IMDb > Savages (2012) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Savages
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Savages More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 18 of 28: [Prev][13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [Next]
Index 275 reviews in total 

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

A mediocre film with a terrible cast.

4/10
Author: Shopaholic35 from Australia
22 February 2014

OK so let's just admit it...Blake Lively will never be a good actress. Everybody needs to stop putting her in major parts as she just doesn't have the abilities. She needs to stay in teen related movies and shows that have large casts to take the pressure off of her. The rest of the cast was alright (Salma Hayek was the strongest out of the cast) but overall the casting director should be fired.

This movie was not terrible but it was average. It felt disjointed at times and while there were many pointless scenes, they seem to have dropped major plot explanations. Predominately how the hell did they become this happy threesome couple? I think they were trying to be all creative and different but instead it was just a flop.

If you decide to watch this be prepared for some bad over the top acting with a sub-par storyline. Or instead you could watch almost anything else.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Not good

3/10
Author: Mazemadio from Greece
18 November 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Lively pretty but a terrible actress. Salma Hayek was bored. The two boys got really lucky to take a leading role. That should never happen again. Del torro was the only one who knew what he was doing. Travolta was not bad either even though I could not stop staring at his hair and this was quite distracting. As a story it was quite interesting but it didn't explain why was keeping these three people together and why in earth their relationship was so strong. The two endings gave me the feeling that stone didn't know what to do with the movie in the end. Maybe when he saw how terrible the three leading actors played... I really can t tell what happened with the casting. It s sad for someone like stone to end up giving instructions to lively. There are so many young talented actresses That they vould pick think she is absolutely without talent. And the narrative part at the beginning it almost made me laugh

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Stone ages

4/10
Author: kubpink from France
31 January 2013

I do not often comment on IMDb, but as I am writing these lines, I realize that each time I did I was really disappointed with what I just watched. This time, Savages made me commit this.

I like Stone's work, not all of it, I won't cite all his titles I like. I think he is very pertinent in his storytelling, and he often delivers in his filmmaking a high level of craftsmanship. Savages had none of both, in fact, it is to me an example of what not to do unless you're reaching failure.

Apart from the fact that I was not interested in this little world of dope , I just could not think for at least a second its characters could be true. They are impossible to identify with. The plot and these people are just boring and were just badly written.

This was not helped by the acting. Blake Lively and Taylor Kitsh are just awful, annoying. Aaron Johnson is lost and has the charisma of Swiss-German bratwurst. Salma Hayek is probably the worst : do you see her as a Mexican hysterical female drug lord wearing a wig ? No you don't if you haven't seen this film, but please do not feel obliged to. Del Toro and Travolta deserve credit though, because they kinda struggle to raise the level in the middle of this mess.

I do not know what Stone aimed at, but what I am sure of is he tried to mix to many topics that can't link together : love, friendship, dope, quest for paradise (identity ?), West Coast way of life, parents-children relationships, American-Mexican interdependencies (xenophobia ?), corruption, business, war, chaos, youth... Maybe he wanted to make a best of his previous work, but in the end, we just don't care.

Stone usually has an intention ahead of its time. This time Stone is lagging behind I think.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Utterly flawed but undeniably entertaining

6/10
Author: Rameshwar IN from India
10 January 2013

Though the movie falls from one glitch to another leaving trails of unintentional comedy along its way especially the initial voice over from Blake Lively introducing the setup and main characters, but it never stops to entertain thereby accomplishing the sole purpose of its existence. On retrospect, the presentation is stuck on a dilemma whether to go for old school action or modern slickness satisfying neither. Blake Lively never looked more gorgeous in the middle of a preposterous sandwich while one popular face after another make a joke of themselves.

Ophelia (Blake Lively) the beautiful Chon (Taylor Kitsch) the muscle and Ben the brains (Aaron Taylor-Johnson) are in a committed threesome relationship heading a professionally organized pot manufacture and distribution network. When Elena (Salma Hayek), a brutal lonely cartel heiress is looking to venture out of territory and plans to acquire their network, the trio has mixed thoughts about the approach. Their plan to trick the cartel by jumping town gets foiled when Ophelia is kidnapped and tortured by Lado (Benicio Del Toro), they are left with no option than to oblige their rules. Ben has one last trick up his sleeve when he turns to Dennis (John Travolta) a dirty corrupt cop for assistance.

While Aaron Taylor-Johnson got his look and body language right, his voice still comes out as the nerdy awkward teenager. Though there is enough drama and scenarios created to let you root for the male duo, it is the supporting cast full of popular stars that make this movie work to an extent while the movie jumps from one silly premise to another. The climax is even more messy that the director didn't look like he has made up his mind yet on the conclusion.

Utterly flawed but undeniably entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Visually stunning but dull otherwise

6/10
Author: Treyroo from Saratoga Springs, NY
6 December 2012

Can two men share a woman and stay friends? Can a small, independent group of marijuana dealers take on a Mexican cartel? Has Oliver Stone lost his touch?

We are given a brief history of two of the lead characters, Ben and Chon (played by Aaron Johnson and Taylor Kitsch) by their girlfriend and the film's narrator O (short for Ophelia, played by Blake Lively). Ben (Johnson) is a college graduate who majored in business and botany. Chon (Kitsch) is a veteran who returned from Afghanistan with the seeds that became an extremely potent form of marijuana and the foundation of their successful business. Ben contributes a great deal of his income to worthy causes and travels extensively. While he's away, O and Chon receive a video containing numerous severed heads and chainsaw. They fear Ben has been killed until he returns home a short time later. They had a scheduled meeting with the cartel and so, they go ahead with it. The cartel representatives propose that Ben and Chon join their organization, but rather than consider their offer, they say they take the time they've been given to consider it and make plans to flee the country. A DEA agent named Dennis (played by John Travolta) tells them that the partnership is the best option. They disagree but, before they can leave the country, O is kidnapped. Ben and Chon hear this directly from Elena Sanchez, the leader of the cartel who ordered it. Elena (played by Salma Hayek) tells the two men that she intends to hold O hostage until they honor the terms of their agreement. During that time, she's held prisoner amid miserable surroundings and guarded by a cartel henchman who goes by Lado (played by Benicio del Toro).

Now, regardless of what anyone might say about its historical accuracy, or lack thereof, I greatly enjoyed JFK. Same goes for Wall Street, Nixon, The Doors and Born on the Fourth of July. I thought Any Given Sunday was alright, but nowhere near as good as the others I've mentioned. I don't know if this movie's failure is something to be blamed on Stone, the actors or the source material, but the story didn't really go anywhere and the characters were completely unrealistic. I'm not saying I won't watch it again, but I certainly won't pay for the opportunity.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Bad acting and boring script

3/10
Author: richgama
30 November 2012

Was Oliver Stone high when he made this movie? The most annoying thing about this movie is the whispery narration of Blake Lively, whose voice sounds like a smoker trying to be sexy. The acting, with the one exception of Benicio Del Toro, is over-the-top and horrible. The story is simple and boring and most of the decisions made by the characters in this movie defy common-sense. It is clear that they make the decisions simply to drive the story, but not based on any common-sense. I am amazed they got people like Benicio Del Toro, Salma Hayek, and John Travolta to even be in this mess of a movie. If you are expecting something as good as "Natural Born Killers," keep looking.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Terrible, awful-could-have-been-good film

3/10
Author: casch0101 from Paraguay
7 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Stone is stone wrong!. Blake is wonderful to look at, but has a poor voice to be the story teller, and not a good actress. The two blond guys are no better either. Hayek overacts. The script is a mess. Starting with soft-porn sex scenes, next going to very gory scenes (decapitated Mexicans). Add some "humor" scenes as coming from comics. Just look a the first 10 user reviews and they say it all.

The proposal of the romantic (?) or love (?) situation of the three main characters is preposterous. The maternal side of the cartel boss is preposterous. Only Del Toro stands out, however overacting also.

Everything is senseless in this film. It has no definite way nor objective.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Cliché! Also a waste of time.

2/10
Author: Anees Raja from Virginia, USA
6 November 2012

Let's start by saying this movie is filled with cliché's. Every scene was easily predictable. I felt like this movie was excruciatingly boring, the only original idea in the movie was the peculiar three-person couple they had. The whole idea of the movie being based around drugs was an easy escape for the producer, and the viewers were the one's who had to bear the bitter fruit. Yes I gave this movie a 2/10 because I cannot fully express how awful I felt watching it. This movie could bore anybody, I would rather have watched paint dry on my wall. IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN IT, take my advice, and don't waste your money or time.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Thanks to Oliver Stone for such gift to us, the Stoners!!!!

9/10
Author: Nafis Shahriyar from Dhaka, Bangladesh
4 November 2012

Two young cannabis dealer pals fall into a violent cat and mouse chase with a Mexican evil drug cartel that abducts their threesome girlfriend to buy their partnership into its business. Notwithstanding the bearish ratings, I got greatly enthralled at this flick :))) This was absolutely teemed with savage mirth :p Oliver Stone put a real grand crime-thriller show after a many year pause. Del Toro just dazed me out with his stupendous cold ruthless role :p Travolta, Salma Hayek and the younger protagonists were also cozy with their appearance. I enjoyed the backscore, some camera works and its twisted ending :p The narrative technique in Blake's voice and all thrilling dialogues were the most igniting kudos for this movie :p Thanks to Oliver Stone for such gift to us, the Stoners!!!! :p Blindly being bewildered with its wild entertaining eminence, I had to give 9/10 :)))

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Stoners perform aggressively under Stone!

7/10
Author: richy1024 from United Kingdom
3 October 2012

Controversial mastermind Oliver Stone announces his return since his woeful 2010 attempt with Wall Street with his adaptation of Don Winslow's drug-friendly novel. Stone's homecoming party is an adventurous attempt at escalating the war around drugs and the rift between Mexico and its northern counterparts. Predominately set in the beautiful but dangerous essence of Laguna Beach, which introduces us to an intimate threesome. O (Blake Lively), an attractive frontier craves her love within a triangle also occupied by a two-piece ambitious cannabis duo. After ditching a career in their respective university professions, both decide to earn their dollar by growing and selling dope, whilst indulging in unruliness and modification with the odd conflagration to brighten the scene just in case there wasn't enough combustion already within the region.

Savages is an intense affair with plenty of passion and vehement. Marijuana is the driving force behind every form of movement, whilst the film's title tags both borders under the same category of honour and dignity. Both sides prove to be the ultimate contender, after a failure in agreement Salma Hayek and her troops emphatically take leadership by the act of pilfering. Unfortunately for Hayek, underestimating the opposition is only the inauguration of Chon (Taylor Kitsch) and Ben's (Aaron Johnson) repercussions. Whilst all this takes place we integrate ourselves within a lackadaisical female by familiarising ourselves with O's bareness and insecurities with her beloved double act, her daydreaming persona and how her bliss lifestyle comes under relentless scrutiny when planted within a room without beaches and lush panorama. To her, life is perfection, she has everything she needs, funds are incessant and her devotees fulfil both sides of her love pattern. During O's fateful circumstances the relationship between Chon & Ben proves ferociously practised with years of loyalty and love towards each other.

There is some wonderful editing with rapturous gunfire sequences and the usage of a glowing colour scheme. The narrative incorporates many themes from love to politics, to betrayal, greed and anxiety, providing us with a thesis that suggests even paradise has its blemishes. Stone's emphatic take on business ethics and the grimness of stealing someone's prize possession is rather compelling. He pulls of a narrative capable of entertaining the masses but sadly it elongates itself far beyond any recommendation, regrettably extending beyond the two hour boundary does provide the film with weary jaded effect after a while. Though it's blissful emphasis on how making one 'erroneous' verdict can cause intense complication is rather encapsulating.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 18 of 28: [Prev][13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] [21] [22] [23] [24] [25] [26] [27] [28] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history