The Killing (TV Series 2011–2014) Poster

(2011–2014)

User Reviews

Add a Review
196 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
9/10
Dark and brilliantly introspective.
ivko31 May 2011
When I was twenty-four, I was the foreman for the jury of a murder trial. There was plenty of evidence, including eye witness testimony, that indicated the young man's guilt. After two days of deliberations and endless discussions, we voted to convict. On our way out of the courtroom, I remember distinctly the high spirits we were all in. We had done our job as citizens. We had helped take a bad man off the streets. We helped get justice for a murdered individual. There were a lot of smiles and handshakes and back-pats. Then on the way out we passed the convicted man's eight-month-along pregnant wife. She was sitting, alone, on a bench outside the courtroom, sobbing. The implications of our decision for her and that unborn child hit me all at once as we passed. I wasn't smiling anymore; none of us were. The thing is, I still believe we did the right thing. It was our job to vote on the evidence and that's what we did. But even so, I'd be lying if I said I slept soundly that night.

The reason I mention that long-winded story is to illustrate a point. Real life is messy. Even when we make what we truly believe are the "right" decisions we don't always feel all that good about them. Sometimes to do what we think is right we end up hurting, albeit unintentionally, someone else. Even worse, sometimes we hurt someone doing what we think is right and then find out later that we were wrong. And that, as Aristotle would say, just plain sucks.

But it is the imperfect, wonderful world we all live in. Which brings me to AMC's fantastic 'The Killing'. A Danish import, 'Killing' follows the murder investigation of young woman in Seattle, Washington. The story is told in thirteen 1 hour episodes through the perspectives of the people whose lives are impacted by the murder and subsequent investigation, with special emphasis on lead investigator Sarah Linden (played picture-perfect by Mireille Enos). Amazingly, despite a fairly large cast, there is nary a flat character to be found. All the players are fleshed out, fully realized people with deep complexity and back-story. This allows the show to rise above a simple whodunit police procedural and really delve into just what a murder means to the people in the victim's life. It is alternately dark and gritty, inspirational, and heart breaking to watch these people cope with the loss and fear that surrounds this girls murder.

And that brings me back to my original point. The reason I love this show so much is because, unlike the many many many police procedurals out there, it is no fairy tale with all the bad guys punished and good guys victorious. It makes you wallow in the mud with the characters, encouraging you to feel all the frustration and confusion that they feel. It makes you want what they want, only to remind you that even good people and good decisions have consequences that are far less than ideal. This is the kind of show that you think about after it's over, asking yourself if you would have done this or that differently. But that deeply unsettled feeling you get is the digestive price you pay for such a rich, not-written-for-kids storyline, and is so worth it. There is really nothing quite like it on TV right now; I highly recommend it.
320 out of 362 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
AMC can do no wrong
hkramb-15 April 2011
I had to watch this twice, the two hour premiere that is. I think what struck me most was the calm and slow storytelling. When TV is drowning in unrealistic CSI's et al (where investigators cook up fingerprints to techno music in dimly lit rooms), every time we pass a CSI on channel surfing my husband always says 'don't they ever turn on the freakin lights in that office?' and we both laugh.

This is police work as it really is, plodding, unexciting, procedural, a lot of driving, mixed with a bit of clever intuition, slammin good.

Every character is a suspect, the story can go anywhere, so promising.

If anyone was worried about the state of the serialized TV drama going too far down the f-word/porn route, all arguments that only subscription HBO or Showtime dramas were good bc they used nudity or cursing bc 'that's how real life is'...this is yet another AMC show that shuts them all up. Don't get me wrong, I love my Trueblood and huge fan of Sopranos et al, but this show isn't a 'guilty pleasure', its just a pleasure.
207 out of 250 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent fare from the US
Robin Rowlands15 June 2012
I was quite hesitant about watching a US production of The Killing after reading negative reviews comparing it to the Danish original, but in the end opted to do so and am very glad I did. What an excellent production! I love the understated mood that somehow manages to amp up the tension so much better than a lot of the hysterical, overacted BS one CAN get with some American crime-themed shows. This one is a standout.

The acting is excellent: the case bring their characters to life subtly but forcefully. And -- hallelujah! -- the people are real, they LOOK real, and they are credibly flawed, and not the laughable, plastic and pretty TV stereotypes we are usually subjected to. Think Bones (for example) ... and if the thought makes you want to vomit, you will love The Killing. If you are a Bones et al fan, go watch The Killing for a lesson on how it should be done.

There is more and more good stuff coming out of the USA ... good news for those of us craving quality entertainment.
80 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A hidden gem
Imran Ahmed20 June 2011
I am writing this after the first season finale, and I came to this without expecting much and what a shocking pleasant surprise it was and absolute gem of a thriller.

I rarely give a rating of 10, there would always be some part that would be missing and something goes wrong in any department, nothing ever went wrong with this.

The whole first season is one murder case, so you can expect some slow pace, and slow pace doesn't always mean a drag, and "The Killing" is the best example for that, the pace is deliberately set to slow, to let all emotions, settings to sink in, the show gives you very subtle clues and you would swear that know who killed "Rosie Larsen" and think it is your idea, which is most often first proved right then wrong :) The acting, direction, screenplay, music a absolute top notch, a lessen that other crime thrillers (CSI, Criminal Minds, Suspect Behavior et. al.) should take a note of this epic of a thriller.

If you haven't watch it yet you are missing an epic.
142 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Give it a Chance!!!
jon-stokes2114 June 2013
I am not someone who typically watches a lot of the new crime investigation shows, most of them are very similar and repetitious however The Killing was really able to catch and keep my attention from the very beginning. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact this show doesn't jam one case into a 1 hour episode with little to no character development. The Killing focuses on one complex murder case per season with many surprising twists and turns that will have you continuously asking who did it?

Joel Kinnaman plays a very likable, colorful detective who is somewhat new to his life of sobriety. Due to his past drug use he has a very keen eye to what goes on in the streets which has allowed him to become very good good at his job and a very useful player on the Seattle police department, he also has some of the funniest one liners that he deliver without coming of corny. Mireille Enos is his partner who also at times is haunted by her past and when initially watching this show her amazing acting really stood out, she was a great pick and fits the role perfectly.

The 1st season was a breath of fresh air in the crime drama genre, the second season was tasked with a sub par storyline, but season 3 I must say has had the best start of the whole series that has me counting down the days till the next show. I highly recommend The Killing and after almost being canceled I hope this show finally gets the views it deserves!
34 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Love it!
Eosull6631 June 2012
I haven't seen the original Danish version and America has always received flack for their versions of European films or series. I have to say though The Killing US is slow, dreary, and brilliant! The first episode was gut-wrenching and I was sucked in straight away. It is very slow, not much happens in each episode but it allows for the viewer to feel the pain and frustration of the family and the police in finding the culprit. If I had watched the Danish version I cannot say I would feel the same. Obviously the original is always better but I think people are being unfair in slating the US version. A must-see in my opinion.
52 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Excellent adaption of a great original!!
ma15255 April 2011
Having watched the Danish original "Forbrydelsen" it was with great anticipation and some apprehension that I finally got to see the American adaption to this outstanding and huge successful drama. I was both surprised and amazed. "The Killing" has managed to maintain the somber and somewhat dark ambiance of the original while still incorporating enough elements to make the current version plausible. Kudos to the cast of this version which has kept the integrity of the original and so far, it looks every bit as good as I could have hoped. Although the plot takes its time to unfold, it's well worth the wait. Soon you will be trying to guess who killed the beautiful High School student and realize that nothing is as it seems, each episode offering a different perspective (and suspect) until the tantalizing conclusion. Get hooked!! ;)
111 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
From a crime show fan: I loved it!
Filip Kolev10 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
OK, maybe 10 stars is a bit exaggerated but I just couldn't help myself. I've seen a lot of shows in the genre, including all the CSIs, NCISes, Criminal Minds (plus Suspect Behavior), and so on and so on. You get my point, I've seen a lot and it's pretty hard for a new show to impress or surprise me. This one is different. Refreshingly different. So, in comparison to all its direct competitors there is a full 10 above my review, well deserved, even though it may not be the greatest show you've seen on TV.

Why did I like it so much? Well, the pace to start with something. It is somewhat slower than you'd expect. It doesn't drag, but it's not racing ahead either. After the pilot ended I looked back and said to myself, "so that's what I'm missing in CSI..." It gives you a chance to keep with the storyline, to empathize with the characters, to immerse yourself in this dark (and rainy) atmosphere. The slower than average pace (what is in my observations average), in other words, makes it more enjoyable and conveys more emotion.

Emotion is the second thing I may point out. Well, it's not a roller coaster after which you'll be crying, but you genuinely start caring for one dead girl and her devastated family. Again, I am missing this in most other shows where death is so common and the whole episode revolves around a few suspects and a bunch of evidence, that you never get a chance to realize how terrible the whole situation is. Maybe some scenes do that, but these constitute a small fraction of the episode. Not here though. There are no high-tech gadgets that give you an answer. In The Killing you can almost feel the pressure the entire time. The family of the girl receives a good deal of attention and you can see the suffering in the hours and days after their daughter and sister goes missing and afterwards found dead. How does a day pass after such a tragedy? The policemen are also affected in their own way and you can sense it.

Who killed Rosie Larsen? By the end you start caring for the answer and it eats you. Until you find out who did it and why there will be anticipation of the next episode. A very enjoyable experience for crime show fans. Give it a chance and I hope you'll like it.
51 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Much better than most TV series
mformoviesandmore3 May 2012
This is the Americanized version of a Danish series. I use the word Americanized as that aspect probably goes some way to explaining some of the negative reviews on here that encourage people to watch the Original Danish version. I watched one episode of the Danish version but decided I didn't want to have to READ every (subtitled) episode and so moved on to the Americanized version.

And I'm glad I did.

I enjoyed the slow pace at which the story unfolds and the fact that I couldn't tell who the 'guilty' person was by how many minutes were left in an episode.

The characters feel to be believable and are well portrayed.

It's best not to know too much about the story (or stories) before watching as it is the flow of it's telling that determines how much you will enjoy this series. You'll know after two episodes if you want to carry on.

Watch, enjoy, and let others know of it.
72 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Promising
knucklebreather4 April 2011
"The Killing" is an adaptation of a Danish TV series, and was billed to me as "Twin Peaks meets 24". Well it certainly does seem like an updated "Twin Peaks" so far, minus some of the bizarre twists and turns. Not that there's anything wrong with that, beautiful-girl-murdered is a time-tested premise that makes for a good crime drama.

In the first two episodes I was relieved to find some serious, quality television. The story isn't terribly remarkable - so far we know that a pretty typical teen girl has been murdered, that her parents are genuinely crushed with grief, and that the detective who caught the case, Sarah Linden, was due to leave the job and move to San Diego to get married had the case not come up.

The story is told with impressive direction and good enough writing, with plenty of details and realism to hook in most viewers. Like any good mystery, the introduction simply raises questions, and gets the viewer to care about what's going on. Mission accomplished.

The music is a bit hokey, drifting into melodrama at times, but that's the only real fault I can find. This is a fine start. It seems unlikely to dethrone "The Wire" as a pinnacle of realism but it's already better than any crime drama the networks have going. I'm looking forward to the next episode.
71 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the best TV series I've ever watched
mudworm4317 October 2014
Definitely in the top 3 of the best TV series I've ever watched, leaves you hungry for more after each episode! Everything is presented very realistically, every character is amazingly arranged and put together.

Eventually you start to suspect everyone, creating all the possible scenarios and still ending up mind blown. Incredible story and acting, the incredible music and really the whole rainy mood ambient...I'm not ashamed to say that it moved me to tears a couple of times

The first two seasons were exceptional and what amazed me the most that it hooked me right from the beginning, usually it takes me at least 3 or 4 episodes, also the 3rd and 4th season are a masterpiece, I highly recommend this show to anyone, it won't disappoint you.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent series
frank-ancestor-hunter21 December 2012
I think this series benefited by using fairly unknown (to me any way) actors, unlike the British version which brought us heavy weight star Kenneth Brannagh. I watched this, puzzling from day one just who did murder Rosy Larsen. I recommend watching both Series One and Two over a week or so as we did. I am in England and downloaded the first episode to compare it to the British offering. Go back to the stage Kenneth, this set in Seattle series has your version beat hands down. It was mesmerizing and very thought provoking and I sincerely hope Series Three is coming shortly and that it will be as eye opening and have as many twists and turns as this has had. Watch this series, unbeatable entertainment.
50 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best crime show
Tracey C. Mills2 August 2014
I've grown attached to Linden and Holder as characters, and that's rare for me. Michelle/Linden has that tough exterior, but allows you to warm to her after a few episodes. Michelle gives a brilliant emotional experience by the end of the 3rd season,and the some. And Holder, the big lug, he's a mixture of cocky/fragile detective, but naive in any ways. Thank goodness Netflix gave us another crime to follow, as well as a good, solid ending for both characters. It's rare you find such a well written show with zero ego, great storyline, characters you can relate to with a beautiful backdrop of life lessons and scenery, but The Killing delivers. I highly recommend it to anyone. The only, only negative is Holder's love interest. I found her to be quite boring, and not needed. She hindered character growth a little for him by being too perfect, if that makes sense. I'd have rather him been with someone like Bullet, or Linden. Maybe even single. I don't want to spoil it for new viewers, so just watch, you'll not regret it.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This show will grow on you...
dunnypop28 July 2014
It's unfortunate that the series is ending, and luckily we get one last season on Netflix. I heard about the Killing from some friends, some mentioned the US version and some mentioned the original version. Since the US version was on Netflix, we streamed it and slowly got hooked.

The relationship between Linden and Holden is so intense and dynamic. They are a great pair of detectives, and the murders that surround them are also interesting. There are some twists and turns but their dedication and dynamic of two broken detectives are story lines on their own.

It's worth a watch. The killing is great!
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Season 1 and 2 are exceptional. Season 3 lost what was unique
Zubacz16 August 2013
My rating 9/10, is only for the first 2 seasons and only if you have the whole 26 episodes at your disposal.

The trailers for this show came under the phrase "Who killed Rosie Larsen?" That question drove me to watch the whole first two seasons, even though each episode felt like one more step towards an emotional vortex. I see a lot of reviewers stopped watching before getting to the conclusion of the story. Hence, I believe, the strangely low rating. I can't blame them though. The show is gloomy, filled with characters who are broken, emotional, selfish, corrupted, dirty and arrogant. It rains all the time, each scene makes one shiver from either watching people crouched down in the pouring rain or from the raw unpleasantness of what is happening... usually both. But then there is the victim. The tiny snippets of her life, that the viewers get to see, contrast with the rest of the show like beams of sun from cloudy sky. The sickening feeling, that someone snuffed out that light, is what makes this show so outstanding.

I would not recommend this show for weekly viewing. It is not one to look forward to watching. One should be able to dose it according to personal preference. This show is watched for the closure you expect to happen when the mystery is resolved. When all the suspicions, hints and worries come together to reveal the events of the murder. The closure is delivered, I promise. The finale is one of the most heart-wrenching 10 minutes I remember watching on screen.

Season 3 retains the gloom, the broken, raw characters, that are so difficult to empathize with. The rain, the corruption, the flawed human behavior is still there, however there is no contrast to it. The need for closure is missing, as is the closure itself.

As said, the first two seasons are exceptional - 9/10. Season 3, I cannot recommend - 6/10 for a gloomy, well acted who-done-it.

2014 Edit: Season 4 brought the emotion back. Despite being short it wraps up the series in a masterful way, with a crime we care to solve and deeply engaging characters. 8/10.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Just not as good as it could have been
COB-33 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
The Killing is a re-imagining of the excellent Danish original Forbrydelsen. For the first couple of episodes they are almost word for word. Unfortunately it is when the story steps out from the core plot, the death of Rosie Larsen, that it comes unstuck. In the main it does hold that same slow gripping pace and the story taking unexpected turns but its choice of back-story is weak. The excessive focus on Sarah Linden and her son, her home life and the peculiar disconnected relationship with her mostly unseen fiancé are immensely distracting. Many of the other characters,especially the marginally psychotic Belko Royce, are utterly dysfunctional. While it is a grim tale there is little about the characters that makes you warm to them.

It is not helped by the producers choosing to rerun the torrential downpour of Se7en,which just adds to the misery.

The original in tone is not much different but it does have far greater character development as well as a larger, more diverse cast as potential suspects.

Where The Killing falls down most is its choice of story lines. As a 13 parter rather than the original 20 it was going to make changes. The pity is these choices left it with some fairly ludicrous plot lines, especially towards the end of the season. It also removed scope to give some more development to the main characters, especially Linden and Mitch.

All in all not a bad effort. It starts well, has enough twists to keep most viewers interested but its choice of characters and their stories will leave you disappointed. Do check out the far superior original.
27 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Bravo!
sdavid-4166013 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I've watched the first two seasons of The Killing which completed the Rosie Larsen story arc. You will not find more compelling television anywhere, including the best seasons of 24 and Homeland. Comparing apples with oranges, it ranks with the outstanding House of Cards in excellence.

If you listen to the few negative reviews of The Killing and do not watch the series, you will deny yourself 26 episodes of the best television has to offer.

The Killing is a police procedural which follows three intriguing story lines intricately woven together. One involves the murder of a teenage girl; the second, a tough political campaign for mayor of Seattle; and finally, how the devastating events unfolding over 26 days impact the participants. Unlike standard televised police dramas with clearly defined story lines, heroes, villains, victims and conclusions, The Killing makes no such assumptions.

The story is brought to life by mostly unknown actors so convincing you will swear they are real people. The only actors familiar to me were Joel Kinnaman, playing his polar opposite from his Will Conway role in House of Cards, and Billy Campbell, last seen by me in 1991 in the eponymous "The Rocketeer." In The Killing, even the mood-setting ever-dreary Seattle weather acts as a character in itself.

In short, the complex story line of Seasons 1 and 2 of The Killing takes place over 26 days (one for each episode) with plenty of surprising twists and red herrings as you sit transfixed watching Detectives Linden and Holder uncover multiple layers of facts to discover the truth.

UPDATE: I've finished watching Seasons 3 and 4 of The Killing, thinking they could not equal the quality of the first two seasons, but I was wrong. Indeed, you will want to watch all 4 seasons of The Killing sequentially with no breaks between them to experience the full effect.

Using a new criminal investigation as a background, Season 3 unearths and explains the case in her past which drove Linden crazy, and a suspenseful Season 4, in six episodes, ties up loose ends and draws the series to a poignant close. I will miss Linden and Holder.

I do have a final point to make which contains a spoiler, so read on at your own risk. We know from Season 3 that the despicable Joe Mills is a child pornographer but not a murderer, though by the end of Season 4 we learn that Mills will be charged with multiple murders, even though he is known to be innocent of committing them. If Mills is found guilty of the murders and is sentenced to death, wouldn't he join Ray Seward as the show's second prisoner executed for a crime he did not commit?

Holder himself asked the same question at the end of Season 3.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Outstanding
peterwink15 June 2014
I watched the original Scandinavian version & actually downloaded this series by mistake believing that a US version would not be able to match the intensity of the original, how wrong I was.

Although I didn't initially warm to the 2 detectives on the case they grew on me, their imperfections were there for all to see and the viewer made his/her call as in all good media. As the series developed the exploration into individual character & personality became more detailed & intense which along with the twists & turns of the plot made compulsive viewing.

I think what was unique about this series was the examination of events on individuals, be they family members, investigators or people just caught up in the bow wave. Some performances are very strong, Stan & Terri & the 2 boys stand out for me!

In conclusion an excellent view & highly recommended 9/10.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Outstanding series, loved it.
kjr5507621 July 2012
I really enjoyed The Killing. I cannot stand to watch cop shows where the killer is caught in one hour minus commercial time by wise cracking investigators who find one key clue through a microscope. This story felt real to me - like I was watching a real investigation take place. The atmosphere and mood of the show was compelling. I could feel the Larsen family's grief and I am glad that the story followed their efforts to cope with it throughout the two seasons.

Some reviewers thought the pace was too slow but I never felt that way because I was truly interested in the character development. My patience was rewarded because the investigation is largely about how the evidence develops the characters and that solves the case. Keep in mind that the investigation takes place over the course of three weeks so the pace felt normal to me.

Mireille Enos was intense and Joel Kinnaman was fantastic. He deserves an Emmy nomination.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best Crime Drama EVER!
Brandy Wair6 November 2014
Apparently I reviewed the Original version of this series. Here are my thoughts. 1. Wrapping up the murder of Rosie Larson in 1 season wouldve made this show like every other crime drama. Typical. Real life doesn't wrap up so neatly. That part got me hooked. 2. The chemistry between Enos & Kinnaman was delicious because it was subtle and hidden. I kept thinking why is Holder letting Linden be such a bitch to him. I was checking for them to hook up but knew it would devalue the storyline so I waited, knowing that they were perfect for one another and made an awesome duo. 3. I think Mireille Enos is an amazing actress. I like Holder's character more but Linden was played to perfection! 4. The moody rain, the dark secrets, the sadness the characters portrayed, the music at the end of each episode, the vernacular that was used, even the makeup to make them look tired and worn from no sleep & no food, all added up to make this series more real than any other fiction I have ever seen on TV. All in all this is my favorite show ever and I don't think it was given the credit it earned!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
90% filler
rod-ruger21 November 2013
Use a stopwatch, pencil, and paper to measure the length and number of wasted scenes. You won't need paper to record the humorous or exciting scenes. After a while, you will begin to count excess drama (grieving parents, over and over and ...). How long does it take a viewer to figure out that the parents are upset? Talk about overdone! Too many relationships that no normal person will care about. Female detective and a butt-head of a partner; husband and wife and their kids; sad and bullied girlfriend of the dead girl; detective and her fiancée and her spoiled kid; detective who has already determined to move to CA, but hangs around Seattle to solve the crime. Her persistence drives her moron fiancée crazy. Why does she love this selfish man? Maybe because she is not very cute and has a dull personality. The entire first season could easily have been a 90 minute show by taking out the repetitive, phony drama, artsy shots of Seattle area, the dad's money problems, you name it. Did this show have no editor or did the writers have to fill time? Some obvious trails ignored by the detectives early on. This series was tailor-made for people who love Family Feud, Martha Stewart Living, or any other show that requires the brain activity we associate with sleep.
21 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Perfect!
florentina_andreita26 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is one of the most, if not the best murder-investigation series I've ever seen!

The characters, the stories the actors, everything it's just perfect!

The fact that it doesn't rush and it gets you through everyday of their life and the investigations, makes you live the events in a very intense way!

It makes you feel like you're there! You get attached to the characters, to their life, the actors are perfectly chosen for their roles!

The stories are amazing, and there is always a twist, but in the end everything makes perfect sense!

If you're a fan of mystery-drama-crime i highly recommended!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Rough atmosphere and brilliant acting
Ciirree6 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Just like Bron and True Detective, the series follows two cops trying to solve a murder. I started watching this after seeing both Bron (swedish/danish series) and True Detective, and my reaction is like - wow. I love this kinds of shows. When the atmosphere is breathing trough the TV into your couch when looking, its a good sign. When I started watching True Detective I was so stuck that I ended up with seeing all the episodes in like 3 days, this happened with Bron and now its happening with The Killing. Last night I said to myself to look at one - I ended up with 8 and I went to bed in the morning. The head-actors in this series, Joel Kinnaman and Mireielle Enos are doing great. Very proud of my Swedish brother Joel, he rules the role of Holder.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The Killing - Whoo Killed Rose Lawson
writesromine14 April 2011
The most intriguing, unique, and impressive show in years, this is destined to be a breakout hit. You will see Emmy gold and you can quote me on that. So why does this crime drama stand out from the rest?

The Killing follows the police investigation of the murder of a young girl, tying together three interlocking stories as investigators chase a variety of leads.

Sounds pretty standard, almost a mix of 24 and Twin Peaks. The cast consists of a list of no-named actors. The only mentionable billing would be Michelle Forbes, who is brilliant in her portrayal of the mother of Rose Lawson.

The main character, Sarah Linden, is the lead detective in the case. The only evidence of a crime is a bloody pink sweater. It is Sarah's last day on the job having decided to move to sunny Sonoma. Her replacement, Detective Stephen Holder arrives and joins her on this last case.

So why do I love this show? It is set in Seattle, so the weather is dark and gloomy. The filming is movie-esque and the writing is subtly poignant. The writers allow the characters to move the story along within the portrayal rather than through dialog alone. Not only does this take an amazing amount of trust on the writer's part, but an incredible cast to pull it off. The mood of the show is somber, you are looking for the light at the end of the nightmare. There are glimpses but they are few and far between. The plot gives you everything you need to remain glued to the screen, but yet they also give you nothing leaving you feeling empty and begging for more.

I compared this to 24, as it has several intertwined plots moving at the same time. The reactions, due to the writing are raw and believable. You find yourself guilt ridden as if you were watching this happening to real people.

This is my insight into the first two hours of the show, which counts as two episodes. The show has an infinite number of possible courses at this point. If it stays on the same path as it is headed, it will lay out a beautifully intricate story that will keep us at seat's edge through it all. If for some horrid reason the writing is changed, it will most likely not survive. This show's writing is palpable and the actors are able to ride the wave of the plot with ease, to change this would create a fissure that will not maintain the illusion it has created.

My hopes are so very high for this new drama. If you have not seen it, watch it. It is worth the hour every week. You will see nothing like it anywhere else and you do not want to miss it. Be on the crest of the wave, it is coming I guarantee it.
36 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews