty formidable creature, but a glance at Kronos is enough to make you change your underwear, ancient or contemporary, a couple of times. Imagine what Hellboy would look like if he were the size of Optimus Prime from the "Transformers" movies and you'll have a good idea about how this fiend stacks up to our ordinary mortals.

Perseus sets out with Poseidon's illegitimate offspring Agenor (Toby Kebbell of "RocknRolla") and Queen Andromeda (Pike) to save the world. Meanwhile, Hades double-crosses Zeus and imprisons him with the help of Ares (Édgar Ramírez of "Domino" in the Underworld. Our heroes embark on a scavenger hunt for items. Along the way, they confront the Cyclops and take a beating until they befriend them. Agenor helps Perseu find the fallen god Hephaestus (Bill Nighy of "Underworld") and he shows them the best what to enter Tartarus since he designed it. Eventually, Perseus learns that he must synthesize Zeus' Thunderbolt, Hades' Pitchfork, and Poseidon's Trident as a weapon to defeat Kronos. In "Star Wars" fashion, our protagonist must ride Pegasus down Kronos' gullet to dispense the fatal blow.

"Wrath of the Titans" is hokum of a high order. The special efforts are stupendous. Perseus cuts his teeth on the Chimera, a two-headed, airborne beast with a multi-fanged snake head on its tale, and then tackles a couple of lead-footed Cyclops. The maze that Perseus blunders through is more interesting than the Minotaur that he dehorns. Liebesman does a good job of staging these battles and never lets the pace lag. Perseus looks pretty woebegone by the time he delivers the death blow to his adversary. "Wrath of the Titans" is marginally better than "Clash of the Titans."

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

fun popcorn movie

6/10
Author: pepe4u22 from Canada
8 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

went to this movie and had a good time. the movie takes place years after persesus has slain the kracken and after the death of his wife as he struggles to raise his son as a single parent. well of course there is a visit from his father zeus foretelling of a loss in faith of the gods and how evil in the form of kronos rising from there the movie takes off and it wonderfully entertaining. The movie has a fine pacing and the characters are quite good with wonderful turns by Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes and as for the lead Sam Worthington does an acceptable job though he does have very limited range. The movie goes on another voyage to mythical place and meets mystical people like the cyclops and the world of hades and that is part of the appeal of these movies but only problem was Perseus's hair way too modern but that is just nitpicking. Enjoy the movie and eat your popcorn.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Wrath is better than Clash

7/10
Author: styujio
8 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I didn't even enjoy 2010s Clash of the Titans, it was a clunker and full of crap, and I think the script-writers did better in Wrath of the Titans. At least Wrath showed Bubo for a much longer time, also with a better cameo, talking with Bill Nighy! Wrath is better than Clash in the sense that its more serious and epic, although it still retains the stupid dialog and has some idiotic scenes. The idiotic scenes, actually I can only remember one, the most memorable one. That scene involves Perseus blocking the Chimera's fire with.....that's right! A wooden door!(If I'm not wrong) Guess what? When the door is hit by the flames of the demon, it simply turns black and charred! I doesn't turn into ash or whatever thing. Best scene ever. The most pathetic scene is the one involving the Minotaur, which has the screen time of less than two minutes. So, what should you do? Watch Wrath of the Titans cuz its awesome! Great movie, epic battle scenes, few touching moments (Don't even know if there's any), better script, good actors and good performances, and the best part: Monsters! Spoilers: Minotaur! Cyclopes! Kronos! Makhai! Chimeras! To sum up this review-Go watch Wrath of the Titans!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Bland of the Titans

6/10
Author: Jin Maruhashi
5 April 2012

Heroically extolled for confronting an army of horripilating and lavishly overpowered brutes, Perseus (Sam Worthington) in "Wrath of the Titans" still wavers in vanquishing his prime nemesis: his inflexibly cemented facial expression of monochromatic anger lingering in nearly all scenes. Although emotionally limited, the film compensates through countless, visually ornate clashes involving a gargantuan lava-spraying monstrosity, a drool-exuding minotaur, a multi-headed fire-breathing beast as well as other more humanly opponents that still impress with their ridiculously potent tridents. The 3D feature of the film is well employed and exploited by showcasing the aforementioned community of garishly astounding characters under this more emphatic perspective. A stable camera-work also ensures that viewers are able to satisfactorily discern the action that takes place without the irksome turbulence that dazes and obfuscates the on-screen happenings in many films. Overall, this stability positively highlights the legion of 3D behemoths but it seems that the protagonist has taken the title too personally by showing us his one-expression-fits-all acting...again.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Wrath was no Clash, but Love those Bubo burns!

7/10
Author: hardlyhedda from Canada
4 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

From my review at www.hardlyhedda.com Wrath of the Titans opened to audiences across North America this week. Although it isn't touching the Hunger Games numbers, there are still massive amounts of people drawn to Greek Mythology, lots of CG Effects and of course the ever so hunky Aussie actor Sam Worthington.

Ever since Avatar, Worthington has shown movie audiences world-wide that he is a leading man to be reckoned with. He can hold his own in the action genre (carrying both Titans movies), Sci-Fi (Avatar of course), and Drama (in The Debt he is thoughtful and sensitive with his portrayal of David) The movie opens telling us that Perseus (Worthington in all his shaggy haired glory) is raising a son and has lost his wife in his quiet little fishing town (his love interest from the previous Clash of the Titans (2010) Gemma Arterton was going to return to do Wrath but scheduling conflicts prevented her from returning), but trouble is brewing in the underworld and his father Zeus (Liam Neeson) needs his help to restore order among the Gods. Peace and quiet never last long when you are a demi-god! Perseus, given no choice but to save humanity once his Father Zeus is kidnapped by his brother Ares (Édgar Ramírez) and his uncle Hades (Ralph Fiennes), sets off on an action packed crusade to save the world from the titans that are being unleashed at a dizzying rate. So the movie keeps a fairly fast and captivating pace, strong performances are always given by Neeson and Fiennes who play their larger than life god characters up to the nines. Throw in a believable love interest for Perseus (British beauty Rosamund Pike) and some comic relief by way of Perseus's demi-god cousin Agenor (Toby Kebbell) and you've got yourself a fairly entertaining movie night out! Yes there were cheesy bits of dialogue, yes there were completely implausible plot points but accepting it for what it is, a sequel to a mediocre remake at best, with the sequel not even being quite as entertaining as it's 2010 predecessor. (One of my fellow movie goers pointed out that on an island with no one around why would 3 giant cyclops men take the time to shave for each other (ref: cut to close up of cyclops's face for a full stubble shot)? Speaking of stubble, the photo above shows a very life-like doll of Worthington (wonder if he owns one, that would be very Seinfeldesque-remember Mrs. Costanza's doll). If I was reviewing the doll I would have to give high marks to the sheer creepiness of its realistic traits, right down to its stubble.

A highlight of Wrath for sure is the reference to Bubo, the incredibly annoying mechanical owl from the Harry Hamlin version of Clash of the Titans (1981), which incidentally was also one of the highlights of the 2010 version when they referenced that little menace.

The 3D was so-so, nothing compared to the 3D trailer to Prometheus, but still better than the 2010 Clash with its one sword coming at you in the middle of the movie being the only memorable 3d effect.

Run to the theatres, stroll half heartedly, wait for DVD or run away screaming? I would stroll into theatres, make it 3D, get the whole experience and don't expect too much, just sit back and be entertained mildly, because that is what Wrath of the Titans is going to do for you.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Simple plot but nice visual effects

5/10
Author: kostas167 from Greece
4 April 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

----------------SPOILER ALERT--IT CONTAINS SCENARIO INFORMATION ----------------------------- PLOT: A decade after the kraken was defeated , Perseus(Sam Worthington) is called to arms once again in order to rescue Zeus( Liam Nelson),who is imprisoned in the underworld.

Wrath of the Titans was a lower-expectation film than its predecessor Clash of Titans.The producers made clearly that it was not gonna be epic like the first movie(which failed). i think that is the reason why it is a little bit better film than its predecessor, because no one expected much from it.Indeed its harder for a movie to let you down , if you go to the theater with low expectations.

Starting with the visual effects ,i think that they were slightly better than its predecessor.The fighting scenes had great visual effects( The fight with the Chimera was thrilling and so was the fight with the Cyclops. Also the environment (underworld etc) was very good filmed too.Its 3D was generally good ,but the effects were too few (only some rocks falling down and some smokes). Although i would like to see more effects ,i must admit that watching Wrath of Titans in 3D was a pleasant experience.

The weak part of the film though was its scenario. It was way too simple, linear ,almost childish. The characters were way too simple, with no deb th at all,no vices and virtues,nothing.The acting was generally good,but with no scenario and character deb th you couldn't get thrilled of them. The whole movie was action-battle oriented and nothing more. Also it had a lot of inaccuracies like (SPOILER ALERT ) MINOTAUR in the underworld (why would it be there? it was supposed to be in Minoan Labyrinth). Also there was unrealistic. THere was a scene in which (SPOILER ALERT) Perseus gets inside the burning Kronos and when he comes out he doesn't get a single burn, while Zeus(who was a god after all) was killed from a single lava burst . I have to remind that a beast made of lava would have had like 10.000 c heat inside him.

To conclude, the film was a decent 3D ,had nice fighting scenes but it had no scenario at all. It is good for childs to watch, or for an adult who can afford time and money to see something simple and relaxing. Don't watch this film if you are interested in acting and scenario more than the visual effects.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

butchered mythology and nonsensical dribble

1/10
Author: Peter Fox from UK
17 October 2012

watching Wrath of the Titans; good grief how pointless and dull - 'we're humans and we have hope in the face of hopelessness' really? well then I think its time to start stacking chairs on tables and sweeping the shop floor 'cause we're all doomed if fate's left in hands like yours.

I sigh and place my face in palm; good solid Greek mythology butchered for the sake of making painfully tedious pap.

as with the previous film, it lacks charm, drama and any engagement with the audience. What is the point of telling a story of impending doom if you don't care if the entire human race is wiped from the face of the planet. in this instance they're so whiny I think it would benefit everyone if they were extinguished.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A dumb action film that doesn't know it's a dumb action film...

3/10
Author: Kingston Hawke from Miami Beach, FL, USA
27 September 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Keep in mind that I'm rating this movie based on my expectations for it, which weren't very high. And that as a HUGE fan of Greek mythology, and a somewhat fan of the first movie, I really wanted to like this movie. Anyway, here goes, the good, the bad, and MY conclusion.

The Good:

1. The CG! Most of the time and money was spent on this department, and it shows!

2. There were a few funny lines.

3. A lot of action (almost too much actually).

The Bad: (this list could be really long if I wanted, so I'll just stick to the big things)

1. This movie feels so rushed!!! They don't set up ANYTHING. It's impossible to care for ANY of the characters. The make the monsters so vast, but then they all get defeated so quickly. Even the ONE titan in a movie called Wrath of the Titans get's defeated in like 2 minutes time.

2. Greek mythology in general get's butchered!!! The ways in which they depict the Gods are ridiculous. Zeus, you know that guy who overthrew his father, banished his brother, and snuck in your mom's bed impregnated her and then left without looking back. Oh yeah, he's basically Taylor Swift in this movie. Way too much "I forgive you too" in this movie.

3. No consistency. Hades hates Zeus, and intends to destroy the whole world because of that hate, but then Zeus apologized, and now he's over it just like that. Perseus is weak enough in one battle that he takes a crazy gash from being drug in the back, and in another battle A GOD stomps his head repeatedly, and he get's cut slightly in his hair somewhere. There are so many instances it became really tough to ignore.

4. EVERYTHING in this movie is just there to push the plot along. Things like Gods being powered by prayers, Gods who can only locate you when you pray to them, Andromeda having an army (someone has to die I guess), a friendly comedic thief sidekick (that's only been done a million times), ugh... I'm done I can't even finish this review.

My conclusion is that this movie sucks tremendously. I was gonna rate it 4 stars because of the CG alone, and the few funny lines. But that just doesn't sound justifiable. There is just soooo much wrong with this movie. They tried to do too much, and spent all the money on the wrong things. This is no Troy, no Immortals, no Centurion... the action isn't that great, the storyline is miserable, and for a movie so big, it feels so small like they spent all their money on CG instead of sets.

Only watch this movie if it comes out on Netflix and you're just looking for something simple to kill some time. Otherwise you will be very disappointed.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 25: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history