The Innkeepers (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
259 Reviews
Sort by:
3/10
Interesting Premise But Doesn't Deliver
zzoaozz2 January 2012
This movie had a lot of potential with an interesting hook and great location but failed to deliver all around.

A horror movie relies on tension and atmosphere to build fear. This movie takes a very long and tedious time establishing characterization instead of mood. Unfortunately, the two main characters and in fact all the characters in the very small cast are so two-dimensional and stereotypical that all that time was thoroughly wasted. To add insult to injury, there is even a cheap jump scene at the beginning that breaks what little mood is established by the opening credits and pans of the set. When the movie finally reaches its climax, it still is not scary or horrific. It just falls flat. The ending was unsatisfying as well with no real resolution or twist.

It's just good enough to keep you watching and waiting for something to happen, but it never does.
181 out of 263 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Might've been good...
callist2 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
If something had actually happened. for a movie of 1 hour and 35 minutes, there's surprisingly little in the way of story or plot. Now, at first I was actually excited, as I think most good horror movies are masters of building up the anticipation - 30 to 45 minutes of build up isn't inappropriate, but this movie felt like it was straight up 1 hours and 35 minutes of build up.

It almost felt like they had too much time to show the characters (pranking and having fun with each other, mostly, which became old real quick) and their relationships and too little time to resolve the ghost plot. It had the makings of a (bit cliché, but hey) storyline that, with careful execution, could have made for a nice horror flick with more subtle horror compared to all the splatters that are out these days. Instead, we got almost nothing.

This movie left me with so many questions and just kind of a "huh?" feeling - I like when everything isn't answered or when things aren't stated directly on screen - when you have to think a little bit - but this is seriously taking it way, way, WAY too far.

Instead of feeling like the movie set up some expectations and rules and then satisfied these, it just felt...

Inadequate. Very, very inadequate. And confused, and kinda hollow. Terrible disappointment.
64 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The Innkeepers
godallmightybrownie5 January 2012
I don't usually write reviews but after watching this film and then looking at the latest reviews posted on here i felt compelled to give this a serious review.

If you like Slasher movies where girls who fall down a lot are being chased by a maniac with a weapon. THIS FILM IS NOT FOR YOU.

If you like Zombie movies with lots of blood and gore. THIS FILM IS NOT FOR YOU.

If you've got the attention span of a goldfish and like to chat to your mates all the way through a movie. (Guess What).

Right now the rantings out the way.

If you like sitting in a dark cinema/room, late at night with no distractions and you like ghost stories, then watch this film. I thought the acting, directing and sound score of this movie all worked really well and that with ghost stories less is more. The odd noise here and there, was that a ghost? or wasn't it? The uncertainty of whether this is real or not is what a ghost story should be all about, yes it's slow but that builds up the atmosphere, which i thought was great and there's some genuinely jumpy parts in the film. Sat here on my own in the dark watching this film had me gripped from start to finish. It's been a long time since i've seen a film this good and i recommend this to anyone who's into ghost stories.
70 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A waste of time
stevesilvester17 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Total nonsense. Weak plot, bad acting. The movie is just an empty box,somebody forgot to fill it. Acting is at amateurs level, except for Kelly McGillis of course. I'm an horror movies addicted, so i've watched this movie just to add another notch on my belt, but really it was no fun and not scary at all. At the end of the movie the girl goes looking for Lee down the basement, and this is so unreal. They were packing their stuff before leaving and the girl thinks Lee was going to play hide and seek?

C'mon, that tells me a lack of ideas on how ending the movie and not just that...
48 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Hey daddio, I don't wanna go, down to the basement!
Spikeopath7 July 2012
The Innkeepers is written and directed by Ti West. It stars Sara Paxton, Pat Healy and Kelly McGillis. Music is by Jeff Grace and cinematography by Eliot Rockett. It's the last few business days at the historically spooky Yankee Pedlar Inn, and two employees spend their hours by indulging in some amateur ghost hunting. But as the clock ticks down it becomes apparent that the hotel's haunted past is anything but an urban legend.

Following on from his excellent slow burn girl-in-peril horror film, House of the Devil, Ti West determinedly sticks to his principals for The Innkeepers. This automatically alienates a good portion of the horror faithful, especially in the younger echelons, for those who need and seek thrill after thrill, a ghost train ride of a horror movie, The Innkeepers is sure to be a hard slog to get through. But for a certain niche in horrorville, where the adults reside who love a sombre tone, character and story build up and a last quarter pay off, then The Innkeepers is a little gem of a creeper.

That's not to say that West's movie is flawless, far from it, there is still dumb decisions made, including a major league one that the film's terrifying conclusion hinges on, and the Inn itself is not exactly the stuff of haunted building nightmares. That is until we go down to the basement or up to the deserted third floor....But West has such a good sense of mood and the good sense to involve us so thoroughly with the two protagonists, both excellently portrayed by Paxton and Healy, that once things eventually take the turn into the realm of the outright scary, the little missteps are easily forgiven. West's traditional values to be applauded, not frowned upon. Bonus, too, is McGillis in a decidedly off kilter performance as an ex-actress-come psychic healer who likes a drink and has a significant role to play in proceedings.

The haunted house spooker is making something of a come back lately, and it's great to see directors prepared to get their movies out there and offer up an alternative to the over populated slice and dice formula. Ti West is showing himself to be a friend to the grown-up chill seeker, long may he continue in this vein. 8/10
50 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A throwback of a ghost story and a good one..
jdw56565 February 2012
For the over 25 crowd who miss great ghost stories like The Changeling, Poltergiest,The Others, or eerie films like Suspiria and The Fog(Carpenter's original not the horrid remake)- heck I'll even throw Insidious in there, then check out The Innkeepers. It is a bit of a slow burner at times but is consistently spooky, scary, and even during the down time has you involved and getting to know the characters dwelling in this Gothic tale.

Really good work in my opinion. If you are into Saw or Horror Remakes you can let this one go, but if you like being spooked on a stormy night with your other half sitting along side you gnawing on your shoulder then this is quite a fun ride! The director of this Ti West made House Of The Devil last year which I thought was entertaining if not a bit boring throughout. It showed the potential and he nailed it with The Innkeepers. A ghost story about an old hotel with a few secrets and a small yet interesting cast of specters and human characters, namely the female lead(Actress Sara Paxton) who while working the last weekend before the hotel is closed for good decides along with the other employee(Actor Pat Healy) to have a few scares ghost hunting the place. Kelly Mcgillis, yes that one- Maverick's gal from Top Gun has a great supporting role in this as a once former actress turned medium.

Anyway, it is just a good flick and will have you thinking about the ending for some time after it finishes. Check it out so hopefully more films like this are green lit. The Inkeepers surprised me quite a bit..
75 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
The Most Boring Horror Movie in Years
meldme11 January 2012
It's quite difficult to form any real opinion on this movie, as it is so bland. Two bored employees working at a hotel just before it closes after the tourist season, find ghostly goings on. And erm, that's about it. It is a full forty minutes, yes FORTY, before anything out of the ordinary happens, and even that is a piano key moving on it's own.

Prior to that nerve-shredder, we are treated to a chunk of the hum-drum working lives of the two employees, who share a common interest in the paranormal, mostly conveyed via a laptop they have at the front desk. There are a small number of guests at the hotel - a woman and her son, a woman who used to be an actress, now a self-proclaimed 'psychic', and later on, an elderly man.

There is some waffle about the ghost of a woman who is supposed to haunt the hotel and the lacklustre staff wander around sporadically (some bespectacled net-surfer and the girl from Last House on the Left, Sarah Paxton). The supernatural elements escalate further into the movie, but by then you will probably have fallen asleep, started staring at the carpet or at best, trying to amuse yourself with guessing the ending. The latter proves a fruitless task, by the way, as whoever wrote this story either has the imagination of a dead gerbil or simply couldn't be bothered.

And before anyone thinks 'ooh, he probably doesn't get the subtle nuances of psychological horror,' trust me, I do. 'The Blair witch Project' and 'Session 9', to name but two, showed thought and enthusiasm, but, like the employees of this hotel in the first half of this movie's running time, the makers of 'The Innkeepers' have somehow fused boredom and horror together. The result is shockingly tedious.
54 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Uh... I dug it. (spoliers)
fatelovesarebel8426 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Let me start by saying this movie isn't for everyone and not because some people are idiots - just different sensibilities. That's cool. But I do; however, don't believe it deserves the score it has - esp with all the terrible horror movies pumped out yearly. This one should get some credit. It's a subtle horror moving that builds great tension and has some good scares.

::SPOILERS:: The end was a bit open ended, but I don't mind that. Movies that keep the wheels in my head turning after the credits role are some of my faves.

As far as "getting it" I found that the characters spelled it out during the movie. The hotel is closing, Clair believes that Luke has seen the ghost and she's becoming increasingly desperate to see something supernatural before she loses her chance. Luke explains that she needs to be extremely careful when dealing with ghost/spirit hunting or trying to make contact because you have to be in the right state of mind otherwise you can start seeing things and will spiral out of control. As the movie goes on she begins to believe there are things happening around her, mysterious noises, etc. Every time she investigates and it's nothing she gets a HUGE scare and has to take a hit off her inhaler. During Claire's meeting with Lee she keeps asking if the spirit there is O'Malley, even after Lee tells her NO she still keeps speaking to O'Malley and completely disregards Lee's warning to her. "It was an accident/Stay out of the basement". Claire applies this to O'Malley even though it was a warning about/for her.

So Claire is completely wrapped up in believing O'Malley is there and making contact with her. The point that pushes her over mentally is seeing the old man in the tub. This is the point where she spirals out of control. She's seeing things, shes ends up in the basement (where she inadvertently locked herself in previously )where she is completely terrified without her inhaler after her tumble down the stairs. Asthma attack = death.

Have it figured out? Thought so, but ah so... slamming door scene in the end. Was she seeing things or is there something supernatural happening.. hmm. Maybe the whole O'Malley thing was just a story but Claire's death there ends up being the real ghost at the hotel after all the rumors. THAT is what I liked about this movie. It keeps you thinking and second guessing yourself. It's a ghost story. Are there ghosts - do you believe. Because that's the difference between being scared or not. Is it real or fake? I wasn't bothered that I didn't' get a definitive answer - although a door slamming shut in an empty hotel does suggest something strange - I can't say for sure.

In the end I found the movie to be spooky, the imagery great, the acting done very well and it left me thinking. Even a little creeped out to walk down the dark hallway in my very old house at night.

I enjoy a good ghost story and I believe this delivered. Can't wait to see what the director does next!
23 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A very decent horror film
george_aslf15 January 2012
After seeing brilliant "House of Devil" I decided to check out other movies of Ti West, who seems to be a very talented and promising film director. Even lots of negative reviews on IMDb did not dissuade me to watch this film. "Innkeeprers" turned out to be a very well made horror film which will be truly appreciated by more mature horror movie fans looking forward for suspense rather than lots of gore and high bodycount. Tension builds up slowly, gradually reaching the climax. Actors are doing a great job and director is a true master of the genre attempting to produce a small masterpiece in a minimalistic premise, only a few actors and almost no special effects. Watch this movie at night, alone, with lights off and I promise you that you are going to be scared.
36 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
So Boring
lizmari-221-82064431 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is less scary than an episode of Scooby Doo. The story is very boring. The characters are bland. The acting is wooden. There is no build-up of tension.

It's very hard to believe that the story fails so completely to be scary. Old buildings by their very nature are creepy, but this hotel is less creepy than the office I work in.

The dialogue isn't engaging in the least and since the movie is more dialogue than action, that's a big problem.

All the "scares" are stuffed into the last few minutes of the movie. If I hadn't seen the trailer I would have thought there was no ghost in this movie, but it did pop up at the last second.

Basically, if you've seen the trailer, you don't need to see the movie.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A Simultaneously Old-Fashioned and Tongue-in-Cheek Deconstruction
Simon_Says_Movies6 February 2012
Welcome to the Yankee Pedlar Inn, current residency: five. Living, that is. Tasked with minding the 100-year-old establishment the weekend prior to it shutting its doors for good, employees Claire (Sara Paxton) and Luke (Pat Healy) find that besides the lone, mysterious woman (Kelly McGillis) and mother/son duo that populate the creaky old domicile, something more sinister lurks.

From 31-year-old director Ti West, who in 2010 directed the wonderfully retro The House of the Devil, comes The Innkeepers, a simultaneously old-fashioned (and unabashedly so) and tongue-in-cheek deconstruction of overused genre clichés such as "the boo moment." But that isn't to say The Innkeepers doesn't embrace these staples with equal affection, and eventually utilizes them wonderfully (and with ample flair) as things escalate toward the chilling final act.

What initially distinguishes this supernatural thriller from others of its kind is that the first third of the film offers barely a hint that this is a horror movie. Sure, nobody would be mistaken that this wasn't a fright flick, but the debut act is more concerned with the character development of Claire and Luke and showing the simply the mundane nature of running a practically (excuse the wording) dead business. These scenes are punctuated with silver-tongued dialogue that would make Sorkin or Tarantino smile. Not to say that West's script is on the same level, but it is certainly akin to that style and speed of exchange.

This is essentially a three-man show (though to be more accurate a two- woman and one-man show) led by the wonderful Paxton. She exudes a down-to-earth sexiness and plays Claire as a bit of an oddball but with a magnetic spark, a performance that couldn't have been more different than her work in last fall's Shark Night 3D. This proves she is a legitimate talent to watch and can hold her own when she is only required to emote through silence.

Healy is also great as Luke, who is even more of a nerdy outcast than his co-worker. He passes his time on the graveyard shift by watching porn and working on his paranormal-themed website. He has a great, easy chemistry with Paxton throughout.

The last remaining piece of the character trifecta comes from McGillis' Leanne, a former television star who has since turned to the profession of medium. She goes great work as more complex "Crazy Ralph" character though her inclusion at all lacks any real necessity, only to point out the ominous.

The Innkeepers has clever, underlying elements from the "are they crazy or not?" horror movie structure, and though there is never a doubt of certain characters' sanity, questions are certainly posed as to the truths behind what transpired. West's flick also has a clever foil to the normally dopey (and often infuriating) cliché of what I shall now refer to as the "door paradox": when stuff goes poltergeist-style crazy, use it! You see these characters unwillingly provoke the dark history of the inn, determined to capture some proof of paranormal infestation before it closes for good. The bumps in the night only spur them further (especially Claire) right into the finale, which finds her way over her pretty blond head.

A lack of gore and a very deliberate pace may dissuade those accustomed to the quick-cut, bloody flashiness of mainstream offerings, but this movie again proves ample talent exists in indie circles. Overall very humorous as its pokes and prods at the genre, there is a sense of solemn irony as the credits role. It is not a depressing finale, nor is it a disturbing one; I would simply peg it as especially fitting. A great score and a definite '70s vibe (far from as intentionally apparent as it was in The House of the Devil, which was in fact set in the 1970s) allows The Innkeepers to rise above recent horror offerings. At the very least, this is a passionate and noteworthy salute to the origins of the modern-day horror flick.
48 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Hotel of Hitchcockian Horror
Chris_Pandolfi3 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I've noticed that when a filmmaker has the temerity to develop horror movie characters beyond what would be required of them in slashers, which is usually nothing, the films are deemed slow, uneventful, and completely lacking in thrills and chills. Have we lost our ability to care about what happens to these people, to appreciate the anticipation of a scary moment, to savor suspense as it builds to a screaming climax? Genuine terror has been all but overshadowed by immediate gratification; if there isn't a decapitation or stabbing or throat-slitting every five minutes, it isn't worth watching. Thank God for directors like Ti West. With his previous film, "The House of the Devil," and now with his new film, "The Innkeepers," he adheres to the belief that horror movies benefit greatly from slow, almost Hitchcockian cinematic approaches.

Although divided into three chapters and an epilogue, "The Innkeepers" is not about plot so much as it is about craft, namely the ability to generate apprehension in situations where just about nothing happens. When a young woman sits alone in a darkened room, we find that we're waiting right along with her – and like her, we have absolutely no idea what we're waiting for. We do have some pretty good ideas, though. And in those agonizing moments in the darkness, we clench our fists, grit our teeth, grip our armrests, and shut our eyes halfway because we expect that our ideas just might become a reality. Sometimes they do, usually with a reliable but effective pop out scare. Sometimes, we're left hanging. And yet we're still frightened because we know the fear will build up all over again in a future scene.

Because the film is not so strict about its plot, there will inevitably be elements that are laughably cliché, not the least of which is the old woman who claims to possess psychic powers. She even has what she calls a pendulum – a cone-shaped crystal attached to a chain. She lets it dangle from her finger as she tries to make contact with the spiritual world, and of course, she makes the vague but grim predictions of doom and gloom. Whether she's a crackpot or the real deal is not the point. She's a piece of the atmospheric puzzle. So too is the film's primary location, a New England hotel built in the nineteenth century and now just days away from closing. And then there's the hotel's back story, which involves the legend of a woman who died in one of the rooms; it's said that her ghost haunts the premises, and that one should never, ever go in the basement.

Central to the film are the title characters, two people who are fascinating solely because they're developed against our expectations. One is Luke (Pat Healy), a middle-aged man who runs a website dedicated to the hotel's supposed bouts of paranormal activity. The other is Claire (Sara Paxton), whose age is never revealed but could conceivably be in either high school or college. Because this is the hotel's final weekend, they have a very limited number of guests. This means that they have to spend those nights there rather than at their homes. This also means that they're given ample opportunity to develop as characters. The two seem to have a friendly sibling-like relationship, although people are liable to say that most surprising things when they're drunk. Whereas Luke is laid back and a bit cynical, Claire is a bit more high-strung, which at times makes her seem amusingly adolescent.

In the course of the film, a grand total of four guests will be seen. There's an angry mom (Alison Bartlett) and her young son (Jake Schlueter), who, according to Luke, are hiding from the woman's husband. There's the aforementioned psychic, Leanne Rease-Jones (Kelly McGillis), who was at one time an actress on a TV show Claire adored. And then there's an old man (George Riddle), who oozes creepiness from every pore. He insists on a room on the third floor, for that was where he and his unseen wife stayed on their honeymoon. It's a nostalgic visit – one last stay before the hotel closes. He shuffles along with a suitcase in his hand, speaking in short bursts with an unsettlingly low voice.

Strange things have been happening over the past several nights. Perhaps the ghost of the woman is trying to make contact. Claire tries to capture footage with one of those instruments paranormal investigators are typically seen with in movies like this, which is to say I have no idea what it is or if it's even real. Not that it matters all that much, especially during the final twenty minutes; that's the point at which the scares happen much more frequently. Despite what we're shown, the reality of the situation is left a little obscure. The only thing we can truly make sense out of is the epilogue, and even then, it's based entirely on what we see rather than on what makes sense. Whether or not that was the intention, I'm grateful that "The Innkeepers" ended with a single shot that maintains the director's sense of style. To describe it would only ruin the suspense.

-- Chris Pandolfi (www.atatheaternearyou.net)
30 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Stephen King meets Walt Disney
Mr_Ectoplasma30 May 2012
"The Innkeepers" has a fairly simple plot: Claire (Sara Paxton) and Luke (Pat Healy) are two employees at the Yankee Pedlar Inn, a once-grand hotel that is in its last weekend of operation. With business extremely slow, Claire and Luke, both amateur ghost hunting enthusiasts, decide to spend their last weekend at the hotel finding proof of the ghost of Madeline O'Malley, a bride who killed herself there. With the help of a former actress-turned-psychic (Kelly McGillis) who is one of the hotel's only guests, Claire and Luke's weekend takes some unexpected and scary turns.

That's really all there is here; a paper-thin plot with all the hooks and gimmicks of classic ghost stories (old hotels, ghostly brides, psychics, voices at night), and yet, for some reason, this film WORKS. The atmosphere is rich and the scares are predated by a great deal of suspense and well-plotted anticipation; the acting is also very good and the performances are lively. I think these things alone give the film a distinct personality of its own.

Some have complained that "nothing happens" in the film for over an hour, which is partially true; there really isn't much momentum until the third act, but the first and second act are filled with a lot of surprisingly entertaining interaction between the characters (elevated by quirky performances from Paxton, Healy, and even McGillis), supplemented with the occasional ghostly activity and the gloominess of the old New England hotel. I was never once bored by this film, despite others' proclamations of boredom.

I'd also like to mention the goofy demeanor that runs through the film from beginning to end— there's a sense of lucidity and humor in terms of how straightforward and "by the books" the ghosts are in this film, which actually reminded me of something you'd find on the Disney Channel during the Halloween season. On the flipside of that, the dark and brooding atmosphere combined with the psychic plot twinges was reminiscent of Stephen King stories. It's an odd combination, but I think the quirkiness combined with darker plot elements is what makes the movie stand out.

By the end of the film, you may be asking yourself "what was the point?", and the answer is that there wasn't one, really. But that's besides the point, if that makes sense. "The Innkeepers" is the kind of movie you watch curled up by a fireplace on a cold night merely for the experience. It's like a classic, by-the-books ghost story translated to film; straightforward, atmospheric, sometimes uneventful, but ultimately a lot fun despite having any greater meaning. 8/10.
46 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Innkeepers, direct me to the nearest bed please, because this was a snoozefest...
Paul Magne Haakonsen13 July 2013
As much as I enjoy horror movies, I never gotten around to watching "The Innkeepers", not before now anyway. Having found the DVD at a great bargain on the Amazon marketplace, I finally got around to watching it.

And with all the hype and great reviews and praise the movie had received, I believed I was in for a rather pleasant and enjoyable movie. Well, I was surprised, this wasn't even anything remotely close to anything I had expected.

First of all, you need to get well over one hour into the movie before anything starts to happen. And even then, it is nothing overly scary or overly impressive.

Don't get me wrong, the movie is nice to look at, it is well shot, well edited and well acted, however it is just anything but scary. And having to sit for over an hour without anything happening is just downright boring and could be considered torture.

The hotel itself and the sets were nice, and it did have a very nice touch to it. Sort of a very realistic and idyllic sense in the imagery throughout the movie.

The DVD cover brandishes "the scariest ghost story for years..." and "a classic in every sense". Well, of course we are all of different mindsets and views, but I beg to differ on those two statements.

Sara Paxton (playing Claire), Pat Healy (playing Luke) and Kelly McGillis (playing Leanne Rease-Jones) all did good jobs with their given characters, and had a lot riding on their backs, as there was almost no other people in the movie. So the pressure of performing well and carrying the movie was great, but they rose up to the occasion.

"The Innkeepers" was predictable, anything but scary and rather disappointing. This is definitely not a movie that will be haunting my DVD player for a second watching.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Definitely not worth the time.
Crys L4 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This is a crap movie. I don't mind slow movies, but this one took the cake. Its so slow that when things actually DO start happening, they're completely cliché and lackluster. Plus it doesn't help that the "ghost" is just some chick in a wedding gown and white contacts. I was completely disappointed with this movie and thats hard to do because I LOVE horror flicks. The ending was not good by any means, its like it just .... ends. No closure, kind of out of no where. (Maybe they ran out of ideas???) I only gave it two stars because the IDEA for the movie was decent, but don't bother watching it unless you have nothing else in mind. I can't believe anyone would find any of the parts "scary" or even "good" for that matter (same people who find Cabin Fever to be scary?) Most of the time I was watching it, it just made me completely annoyed as the 2 main characters seemed to fall for every typical horror flick trick in the book and you end up yelling at the TV. The writer of this movie must have watched quite a few scary movies in their time and picked out every overly used scene in each before coming up with this gem.

I had high hopes with this one, even thru the first half but then I got bored and completely annoyed .... which lasted til the end, and the ending only made it worse.

In other words, this movie is lame.
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Intelligent slow build thriller for film fans
espurious19 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I watch films with a score of less than 6/10 with trepidation. They can be either poor, or polarising. The Innkeepers seems to be the latter.

This was a pleasant surprise. Written and directed for intelligent fans of horror, the audience is led on a path of discovery at the same pace as the main characters. There's no hand holding here and some parts need to be filled in by the viewer. Obscure references without explanation of their origin was a selling point for me (Gozer anyone?) There are plenty of creepy moments throughout with lots of tension and build up without resorting to traditional scare tactics. There's even a 'screamer' video early on to show you that this is not that type of film.

The film concentrates on the characters in the hotel as much as it does the 'ghosts' and it's all the better for it. We see what motivates each person and how spending time in the Inn affects them as events unfurl.

This film feels fresh in a sea of found footage/remake/running down halls screaming films that are popular just now and it's all the better for it.

The ending may seem a bit flat, but it fits perfectly with the rest of the film. I for one enjoyed it and hope that it finds its audience.
16 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Like watching Paint Dry
missismiggins4 January 2012
I looked at the IMDb rating, thought I would give this movie a go.

What a waste of time! It is like watching paint dry or waiting for grass to grow. A complete waste of 90 or so minutes.

How anyone would dare to compare this pile of junk to Jack Nicholson in the Shining beggars belief.

This movie is not fit to lick the boots of that movie.

The characters are 2 dimensional wooden cutouts, the guy on the hotel reception that looks like Woody Woodpecker for instance.... who thought this garbage up? Do yourselves a favour - go and watch The Shining, this isn't worth a dime, it was actually painful to try and sit through the movie. It certainly isn't horror, and it is barely a movie.
47 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
my advice!
stevenvdwekken1 February 2012
What probably started as a paranormal ghost adventure in an empty hotel (or inn, whatever) ended up as this.. monster. Why, you ask? Well, to make a scary empty hotel (or inn, whatever) movie, which is by the way kinda copied from the shining, but anyhow, you will eventually need a storyline, right? So they make this easy story, thats not hard to understand assuming all movie watchers are stupid. So the whole movie is easy to watch. But with a story that easy, your movies gotta be REALLY scary. But it wasn't. In this movie I think you will find a lot of things that don't make sense. If you are a horror expert, you know what Im talking about. SO,my advice probably is, just watch the trailer, its better then the whole movie. Very disappointing.
16 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Very good
BakuryuuTyranno12 September 2011
The Innkeepers is a film its probably better not to go heavily into detail on. What I can state is The Innkeepers features heavy character focus. Therefore, while the deliberate pacing of the film means it takes sometime before the supernatural parts of the story take off, it doesn't leave the audience waiting, as the characters are both interesting and at times amusing.

Naturally the ghost story aspects get going the movie relies primarily on atmosphere, which it achieves effectively.

You're never sure exactly what you should expect with The Innkeepers but this movie is somewhat scary and at times inventive.

I expect re-watching it would be interesting as there's probably many details that can easily go unnoticed in the first viewing.
42 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Rubbish would not recommend
s-a-mellor2 January 2012
What a pile of rubbish - I'm pretty easy to please in regards to films and I love most films but was highly disappointed with this film! The trailer makes it so exciting but after waiting over an hour for something good to happen - and still nothing came.....As for the ending - That doesn't even deserve a rating! very disappointed!

As for the characters...yet again another disappointment. The chick seems like she high on drugs all the time and the dude can not act for sin! When the hell will a decent horror surface..

The only thing good about the movie was the setting...it has such potential to be a excellent horror but has been let down by the production and the characters.
30 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A film for true horror fans
onexmillion2 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
There are a lot of people complaining that it's a slow burner and yes it is. That's the whole point. The story builds upon the characters directly involved and also the person who was murdered in the hotel.

It could of perhaps started a little earlier with the creepy stuff, but if done too soon, it would have ruined the film.

If you're a fan of lots of blood and guts with an axe wielding maniac killing 50 people throughout the film, this probably isn't for you.

Some of the scariest parts of this film is when you don't actually see anything. This film is about build-up, tension and suspense, which it does to perfection.
33 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
BEWARE: This Movie Sucks
Text On Screen18 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Watching this movie was mind-numbingly boring. Seriously, if you still want to watch this movie, then please only watch the last 5 minutes, because absolutely EVERYTHING happens then (but I still wouldn't recommend it).

If you've read any review/summary/synopsis or anything about this movie, then you know all there is to know. The movie has no answers, and it barely asks any questions whatsoever. There are only 6 characters in the cast and two of them have NOTHING to do with the plot of the movie, yet they continue to show up time and time again.

Anyone who liked this movie is either imagining their own scenarios based on evidence that simply isn't there, or they just didn't get it.

-- SPOILERS --

There is the ghost of a bride who supposedly haunts a hotel. The only person to see her was Luke, and it turns out he was lying. Claire and Luke talk about meaningless stuff for one hour and 20 minutes. The ghost apparently is real and wants to kill Claire for some reason. An old man kills himself, and his ghost wants to kill Claire too (even though he seemed to like Claire a lot when he was alive). Claire is retarded and dies. The end.

TLDR; Don't watch this movie. It's more fun to stare at your ceiling for a couple of hours.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Very good chilling horror!!
wbafanclub122 January 2012
I began watching this with a a sense of hesitation due to a couple of reviews which were very negative. In a way I can understand why some people might not like this. There are no great action scenes for starters, blood and gore is kept to the bare minimum and a lot of time is spent on building on the characters. If you are going to watch this, you really are just best watching it knowing the bare minimum of the film's storyline... i.e set in a hotel. I would go as far as to say the storyline is obscure and really does not impact on the film at all. For me, the acting was great. After the first half an hour of getting comfortable with the two main characters I found myself getting nervous for them until by the end of the film my heart was beating ten to the dozen, which is the aim of a good horror I feel. I waited for my wife to go to bed before putting this on. I watched it by myself around about midnight with the lighting on low and I have to say that had I got a pillow to hand, I would have been sitting behind it.
32 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great little film, again with mysteriously low ratings
hoytyhoyty14 June 2014
This is a lovely little piece of classic haunted-house film making. And even though it's textbook, it manages to keep you guessing.

I'm boosting this with a 10/10 but I only feel it deserves 8/10: Without spoiling, I thought they ran out of ideas before the ending.

But - along the way - they managed to make me laugh, scare the bejesus out of me, and make me keep watching.

I felt the female lead's performance was a little stilted at first, but she seemed to find her muse by the halfway mark. The rest of the cast were very solid.

There were a couple of pieces of timing that nearly made me cry - with joy - they had paced the scene down to the millisecond, and knew exactly when to hit your nerves, and to make it worse you KNEW it was coming. Wonderful stuff.

Rate it up, you lot!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Ohhh the horror..
patrick_kauwen3 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This is our first review, and sadly about a snooze fest of a film. We have sat thru some awful b horror flicks, to the end, as of this "horror" we turned it off...so boring. Besides the fact that the medium uses a crystal pendulum the wrong way, things go from bad to worse...really, the girl, Claire is annoying...even runs around in a sheet to pretend to "scare" her colleague...we said:"enough"...a 1 for this horror...Stephen Kings sock drawer is scarier then this drivel..More Disney then Stephen, that's for sure...We also want to give any viewers who want to see this boring film a heads up...Claire takes a shower...there is no towel, goes to bed dry,hair as well, then gets spooked by a ghost in her bed, but the ringing of her own alarm clock is what makes her run screaming from her room...ooh boy..we love good ghost stories, this isn't one of them...only plus point is that the location is a real place, now that is interesting. This film is not.. Can't even imagine to think people relate this movie to movies like insidious and others.... But for people that still want to see this, we suggest: skip to an hour and see what happens from there. The first 3 chapters in which this movie is divided is not!! worth it.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews