IMDb > Cherry Bomb (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Cherry Bomb
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Cherry Bomb More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 22 reviews in total 

23 out of 37 people found the following review useful:

Did I Watch The Right Movie?

1/10
Author: jimj40 from United Kingdom
27 June 2012

I can never understand the people who ask if they can have the wasted xx- time out of their lives that it took them to watch a particular movie back....until now.

I'm really trying hard to find something positive to say about this film but I honestly can't find anything at all. The plot is excruciatingly transparent, the acting is universally appalling, the writing is an insult to the audience and the whole thing truly is a waste of time and money. The positive reviewers are either members of the crew or people whose reviews a normal viewer needs to watch out for because they will serve as a beacon of what to avoid.

I hate to be so negative but this is an experience for hardened masochists only, I'm afraid.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

What?????

1/10
Author: trapman795 from Costa Rica
31 January 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Are you kidding me????

Do Not Watch!

Anyone who went to the cinema to watch this should ask for a refund.

So, here it goes:

The movies story line or lack there of is extremely boring. The girls who "ACT" in this movie should set their sites on porn movies rather than the big screen. The twins about only claim here lays under a desk of the owner of the strip club where all the girls work.

Story: Girl beaten and raped girl out of hospital and goes for revenge! Girls brother helps but gets killed girl becomes a marksman with rifles and has no problem killing people Girl shoots hired hit-man who has about 2 more lines than any Jason movies you might watch but has the same acting teacher as Jason. He even learned how to walk like him too.

Owner of club guy behind the rape, the beating, the hiring of hit-man. Girl kills guy.

This is absolute garbage. Anyone associated with the making of this "movie" should be looking for another job.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Intentions

2/10
Author: kosmasp
11 October 2012

Maybe the filmmaker at work here, intentionally tried to make the movie bad. Maybe he was trying to make it look (editing-wise) like an incoherent mess. Maybe he told the actors not to act, too. But I don't really believe that is the case. Even if you try to be nice to it, you can't overlook the major flaws in almost every department on this movie, which is why I don't think one person is to blame alone.

Cheap movies can be fun and from time to time there is a real gem among them (still looking at you Alyce, you were a nice surprise indeed!). This is not the case here. The twists are so bad, you might be wondering who was responsible for this cheesy mess. Not that the actors are doing anything to improve that stuff. But bad dialogue and incoherent character development (if you can even call it that) add to something you seriously do not want to watch. You've been warned

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Very encouraging first film

Author: Marcus Sabom from United States
8 July 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

**This review contains spoilers**

Plot: In 1984, exotic dancer Cherry Bomb (Julin Jean) agrees to treat some of her club's guests to a private show. However, the 5 men have others ideas in mind. Cherry Bomb is raped and upon recovering, she finds out that the law has not acted on her behalf. So, with the help of her brother, she takes the law into her own hands.

And thus we have Cherry Bomb, writer Garrett Hargrove and director Kyle Day's love letter to low-budget 70's grindhouse style films.

So how does it fare? Well, its not without its problems. However, unlike some of the other reviews you'll see, its really an enjoyable flick. You just have to remember that you're watching an homage to grindhouse exploitation flicks. If you're expecting Oscar caliber acting and a dark and gritty character study on a woman who was raped and left for dead, find some other film.

This is meant to be a fun film, period. The acting is at times very over-the-top, there are cheesy one-liners, the assassin "Bull" looks like a snapshot of blaxploitation films, and the action scenes are explosive and high-octane. Again, anyone who wants to see a grindhouse exploitation film won't be disappointed, I'm not sure where the confusion and anger is coming from, did any of these reviewers even watch the trailer? What were you expecting?

With that said, I wasn't too fond of the way Cherry Bomb vacillated between a sassy one-liner spouting badass and then a tortured soul wondering if she was doing the right thing, it struck me as uneven. Also, the character "Bull" wasn't handled properly in my eyes. He was built up to be this unstoppable assassin, and yet wet behind the ears Cherry Bomb constantly gets the best of this guy, my suspension of disbelief only stretches so far. It just doesn't work for me when you build someone up to be a badass warrior and then make him look dumb.

Final thoughts, like I said, this is clearly a love letter to the over- the-top 70s/80s grindhouse exploitation style films of old. If you weren't a fan of those films in the first place, then I wouldn't bother with this film either. If you did enjoy those films, then check out Cherry Bomb!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Fun shoot 'em up

8/10
Author: pagediver from United States
2 July 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

First of all let's not harbor any illusions. This is not a high-budget feature film! That being said those of you who can appreciate good work and don't demand that this movie rival a multi-million dollar production will be able to appreciate what Kyle Day and his crew have accomplished.

The movie itself starts fairly slow but picks up quickly and within 30 minutes or so Cherry and her brother are on a full blown killing rampage with some very exciting executions perpetrated on some very believable scumbags. Important to the development of her character is that Cherry's anger remain righteous lest she becomes like her tormentors. In one particular scene Cherry is about to make another kill on someone less than deserving but at the last moment is unable to, thereby retaining her humanity. (Good job Aaron Alexander). The killing continues as the stakes and the body count grow ever higher until the final showdown. I'll stop there but I will say that at the very end one particular kill made me jump out of my seat it was so cool. You'll know it when you see it. The soundtrack is all original and Jason Latimer should be commended.

Overall this feature film puts new faces to a well filmed storyline but has elements of gore and humor in unsuspecting places.

Well done.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Lame and irritating rape/revenge action flick that has the undeniable camp feel and look of a dull TV series. The lead character is irritating beyond comparison

1/10
Author: JSwallowX1 from Ireland
3 July 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

In an apparent homage to the action films of the late 1970's, Kyle Day's directorial debut is quite a shocking film. Shocking however, not in it's violence or graphic nature, but in how sheer awful it is story, cast and crew wise. Granted, it is a pretty violent film at times, but I'll get to that later. Set in 1984, Julin (real name Jennifer Jean Guhlin) plays Cherrybomb, an attractive, young stripper working at a seedy strip-club where she caters for the clients and associates of the club's shady owner Ian Benedict (Nick Manning). One night, she is gang-raped in a private room by four men, and a fifth man just sits back and does nothing to help her. Upon waking up in hospital, she discovers that the men have all escaped justice due to some corrupt third party pulling some strings, leaving Cherry enlisting the help of her estranged brother Brandon, who reluctantly becomes involved in Cherry's quest for revenge, "I Spit on Your Grave" style. However, the difference between "Cherry Bomb" and "I Spit on Your Grave" is that this film lacks any real gritty atmosphere and tends to shy away from too much - it's almost afraid to be too graphic, and sadly, in order to be the kind of film that it wants to be, it has no choice but to be graphic. The acting is quite bad, annoying in fact, as Cherry is an extremely irritating protagonist and comes across as being too knuckle-headed. Nick Manning on the other hand has been watching too much late-night TV crime shows. Day and script writer Hargrove deliver a script that is too camp and riddled with so much stereotypes and clichés - I mean, what the hell was with that hit-man in the suit? He resembled Samule L. Jackson in "Pulp Fiction". There are some pretty graphic moments... however, the rape scene is not shown fortunately. But a scene at the end in particular I must applaud for it's innovation and special effects involving a certain character against the wall and a car. However, it's far from enough to make me even credit this lacklustre and dry film for anything. It's pretty damn awful, and I highly recommend not seeking it out. I'm not too sure how I even came across it in the first place...

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Strippers Revenge

5/10
Author: GeorgeI4280 from Miami, Florida
21 April 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

So in a simple way of putting it we have a stripper who gets raped by 5 guys. The girl goes to the police and the guys some how buy their way out clean. So between her and her brother go on a revenge frenzy. Only to be chased and hunted themselves. Thats a minor spoiler in someways.

Now that you have the general idea, overall its a fun entertaining, bad, grindhouse kind of film. The acting overall is not exactly good and story is simple which within itself is good. Overall if you need to kill some time and be entertaining and just kind of feel like watching a movie for the hell of it that isn't intense but fun. Come on in pop her cherry bomb. You wont be too sorry. The main actress is really hot.

So come have some fun.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

turkey bomb

3/10
Author: trashgang from Midian
14 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I have Spirit Camp (2009) in my possession signed by all chicks involved. They even send Julin's underwear with it signed by her. If that isn't funny, it's surely a name you never forget. Popping into my local DVD shop I noticed a cover that attracts healthy guys. Cherry Bomb was the title and let be Julin playing the main role.

So far so good but it stops there. First of all, Cherry Bomb is a stripper and we do see her strip but she doesn't undress on screen. For me that's a big mistake. There are a lot of nude girls walking around in the strip club but Cherry never does. If you play the main stripper then I guess you are open to show it all. Secondly the acting was terrible. And by that I mean everybody. Couldn't believe anybody.

The story is very simple, Cherry is being gang-raped at the strip club and she's out for revenge. But the revenge is so low on red stuff(except when Brandon got hit) and gore. Some girls outside the strip do want to look sexy or rough but it failed too. And just have a look at the shoot-out in the room, two meters from each other with a riot gun and still missing, it looked funny, just like Police Squad but wasn't intended to be funny. Well, the last 10 minutes are a bit gory(car crash and the eye scene) and watchable but overall it's dull

There are revenge flicks out that are a bit the same involving hot chicks like Bitch Slap (2009) or the overlooked Sweet Karma (2009). Cherry bomb? No, rather Turkey Bomb.

Gore 0/5 Nudity 1,5/5 Effects 1/5 Story 2/5 Comedy 0/5

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A spot-on brash and energetic tribute to lowdown trashy grindhouse revenge action thrillers

8/10
Author: Woodyanders (Woodyanders@aol.com) from The Last New Jersey Drive-In on the Left
6 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Saucy spitfire stripper Cherry Bomb (a terrifically lively performance by gorgeous brunette stunner Julin Jean) gets brutally raped by a group of men. When the system fails to effectively handle the situation, Cherry decides to take matters into her own hands and exact a harsh vengeance on her own with the reluctant assistance of her estranged older brother Brandon (a fine and likable portrayal by John Gabriel Rodriguez). However, things get messy when ruthless and relentless hit-man Bull (fiercely essayed with impressively fearsome brio by hulking behemoth Allen Hackley) shows up to rub Cherry out. Director Kyle Day, working from a compact script by Garrett Hargrove, does a bang-up job of paying suitably rowdy homage to late 70's/early 80's down'n'dirty exploitation crime cinema: The brisk pace never flags for a minute, the colorful characters are drawn in delightfully broad strokes, the savage violence packs a pretty mean and bloody punch, the tone is every bit as tough and gritty as it ought to be, the engaging sense of sly tongue-in-cheek humor gives the picture an extra kick, there's a decent sprinkling of tasty gratuitous female nudity, the thrilling action set pieces are staged with rip-roaring skill and flair, and the strained relationship between Cherry and Brandon even provides some touching heart amidst all the frantic mayhem. Moreover, it's acted with real zest by an enthusiastic cast: Veteran porn stud Nick Manning almost steals the whole show with his superbly crafty work as smooth nightclub owner Ian Benedict, Denise Williamson makes a favorable impression as Cherry's sassy'n'sexy redhead best gal pal Sapphire, Jeremy James Norton positively oozes as despicable sleazeball Adam Berry, and Alan Martin pours on the slime as smarmy yuppie businessman Rick Lewis. M. Andrew Barrera's crisp widescreen cinematography gives the movie an appropriately grainy look. Both Jason Latimer's hard-throbbing score and the dynamic bluesy rock soundtrack hit the funky pulsating spot. A total blast.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

No Cherries, Just a Bomb

1/10
Author: Ashman711711 from United States
29 September 2012

So in Recent years ever since Rodriguez and Taratino's Grindhouse flicks came out, we've had a slew of poor imitators coming out of the woodwork. Cherry Bomb isn't really all that different or the one thing that makes it stand out, is it's one of the freaking worst of the genre to come out.

First we have Cherry- late night stripper who is assaulted one night(thankfully it's more implied than shown) she's released from the hospital and immediately has plans for an upcoming murder/revenge spree. Instead of the character reflection, anger, humiliation, she just acts like a spoiled brat. I don't think I've ever disliked a character as much as her in any movie I've watched. Then there's the brother who really doesn't add too much- just helps reluctantly to off her assailants. the only other character of note is the hit man. a poor ripoff of Samuel L form Pulp fiction- rides around whilst wearing a suit and bad Fro wig, adds nothing to the film

Yes it's supposed to look like a cheap grindhouse movie, but it has no polish at all, horrible production value. I mean I've seen decent flicks on a shoestring budget, but this turd has really missed it's mark.

In short don't waste your time with this Bomb. stick to Hobo w Shotgun, Deathproof, or Planet Terror. Hell watch Troll 2 instead too.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history