IMDb > Abduction (2011/I) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Abduction
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Abduction More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 160 reviews in total 

13 out of 24 people found the following review useful:

Hopelessly bland

2/10
Author: TheLittleSongbird from United Kingdom
1 October 2011

The premise of the movie, the veteran cast and a talented director were the reasons why I wanted to see this film, despite Taylor Lautner and that the trailer looked awful. Okay, I'll give the film some credit, it is not as bad as the trailer suggested.

However, the rest is hopelessly bland. The direction is rather plodding and never really that focused. Abduction doesn't necessarily look cheap, but the editing lacks finesse and feels stilted and the camera angles often have a dry and frenzied look to it particularly in the action sequences.

The music had some decent rock tunes on its own, but they don't always suit the tone of the film. The action itself is alright, but I couldn't properly enjoy it because the editing felt very awkward and frenzied, so any skill and intimacy was lost.

Dialogue-wise, Abduction is awful. It is very laboured, cliché-ridden and doesn't flow very well at all, complete with pop-culture references that I agree will date quickly. I liked the concept of the film, but I wasn't engaged by the story. The more dramatic scenes are unemotive, stodgy and contains Abduction's most stilted moments, while the ending is anti-climatic, the beginning was cheesy and plot points are poorly incorporated and resolved. I admire films that deal with themes that people can identify with, with Abduction using isolation and loss. The film's problem however is that it doesn't do anything with them.

Abduction's acting doesn't fare much better, with nobody looking natural in their roles. Taylor Lautner(he as an actor and the Twilight films I am very indifferent to) is wooden in a very irritating sense. He doesn't have enough charisma for the action and he seems very disconnected in the dramatic elements of the film. His abs look great but that's it. Lily Collins looks wonderful, but does or is given little else beyond that. Alfred Molina is a good actor, but not given much to do, while Jason Isaacs is wasted and Sigourney Weaver tries her best but hindered by awful dialogue and a character, like everyone else in all fairness, that I didn't care for at the end of the day.

Overall, a hopelessly bland, derivative, poorly acted and stilted film. 2/10 Bethany Cox

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

The Bored Identity

2/10
Author: thesar-2 from United States
7 September 2014

Yeah, they were trying to capitalize on all three: Bourne Series, Taylor Lautner's good looks and the Twilight franchise. It did not work.

Abduction was an incredible rip-off and they spent very little time making it a movie on its own. And this was unbelievable with the amount of talent they had signed up for the film, including Sigourney Weaver, Alfred Molina and Maria Bello. No, of course I wasn't talking about the talentless Taylor Lautner.

Sure, he's fine to look at, but that should stop at underwear ad poster. He cannot carry a movie and even though he's nowhere near as bad as his Twilight counterparts, Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart, he's just blah and probably should've just gone into porn.

The movie follows Lautner's Nathan as he finds out he's a missing child and wanted for literally stupid reasons. He's thrown into a Goosebumps mystery, but luckily his non-charismatic "father" taught him to fight.

How this movie didn't just land on the direct-to-DVD schedule is beyond me. Admittedly, it's been more than a week and a half since I saw this and it has 97% left my brain. It was that unforgettable.

So, don't waste your time and abduct a real thriller. Like the Bourne movies this mocks.

* * *

Final thoughts: I only watched this for that fantastic How Did This Get Made? podcast where they ridicule bad movies. Unfortunately, I actually listened to that episode long ago and before I watched the movie – that was my first and last time doing that. This week, I will re-listen to it to hear their take on this terrible thriller.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Awful and Incompetent

1/10
Author: santosh-saddul from Mauritius
21 June 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Hands-down one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Nothing about this movie is good. All of its aspects fail to provide a good quality movie. A movie done without passion and with a lack and/or waste of talents. John Singleton might still be the youngest Best Director Oscar nominee ever, but his work on this film proves that this is far far behind us.

A lot of the movie doesn't make any sense (Nathan really never noticed he didn't had any picture of him as a baby? He still has that small t- shirt, with the mark still on it? How does his friend conveniently provides him with IDs and tickets? Where is the 'abduction'? ), and a lot of it is also so bad its hilarious, like "lets get some food!" while we are kissing passionately, or "I'll kill all your people, including your teachers, you will have no more friends on Facebook!", and would you really smile at how good the car looks while there are people out there trying to kill you?

The directing is bad, the writing is terrible, the acting ranges from awful to forgettable, the score is unoriginal, some of the cinematography is questionable, and the worst thing about this movie is the editing. Seriously, this has to be the worst editing I've ever seen (1 second long shots in a conversation scene?).

Anyway, I didn't had any expectations out of an action-thriller starring Taylor Lautner, but I didn't expect such an impressive level of awfulness from start to finish.

Avoid it at all cost.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Off to a good start

5/10
Author: kosmasp
10 March 2012

I did like how the movie started off. With the "rascal" Lautner (his character) and the mystery surrounding him. You get the wildest ideas (especially if you haven't heard about the story) where this might go. But as you may already know it gets pretty bog-standard after that. Lautner does his action-shtick and Singleton seems to do a for hire job after all.

The clichés keep mounting up and the action scenes keep on coming (not that it makes much sense). Someone like Jason Isaacs might have been able to ground the whole thing, if they'd let him (but they got other ideas for him). Mostly for Lautner fans and people who like simple action entertainment

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Watchable pulp.

3/10
Author: The Backseat Director from United Kingdom
9 March 2012

Taylor Lautner goes all out to prove he can carry a movie.

Shrugging off the wooden dialogue, questionable underlying philosophies and the miserable Kristen Stewart is certainly a step in the right direction! One thing he doesn't seem too great at, though, is carrying his rather bulky frame. He hulks where most would walk, and there's actually something about his gait that reminds me of a particular gentleman in my old gym who seemed to spend more time working on his quads than he did walking on them.

Still, what would Taylor be without his hulking bulk…

Nice to see Hollywood still like their identikit female companion to run holding hands, scream at the bad guys, hand Jacob (whoops, Nathan) weapons on cue, kiss-and-hold in the quiet moments, and ask that all important question: "are we going to die, Nathan?"

Surrounding them are the appropriately menacing Russian bad guys, inept and untrustworthy CIA agents and Little Miss "I'll do a small cameo for a big cheque" Weaver. At times, CIA chief Alfred Molina tries his hardest to channel Tommy Lee Jones' Fugitive lawman, but doesn't quite manage to be the put-upon man of experience.

The story is a dippy mish-mash of the action-thriller genre and certainly doesn't give you any of those 'oh hell' moments that these films really need to make your heart beat fast.

Abduction is just about good enough to make sure Taylor will get another crack at leading man; just next time, maybe try a couple more topless shots, son.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Very disappointed

2/10
Author: irish_kid_86 from United States
31 January 2012

I was actually kind of excited to see this movie and see what Taylor Launter could do beside being an angry Werewolf.... (Twilight saga). Needless to say I was very disappointed with this film.

Great idea of a movie and plot. Acting was not up to par at all. The combat seemed cheesy and not well executed. Also Lily Collins is a beautiful actress but they should have trimmed her eyebrows for this movie. I was watching this in a group of 4 and that is all we keep thinking of. I don't know if there is a reason for this or not.

I didn't even finish the movie. I grew very bored of the bad action scenes.

Like i said all in all a good plot and idea for a movie. Just not good acting.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Awful - Read Why

3/10
Author: Kurumu from United Kingdom
29 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

{WARNING: Contains film spoilers!}

I watched the film when it first came out, though it provided the occasional good yet somewhat average action and tense scenes. It was overall a painful experience.

The name of the film, it doesn't really even fit in much with the storyline. The extremely unrealistic hacking, and tracing, it just made me literally throw up. But the whole film, it was way too far fetched, especially as a teenager was the main character.

Maybe the film should have been aimed at a more mature target audience, use of profanity and more violence would've definitely made it a considerable amount better.

John Singleton & Shawn Christensen - You did a bad job. Other than making eye candy for the teenage girls with crushes on Taylor Lautner.

Taylor Lautner - Stick to being a wolf man in Twilight.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

What a shame

Author: Kelchubordnor from United Kingdom
1 October 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

so here is the story (what there is of it). Teenager finds out courtesy of missing children website that his parents aren't and that his real dad is a serious active special ops/splinter cell guy and his real mother is dead. Pretty much the story. Truth be told when Iwent to see this there were a lot of disruptive loud and annoying teens in the theatre but there you go 12A. Sigourney Weaver (aka Ripley) is wasted in this film and clearly did it for the pay check. The violence that there is is just pathetic, the kick-boxing and martial arts featured is just boring and dull. I was expecting much more than this.

Don't waste your money folks.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Truly Awful

Author: mcleodmackenzie from London
4 November 2011

Without question the worst movie I've seen this year. I'm actually angry that i wasted an hour of my life before switching off. I didn't think much of Taylor as an actor before this film and nothing has changed in that respect. However he was not the worst aspect of this movie. That award would go jointly to the script writers and director, who frankly should be rounded up and shot. (Actually that would be too quick, they should be forced to sit down and watch this film on loop until they want to kill themselves, doubt any would make it past the 3 hour mark before tearing out their own eyes!) A special mention should also go to the producers, who have managed to spend $35000000 on a film with all the production value of a hallmark TV movie, good effort guys!!!

AVOID THIS EXCREMENT!

(Or buy as Christmas present on DVD for the person you hate most in the world)

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Awful, just awful

Author: kram_mirjana3 from Sweden
4 November 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is truly an awful movie. I haven't even seen it all but I just had to write about this crappy movie. What a shame that some of the actors in this movie who's actually good actors otherwise, even considered being in this awful, awful movie.

This text may contatin spoiler!

It is truly anticipated that Taylor has to take of his shirt and show his abs in every movie. What is this? It's not like we're Mormons, we actually see abs once in a while and don't have to see THIS godforsaken boy's abs in EVERY movie he's in.

Before Taylor laid in the grass shirtless, he was at a party and runs in to Lily/Karen and then we see the most awful scene in the movie, Lily start's to whisper something in her boyfriend ears.

I'm like, who does THAT? Starts to whisper something to someone at a party right in front of someone. After that scene, the writers/producers set the bar pretty low for this movie.

Taylor/Nathan took his "parents" death pretty good considering that his goal seems to be doing Lily/Karen on the train and lay with her in the woods, Just like R-Pats in Twilight with "his Karen".

That is just one reason among ten of thousands of others that this movie should be annulled.

If all the hormonal teenagers would stop adoring Taylor, R-pats, Justin Beiber and many more, we'd actually had good actors in movies like this and people winning awards for their talent, and not because teenagers start to dry hump a chair as soon as they hear their name.

The only thing that has been abducted was the 106 minutes of your life, after watching this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 16: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history