IMDb > Savages (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Savages
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Savages More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 28: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 275 reviews in total 

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Do not let the bad ratings keep you from seeing this brilliant masterpiece!

10/10
Author: rubitony2002 from United States
12 December 2012

I'm going to make this review short and sweet. I had reservations about renting this movie because of the many poor reviews. I rented it any way. Let me tell you that this is the best movie I've seen this year which is near the end. The worst thing about this movie is the critics which gave this movie such terrible reviews. This movie has it all. Great directing, writing, cinematography, great actors and much suspense. I was nervous all throughout the movie. I felt as if I was in front of the savages from the drug cartel. It's not your typical movie you're used to seeing from Oliver Stone. This movie was part Oliver Stone, Martin Scorsese, Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino. Oliver Stone has stepped out of his comfort zone and took a risk at something out of the ordinary. I loved the movie. All of it. If you are a normal person and like adult content movies that include, hot beautiful talented actors, drugs, sex, violence and gore, you will love it too. If you love it like I did, please write a review. It's easy to register and get a free account with IMDb. I would like to see the average stars between 8 and 9. What some of the critics don't seem to understand is that, "IT'S ONLY A MOVIE! made to try and please everyone. Respect the director. He has earned it.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

god awful, hard to write about

4/10
Author: hans-360 from Austria
6 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is my first review on IMDb. I was not expecting a lot when i downloaded this movie. But knowing Oliver Stone, i gave it a chance. The cast looked quite promising, although the lead actors were weak from what i knew.

The movie starts off on the wrong foot, surfer town laid-backness meets Mexican drug cartel violence. aesthetically the film is horrible, actors act weird and weak, even hayek and del toro under perform, but that might be the context, that's so hard to tell in such a nasty acting-environment.

i really don't know what to write about this film, there would be so many angles to deconstruct and critique this movie, but it's really neither worth my time nor yours.

all i can say is: don't watch it, it is a waste of time. and if you watch it, don't expect ANYTHING.. or then just smoke a huge joint and get yourself some great food and other entertainment along with it, that might make it bearable..

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Shiny and colorful, but shallow and boring.

5/10
Author: Jack M from United States
14 July 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Pretentious narration, an air-headed damsel you don't really care much about, and sets and props that are more colorful than the characters make the movie look like an Entourage version of Scarface. Especially stupid were the IT "hackers" dressed in hipster fedoras.

During my screening, the guy to my right actually fell asleep and started snoring around the two-hour mark.

A movie that felt like it was penned by a 14-year-old, only held together by what must have been millions and millions of dollars for production and casting—all just lipstick on a pig.

Very forgettable. 5 stars out of 10.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

Two drug dealers go toe to toe with a Mexican cartel to recover their kidnapped lover girl

6/10
Author: msroz from United States
11 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I watched this because of Benicio del Toro, and he did not disappoint.

Travolta did well as a corrupt U.S. agent, FBI I think. The gal playing the head of the cartel did fine. She's Selma Hayek.

The two male leads who shared a lover (Blake Lively) were satisfactory. Ms. Lively played a bit of a dope-head, and also was passable. However, her narration was below par because of her scratchy voice and poor enunciation.

The story itself is yet another drug story. It dragged out to a conclusion in which they brought in spaghetti western music and attempted to complete the degree of irony and distance that the narration created. In other words, the movie never was really seriously telling a story because of the content of the narration, and yet serious things happened, although most everyone brutalized was in the drug business, and I guess that's supposed to allow a degree of non-involvement by viewers in the brutality.

The tone of the movie is sort of "I'm telling you this drug-money-kidnapping-cartel story that has a California sunshine and beach sheen to it". And it even ends up in a similar locality, but in this strange drug-tranced world, one cannot take it seriously. Even the worst guy (del Toro) ends up, I think it was watching a baseball game or something. The traditional shoot-em-up ending is shown but then the actual ending comes into the picture -- and that's business as usual in the drug war.

The drug cartels are not treated seriously here, but yet the film is basically saying that the war on drugs is a farce, which indeed it is. The usual official whitewash of what actually happens is how it ends.

The film got overlong, and it did become more implausible as it proceeded. In particular, del Toro's character began to do things that were out of character. He wasn't as sharp at the middle and end as he was at the outset. There were other implausibilities, such as the computer hacking. It seems that Hollywood in a pinch drags in some sharp hackers who can go anywhere, do anything, get into any bank account, and on and on. It's fantasy. A screenwriter should make up his mind what he's delivering. Is it reality or fantasy? Hollywood mostly is about fantasy it would seem. It's strange. In the old old days, the stories were dreamed up, but you accepted them as real. Nowadays, it's much harder to find this.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Worst movie I've ever seen in my life

1/10
Author: Jamey Potts from Florida
1 January 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Is this movie meant to be taken seriously? Because I laughed through the entire thing. Blake Lively as O makes for a certain shoe in for the worst actress of the year at the razzie awards. Very nice Shakespeare reference. Not. The end beach sequence with her looking into the camera as the sun sets in the background was proof of how she is better suited for Calvin Klein cologne commercials, not major motion pictures,certainly not an Oliver Stone drug cartel "drama". Seriously, her and Taylor Kitsch should have just made a porno and called it a day. Kitsch's flaring nostrils and egregious dialogue in this film make me wonder how he will ever get work again. Oh wait, he was hired after John Carter. Never mind. Worst.Actor.Ever. Not one shred of personality on screen. His interaction with Aaron Johnson throughout the film as they shared joints and talked about their love for O was so contrived...I hate watching actors who I can tell are acting. I wasn't able to get lost in this film, I was aware of the acting and lackluster writing the entire 2 hours plus. The only "believable" part was when Ben and Chan were riding dirty with 300 lbs of weed in the van and the cop behind them flicked his lights on but ultimately went speeding past. That sense of relief is something to which I can relate. Otherwise....  Two weed entrepreneurs sharing a blonde bimbo who brings nothing to the table expect for her willingness to spread her legs..?!??Unbelievable that she was so special and irreplaceable. The trio lived in Laguna Beach, there's like a million "O"'s there.  If the love triangle was so "special", perhaps the viewer should have been informed why. Otherwise the movie looks like a stoned guy with  PTSD and his  Buddhist lover  trying to ensure that their source of vagina wouldn't be compromised to a Mexican drug cartel. Chan couldn't "last three weeks"...O could only last "like 7 to 10 days." WTF? My favorite part: When O asked her kidnapper for weed via Skype  "I mean the stuff we're all killing each other for". Hahahaha. I laughed so hard at the ending. I didn't realize this film was supposed to be a stoner comedy?  Benecio del Toro, Emelie Hirsch and Selma Hayek are lucky that their career isn't over after agreeing to be in this POS.

Was the above review useful to you?

17 out of 32 people found the following review useful:

dunno why everyone else didn't like it BUT I LOVED IT!

10/10
Author: nicktusk from United States
20 August 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

WHY? because #1 I like oliver stones movies.

#2 I like smoking pot and movies about pot in which it educates us more about the drug.

#3 Blake lively is sooooooo hot i don't care if 10 guys were banging her all at once I'd be the 11th one!

#4 I like violence in movies and come on there's no way you can tell me this movie wasn't violent enough got a 10 on nasty torture scenes the part where the cartel have the lawyer and are whipping him, then they have Ben or whoever that guy is burn him alive , that sent chills up my spine.

#5 Story was good too. What I always wanted. two surfer kids from So Cal who live right on the beach make millions from growing pot, and then go to war with the cartel after they kidnap there girlfriend, story didn't get boring at all through out the whole movie.

#6 Benicio Toro was INSANE!!!!I won't be surprised if he stars in some Quentin Tarantino films or Robert Rodriguez films after this performance....

#7 Salma Hayek who is getting older yet still hot ! Did do a good job as a Mexican women drug cartel leader.....(keep in mind if you study the real life Columbian cartels there was a FEMALE leader named Roselia blanco, so its not un heard of for a women cartel leader in Latin culture)

#8 The actions scenes were good , I especially liked the part where they hi jack the cartels drug money and ambush them!

#9 I also like John Travoltas roll in this movie he did a good job also...

#10 I did like although they are new actors, Taylor Kitsch's role and Aaron Johnsons role Ben being the brains of the operation and Chan being the muscle.

In conclusion I understand some of the views people have and don't like this movie which is fine. Everyone is entitled to there own opinion. But what I'm saying is if you like guns, hot babes, smoking weed, violence and Mexican drug cartels and also Oliver Stones unorthodox filming, then you'll enjoy this movie......

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Great movie!

10/10
Author: John
9 August 2016

This was a cracking film. The cast is just fantastic; there are plenty of younger stars, but the big three, Hayek, Travolta and Del Toro are electric, even though the story isn't exactly centred around them, when they appear it's first rate, Saturday night entertainment - action, guns, violence and good old American, 1980s, Christian morals thrown in for good measures. The title is god awful, even given the theme of the film (no spoilers here), it doesn't make any sense to me that they'd call the film Savages - Beautiful Savages maybe. Any way, apart from that minor criticism there is nothing about the actual film that is half-baked or ill conceived - it rocks from start to finish and sees Oliver Stone return to true form, who has had some belters, but he's had some utter doozers too, Savages comes under the former.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Good quality grass is a wonderful metaphor for US values

8/10
Author: Morten (mortenblaabjerg@gmail.com) from Denmark
28 February 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First and foremost this is an effective thriller/action film with some interesting characters (John Travolta's dirty cop and Benicio del Toro's assassin among the chief ones), a lot of violence and a playful script, where you never quite know what to expect.

But like in Stone's Platoon, where the main character has to choose between the groups surrounding Elias (the idealist camp) and Barnes (the realist camp - Barnes says "I am war" at one point), Stone plays out an interesting duality in Savages, between Chon, the war veteran, and Ben, the idealist, who "goes Bono in Africa". They can be seen as two sides of the US experience. On one hand, America does good in the world, on the other, it wages wars and does bad. Both on the basis of an industry which makes "the best weed in the world" (as Stone himself have proclaimed Californian weed to be). A key scene is the scene in which Travoltas dirty cop compares his own ill doing and double dealing with what goes on in Washington. He says : "We've become a nation of whores". O, who is held captive by the cartel, in this way is an American whore (she sleeps with both Ben and Chon, and Del Toros character takes a piece of the action too), who needs both the idealist and the realist in order to be satisfied. As a trio, they're very successful, but ultimately has to do battle with the cartel (which may represent America's enemies small or large) and ultimately be exiled, on the end note that their "great weed" may resurface in the future, meaning classic US values (whatever they may be) may return.

What the main characters lack in development (agree, they are "cardboard"), they make up for as metaphors, in my humble opinion quite interesting choice of metaphors. If one buys into this analysis, seeing quality Californian weed as something akin to "the American soul" or core US values is quite fun.

I enjoyed this movie quite a lot, as a kind of intellectual take on US identity today, as well as a sophisticated thriller/action combo. There are other things open for analysis in a lot of ways, for instance the use of masks and screens, by which large parts of the action are conveyed, and behind which the characters hide, always in some ways masking their true identity and intentions. The female drug lord carrying a wig complements this masking of appearances quite neatly - and humorously. I bet Oliver Stone had a lot of fun adapting this novel for the screen.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Kind of snoozy, but looks good

7/10
Author: Dan Franzen (dfranzen70) from United States
22 July 2014

Two rich dope dealers run afoul of a Mexican cartel that wants to take over their business, and things really get kicked up a notch when the cartel kidnapped the dealers' shared girlfriend. Savages offers an exciting premise and some excellent action, but it's too often listlessly and unconvincingly acted to really hold one's attention.

Ben (Aaron Taylor-Johnson) and Chon (Taylor Kitsch) have seen their little pot farm grown into a very lucrative business. Their not-a-third-wheel partner, O (Blake Lively) is a free spirit surfer girl who loves both of them, because that sort of thing happens in real life. And then one day the cartel from south of the border decided to horn in on their business, which exploits a particularly intense strain of the plant.

Representing the cartel, Lado (Benicio del Toro) and Esteban (Diego Catano) approach the, uh, mom-and-pop business with a proposal - join us, we get most of the profits, you get to live long and prosper, and so on. The boys are split about whether this is a good idea, as ex-soldier Chon wants to take the fight to the Mexicans and bookish Ben wants to maximize profits and minimize blood. While they dither on the offer, though, O is kidnapped by the cartel's head honcho, Elena (Salma Hayek).

This isn't some A-Team-style action movies in which the good guys, a ragtag band of dudes with a lot of moxie and heart, take on an evil corporation of thugs. But it's close. What follows isn't really a precise plan or even a grunting, against-all-odds attack but rather a whimpering, half-assed rescue attempt that probably succeeds, if we're being honest - even though O herself says in the first scene (in voice over) that she may very well be dead.

Taylor-Johnson, who's grown up a tad since Kick-Ass, and Kitch are both pretty good, with neither playing a caricature more than a character. Lively's O, although pretty and vivacious and such, seems half asleep by comparison.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Violent film about a peculiar trio , including action-packed , drama , glowing cinematography and uninhibited performances

6/10
Author: ma-cortes from Santander Spain
28 October 2013

Entrepreneurs Ben (Aaron Taylor , though Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy, Garrett Hedlund and James Franco were considered to play him) , a peaceful and charitable marijuana producer, and friend Chon (Taylor Kitsch received training from real Navy SEALs as a part of his preparation and he performed his own stunts) , a former Navy SEAL, run a lucrative, homegrown industry - raising some of the best weed ever developed. They also share a one-of-a-kind love with Ophelia (Jennifer Lawrence was originally cast as O but she pulled out ,Blake Lively was subsequently selected , Director Stone instructed her to take firearm training for her role ; despite not being experienced at the gun range, she hit center mass in her first three shots) . Life is idyllic in their Southern California town... until the Mexican Baja Cartel decides to move in and demands that the trio partners with them. When the merciless head of the BC, Elena (Michelle Rodriguez and Zoë Saldaña were considered for the role as Elena, but Salma Hayek got the role instead) and her enforcer, Lado (Benicio Del Toro) , underestimate the unbreakable bond of the three friends, Ben and Chon - with the reluctant assistance of a dirty DEA agent - wage a seemingly unwinnable war against the cartel. And so begins a series of increasingly vicious ploys and maneuvers in a high stakes, savage battle of wills.

This thrilling film contains noisy action , lots of violence , sexual scenes , plot twists and unpleasant characters . Acceptable protagonist trio , Taylor Kitsch as Chon , a violent and tough ex-Navy SEAl , a gorgeous Blake Lively and the best acting is given by Aaron Taylor-Johnson as a sensitive young who turns into violent one to save his girl . Good support cast plenty of nasty , ominous villains well played by Mexican actors such as Demian Bichir , Benicio Del Toro , Antonio Jaramillo , Joaquin Cosio , though bear offensive racial stereotypes . Special mention to Salma Hayek , whose character of Elena is loosely based on Mireya Moreno Carreon who's known to be the first Mexican female boss cartel . Colorful cinematography by Daniel Mindel , this is Oliver Stone's first film in nearly 17 years to be photographed with Panavision anamorphic lenses . Adequate and lively musical score by Adam Peters .

The motion picture was well directed by Oliver Stone , though includes excessive violence , sexual scenes and unpleasant issues . Stone appears in a cameo as a dancer on the France cardboard skit . Oliver Stone began working on the screenplay adaptation before the book was published . So confidant he was of this story that he himself contributed to investing in the project . ¨Savages¨ is realized in frenetic style and fast-pace , similarly other Stone hits such as ¨Natural born killers¨ or ¨U turn¨ . Oliver Stone is a good professional , though usually panned by mostly critics , nowadays is best considered . Stone returning from the Vietnam war did his first film , it was a student film entitled Last Year in Viet Nam (1971), followed by the gritty horror film Seizure (1974) for which he also wrote the screenplay . The next seven years saw him direct two films: Mad Man of Martinique (1979) and this The Hand (1981) . He also wrote many screenplays for films such as Midnight express (1978), Conan (1982), and Scarface (1983). Stone won his first Oscar for Midnight express (1978), but his fame was just beginning to show .

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 28: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history