IMDb > Abduction (2011/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Abduction More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 168 reviews in total 

9 out of 16 people found the following review useful:

A movie that's as badly directed as it is acted.

Author: NIck Bassett ( from Bournemouth, UK
29 September 2011

Lautner plays Nathan, a seventeen year old guy who seems to live two separate lives. He is the popular adrenaline-seeking kid who rides to school on car bonnets, gets drunk at house parties, and has unspoken feelings for the girl next door, Karen - overacted here by Lily Collin. He's basically Mr 90210, with less cash.

But then there is the other side to Nathan. Behind closed doors, he regularly spars with his father in physical battles that become increasingly aggressive and relentless. He also suffers from insomnia and bouts of rage, issues that he discusses with his therapist, Dr Bennett (Weaver) in regular counselling sessions. In short, he is a mixed up young man.

And if life wasn't tough already, it's about to deal him one more major bad hand. When assigned to work with Karen on a project about missing kids, Nathan's life comes crashing down around him, when he sees his face staring back from one of the ads. Suddenly he has to deal with the fact that his parents aren't who they say they are, that his whole life is built upon a lie, and that everything he thought he knew, he didn't.

It's no surprise then, that he is rather preoccupied by the time the bad guys arrive to get him. Men with guns turn up, Nathan does a runner with lusty Karen in tow, and what ensues is a cat and mouse chase across the country. It usually sees the youngsters get to one place, a phone call gets tapped, and then they move on. Then some foreign guy turns up to beat them up, they beat him up. They move on. It's quite straightforward really. Predictable to a 't'.

That's not to say that it's not entertaining. Remember in the '90s, those action movies where the ability to act was a 'would like', and the ability to kick the asses of Eastern European villains was a 'must have'?

Well, those action movies were EVERYWHERE. A corrupt government or body take on one guy who is pretty good at high kicks, and which typically ended in some mass chase-cum-action sequence, set in a massive public forum such as a football game or a crowded theatre.

That is the standard of movie we're talking here. And if we consider Lautner's performance at that level, then he didn't do too badly at all. He may still have the acting prowess of Joey Tribbiani from 'Friends', but there's also something rather watchable about him.But, my guess is that this wasn't supposed to be seen as a B movie. It feels like a botched attempt to put together a Bourne movie aimed at the teen market. But the Bourne movies appealed to the teen market, so why dumb the formulae down? One of the big failings of 'Abduction' is that rationale and reason becomes so diluted, that you have to throw all common sense out of the window, for this movie to hold together.

But that's the least of the worries. By far, the biggest problem with this movie was the script and direction which was absolutely diabolical.

The camera work seems very lazy. When chatting with his therapist, the camera just pans back and forth, back and forth between Nathan and Dr Bennett, as if the man behind the lens is filming a wedding. Scenes in the gym with the Nathan and his pals, have so much happening on screen that you don't know who to look at. But with Lautner skipping up and down off centre, in a vest and short combo, you can imagine where my eyes were focused.

The worst part - or funniest part, depending on how I look at it - was that you never felt you were watching a natural performance from anyone involved. It felt SO staged throughout. In fact, this is the first time that I have watched a movie at the cinema and literally felt like I could input the director's comments at every appropriate moment.

"Taylor, hold her in your arms. Kiss her head. Now look up to the sky." What makes me feel like this is more a direction fault is that it was not exclusive to Lautner. Even acting legend, Sigourney Weaver moves like a spasmodic marionette, and whilst she delivers her dialogue, there is no real emotion behind them.

With lines like "I hate balloons" followed by a dramatic pause, you can understand why she might not be investing everything in to this rather underused character. But if she wasn't happy with the script, she'd have not taken the role.

The romance between the two youngsters is supposed to be fledgling and, to give them their dues, there is chemistry there. However, when the pair aren't getting amorous, the dialogue is laboured and riddled with clichés that leave you either laughing out loud, or cringing in to your seat.

Karen: Two days ago, we were high school kids. That seems like a lifetime ago.

Nathan: That's because…(pause)…it was.

As the pace picks up, Lautner actually leaves the cocksure Nathan behind him, which comes as a relief, and indeed shows some actual character progression. A few big bangs, and action sequences are thrown in to the mix and those also help to maintain general interest levels, entertaining the audience for fleeting moments in time.

However the final denouement is a real let down. No originality. No risk. No surprise. The bog standard, by-the-book ending is as lazy as the direction and I left the cinema feeling a little bit cheated. If 'Abduction' had presented itself as the kind of movie that it ended up being, I'd have known what I was letting myself in for. This is a no-frills B-Movie. Don't let the supporting cast make you think otherwise.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Hopelessly bland

Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
1 October 2011

The premise of the movie, the veteran cast and a talented director were the reasons why I wanted to see this film, despite Taylor Lautner and that the trailer looked awful. Okay, I'll give the film some credit, it is not as bad as the trailer suggested.

However, the rest is hopelessly bland. The direction is rather plodding and never really that focused. Abduction doesn't necessarily look cheap, but the editing lacks finesse and feels stilted and the camera angles often have a dry and frenzied look to it particularly in the action sequences.

The music had some decent rock tunes on its own, but they don't always suit the tone of the film. The action itself is alright, but I couldn't properly enjoy it because the editing felt very awkward and frenzied, so any skill and intimacy was lost.

Dialogue-wise, Abduction is awful. It is very laboured, cliché-ridden and doesn't flow very well at all, complete with pop-culture references that I agree will date quickly. I liked the concept of the film, but I wasn't engaged by the story. The more dramatic scenes are unemotive, stodgy and contains Abduction's most stilted moments, while the ending is anti-climatic, the beginning was cheesy and plot points are poorly incorporated and resolved. I admire films that deal with themes that people can identify with, with Abduction using isolation and loss. The film's problem however is that it doesn't do anything with them.

Abduction's acting doesn't fare much better, with nobody looking natural in their roles. Taylor Lautner(he as an actor and the Twilight films I am very indifferent to) is wooden in a very irritating sense. He doesn't have enough charisma for the action and he seems very disconnected in the dramatic elements of the film. His abs look great but that's it. Lily Collins looks wonderful, but does or is given little else beyond that. Alfred Molina is a good actor, but not given much to do, while Jason Isaacs is wasted and Sigourney Weaver tries her best but hindered by awful dialogue and a character, like everyone else in all fairness, that I didn't care for at the end of the day.

Overall, a hopelessly bland, derivative, poorly acted and stilted film. 2/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Gorgeous guy, great acting - this one you'll want to buy!

Author: JoySLeigh from United States
20 March 2015

Taylor Lautner, to start with, who is best known as Jacob in Twilight, offers a pleasantly surprising role that shows his depth of character (meaning, he's not acting when he plays this part; he's sharing himself as one who's experienced what his character portrays.

The movie, itself, has a solid plot, and the Director should be commended for successfully capturing us as an audience and in the way he chose to capture us by relating. It had this subtle hold on me, and I found I just didn't want to even pause it for a moment. This is a rare surprise, 'cause it's been awhile since a movie was that good and riveting. Best of all? You get to watch a total hulk become a man, in a tender, moving storyline, while blending the thrill of watching "Men in Action". Great movie!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The Bored Identity

Author: thesar-2 from United States
7 September 2014

Yeah, they were trying to capitalize on all three: Bourne Series, Taylor Lautner's good looks and the Twilight franchise. It did not work.

Abduction was an incredible rip-off and they spent very little time making it a movie on its own. And this was unbelievable with the amount of talent they had signed up for the film, including Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina and Maria Bello. No, of course I wasn't talking about the talentless Taylor Lautner.

Sure, he's fine to look at, but that should stop at underwear ad poster. He cannot carry a movie and even though he's nowhere near as bad as his Twilight counterparts, Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart, he's just blah and probably should've just gone into porn.

The movie follows Lautner's Nathan as he finds out he's a missing child and wanted for literally stupid reasons. He's thrown into a Goosebumps mystery, but luckily his non-charismatic "father" taught him to fight.

How this movie didn't just land on the direct-to-DVD schedule is beyond me. Admittedly, it's been more than a week and a half since I saw this and it has 97% left my brain. It was that unforgettable.

So, don't waste your time and abduct a real thriller. Like the Bourne movies this mocks.

* * *

Final thoughts: I only watched this for that fantastic How Did This Get Made? podcast where they ridicule bad movies. Unfortunately, I actually listened to that episode long ago and before I watched the movie – that was my first and last time doing that. This week, I will re-listen to it to hear their take on this terrible thriller.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Awful and Incompetent

Author: santosh-saddul from Mauritius
21 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Hands-down one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Nothing about this movie is good. All of its aspects fail to provide a good quality movie. A movie done without passion and with a lack and/or waste of talents. John Singleton might still be the youngest Best Director Oscar nominee ever, but his work on this film proves that this is far far behind us.

A lot of the movie doesn't make any sense (Nathan really never noticed he didn't had any picture of him as a baby? He still has that small t- shirt, with the mark still on it? How does his friend conveniently provides him with IDs and tickets? Where is the 'abduction'? ), and a lot of it is also so bad its hilarious, like "lets get some food!" while we are kissing passionately, or "I'll kill all your people, including your teachers, you will have no more friends on Facebook!", and would you really smile at how good the car looks while there are people out there trying to kill you?

The directing is bad, the writing is terrible, the acting ranges from awful to forgettable, the score is unoriginal, some of the cinematography is questionable, and the worst thing about this movie is the editing. Seriously, this has to be the worst editing I've ever seen (1 second long shots in a conversation scene?).

Anyway, I didn't had any expectations out of an action-thriller starring Taylor Lautner, but I didn't expect such an impressive level of awfulness from start to finish.

Avoid it at all cost.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Off to a good start

Author: kosmasp
10 March 2012

I did like how the movie started off. With the "rascal" Lautner (his character) and the mystery surrounding him. You get the wildest ideas (especially if you haven't heard about the story) where this might go. But as you may already know it gets pretty bog-standard after that. Lautner does his action-shtick and Singleton seems to do a for hire job after all.

The clichés keep mounting up and the action scenes keep on coming (not that it makes much sense). Someone like Jason Isaacs might have been able to ground the whole thing, if they'd let him (but they got other ideas for him). Mostly for Lautner fans and people who like simple action entertainment

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Watchable pulp.

Author: The Backseat Director from United Kingdom
9 March 2012

Taylor Lautner goes all out to prove he can carry a movie.

Shrugging off the wooden dialogue, questionable underlying philosophies and the miserable Kristen Stewart is certainly a step in the right direction! One thing he doesn't seem too great at, though, is carrying his rather bulky frame. He hulks where most would walk, and there's actually something about his gait that reminds me of a particular gentleman in my old gym who seemed to spend more time working on his quads than he did walking on them.

Still, what would Taylor be without his hulking bulk…

Nice to see Hollywood still like their identikit female companion to run holding hands, scream at the bad guys, hand Jacob (whoops, Nathan) weapons on cue, kiss-and-hold in the quiet moments, and ask that all important question: "are we going to die, Nathan?"

Surrounding them are the appropriately menacing Russian bad guys, inept and untrustworthy CIA agents and Little Miss "I'll do a small cameo for a big cheque" Weaver. At times, CIA chief Alfred Molina tries his hardest to channel Tommy Lee Jones' Fugitive lawman, but doesn't quite manage to be the put-upon man of experience.

The story is a dippy mish-mash of the action-thriller genre and certainly doesn't give you any of those 'oh hell' moments that these films really need to make your heart beat fast.

Abduction is just about good enough to make sure Taylor will get another crack at leading man; just next time, maybe try a couple more topless shots, son.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Very disappointed

Author: irish_kid_86 from United States
31 January 2012

I was actually kind of excited to see this movie and see what Taylor Launter could do beside being an angry Werewolf.... (Twilight saga). Needless to say I was very disappointed with this film.

Great idea of a movie and plot. Acting was not up to par at all. The combat seemed cheesy and not well executed. Also Lily Collins is a beautiful actress but they should have trimmed her eyebrows for this movie. I was watching this in a group of 4 and that is all we keep thinking of. I don't know if there is a reason for this or not.

I didn't even finish the movie. I grew very bored of the bad action scenes.

Like i said all in all a good plot and idea for a movie. Just not good acting.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Awful - Read Why

Author: Kurumu from United Kingdom
29 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

{WARNING: Contains film spoilers!}

I watched the film when it first came out, though it provided the occasional good yet somewhat average action and tense scenes. It was overall a painful experience.

The name of the film, it doesn't really even fit in much with the storyline. The extremely unrealistic hacking, and tracing, it just made me literally throw up. But the whole film, it was way too far fetched, especially as a teenager was the main character.

Maybe the film should have been aimed at a more mature target audience, use of profanity and more violence would've definitely made it a considerable amount better.

John Singleton & Shawn Christensen - You did a bad job. Other than making eye candy for the teenage girls with crushes on Taylor Lautner.

Taylor Lautner - Stick to being a wolf man in Twilight.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

What a shame

Author: Kelchubordnor from United Kingdom
1 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

so here is the story (what there is of it). Teenager finds out courtesy of missing children website that his parents aren't and that his real dad is a serious active special ops/splinter cell guy and his real mother is dead. Pretty much the story. Truth be told when Iwent to see this there were a lot of disruptive loud and annoying teens in the theatre but there you go 12A. Sigourney Weaver (aka Ripley) is wasted in this film and clearly did it for the pay check. The violence that there is is just pathetic, the kick-boxing and martial arts featured is just boring and dull. I was expecting much more than this.

Don't waste your money folks.

Was the above review useful to you?

Page 4 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review

Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history