IMDb > Abduction (2011/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Abduction
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Abduction More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 18: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 173 reviews in total 

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

An entertaining movie

8/10
Author: jimspaid-86934 from Cleveland, Ohio
27 June 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I see a lot of negative reviews these days. Why can't people just watch a movie without analyzing every little detail. Try to remember what industry movies fall into; entertainment. If you watch it to be entertained,then have fun. Your review is a personal opinion, as is this one. I will not be deterred from seeing something just because somebody says they didn't like it. That said, it was a good overall movie. I was entertained. The first 20 minutes was a bit slow, but after that it pulled me in. I didn't focus on the acting & rarely do. It was fun. My 17 yr old granddaughter streamed it & I just happened to be in the room. We both enjoyed it & had some good interaction with certain parts, like when Sigourney's car explodes & when the house exploded. I liked the international aspect of it. Everybody was after him. I think the name is a bit deceiving as I was waiting for somebody to actually get abducted. Being raised by CIA agents for protection is far from that. Good intense movie with some good twists. The movie did what it set out to do.

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Abduction: Recoverable

6/10
Author: Fallen Eye from South Africa
19 June 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie is actually not all that bad. There are certain points in fact, that gave me goose bumps... Like when Martin called Nathan and said; "Because I'm here son"...

However, this movie contains a lot of Adult Themes, given the fact that the stars are supposedly in high school. It doesn't quite have that innocence it's supposed to have within all that chaos, you know, like with Transformers for example.

For instance; where and how does a high school kid have the necessary connections, to have a loaded gun duct-taped to the bottom of a seat in a stadium? Also, the near sex scene, who's allure you could even feel approaching, long before the scene itself, because the movie's tone, is of kids doing adult stuff. This isn't really a complaint, and I don't really have a problem with it... It's just that, I wonder if it diminishes the intended complexion of the movie perhaps, and also... You ask yourself; Why wasn't this script given to adults in the 1st place?!

Lautner's acting has never been the best, so that's a minus, which is unfortunate for him - because this movie had a story line worthy of making this Lautner's "Taken"/"007"/"Bourne". However I have to say, Lautner's athleticism impressed me. Certain parts of the movie didn't flow, especially in the beginning, and I wish they would've kept Martin's identity a secret... That would've worked wonders for suspense and a successful sequel... While we're busy asking, "Who is Martin", the studio has made room for it to be perhaps, Gerald Butler/Jason Statham/anyone else, who can live up to the hype.

Anyway, Sigourney Weaver and Alfred Molina were necessary talents, who brought some firmness, to what was otherwise, a flimsy, though still, not all that bad, action thriller.

5.8/10... Maybe even 6.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

How Did Lily Collins Free Herself?

4/10
Author: Python Hyena from Canada
10 September 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Abduction (2011): Dir: John Singleton / Cast: Taylor Lautner, Lily Collins, Alfred Molina, Sigourney Weaver, Jason Isaacs: Here is an action film about the abduction of identity. Taylor Lautner plays a teenager who discovers that his parents are not for real and that he is a missing person. His supposed parents are attacked and murdered and Lautner is on the run with his girlfriend who was over for a school project. Lautner fares okay as someone struggling to figure out who he is. He learns that his mother was murdered when he was young and his mind blocked it out. His father is a secret agent who stayed out of sight. The couple raising him were agents, as is his therapist who assists in his getaway. John Singleton has made such provocative films as Baby Boy and Four Brothers but selling Lautner's Twilight fame is a marketing mistake. Those female Twilight fans will not likely be interested in an action film generally aimed at males who are likely not be interested in the whole Twilight thing. Lautner survives despite a climax that consists of ass kicking. Lily Collins is strikingly beautiful but never rises above the romantic prop. Her parents are conveniently out of town, and a scene where she is bound and gagged hands above head makes no sense when she shatters a glass. It is not indicated how she freed herself. Alfred Molina is flat as a corrupt agent. Sigourney Weaver steals scenes as Lautner's therapist who is actually an agent although her final scene is kinda corny. Jason Isaacs and Maria Bello play Lautner's secret agent parents who meet their end. Well made marketing misfire. Score: 4 / 10

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

The awkward part is more than just the abduction

4/10
Author: Steve Pulaski from United States
4 August 2013

Abduction would work as competent, more functional action entertainment if it (a) wasn't so undistinguished and bland, (b) wasn't directed by John Singleton, the master behind the direct opposite filmmaking this kind of film requires, and (c) wasn't so peculiar and awkward in places. Other than those glaring issues, there's minor fun to be had here, if you're not to busy laughing at what is on display.

Taylor Lautner of The Twilight Saga stars as Nathan Harper, an emotionally and mentally troubled eighteen year old with known anger issues. He lives with two people, whom he thinks are his parents, and tries to live a normal life even though these mental problems sometimes control his dominant actions. While researching for a lengthy paper one night with his neighbor and crush Karen (Lily Collins), Nathan finds a picture of a child he believes was once him on a missing persons website. He digs deeper into the odd coincidence, and discovers it was indeed him, and that he has been part of a convoluted CIA conspiracy/abduction practice since he was a young child.

This could've been extremely serviceable-fare moreso than it already is if it would minimize the awkward instances I mentioned earlier. Specifically during the exposition scenes of the film, which takes up roughly thirty minutes of the runtime and are easily the strongest points of the film, certain lines of dialog and actions taken by the lead characters make for a strangely mood-killing, out of place series of cringe-worthy instances in the film that throw off the entire pace. For example, when Karen goes up to Nathan's room to research, she is immediately followed by Nathan's mother in the obligatory "behavior yourself" lecture. When asked if they want the door open, Nathan simply replies, "closed," with the camera zooming out to capture Karen's definitely surprised and embarrassed look on her face.

Almost immediately following the scene is one of Nathan and Karen studying, with Nathan leaning over Karen's shoulder, watching her navigate a website. Karen then looks over to Nathan's bicep, which is only mere inches from her faith and makes a notable "god, what a bicep" look that teen girls make in the presence of a hunky guy. Scenes like this are more fit for a low-budget pornographic picture; they are subtle, but questionable instances that don't really belong in an action film and are a tad shocking even if you're trying to set up a love-interest.

But these aren't all the awkward scenes in the film. Without going into too much detail, some others involve Nathan breaking down during this mess, Nathan and Karen namedropping celebrity face-mashups while navigating another missing persons site that shows how a missing child may look now, and in another scene, Nathan's father remarks how "hot" Karen got since she was a little girl.

Lautner will forever get heat for starring in the Twilight films, and to be fair, he isn't completely great here, but to criticize him heavily for just being in the film is too harsh. I simply view him as an actor victim to a flat, but lucrative franchise who will hopefully find guidance and direction in similar paths to other actors such as Channing Tatum. This is a speed-bump in a career that - optimistically speaking - will have a lot in store for him.

The film was directed by John Singleton, which I honestly can't believe. He must've been in a highly experimental phase, is all I can say. Singleton is responsible for three terrific films, Boyz N The Hood, Poetic Justice, and Baby Boy - nicknamed his "hood" trilogy. Those films humanize South Central Los Angeles into a place where blacks are real people with real problems that have gone ignored due to rampant stereotyping and little humanizing. All three hit home on some complex emotional level, whether it be because of an event or a startling truth about Singleton's depictions of urban areas.

The irony is Abduction is emotionally cold throughout its entire runtime. Its ending even falls flat on its face because there is almost nothing about these characters to care about. A half-hour devoted to decent exposition is disregarded entirely because the film feels the need to rush every instance and every situation without a clear direction.

I am shocked (and somewhat baffled) to note that the film was written by Shawn Christensen, who just won an Oscar for his live action short, "Curfew," which I declared my personal favorite after watching and reviewing all the shorts. To think that prior to filming that work of art he wasted his time and talent on a routine action flick is a tad heartbreaking. Not much left to say besides he seems to be moving in the right direction as of now.

Starring: Taylor Lautner and Lily Collins. Directed by: John Singleton.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Loved it

9/10
Author: truehimself-471-468782
13 January 2013

Well, if are like most people, you're not going to like this movie. Obviously, I am different from most people. I had a blast. Do I have lower standards? Hell no! I find 9 out of every 10 American films too boring to watch.

The only hook I that can actually make me watch a movie is superb acting or great action, preferably both. I rarely find a movie thrilling, but for me this one was all the way. I love the edge-of-your-seat drama-action type movies or shows like 24, The Event, Nikita and this was an endless thrill ride. No, there were no Oscar winning performances, but the performances given wee just fine, thank you very much.

I saw many of those high budget that were rated higher than 8, including The Avengers, and enjoyed this one so much more. Story line was elaborate, unpredictable, plenty of initial mystery and the action was non stop. If you are looking for heart felt performances go elsewhere. If you want to have a 2 hour adrenaline pumping experience in a well done action flick, look no further. It totally did it for me (as a comparison I almost fell asleep at The Avengers)

One more thing, some people do not enjoy fast paced sequences, or intense action and this kind of people will naturally evaluate a movie based on the acting or other things, and I don't blame them for it.

Viewers who can easily get into high action, will enjoy an action/drama movie provided the acting and storyline were decent. The acting in Abduction was more than reasonable for me. Certainly, good enough for me to enjoy the entire movie. This is not Jackie Chan type acting, but a rather dramatic style acting and VERY believable in my opinion. In fact, Taylor Launter did a fine job portraying exactly the type of character he was supposed to be portraying. I really enjoyed the constant thrill which started in the first few moments and only built up much more as the movie went along.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Actually really nice movie, not enough credit

7/10
Author: Eskil Tester from Netherlands
4 January 2013

I have read all reviews here and as usual on IMDb am shocked how negative many people are about many titles. Again about this movie, it is actually a nice decent, action movie, starting out with some pretty nice teen drama.

The problem on IMDb is that many folks have no idea what they are talking about and bash flicks for all the wrong reasons. If you like honest movies, with nice drama, decent action scene's, pretty good story telling, don't miss out on this movie.

acting of lead characters is enjoyable and actually pretty good. Don't miss out on this movie or many others, just because a few people rate it low and bash it. as usual i like a movie which was rated very low, and afterwards thought, damn those critics on IMDb really suck most of the time.

Be your own judge, and enjoy a nice flick like this :)

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

What the?

3/10
Author: T Mobile from the Local Fluff
4 June 2012

This movie suffered from a debilitating case of "cash in on the Twilight mania". From the opening scene of what's-his-name sitting on the hood of a truck doing 70 mph, to the shirtless scene so many commenters have already noted, to the overly long hyperbole of fake, but caring, dad beating the crap out of him to teach him some survival skills: the first 30 minutes of this movie was an obvious pandering to the millions of preteen girls who squeal at the very sight of him (I use him because I can't actually recall the actor's name and I am too lazy to click the back button on my browser to check as I type this).

This was of course very surprising given the presence of other billed actors like Sigourney Weaver. Why she and some of the others would associate themselves with this script I am not certain.

I can see the storyboard now. Kid being chased by both the CIA and a Russian black ops team for some valuable information only he possesses. Throw in a girl, some car chases, a few fist fights: OK not bad. I can see how this would make a good plot device. However, this one failed miserably.

Maybe if the opening scene had started from the train this movie could have garnered some of my respect. However, that would require dispensing with the pointless back story. So if you try to piece together some of the plot points you just end up spraining your brain. That's how bad the plot is.

Many have noted the similarities to Bourne Identity. Hahahahahahahahahaha. Are you serious? The only similarity is they are both movies. No more. OK, I'm done.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Loses momentum constantly

3/10
Author: poweroftigers from New Zealand
28 January 2012

The main problem with this movie is the directors inability to let go of Taylor's current twilight audience and appeal to the action genre audience- this is why we are left wanting. The momentum staggers constantly in this film due to terrible editing like the girl stumbling down the bank just so Taylor can catch her. This hot chick baggage gradually and easily becomes just annoying and the movie would have been a lot better if they simply explored the main character as angry and lethal- Without the insipid bonding of the girl and hero- In an action movie the chick sometimes plays a significant role- but there is nothing significant about this girls role apart from letting teenage girls dream they were her as Taylor holds her hand constantly. Taylor needs to choose his roles more carefully in the future if he doesn't want to be typecast as a young pretty face. A fate most actors his age seem to be unable to escape.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

There was no abduction in Abduction; Oversight, or cinematic tour de force?

Author: GlenFalkensteinTodaytoKnights from Australia
26 September 2011

Abduction pays homage to the Hitchcock classic North By Northwest through the central character of Nathan Price, portrayed by the often lauded yet intrinsically grounded Taylor Lautner - who brings to the table the youthful enthusiasm present in his seminal portrayal of the Werewolf Jacob. Like Cary Grant, he is thrust into a world of mystery, intrigue and government conspiracy when he is forced to flee from home with no one to trust, accompanied only by a contemporary Eva Marie Saint, in this case rising teen sensation Lily Collins.

The film also draws inspiration from Tarantino's modern classic Kill Bill, through the inclusion of a David Carradine-like character in the guise of the Nathan's absent father.

The dialogue alludes to modern conventions present in teen drama and escapist fantasy, for instance the Molly Ringwald 80's coming-of-age classics, the Chronicles of Narnia series and of course Stephanie Myers opus, the Twilight saga. Yet 'Abduction' goes beyond the limited scope of Twilight by engaging the audience in the machinations of a conspiracy reminiscent of cold war thrillers much like Spy Game and the more recent Bourne trilogy.

The intrigue of the central antagonist, Koslow, plays off the fears and concerns of today's youth, forcing Nathan to confront the tragedy within his family and the realities of his absent father. Perhaps most damning of all was Koslow's threat to 'delete' all of Nathan's Facebook friends - a true villain for the 21st century.

'Abduction' is a huge move for Swedish sensation Michael Nyqvist (Koslow) to the Hollywood mainstream following his turn in the Swedish adaptation of Steig Larson's Millennium trilogy. Abduction also serves as a wake-up call for less contemporary stars like Sigourney Weaver of Aliens fame, and Alfred Molina who rose to prominence following the release of adventure classic 'Raiders of the Lost Ark'.

The most risqué element of the story itself is the lack of any abduction within the film. We wonder what hidden meaning cinephiles will draw from what on surface would appear an error yet perhaps alludes to deeper elements within the plot.

Abduction is not just for Twi-hards, but lovers and believers in contemporary cinema, underdogs who love a film which punches above its weight and action junkies who relish the antics of a main character with Statham-like reflexes and prowess.

We eagerly await Lautner's next outing and hope that the promise of a sequel will be fulfilled.

Was the above review useful to you?

14 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Enjoyable

Author: vicky3937 from Indiana
24 September 2011

Is this going to be an Oscar contender, NO. Is it a good movie, definitely. Not too much blood, profanity and really no sex. There were 6 of us together from 13 to 55 and we all enjoyed it.

I was certainly entertained and that is what it is all about. Could some things have been different, well sure. They can make it better when we check in with Nathan in about 10 years.

Hopefully Sigorney Weaver and Alfred Molina will still be alive to do it. Taylor is still fairly new as far as acting goes and still has some things to learn. Hopefully he will in time and I will be watching all his movies.

If you want a nice enjoyable movie then you must see this one.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 18: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history