The Art of Flight (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
17 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Amazing scenery, fantastic insight into their world
Patrick Magee2 October 2011
The cinematography of this film is amazing. Fantastic scenes, the distant views are brilliant, fantastic slow-motion shots. It starts with a journey of small cliffs gradually taking you to some of the most dangerous conditions that these guys snow board in.

It shows what these guys really live for and why they do it. There is not much of a story this is a 'point and view' documentary about the lives of a few pro snow boarders. Very little is said in this documentary and it fits perfectly well.

It certainly gives an insight to viewers about the sort of risks they take for the adrenalin rushes these guys need to feel alive.

This is an amazing view in high definition.
27 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The art of making a beautiful snowboarding movie
Ulrich Schulze2 October 2011
Get into a helicopter, get dropped off at the top of the mountain, skate down.

This movie once again makes it seem so easy, yet so impressive at the same time. With a good mixture between big mountain downhill and some of the most impressive jumps you will ever see, "The Art of Flight" is not an educational snowboarding movie. It's a piece that shows you several athletes constantly looking to push the limits.

Whether it is skating down while avalanches are being kicked off left and right, whether they are closely avoiding crashing into rocks on a slope that's not even as wide as a car or whether they land jumps that you thought impossible, this movie will leave you in awe most of the time. Adding to that is the spectacular cinematography in beautiful places like Chile, Patagonia and Alaska. This is hands down the best looking snowboarding piece ever made.

That said, "The Art of Flight" could use a little more direction at points and some of the scenes seemed rather pointless. Other movies build up to a grand finale, this one merely shows you a bunch of guys on the hunt for snow - which does not make it any less of a great movie, but leaves you with a feeling that more could have been achieved. There is very little being said about the personal lives of the athletes as well.

If you're simply looking for big mountain and big air, this is not to be missed. If spectacular images of mountain scenery are your thing, this movie will make you happy. If you're looking for an entertaining movie about snowboarding, you should still go and see this. You might be disappointed though if you're expecting a big story behind it all.
18 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Amazing shots, nothing more nothing less
markwerf12 November 2011
Snowboarding on the most remote places on earth. Living careless, without fear and just doing what you love. That is what The Art of Flight is about. There are tons of amazing shots of going down off the most deserted mountain slopes of the planet. Anyone who likes snowboarding at all will immediately envy some of these runs these guys make. The camera gets really close and sometimes you feel a little out there as well while watching this. That alone makes the film worthwhile. The film tries to add a little more substance though as we also follow the daily routine of these masters of the snowboard. This is where we realize just how shallow this film or perhaps their lives is. They sit around waiting for the perfect weather, traveling from one remote location to the next. The vocabulary seems to consist of only "Wooo!!!" ,"AWESOME" and the like. The interviews only validate this claim and anytime it tries to go a little deeper we move over to the next footage of awesome jumps over the best snow you ever see. At the end I'm not sure if I envy their lifestyle or not, on the one end they live so careless and relaxed that it's just a dream. On the other end it seems they couldn't care less about the other things in life and are just stuck in their nonstop quest for the biggest adrenaline rush.

Anyway the footage is some of the best you'll ever see and that is enough to make this fun to watch. Don't expect anymore more then that though there just isn't.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Greatest Snowboard Epic Ever Created
burgerboy23111 November 2011
"The Art of Flight" is "The Odyssey" of snowboard movies. It's epic camera work makes even Warren Miller look like an amateur. Red Bull helps pull out all the stops, to produce the most wild documentation of the world of snowboarding out there.

Travis Rice, John Jackson, and Mark "Lando" Landvik take the world of snowboarding to a new level in the opening scene alone, which sets the tone, and gives you a small taste of what's in store for the rest of the film.

The crew even gives you a small inside look into their lives during the planning phases and cloudy down days that prevent filming.

There's not not too much more that can be said about the film beyond "Epic" aside from watch the film. It's the only way to fully understand.

Great sound track. Ground breaking film.

The Art of Flight.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The Art of Flight - One Well Worth Taking
Valithanithizum6 October 2011
The Art of Flight is more than what it seems.

This is an engaging, immaculately filmed, brilliant film that shows what happens when us as humans push our boundaries.

From the breathtaking cinematography, from amazing camera angles and intense vivid slow motion action in the most remote locations in the world. It's really unreal some of the stuff in Art of Flight, it takes nature and snowboarding and combines them into something magical.

Ad mist all the flashy stuff, the film is much deeper - it shows humanity and the struggle for greatness. To keep pushing yourself to the limit, and what to live for. The strive and passion these guys have for taking down the most dangerous sections of mountains to ever be snowboarded upon is just amazing.

If your into sports at all, or movies about pushing your limits of what the human mind and body can do. Or just looking for something gorgeously appealing in high def to sit back and enjoy, look no further than the Art of Flight.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The best snowboarding film so far?
glypo14 October 2011
Video & Audio Quality

A bit geeky but here goes. Blu-Ray video was averaging around 20 Mbps (peaking 35 Mbps) and audio was averaging around 5.5 Mbps (peaking 7.5 Mbps). To give some comparison a typical Hollywood DVD has video and audio totalling around 4.5 Mbps – yes you read that right, just the audio alone on this Blu-Ray has a higher bit rate than the video and audio of a DVD combined. I invested pretty heavily in good home setup and this Blu-Ray took advantage, the 1080p AVC video and Dolby TrueHD audio are stunning. The iTunes version is 2.7 GB (highly compressed) the Blu-Ray works out at 16 GB approx. As a result you are getting 6X more detail here. 10/10

Film Content

With the money pumped into this production it was clear it wouldn't be an amateur hour affair. Things kick off in Alaska for some pretty mental runs before moving south to the Andes in Chile with some pretty intimidating rocky terrain, moving further south to Patagonia before moving up north again for a second winter in BC.

There is a lot of filler between the action videos. This filler is typically narration mixed with some arty, almost pretentious, video work. Those that don't appreciate this might want less narrative and more action, I found the balance good. On the subject of video, if there are two signature video shots from this film it would be wide-angle slow-motion pointing into the sun – great action, and time lapse of the moving night sky – great filler. 8/10

Music

The main trailer has an amazing tune which is collaboration between M83 and Brain Farm Cinema, sadly it's not used in the film! There is some other electronic, including some tracks off M83's forthcoming album. Some post-rock from Sigur Ros and even a little light rock. Perhaps my expectations were too high after the trailer but it didn't fit as well as I'd hoped. Certainly not bad though. 7/10

Rating

I am clearly no film critic, but in terms of production values this is the best snowboarding film I have seen. The action is great too, it's 1hr 20 of great snowboarding and impressive cinematography. It's not everything I had hoped for, but so close. My favourite snowboarding film to date. 8/10.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Action Sports Fans, this is the pinnacle...
Adrian Wallace3 March 2012
I felt like I owed it to the makers of this film to voice my opinion. This is the new pinnacle of action sports films.

First these guys aren't playing around, the action is outstanding and the music score is absolutely second to none. The addition of incredible use of surround and the obvious use of the highest quality cams on the market makes this the best Blu-ray sports film out-period.

I saw one person complaining that it was more like a snowboarding music video, this is how it should be, it's my opinion that they shouldn't have changed a thing. Having spent a fair share of my life playing with amateur filming extreme sports and watching films of others. This film absolutely blows me away... Unbelievable.

The addition of the amazing locales and picturesque screens of locations that viewers can hardly imagine makes this movie almost surreal...

Thanks Curt Morgan, Travis Rice and associates I'm not sure you can beat this but I really hope that you try...
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
As HD as it gets...
borkoboardo16 December 2011
Just to warm up: This is definitely the most expensive, beautiful and technically perfect snowboard film I have ever seen (and yes, I have seen many).

The good things first: Already the Intro Logo animations make clear: there is a LOT of money in this film. And fortunately it went into the hands of someone like Travis Rice, one of the riders who push snowboarding to the limit and beyond. This time it's not one, not two, but up to three helicopters and other filming aides that help making an impressive portrayal of the sceneries and of course, the riding. And make no mistake - this is snowboarding at its very best AND core. It is a delight to watch these people do what they do best and the cinematography underlines the challenge of the actions presented. In fact we see things never seen before in the world of snowboarding (even in sports). The picture is super HD, the slow-mo's are extreme to the max, the post production is massive, the music works and the motion graphics & special effects fit in just perfectly.

Now to the inevitable: Please note, I'm reviewing a film here (not a person or the athletic abilities of someone). When "The Art Of Flight" is finished and the lights in the theater are turned on you feel a little empty. Yes, what has just been shown is definitely top notch state of the art, but as a film TAOF doesn't work - at all. In fact there isn't much of a "film" to review here but rather a long snowboard music video flick with no content except for the riding and the extensive use of the RED camera with super slow motion. It's nice to see snow-particles in HD falling at a very very very slow speed but after the 50th time it gets kinda boring and appears like "hey, look how great and expensive our camera is". The story, OK, now we get to the core - there is no story, no conclusion, no real insight (ok, the injury part is interesting but not mind opening) and no character development. It's a couple of riders who have the opportunity to travel to very remote places to snowboard and that's about it. And I really had to laugh at the Marc McMorris shot towards the end because he only appears for a few seconds - to perform the latest state of the art trick, his 1440 Triple Cork. At that point it almost seems like TAOF wants to show off by saying "Hey, and look, we got the latest trick as well".

The Art Of Flight is technically impressing, no doubt. But when it's over it's over because the makers failed to produce a real film and chose to make an overlong snowboard music video.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Please stop them talking...and doing anything but snowboarding!
sugarmack19 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Without a doubt, everything said about the cinematography is true- beautiful, incredible pictures abound. The snowboarding has you gasping and maybe even feeling sick in your stomach in the good way! But unfortunately for us, the characters speak and spill out every cliché on the planet "it's not the destination, it's the journey", "respect the mountain. When you don't respect the mountain that's when bad things happen" (paraphrase).

That would be all fine except that the 'storyline' sees us following these guys to remote places and generally finding too little snow. (Maybe because they're flying everywhere in helicopters, blowing up propane tanks, shooting and destroying trees and setting fires. Ever heard of climate change?) I thought snowboarders would be a little more 'down to earth' and want to protect what they spend their life on.

Twice in the film the guys look at discouraging weather/conditions reports but say "but you can't just trust the data. You've gotta get out there and see for yourself." But then they're shocked when they find exactly what the data predicted and have to call their trips short.

The snowboarding action is beautiful...but little else to recommend it. Luckily there's a lot of action.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Absolutely breathtaking
imhy21 February 2012
Words can not describe the beauty, brilliance and passion behind this movie.

The cinematography in this movie is world class and the quality of the picture in this movie clearly proves this. Combine this with a great director along with the vision of world class snowboarders and you have a snowboarding movie second to none. At a number of moments in the movie, I thought I could touch the snow it was that high def.

There's just nothing more I can say except go and watch it. Great movie for an outdoor enthusiast or a snow lover but if your as fanatically as snowboarding as I am than it's a must own movie that you will be sure to leave on repeat. (That's if you don't get too jealous watching these guys shred some of the most amazing runs you've ever seen.) Seriously thank you to Red Bull for investing so much money so this brilliant movie could be made.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
To be totally honest . . . I didn't like it.
jdabbott51-318-43991615 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
No disrespect to the photographers or makers of this film. And its for them I give any stars at all. The scenery and the shots were top-notch if not some of the best ever. But like every ski/snowboard movie ever made there is always some attempt at trying to find substance. The most recent Warren Miller movies have really tackled the search for substance quite profoundly with worldly travels and meaningful encounters with other cultures.

Art of Flight fails on its attempt at substance greatly. The first endeavor starts in Alaska. The snowboarding is awesome, the talent is definitely there . . . but then they take us to an off moment where they show what the snowboarders do when they're not snowboarding. Suddenly we're transported to the Palin ranch where a snowboarder is firing a shot gun to decapitate a tree, blowing up a propane tank and then starting the mother of all bonfires.

They then go to Chile, pay marginal lip service to the earthquake victims of Chile . . . but the presence of anyone actually Chilenean is minimal.

They then go to the Patagonia, and the only Argentine we see is a crazed old man making oddball "there's a devil in that thar canyon!" like comments. All in all, these snowboarders are awesome at their craft, but they're young and cocky. It doesn't feel as if there's any respect for the landscapes they encounter, but rather its just some cocky rock stardom attitude at "having been there done that and watch me break dance on the top of this mesa" type attitude. Also, while snow mobiles might be fun, I was so NOT entertained during the whole snow mobile portion. Snowmobiles are fun as hell to ride, but boring as hell to watch. Again, for a sport that utilizes nature greatly, it's amazing how much resources and oil was burned in the making of this film. The name "Art of Flight" seems like such a transcendental and fun name for a snowboard film, yet most flying occurred in a helicopter. This film may appeal to anyone 18 or under, but for anyone 25 and up you'll love the views but probably find the snowboarders to be daft and dumb as I did. Stick to the latest Warren Miller movies with Johnny Mosely offering a well written and excellently delivered narratives instead.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
these idiots should not be allowed off the mountain
t-c-pearce27 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This gets two stars for some awesome snowboard HD footage to show whats possible at the limits of HD and snowboarding technically and good choice of music.

Other than that its like jackass meets snowboarding without the comedy as rich white US trustafarians with lifelong trusts from mom and dad get to travel the world without a brain with the most awesome RED camera.

The wrong type of comedy comes when we are shown how they delight in smashing up trees with their snowboard, blowing up propane containers, shooting up stuff in Alaska with high powered weapons for fun and thrills.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Visually mind-blowing!
sinclair19524 March 2015
I'm probably just echoing some of the other reviews on here, but I'm compelled to write my first review on IMDb because I just love this film so much.

I'm a keen snowboarder myself (although not even remotely in the same ballpark as these guys) so I guess I'm more likely to love it, but I've watched it with some skiers and some non-snow-sport enthusiasts and they all thought it looked amazing at least. I mean, I would watch this for some of the shots of the helicopters.

This film is a few years old now but it looks absolutely cutting-edge. The cinematography is incredible, the super slow-mo shots are breathtaking and the soundtrack fits it perfectly. You will be blown away as these guys just launch themselves off the side of mountains in incredible locations or execute gravity-defying jumps.

I challenge you to watch this and not want to strap a board on yourself!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Innovative filming, non-stop intense thrills
nathanfeenan24 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The film series "The Art of Flight " was considered to be a groundbreaking step in the skiing and snowboarding film industry. Never before seen camera technology and camera angles were used in the film series. The film received plenty of both positive and negative reviews on movie reviews websites like IMDb and Rotten Tomatoes. There didn't seem to be any "in between-ers" who liked some parts and disliked others. The people that said they didn't like it had one argument to back it up and that was that it was only because of the big time sponsors that Curt Morgan, the director was able to make such a good film. The people that have no knowledge of the world of skiing and snowboarding appeared to be the ones who bashed Curt Morgan for the Flight documentary series. What most people don't know is that Curt Morgan has been making skiing and snowboarding and even Bmx and skateboarding films for over a decade. And that only a couple of years ago Red Bull picked him up and began to provide him with a bigger budget to make films. To say that he is unskilled and relies on the "hollywood style budget" is false and inaccurate. Besides "The Art of Flight", Director and producer Curt Morgan has made over a dozen other low-budget films ranging from skateboarding movies to free-form slope skiing and extreme skiing films. What I like most about the movie and Curt Morgan's style of filming is that he strays away from the typical format for a documentary. Cutscenes of riders throwing up tricks litter the entire film added in as eye candy in between interviews with the skiers. Personally I think that it was a great documentary film. It didn't focus on just the skiing part it went into detail and showed the dangers that the riders faced in riding and descending mountains that had never been rode on ever before. The danger of avalanches and ice caves were real, and at one point an avalanche almost killed 2 riders as they were coming down the mountain. His "raw" style of filming and the way he doesn't edit out mistakes and keeps the camera rolling shows his innovative and abnormal filming techniques. I've always been a fan of Curt Morgan films and personally have all of his movies at home that I watch frequently. Just goes to show how skilled he is that even after seeing it several times before I still sit on the edge of my seat every time I watch it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
the best of 2011
iliketravelll27 September 2013
The art of flight – is a kind of documentary, adventure, sports movie, a technically perfect. This movie is about friends who can not live without their extreme passion, without those beautiful snow-capped mountains, incredibly beautiful scenery and the thrill moments of flying. As for me, I've always respected snowboarding as a sport While watching this movie I was excited by unbelievable landscapes and all the moments on the screen! More than that during the movie you worry about the boys, because the roads they chose are very dangerous. Everything is made so clearly and professionally, their jumps up to tens meters are awesome and breathtaking. The whole atmosphere, all the emotions caught me from the beginning to the end.

I want to mention the stunning soundtrack as well , it is perfectly matches with the movie. Music makes it brighter. You enjoy music and picture on the screen both. And 'non-started' yokes guys throughout the whole movie. This is one of the main filling of the movie.

In conclusion I would say that if there is an opportunity to watch this movie you have to do it for sure!!! I respect those people who make the conquest of the mountains as the main purpose of their life. Snowboarding for these guys is not just a sport or entertainment; it is their life style / Nastya Ch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A Blu-ray "DEMO DISC" for Sure!!!
HighDefDiscNews10 November 2011
The Movie Itself is a documentary about snowboarding directed, edited, filmed for the most part and produced by Curt Morgan. This isn't Morgan's first film about snowboarding, in fact he made another one titled "That's It, That's All" back in 2008 — with the very same set of filmmakers that worked on this. Morgan's production company Brain Farm Digital Cinema handled this effort as well with the sponsorship of both Red Bull (via their production company Red Bull Media House) and also Quiksilver. The film was given reportedly around a two million dollar budget and took two years to make.

Things start out being narrated by and following two-time X-Games gold medal winning snowboarding sensation Travis Rice as he discusses and prepares for an epic snowboarding adventure with some fellow pro boarders. The other professional snowboarders featured in the documentary here include: Mark Landvik, John Jackson, Scotty Lago, Jeremy Jones, Eero Niemela, Nicolas Müller, Jake Blauveltand, "DCP" and Pat Moore. The guys embark on a journey across the globe here visiting the likes of Alaska, Austria, Canada, Patagonia, Romania and even Wyoming. These mountainous winter wonderlands make for some of the most incredible snowboarding jumps, tricks and whatnot ever recorded on film. Eye candy comes in the form of these beautiful locations but your jaw will surely drop as you witness the amazing feats done by these extremely, extremely brave and talented professionals.

Wow, in closing here in regards to this snowboarding documentary let me first say I'm before seeing this film, I was in no way a huge fan of snowboarding aside from maybe playing a video game that simulated it. That's not to say I dislike it, just to be honest and to also say I've never snowboarded in my life — yet however after seeing this film I'd like to maybe attempt to try some more safe realistic type snowboarding. The director here Curt Morgan is a really talented artistic mind and I got to see that not only in his film but by also listening to him in a very relaxed fashion as he discussed his film during a Q&A last week. He's a truly visionary guy and is definitely one to keep your eye on. This is being called the greatest snowboarding movie ever made. I can totally vouch for that. This also is a snowboarding movie that is going to reach audiences that aren't just snowboarders. Hell, it got me! Just sit back and let go, as some professionals do their version of letting go and behold the art of flight.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
the ART of flight
horrayforbikes28 December 2012
If you're looking for a beginning, middle, and end, this ain't it. Just as the title states, it's about the ART of snowboarding. It's about being in it - experiencing it. It's about a feeling. Yes, it uses super-slow-mo (a lot), and yes, it has a cooler than cool soundtrack but it's all to bring the viewer in and evoke an emotion - awe. This film brings you a little closer to a rider's world and shows snowboarding as a way of life rather than a sport.

If you've ever tried to learn to snowboard you'll know it's not just something you pick up right away - i takes effort and hard work. These riders have made a career out of making the seemingly impossible look effortless. This film depicts that in the most beautiful way possible.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews