IMDb > Friends with Benefits (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Friends with Benefits
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Friends with Benefits More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 6 of 21: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]
Index 201 reviews in total 

Denies Itself

7/10
Author: kevinathome from Canada
9 February 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

How did this thing get rated under 7 on IMDb, when it clearly deserves a ... 7?

Mila Kunis was a pretty good actress and good to look at. It tried to flout the conventions of the romantic movie, and even got Jason Segal to act in a fake movie they kept watching. There was more skin, and more sex up front. There was much more sweet kindness in the first Act.

But it was pretty much a romantic movie with the first and second Acts switched. They start out sexy and friendly, but then become contentious in the second Act. She still had to deal with her issues and he still had to confess his love in a big public display, and love was still the only thing that mattered. They also tried faster talking than usual but my wife and I could hardly follow it.

I'll bet some romCom fans trashed it for the betrayal. It was like some cheerleader than claims to hate 'those vain girls'. That would grind the other cheerleaders.

Justin Timberlake was OK, but dragged it down a little. Damn that guy, he does OK at all sorts of things that pay him millions.

Was the above review useful to you?

This tries hard not to be a cliché but I'm pretty sure I've seen it already

5/10
Author: juneebuggy from Canada
25 November 2014

I found this movie super annoying initially and almost shut it off. It did start to grow on me at about the half-way mark though when the storyline got more serious and family members were introduced to take the edge off. It think it also took me that long to acclimatise to the insistent, trying too hard to be funny, ongoing (& going) dialogue Mila Kunis kept spouting. And I like this girl too, but jeez.

This is another predictable rom-com with a predictable storyline even though it tries not go that route, but (didn't I see this exact same plot in No Strings Attached?) In this version we follow two friends who try to add sex to their relationship without all the, well, strings. This idea fails (shocker) as Jamie and Dylan find it difficult to keep their emotions at bay.

While this movie tried hard not to be cliché it failed. I did find Woody Harrelson's gay sports writer character kinda funny and got sucked into the storyline involving (Richard Jenkins) as Justin Timberlake's father but for the most part forgettable 10.13

Was the above review useful to you?

Standard rom-com - does what it says on the tin

6/10
Author: bowmanblue from United Kingdom
24 May 2014

It's a romantic comedy. That's all you need to know.

If you've seen one before, spoken to someone that has, or simply just passed a poster for an upcoming film featuring two, young, likable, sexy leading characters of the opposite gender, then you basically know the score.

Some rom-coms are aimed at adults, others at those not quite allowed to hear all those sexual references and naughty words.

Friends With Benefits is an adult rom-com. It's about Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis who decide that, instead of going out together, just to stick to the 'bedroom aspect' of the relationship. Wait a minute, I hear you cry - didn't they already do this in Love and Other Drugs and that one with Natalie Portman. Yes, is the answer, they did. And they're doing it again. Is this a bad thing? Not really, if you like romantic comedies.

Justin and Mila are as likable as the next couple you watch who end up falling in love (I refuse to put the word 'spoilers' in a review of a romantic comedy as you know as well as I do what will happen in the end). They have good chemistry and you'll smile a few times along the way. What more do you want from this kind of film? It also tried to poke fun at rom-com clichés, then ultimately adheres to them. But, if you're bored, break out the popcorn and watch these two annoyingly attractive specimens of humanity exchange some witty banter.

If you like this sort of movie, you could do worse.

If you think this review is overly-cynical - it's probably because I'm single. I would imagine this movie is better to watch with a partner - *sobs*

Was the above review useful to you?

Not bad but not the best movie i've seen.

4/10
Author: lisafordeay from Ireland
6 March 2014

Synopis:

Dylan and Jamie are two people who decide to have sex rather than admit that they have feeling for one another and even though they try to find new people will they ever admit that they like each other.

I didn't see it all on TV as I was watching something else but the movie is about a Head Designer named Dylan(Justin Timberlake)who hires a girl called Jamie(Mila Kunis) and the two have this friends with benefits relationship where they have sex and date other people. But will they admit that they want to take their relationship as a real genuine one?

Overall its an OK movie,and to be honest I prefer Justin Timberlake as a singer rather than an actor,I dunno why but his better as a musician. The ending was OK but you can smell the ending a mile away as a lot of people say its like No Strings Attached.

4/10

Was the above review useful to you?

Fringe Benefits

6/10
Author: cultfilmfreaksdotcom from Orange County, CA
31 March 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie does one thing successfully – and it's mindboggling. Mila Kunis, as a young lady no one wants to commit to, will seem completely unattractive. Kunis plays a big city corporate "headhunter" dumped by a guy who, in real life, wouldn't tie her shoes. She then hires Justin Timberlake into their big city firm. Their job doesn't matter and both actors seem way too young for their occupations – much of the dialog sounds forced into the mouths of two actors better suited for a college-based TV show.

But both try their best to make the premise believable: two beautiful people agree to remain friends with benefits i.e. they can have great sex but won't be in an actual relationship. Of course they wind up falling for each other but there's a lot happening before this inevitable conclusion – which is never fully realized.

The scriptwriters try so hard to stray from the cookie-cutter rom-com template that there's a movie within a movie (starring Jason Segel) that purposely basks in clichés, including manipulate sappy soundtrack and banal one-liners: making it clear to the characters and audience we're breaking new ground. But are we? This premise has been done before, but Kunis and Timberlake have an essential chemistry to make their sexual escapades – and the morning-after banter sparking an inevitably tense kinship – feel fresh and involving.

Patricia Clarkson adds the needed aged experience as Kunis's quirky mom and Woody Harrelson's turn as Timberlake's gay pal basks in intentional scene-stealing dialog. But it's Timberlake who, despite a whiny high-pitched voice not fully befitting the big screen, succeeds by convincing us that Kunis might not be a worthy long-term girlfriend – now that's a feat.

For More Reviews: www.cultfilmfreaks.com

Was the above review useful to you?

A piquant touch to a bland recipe

6/10
Author: Jin Maruhashi
24 February 2012

Following the age-old romcom recipe comprising an insipid mouthful of clichéd dialogue, an inevitable yet blandly fleeting period of separation and of course an ever-present raunchy sense of humor that is almost always the main ingredient, "Friends with Benefits" manages to add an engagingly piquant flavor to the traditional mix through the natural chemistry between Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake that is forthwith discerned at the beginning of the film. The joyful and inarguable compatibility between these two hilarious actors allows the viewer to appreciate even the most conversationally trite moments of the movie since, one way or another, the convincing couple attributes new, more believable life to every feature that has been worn out by the countless movies made from the same genre. Additionally, the plethora of hilarious sexual jokes begotten in the bedroom scenes will undoubtedly aid the spectator to quickly reach the zenith of amusement. Even if this film were devoid of its comical taste, it could still be valued for its attempt to convey the importance of ceasing the opportunities in life through some of its more dramatic undertones. Overall, "Friends with Benefits" obeys the antediluvian recipe of romantic comedies and successfully entertains its audience members fundamentally through a solid chemistry created by the leading actors that renews a promising friendship between romantic comedies and their timeworn structures and morals.

Was the above review useful to you?

Shut up Katherine Heigl.....

7/10
Author: FlashCallahan from Leicester, United Kingdom
12 February 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Jamie and Dylan, on opposite coasts, break up with their lovers: each separately vows to stay out of emotional entanglements.

So when Jamie recruits Dylan to run GQ's art department in NYC - and she's the only person he knows in Manhattan - they decide to be friends with sexual benefits.

It works well until Jamie meets a paediatric cardiologist who just might be a match, and Dylan invites her to come home with him to LA for Thanksgiving.

He may be jealous of the doc, she may be sending new vibes in Dylan's direction, but can either see the signals?....

The first thing that really grabbed me about this movie is the fact that Timberlake is very good, and really shows that he could have a good career in these sort of movies.

While the story is essentially 'No Strings Attached' this feels a little more human, whereas that one relied on the star power of the two leads.

The two stars have a very god chemistry right from the start, which makes the film that little more believable, and for once, their isn't an irritating best friend (we have the damaged parents in this, which do provide a very entertaining sub-plot from both perspectives).

Sadly the film is predictable and becomes a bit of a chore at the end with something straight from the teenage Fisher KIng, but otherwise, it's smutty, good stuff, with a good heart.

Was the above review useful to you?

The same thing, but funnier! (at some part at least)

6/10
Author: Ajie-Chairul Ramadhan from Indonesia
10 February 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Don't expect something new out of this. It just an ordinary romantic comedy movie that always tell about how beautiful and great love is.

I watch this movie with my girlfriend who made me to watch it. Well, i don't want to watch it, but then she told me that Mila Kunis get naked in it, then i agree to watch it.

The film take of from a guy who got a job offer in New York and pick up by a girl in the airport and show how great New York is, then he agree to take the job. He and she quickly become a friend, since he just move in to New York. My favorite part of this movie is, when they both watch a romantic comedy in the DVD, and she asked: "why there is no movie that show what happen after the big kiss (the happily ever after part)?" and he answer: "yeah they made it, it call porn".

Well, overall it just the same old romantic comedy that the both main character got fell in loved to each other and nothing new to it. But it fun to watch, and it got a lot of sex scene that's all.

Was the above review useful to you?

Not as "love-less" as I expected, in fact a pretty good story.

Author: TxMike from Houston, Tx, USA, Earth
10 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have a friend, a 50-ish lady, who not long ago described her relationship with a certain man as "we are friends, with benefits." Honestly I had never heard it described that way, but she explained it. Then this movie came out and I was leery. But then we saw it, and both my wife and I thought it is pretty good. The dialog is snappy and rings true, and the two leads are quite good and convincing.

Justin Timberlake is Dylan Harper, a hot-shot West Coast editor on a web-based publication, and gets offered an interview trip to New York, for the job as editor for GQ Magazine. He says he is just going for the trip, but things develop.

Mila Kunis is the headhunter, Jamie Rellis. She meets him at the airport, and when he balks at considering the job she tells him, "I am not going to try to sell you on the job, I'm going to sell you on New York." She succeeds, he moves to the City, the two of them are naturally relaxed and fun together, and become best friends.

Then, just bantering one day one of them suggests, why go without sex while we are both between relationships, let's just do it, with no strings attached, and it will be like playing tennis. When it is over we shake hands and say see you around.

Of course if that had worked then there wouldn't be much of a movie past that point. It gets romantically complicated when they both begin to have deeper feelings for each other and at the same time deny those feelings.

Three other characters add greatly to the enjoyment of the movie. Patricia Clarkson is Jamie's wild and loose mother, who shows up without notice, and at least once Jamie and Dylan are in bed, naked when she walks in.

Old reliable Richard Jenkins is Dylan's dad, with early onset of dementia. Sometimes he just takes off his pants, in public, because he gets tired of wearing them. But in the end he gives his son the key advice, if you think she even might be the one, go after her. Life is short.

And Woody Harrelson is Tommy Bollinger, the openly gay sports editor. He plays the part perfectly.

A fun, entertaining movie, but for adults.

Was the above review useful to you?

They sell what sells.

6/10
Author: Tomas Silva from United States
10 January 2012

I was really expecting less, especially because I thought it would be a copy of No strings attached. The plot was terrible, but I thought Justin's acting was pretty damn good, he represented that very capable but still childish young businessman.

I guess people like to watch this, because it represents some kind of dream they'd like to live, believe me this is pure BS, this kind of thing doesn't happen. but well it is a chick flick, so it is what it is. Had a good time watching it thought. Cool mom, to me one of the things that made the movie worth watching and Dad... The thing is that everything was so obvious and predictable and still people like to see things happen, especially because you get to see really nice bodies. Hours and hours at the gym.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 6 of 21: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history