IMDb > The Hunters (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
The Hunters
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
The Hunters More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]
Index 41 reviews in total 

40 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

Truly awful on every level

1/10
Author: judeepolds from United Kingdom
29 December 2011

Well it seems for a change someone not involved with a film is posting the first user review. I suspect this is because everyone involved with the film is far too busy denying they had anything to do with it!

I never let the words "low budget" or "independent" put me off a film, I've seen some great films by looking for this kind of stuff. I've also seen some terrible ones and this baby just joined the list very near the top.

OK so marketed as a horror film you soon realise it's anything but. NO matter, I like a good thriller...which this ain't. Confused is the words that comes to mind. Filmed in France but set who knows where, dodgy American accents mixed with a large portion of French language. Plot could be written on the back of a postage stamp but somehow ends up with a 1hr 50min film...

For me the film as advertised started at the 1hr 30min point and by then I was losing the will to live. The main location was interesting but was never used to it's full potential and the effects! Good God the effects... Body parts straight out of a dusty corner at The London Dungeon, guns with holes in the end only an airgun pellet would fit through, watery blood and the most amazing trees that shoot sparks when hit with bullets.

Acting wasn't horrendous given what they had to work with, music was OK. Cinematography was OK with the notable exception of the nightmare scenes which where, frankly, shamefully bad.

Words fail me.

Was the above review useful to you?

18 out of 22 people found the following review useful:

Decent, neither good nor bad

5/10
Author: PanchoTaffy from Cunter
30 December 2011

This film is totally average. The story bares very little to the description given by the films marketing department, I wonder if anyone there has actually watched it. It is not a horror movie at all. Instead it is a thriller, with a small amount of action. Definitely worthy of it's straight to video release, it is certainly not as bad (or good) as some folks are making out. The script is OK, the acting is OK (at best) but the place most of it is shot is genuinely creepy. Don't expect too much and you won't be let down. The characters themselves are actually the most interesting part of the movie and could have done with fleshing out a little more.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Incomprehensible and amateurish

Author: (pmalt) from United States
4 January 2012

This is what happens when nobody has the moxie to stand up to the writer or director and cut, edit, structure, test, tighten, condense, throw out scenes and characters that don't work or are unnecessary. Somebody wanted to keep everything in the grab bag and fought any efforts to structure this.

Something strange is going on with these ten-star reviews; I suspect they are from people connected with the movie who are trying to balance out the one-stars --- which are the honest ones. Whoever wrote this needed to take a class in screen writing because it was a misuse of the actors; the dialogue was wooden...but the worst part was the lack of tight plot structure. I gave it a fair shot --- watched for about an hour and suddenly sat up and said "this is not happening." It's not a matter of being "different" or "non-linear" or any comments that try to make strengths out of weaknesses. This truly crumbles.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 31 people found the following review useful:

Different, but definitely not bad

8/10
Author: leburger from Antarktis
30 December 2011

A lot of negative reviews, oh well.. If people were expecting another run-on-the-mill horror to freak out to on a Saturday night, then this film obviously granted a disappointment, as it has a somewhat different angle, and the film is actually more of a suspense/mystery than a horror, really.

On a positive note, the filming locations were absolutely fabulous, the cinematography was of high quality in every respect, and even though the English spoken in the film was regarded as 'bulky' by some reviewers, you cannot really dismiss the fact that it is a French/Belgian movie. I, for one, thought all the way it was set in Canada (in Quebec), in that case, the language inconsistencies of the film would have been pretty well explained :-).

You could say that the acting was somewhat peculiar, but "peculiar" does not necessarily mean "bad". After all, French/Belgians films sometimes have a different take on acting. Think of, for example, 'Calvaire', that contains as much strange humour as 'The Hunters', you just need to be able to notice it :-).

All in all, 'The Hunters' is a rather strange experience meant not for everyone; on the other hand, as mentioned in other reviews, it offers you very nice photography, absolutely fabulous filming locations (the fort!), some sociological commentaries, and a rather decent cast, the tempo of the film is pretty slow, but in this case, it only compliments the piece.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

A very cool set and good cinematography can't save this...

6/10
Author: byolaf
22 May 2012

The Hunters isn't the worst movie you've ever seen, it's just a bit of a mess. There are two things to recommend it highly, the cinematography is well above par for this kind of movie, and the location is just incredible. I think the sound editing and music is also quite good. The problem is the good things just serve to highlight the not-so-good things. If the good cinematography is of people trying way too hard to act, it's not interesting. If the location is terrific, but it's not really used all that well, you don't have much of a reason to make the film.

There is some excellent casting for the leading hunters and the main enemy, but the other characters are often miscast, overplayed, or underwritten. Certain scenes feel improvised, while others just seem to go on and on. The lead actor seems to be rather miscast for his role, which is strange since he apparently directed. There are also characters that just kinda drop in and out of the movie, especially the lead (only?) female.

The editor seems to be trying to make this into a horror movie, but it's not, and the nasty jump cuts and random shots of some dude yelling are not scary, they're annoying. The editing overall leaves a lot to be desired, leading me to wonder if the director cut the movie as well, since there's no editor listed in the IMDb crew page.

There was a pretty good movie to be had here had the script thought of better uses for the location and the actors been reeled in by a better director. But overall, it's better than bad, and if you're scouting for an incredible castle in Germany (?) you could do worse than watch this. Perhaps it's best to just think of it as a weird travelogue to Fort Goben.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Confuses the crap out of you at first, then confuses you more

4/10
Author: bananaspider from United States
31 December 2011

I can't give this a one because I know they (the director) was trying to do something here. But, let's say it failed to get there. The movie took way too long to even begin to give you any hints and then when it got there, the characters introduced threw you for another loop.

Why the hell was that (beautiful) girl introduced? Why did she whisper "I'm sorry" while pushing away her boyfriend in that one scene? I though the story was going to get better at that point, thinking that she was not who she portrayed. But no, that scene was just a failed scene. And why the extra story with the Chief of Police and the cop and the guy he had to protect? Who the hell knows. Completely illogical!

I had ideas in mind on how it may have ended and how I would have ended it. But it didn't go that way and so the four rating. The actors were OK but the story line they were given was not of this movie. This movie should have been one of those three or four stories tying together everybody in the end. Not this either. Oh well, nice try mr. director.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

Surprising... In a good way!

10/10
Author: o-william
30 December 2011

Everything written in the DVD package is crap. You think this is gonna be a teen b movie with the bloody girl screaming all the time! BUT IT AIN'T!! It's a very strange movie very dark and very enjoyable! It'a about depressed guys, it's about madness. Very entertaining with a great cast (Top notch Steven Waddington!) and beautifully photographed. The main location, Fort Goben is so creepy!! Actually watching this movie is quite an experience! It's like a dark tale! But if you expect a horror film or an action film with funny characters you'll be disappointed. Let's drop all your expectations and be surprised as I was... in a very good way!

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

I tried

1/10
Author: mrcinema72 from United States
12 September 2012

Diana Agron is a "Goddess" to me I feel obligated to watch everything she is in. I agree with the previous review. The Editing was Terrible in this film. The pacing was off, scenes went on forever. The Story was actually not that bad, it could and should have been a better film. Also the description on the back of the DVD cover is incorrect. I says "a group of high school friends aproaching the graduation decide to spend some time in the woods the find an abandoned fort where Blah, Blah, Blah. there is no need to continue, because none of this happened. The description on the IMDb site is more accurate. The Cinematography wasn't bad. Again great potential but it didn't get their.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

The most interesting thing about The Hunters is that the box flat out lies to you

6/10
Author: Robert W. (Robert_duder@hotmail.com) from Ontario, Canada
21 January 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm not sure I've ever seen a movie where I read the case to the DVD, and then watch the movie and it literally has NOTHING to do with what the case says. For the first time ever...I'm going to post the IMDb summary into my review. This is what it says...

Alice and her friends are approaching the end of the school year where their dead-end lives will end and the chance of a new life will begin. Before heading off to college they spend one last day together in the woods, the one part of town that has always been off limits to them growing up. As they stumble upon what they thought was an abandoned fort only to find the walls dripping in blood and decomposing body parts lying around, they are startled to learn they are now a part of an undercover investigation. After being told to get out of the woods they realize they're trapped, for the Hunters, who call the fort home, never let anyone out alive.

Yep...not true. "Alice" is barely in the movie. Her friends and her do not go to the woods. There are hardly any friends in the film other than a random guy she runs into. But if you look at the top of the IMDb page it says this---

"A new police officer wants to meet up with somebody in an abandoned fort in the woods. What he doesn't know is that the place also serves as a meeting point for a group of hunters - whose prey aren't animals."

That's what The Hunters is actually about. The concept and idea behind The Hunters is kind of interesting, men looking for a thrill and hunting humans for sport. It has moments of being outstandingly gory and even some half decent performances but The Hunters doesn't deliver itself in the proper way and is slapped together with a forced performance by a TV "It Girl." Steven Waddington and Tony Becker give solid performances in their lead roles. I actually think they give performances far beyond that of what this movie really is. The TV "It Girl" is Glee's Dianna Agron. She gives and is what I can only described as a complete and utter waste of a character. She has no point to the story and maybe they edited her part down to nothing but it literally is pointless. Chris Briant gives a solid performance as the main hero of the film. His character actually has a good arc and is well told.

Briant is also the director of the film but I don't believe it is his directing or his performance is the issue. I think the problem is with the messy script. You don't really know what direction it is going and the crime angle of the story is almost unnecessary. The film is not a total waste once you wade through the unfortunate aspects. Still this thriller is easily miss-able. 6/10

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

I wanted to rent "The Hunter" and got this by mistake

1/10
Author: sreid2 from BC
8 July 2012

I started watching it thinking "6.2 on IMDb ! its gotta be decent". I noticed the acting and production was bad but it was like watching a bad accident. I am sure they named it closely to the Willem Dafoe movie to trick viewers into watching it. It seemed like the producer thought "hey we have a spooky looking fort and a bunch of cheap spark effects.... lets make a movie!" Seriously ..sparks from shooting a tree was bad enough, but sparks coming off a person! I have seen porno's with better acting, story line and budget. That's all I really have to say about this movie, I really don't want to waste 10 lines of text on it because that would be putting more thought into the review than the producer put into the entire movie. I think I am going to work really hard around the house today to make up for the 2 hours that were totally blown watching this. i am sure the only good reviews will be from family and friends of the cast and crew. How it ranked at 4 stars amazes me.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 5:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history