IMDb > All Things Fall Apart (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
All Things Fall Apart
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
All Things Fall Apart More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

13 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

Very surprising but good movie.

Author: eezyone
5 December 2011

I must say I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. I thought 50 Cent did an outstanding acting job. I initially thought his acting role was typical for what you would expect from a musical artist turned actor but by the end of the movie I was completely sold on 50 Cent the actor. His commitment was obvious as the dramatic weight loss he went through showed his seriousness and commitment to the acting craft. I honestly didn't believe he could pull this acting career off but after seeing this flick I have no doubt he can be as successful in acting as he decides he want to be. Once again outstanding acting job by 50 Cents and the rest of the crew. Would definitely watch a 50 Cent movie in the future. Highly recommended.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 33 people found the following review useful:

Things do fall apart

Author: mystic_lover55
29 September 2011

The story line for this movie was excellent. The setting was believable enough to carry as a college background. I enjoyed 50 cent's portrayal of a young man dealing with life's struggles and unexpected bumps in the road. This movie brought tears to my heart. I appreciate 50 and the cast of this movie for putting together such a thoughtful message. (When life gives you lemons....). Even though there are moments where the acting was strained, I still take the movie as a whole and consider it to be great. I enjoyed the fact that it is basically a G rated type movie. I would allow my children to watch it and I would refer it just as much as some other inspirational movies. Thanks for keeping it clean.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 18 people found the following review useful:

I admire his commitment to the film

Author: Timmy English from United States
19 September 2011

"Just finished watching "Things fall apart "starring 50 cent,and some other great stars like Lynn Whitfield, and others, it was an interesting movie , and he did a great job , but i have to say , he still got ways to go the movie was 3-outa 5 for me ,considering all the senior stars , and Lynn Whitfield - did her thing... but some reason emotional- i just couldn't get into it , and it lacked depth, and compassion, however the movie is going to be a great DVD , and looking forward to more projects from him-fifty cent a.k.a Curtis James Jackson III, i also admired his commitment to the film,with the weight loss and more, I am sure in the future , there will be more to come

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Did they all forget that he had CANCER!!!

Author: corypullen from United States
28 March 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After watching this movie i don't even know what to say. I read the plot for the movie and thought it wad going to be a decent movie with a really good storyline. Boy was i wrong. About 30 minutes into the movie Deon Barnes (50 Cent) finds out that he has a tumor about a centimeter away from his heart. Up to this point he is supposedly the best player in college and is a front runner for the Heisman Trophy and projected to go within the top 10 in the NFL draft.

After hearing the news of his disease the movie seems to be going in a good direction plot wise. That will soon change though. At first everyone is very hopeful and optimistic for his future with football and his potential NFL career. Everyone is by his side and are doing all they can in order to help him make a full speedy recovery. However, about 10 minutes in after you find out about his cancer the characters drastically change their views on him and his situation.

All of a sudden his family and loved ones start turning his cancer into a huge burden for themselves. They all originally feel they can just ride his back and his success in the NFL in order to change their own lives around, which Deon was more than happy to help do without a second question. Suddenly they find out that he can never play another down in football ever again and his career is over, which is where everyone makes him seem like the bad guy. They start complaining about how he's the reason why his family fell apart and the reason why his mother is miserable and had to get a second job, as if he had a choice in the matter of him suddenly getting cancer.

Watching further and furtherer into the movie just made me more angry and upset about the characters themselves and the ensuing plot lines to come. Deon Barnes is now being punished for the next two hours because he was hit with the hardest news anyone would have to deal with, having a terminal disease. His family comes to the conclusion that he has basically thrown his life away, they don't want to help him at all with everything he's going through and worst of all no one is sympathizing with the main fact that HE HAS CANCER!

The movie soon takes a weird social, racial and economic turn within the storyline and it takes away from the fact of why he's in the situation he's in, in the first place. The basic theme I get from the movie is to show to young athletes that although they may have a promising athletic career ahead of them, they do not know exactly what will happen in the future so they should not forget to actually prepare for a time when a great athletic career may not be an option. I totally understand and agree with that lesson, however if you want to get that across to an audience do not give the main character and focus point cancer. Something that they cannot control and was not their fault in the first place. It seems like half way through the movie everyone just forgets that he has a terminal disease in cancer. They never address his sickness after about 15 minutes of finding out about it and everyone makes it seem like he personally threw his whole life away.

In the end i feel they could have gotten their point across with him suffering a career ending back or neck injury, something that would really only effect his football career. That would have forced him to face a true working man's life. For some reason it suddenly becomes his fault he got cancer out of nowhere and everyone seems to feel he is now a charity case because of it. Not to mention that he never asked for help from anyone while he was still in the top of his football career. He was going to help everyone he loved financially and give them a better life, and they took advantage of that. Once they realized that dream was out the window they resented him.

In conclusion, this movie had the potential to be a really great and heart filled, emotional plot, but they focused on the wrong things and took away from the main focal point, Deon had cancer. He was struck with a total life changing piece of news and everyone somehow made it about themselves instead of caring for their loved one and helping him in his time of need. They basically turn to him and say he threw his life away because he had to go and get cancer. I do not recommend this movie for the basic reason that not only does Deon Barnes' life fall apart, but the entire plot and storyline fall apart as well.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

Realistic Review

Author: bobmichigan1 from San Diego
17 September 2011

Gosh I really dislike it when people who work on the movie go into the discussion board and review there movie like its an Oscar winner. K lets get to the review!

I will put this in a category of an alright LIFETIME movie. The acting was mediocre by 50 cent, but everyone else did a fine job. One thing I really dislike in movies is the directors inability to be realistic. You could tell that this was filmed in a practice facility because the field was about 60 yards long and the sideline players were actually on the field during the play, because there was no room on the sidelines. Hint Director go ahead and pay a Junior College to use there field and throw some extras in there for crowd. Stop being so cheap!!! I am sure 50 cent could of rounded up a few dollars for that.

The drama in the movie was OK but again LIFETIME style. Overall on a 5 scale its about a 2. The subject of cancer was not really sad at all in this. They want you to feel pity for a snobby football player that has everything, including other peoples girls like his brothers girl. This showed why star football players should actually study in school, because if you are hit with a career ending injury or cancer you might end up at Dads fix it up shop turning a wrench.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I Wasn't Really Sure...

Author: rlsims82
15 June 2013

Initially, after watching this movie I wasn't sure what I thought. However, after thinking about it for a while (and forcing myself to get past that ridiculous looking Bob Marley wig 50 cent wore for the first chuck of the film...yikes!) I decided I didn't hate it. Mostly, I like the humbling of the main character, the lessons he learned about himself, and the family ties were a little heartwarming. I also appreciate how he committed to the role. I give him a B+ for effort! He's come a long way (remember Get Rich or Die Trying'?). But it was too long, and as soon as I thought we were in the home stretch, it kept going and took MORE sad turns. I started to feel duped and like I had not signed up for this kind of melodrama! Certainly not the worst thing I've seen on BET though. Not bad 50!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Good movie

Author: joe blow from United States
5 June 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was a pretty good movie. The story is pretty cliché, but it is still a good movie. The story was well written, but 50 cent's acting brought down the others at some points. Also, those dreads they had 50 cent wear were pretty funny I was sad to see them go. If you like movies about sports and family then give this movie a try. This being one of 50 cents few acting roles I give him a 3/5, but a more experienced actor should have been cast in the lead role. I'm sure that was a choice to try and bring in viewers, but it was a good story without it. I don't want you to think that I do not like 50 cent or that his acting was horrible, because that is not true. 50 put on a good performance and with the weight he lost for this role you know he was dedicated. Anyone on the fence should watch it I don't see why it has received such low marks.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Geeky Randy's summary

Author: Geeky Randy from United States
21 November 2014

2011 drama about promising football running back 50 Cent and his unexpected fight with a deadly disease that plagues his senior year in college and chances at the NFL. The film opens with very poor acting—child-actors are always a longshot, and Lynn Whitfield's attempt at an overly proud mother just feels overdone compared to the realistic subtle emotions of Sanders, Heggins and even rapper 50 Cent in the lead role, who lost around 54 pounds for the part. And yes, while this movie has its flaws, and while one might assume this would've been a more successful film with a more commercial cast, there are some incredibly commendable creative choices in this very depressing story. What makes it so compelling are the characters' motivations, which are very different from the Hollywood cookie-cutter melodrama, but are just as interesting—a lot of the film's characters seem far more three-dimensional than what we're used to seeing nowadays. Very much a story about how the loved ones of an ill person can also suffer emotionally and financially. Director Van Peebles is great in the supporting role of the stepfather, who is loving but tries to live his dreams through his sick stepson.

*** (out of four)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I really liked it!!!

Author: hotchicadrea from Menasha, WI
2 January 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I've been wanting to see this for a while and finally did last night. I love 50 Cent as an artist and person and thought his acting was just fine. I think all dramatic movies have their slightly "cheesy" parts but his emotions were deff believable. I didn't even notice any of the goofs mentioned above. 50 Cent's character was much more sincere and respectful than most young men would have been in his position (handsome star athlete). Even though he slept around and got with a girl his brother liked I didn't view him as jerk just a young man living life which made it even sadder to see his hard work and promising future torn apart. I found it touching and inspirational! The only downside was a vague ending...

and I love him with dreads :)

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Into place

Author: kosmasp
11 August 2013

Mario van Peebles has done some really good movies. As an actor and as a director. This has some really fine and good ingredients in it. Even Ray Liotta in a supporting role. But it does fall into the pitfalls of clichés. Which is a shame, because Curtis Jackson (aka 50 Cent) does actually come off better than some might think (not talking about his fans obviously).

While Curtis did gain/lose weight for the role (his dedication shouldn't be taken lightly) and he does a nice job acting in this movie, this isn't sufficient to elevate the movie to something it might or could have been. The story is not unfamiliar and the players are following the rules. And while it is predictable, the end has a nice touch to it. Though you wouldn't want to know what is happening moments after the ending ...

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Ratings External reviews Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history