Jeff, Who Lives at Home (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
115 Reviews
Sort by:
9/10
Jeff, who lives in all our homes
SteveMierzejewski10 June 2012
Everybody has a quirky movie that they, and few other people or critics, like. It just might be that a movie simply comes along at the right point in our lives and interlocks with events in it. I certainly have a number of movies among my favorites that fit into this category, and I have a feeling that Jeff, Who lives at Home might have been admitted to it.

Although it is billed as a comedy, and there are certainly comic elements to it, there is a more serious component that underlies it and gives it some depth. Jason Segel plays a slacker who, at the age of 30, has few prospects (and living at home at 30 seems to be the modern stereotype of a loser). Jeff clings to the idea that some 'sign' will appear to show him the way. In fact, he is viewed as nothing but a loser by his mother, brother, and just about everyone else. When someone mistakenly calls his number asking for Kevin, Jeff, seeing this as the sign he's been waiting for, begins his search for his role in the universe, brushing aside all ridicule in the process.

I like movies that show how small, apparently insignificant, choices can lead to life changing events. I also like movies in which a character is redeemed by adhering to principles that everyone else thinks are insane. In its own subtle way, the movie questions many of the basic premises that underlie modern society. Yeah, I know, maybe I'm reading too much into this, but, I suppose, that's why we all like certain movies that others don't.

You're not going to get a better guy to play a slacker-loser than Segel. The other actors hold up their roles well. I admit that I expected little of this movie, but I found it engaging right from the opening scene. Give it a chance and I foolishly believe you will not be disappointed
73 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Money, That Was Well Spent
Pycs30 March 2012
Don't let the title scare you away, 'Jeff, Who lives At Home' is a deep character study about three unhappy people and the meaningless existences they each inhabit.

One such person is Pat (Ed Helms), a man stuck in a roller coaster of a relationship with his wife, Linda (Judy Greer). Pat has recently purchased any man's dream car, a brand new Porsche. Judy doesn't share in his delight for his new automobile, which only distances them even more. When Pat suspects Linda of having an affair, it leads him on a inept detective mysterious, where most of the films humor draws on.

Susan Sarandon plays Sharon, the mother of Pat. A widower, Sharon is very lonely and loans for someone to connect with. When a "secret admirer" begins sending her flirty messages, Sharon is delightfully surprised someone is still interested in her despite her age. It's up to Sharon to uncover this mystery person's identity.

The last chapter, the title character, is played by Jason Segal. By far the best part of the movie, Jeff is a slacker in his 30's with no real aim in life. After seeing the movie 'Signs' and having someone with the wrong number call him and ask for a Kevin, he believes it to be a sign. The rest of his arc delves into him following after all things tied to "Kevin," and the strange paths it takes him.

A common misconception I can see being falling into is that this will be a broad, raunchy comedy, like the ones Ed Helm and Jason Segal have headlined in their career. If you go into this film expecting that, you'll be disappointed. This is a thinking man's movie, with smart humor and likable characters sprinkled in. With your time.
71 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
More of a drama then a comedy but very good. Heartfelt and moving. Not your typical Segal movie. I say B+
Tony Heck14 June 2012
"You ever feel like your waiting for forever to find out what your destiny is and when you do it's not really that exciting?" After receiving a phone call from a wrong number Jeff (Segel) thinks that the call has a deeper reason. His mom (Sarandon) calls and asks him to run an errand for him. What starts as a simple trip to a hardware store begins to evolve and change the lives of everyone Jeff comes into contact with, including his brother Pat (Helms). This is another movie that is almost nothing like the preview. The preview made it seem much funnier then it was. While this did have some funny parts in it I found this movie to be more sweet and heartfelt then I expected. Some of the aspects of the movie are very serious but they are done in a way that tone it down. Segel is just about the perfect choice for this role because there is just something about him that you find disarming and comfortable no matter what he is doing. If you are looking for a typical Segel comedy this is not it. This one has more substance and heart and is very much worth watching. Overall, if you liked "Everything Must Go" then this movie is for you. I recommend this but this is again not your average comedy. I give it a B+.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Small-Town Charmer
filmchasing16 February 2014
A man who lives at home follows signs that bring him closer to his destiny.

Most of these characters are facing life/relationship problems, but Jason Segel brings a lovable, quirky dorkiness to a film that inevitably carries lots of heart.

The premise only works if you go along for the ride, and it doesn't hurt that the characters are likable - for the most part.

Part fun, part strange, it's a down-to-earth world that becomes large because of its themes and ideas. Check it out!

7.3/10
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Slacking off like a pro
djp200014 March 2012
Jeff, Who Lives at Home starts out by referencing a film from 10 years ago. The main character, Jeff, speaks about his love for the movie Signs. That movie was all about signs being sent to us and that we must use those signs as guides for living our lives. This becomes Jeff's mantra for how he lives his life. These signs haven't been getting him anywhere as of yet though. He's a grown-up slacker who still lives at home with his mother as the title of the film says. It's this bohemian free-spirited attitude that has led him to where he is. He seems at peace with things, yet something is missing from his life. His brother Pat is the opposite. He's married, has a job, and even just bought a new Porsche; he doesn't believe in slacking off like Jeff. That doesn't mean everything is going well for him though. He really didn't have the money to comfortably afford the Porsche and you can tell that his wife isn't happy about it. But Pat lives in the moment. While showing off the Porsche to Jeff, they see his wife with another man and start to suspect she's having an affair. Even though these two brothers don't generally get along and seem to despise each other a little, Jeff agrees to help Pat out and find out what's going on. Along the way, they begin to learn about each other and their different ways of approaching things. Pat always thought he had his life together and looked down on Jeff. Now's he realizing that maybe Jeff had a better way of looking at things. Jason Segel and Ed Helms play the 2 brothers and make the best of their roles. There's also an interesting sub-plot about what's going on with their mother (Susan Sarandon) at her job. The movie is part of a recent genre of film called "mumblecore" which generally have low budgets and focus more on the dialogue - sort of like a Quentin Tarantino film without the action. Luckily, the dialogue here is very good and holds your interest throughout. At less than an hour and half (which is very rare nowadays), it doesn't meander at all. It focuses on how we spend our days and seems to have a message of living more carefree. But there are plenty of laughs throughout the film which make it very enjoyable.
51 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Funny comedy that proves life is tough, but when you get out of your shell you discover!
Danny Blankenship1 April 2012
This is another one of those independent films that will touch you and you will cheer for it because it's not only heart touching and warming it provides plenty of laughs along the way it's message and central theme proves that one can discover life and make a connected difference even when one is sheltered. And the cast and chemistry is well shown as "Jeff Who Lives at Home" features veteran Susan Sarandon and up and coming stars Ed Helms and Jason Segel and the work of all blend well into a good picture.

Set in Louisiana it follows the life one day of Jeff a 30 year old live at home slacker stoner who doesn't have a job and beat it all he lives like the crypt keeper as he stays in the basement! The only thing keeping him going is his stash and TV watching and thinking about the world in the strangest ways only this slightly changes some when he meets up with his cocky and business type older brother Pat(Ed Helms)and Pat now suspects that wife Linda(Judy Greer)is having an affair. Aside from that the hard working mom of Pat and Jeff Sharon(Susan Sarandon)finds an unexpected and crazy surprise at work with her boss Carol(sexy 80's screen siren Rae Dawn Chong).

Thru it all this film showcases that a lot can occur in the lives of people during a day, some of it is just unexpected and crazy still it proves life is complex and a struggle and still love and happiness is possible. Most rewarding is seeing how in the film's end a sheltered character like Jeff can become a hero that shows life in some shape and form can be rewarding for all if you just come out explore, discover and take risk. Overall good film about the struggles of life, family, relationships and it shows life takes unexpected twist and turns.
31 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Yea Funny it is ..
I pretty much knew I was going to dig JEFF WHO LIVES AT HOME right from the first scene, where Jeff sits on the toilet, and waxes poetically into a tape-recorder about his undying love for the movie SIGNS. I tend to like the Duplass Brothers, who wrote and directed, so I guess this wasn't a hard sell.

At first glance, JEFF WHO LIVES AT HOME seems like a bit of a minor film, with it running a scant eighty-minutes, and taking course over a single day. Heck, for ninety-percent of the movie it was a minor work, and while I liked it, it still felt like a bit of a disappointment on the heels of CYRUS, which was one of my favorite films from last year. The film works mostly due to Jason Segel, who's affecting as the eternally optimistic Jeff. In another actor's hands, Jeff could have been insufferable- but Segel brings a sweetness to the part that meshes well with the Duplass Brother's big-hearted, humanist philosophy.

Like CYRUS, this owes a lot to the Duplass Bros., mumblecore origins, with it seemingly shot on lower-grade digital, possibly hand-held cameras, just like CYRUS. Some of the dialogue also seems to be improvised, with the exchanges between Segel and Ed Helms (who seems to be playing Andy Bernard with a goatee here- no complaints) having a natural, unscripted feel. The film also has a very nice score by Michael Andrews, heavily reminiscent of his excellent soundtrack for Miranda July's ME AND YOU AND EVERYONE WE KNOW (the release of which remains the last time I bought a physical CD).

In terms of laughs, yeah- JEFF WHO LIVES AT HOME is funny, but in a genteel sort of way. You'll never double over in laughter, but the whole thing feels pleasant, and at eighty minutes, goes down pretty smooth. Now, I said that for ninety-percent of the running time, this felt minor. The last twenty minutes or so throw the audience a bit of a curve-ball, with Jeff's idea of destiny having a surprisingly dramatic payoff, that pushed the film into territory I wasn't expecting. However, this switch isn't jarring, and works to the film's advantage, give it a uniqueness I wasn't anticipating.

There's also an interesting subplot involving Jeff and Pat's mom, played by Susan Sarandon, as she interacts with an office co-worker (Rae Dawn Chong of COMMANDO!!!), and deals with a secret admirer, which pays off in a fun, heart-warming way that, again, makes the film a little different- but in a good way.

All told, JEFF WHO LIVES AT HOME isn't quite as good as CYRUS, but it's a unique, pleasant comedy that once again proves that the Duplass Brothers., might be on to something with the way their films seem to simultaneously aim at the heart AND the funny bone.
24 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A touching film about the search for emotional attachments
Gordon-117 June 2012
This film is about a mother and her two adult sons, who experience varying degrees of interpersonal problems.

The first half of the film portrays a socially awkward Jeff, with his newfound infatuation with anything to do with Kevin. It looks like a pothead comedy, which I do not usually enjoy. The mood of the second half changes dramatically, as the characters get emotionally complex. Their emotional wounds get explored, and the film becomes touching and engaging. The ending is well built and climactic, and I find myself very touched by the heroic events. How each family member found emotional attachment is beautiful to say the least.

Though "Jeff, Who Lives At Home" may be a little boring at first, it is worth watching as the last twenty minutes are excellent.
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Destiny Found in a Basement!
HollywoodJunket15 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
It is "the best day in the history of the whole world" – a quote pulled from brothers and main characters Jeff (Jason Segel) and Pat's (Ed Helms) deceased father in a dream. And it just so happens to be the one day in the life of Jeff in Paramount Pictures "Jeff Who Lives at Home" who reconnects with his family on a human level on the same day.

Jeff is a character whom his family consisting of his mother Sharon, (Susan Sarandon) and brother Pat passes off as an underachiever to the extreme. Jeff lives in his mother's basement where the majority of his days are spent eating, smoking weed, and watching infomercials like the "incredible vitamin" and consistently searching for a sign to something greater to his seemingly detached existence. Jeff becomes obsessed for his signs of something greater after watching the alien invasion film "Signs" starring Mel Gibson, Rory Culkin, and Abigail Breslin.

When Jeff gets an arbitrary sign through a phone call, it puts his world into an unexplainable focus to reaching his destiny while fighting-off the negative reactions from his brother and mother. The end result is a new view of Jeff as someone who is fearless, and open to seeing the world as it really is and not just as a spectator passing through it.

The signs may hold coincidence in Jeff's life, but for many they are always there. Just few are able to see them. "Jeff Who Lives at Home" is a meaningful story about what happens when you open yourself up to the unexpected and what you might gain by putting yourself in a vulnerable position. All too much is needlessly lost due to fear of consequences and what others might think. This life is your own and it IS what you make of it is the underlying message of the film.

"Jeff Who Lives at Home" is written and directed by brothers Jay and Mark Duplass. Their past films include shorts and a documentary (called "Kevin"). During a press conference, the duo talked about their unique way of making this film. They said that they fully lit each scene before the actors stepped onto the set. After that, the actors were free to improvise and play-out the scenes with each other. Mark stated that there were "no rehearsals on the film. We don't believe in the rehearsal process in this instance because you might lose something that you don't get (on film)." Mark also said that once the camera is rolling, they don't like to stop because "you lose the moment".

The movie was filmed in New Orleans, but the story takes place in Baton Rouge. Jeff's bravery rubs off on Sharon and Pat. Directors said that Jeff is a character that really sacrificed a lot by not getting a regular 9 to 5 job and getting married. "He is holding out for that grander that he knows he is meant for" said Duplass. This is something that is admirable and most people secretly wish that they could do according to film makers.

"Jeff Who Lives at Home" opens in limited theaters on Friday, March 16, 2012.

www.HollywoodJunket.com
15 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
30-Something Slacker Propaganda
Nullness18 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Jeff, Who Lives at Home, is 30-something slacker propaganda disguised as a mopey indie flick. After first being introduced as a comical, delusional loaf (lazy oaf), we, the audience, spend the rest of a movie full of pat coincidences being programmed into believing Jeff is (somehow) right after all. About what, I don't know: apparently, the moral of the story is that we, of the slacker trade, must wait to hear our calling from the Universe, and when our calling comes we must be quick to the rescue. And our calling must be as dramatic and heroic as saving a family from a sinking car, after which we can return to our dull, infantile existence for the rest of our meaningless lives.

Jeff is an exaggeration; his brother is a cartoon. This is the sort of movie that because it is indie doesn't whore itself off to product placement but instead uses familiar products to give it the semblance of real life, which is in my mind equally as patronizing, especially when I am supposed to believe movie moguls Jason Segal or Susan Sarandon have any channel whatsoever to what is real life.

In a way, I felt like Susan Sarandon's character while watching this movie: superfluous, and easily manipulated by an exploiting presence to feel the heady pleasures of superficial, short-lived enjoyment, which like this movie lasted only 70 or so minutes, before reality set in and I realized what I watched was a perfectly contrived machine for making me feel this way... and absolutely nothing more.
34 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Forgettable
Jeff (Jason Segel) is a thirty year old man with a puncheon for the film Signs and lives in his mother Sharon's (Susan Sarandon) basement. His older brother Pat (Ed Helms) still lives close by with his wife Linda (Judy Greer). He and Linda are in the midst of serious marital problems. One day while she is at work, Sharon asks Jeff to go to the shop to pick up some wood glue. Convinced that the name Kevin is some sort of sign he ill advisedly follows various Kevins' around the city bumping into his brother along the way.

To me the film was like a cross between a Wes Anderson film and The Office. It has the odd, quirky indie charm of an Anderson picture but the awkward humour and filming style of The Office. Unfortunately it was neither as good as any Wes Anderson film I've seen nor The Office. At times it was quite funny but these moments were usually fleeting and there weren't many of them. The story was reasonably interesting and the film had a sweet ending but it just didn't mesh together. The whole 'the Universe will show me the way' nonsense was really annoying and although the ending was very sweet, it was obvious and annoyed me.

The film is reminiscent of the Duplass brother's last film Cyrus, which I really liked. You get the feeling that both films inhabit the same world. That film was quirky, funny and sad and these are all things which this film sets out to be. In the end it slightly misses the target on each occasion. The acting is really great but the characters were pretty forgettable. I'll still keep an eye out for the director's future work but this film didn't move me in the way it was meant to. Also, we all live at home! www.attheback.blogspot.com
20 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Stop, Look, Listen
David Ferguson18 March 2012
Greetings again from the darkness. The Duplass brothers, Jay and Mark, were responsible for a terrific, creepy little comedy called Cyrus. It dealt with a dark, strange relationship between a mother and her grown, stay at home and do nothing son. The Duplass mumblecore beginnings often used familial relationships to find those moments of discomfort and comedy. Their latest movie brings all of that together as they examine multiple relationships within a family, and the possible role of destiny.

Jeff (Jason Segel) is an unemployed, 30 year old, childlike pot-head who lives in his mother's (Susan Sarandon) basement and watches the M Night Shyamalan movie Signs so often that he is convinced there are no "wrong numbers" in life ... everything is a sign leading us to our destiny. After the latest "sign" (phone call for an unknown Kevin), Jeff heads out to complete a simple task for his disenchanted mother. He gets sidetracked on his quest for Kevin, and stumbles into his brother Pat (Ed Helms).

By this time, we have seen Pat interact over breakfast with his wife Linda (Judy Greer). Note to guys: serving breakfast to your wife will not neutralize your surprise purchase of a Porsche. These two people have clearly lost whatever bond they once shared. One thing leads to another and we are soon watching Jeff and Pat stalk Linda and her male lunch friend ... or is he more? While this amateur detective work is playing out, Sharon (their mother) discovers she has a secret admirer at work. Her spirits are immediately lifted as she has pretty much given up on a personal life since the death of her husband years ago. Her friend Carol (Rae Dawn Chong) helps her be receptive to the idea, and this story line provides a nice Duplass twist.

Despite the fact that none of the characters are extremely likable: Jeff is borderline goofy, Pat is kind of an ass, Sharon just seems frustrated ... the story moves along so that each of them grows a bit and their relationships evolve. The ending is a perfect cap and provides meaning, though initially quite a shock to the system after first three-quarters.

The Duplass directing style utilizes micro-bursts of quick zoom in many scenes, giving this a quasi home-movie feel at times. As for the acting, I can't imagine another actor than Jason Segel could have pulled off the role of Jeff. In lesser hands, he would have come off as mentally unstable or just a total loser. Segel's sweetness pays off. It's always great to see Rae Dawn Chong back on screen, and I didn't even hate Susan Sarandon! Judy Greer's scene in the hotel room is so well played, it's a reminder of what a terrific and under-utilized actress she is. Don't expect a laugh outloud comedy, as this is more drama than comedy, though the smiles and chuckles occur in the moment.
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Shooting for the target, missing it
abbywts12 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I know what this movie is supposed to be shooting for, but it misses its mark badly. It's trying to go for quiet, quirky comedy/drama that contains meaningful message. But instead of quiet-it's lethargic. Instead of quirky-it's unfocused. Instead of meaningful, it's saccharin. The concept is silly, which is fine if you can pull it off, here it's not. A 30 year old loser with no prospects sits in his mom's basement smoking pot and obsessed with the movie 'Signs'. His obsession winds up affecting the lives of people around him whose lives are superficially OK, but just as messed up. The part where Susan Sarandon's character starts imaging the sprinklers as a waterfall was where the fake schmaltz level went through the roof. The dramatic rescue scene was the only saving grace in the entire movie.

I'm open to these kinds of movies done well, done badly it's just a painful waste of time. Time better spent smoking pot in the basement. If you want to see a movie that's along similar themes that's far more entertaining, go see 'Our Idiot Brother'.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
a possibly very good film rendered unwatchable by terrible camera work
GonzoLubitsch14 June 2012
the story, characters and acting (as much as i managed to see of it )seemed of the highest standard. but sadly the performances and entire look of the film are spoiled by nonsensical camera work.

it seems as though the intention was to give the film a doc/mockumentary look. and the frame has the irritating habit to jump at you every few seconds, as the camera snap zooms in slightly. frankly, that is about as irritating as taking your mother to a date with the intention to score (not with your mum). this adds nothing to this film, it only detracts. once you've noticed it, it becomes like the song 'barbie girl'; you just cannot get it out of your head and it drives you slowly mad.

eventually i turned the film off. lividly. doesn't happen often that i will get angry with a film. but here i couldn't help myself, for it is shameful that such a conceptualised directorial and editorial decision has to spoil incredibly good work by everyone else!
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
tricked into watching it, thinking it was a comedy
stonerwood22 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Why, oh why have they described it as a comedy? It has nothing to do with a comedy, it is a damn melodrama, as funny and exciting as going to the funeral. This movie has so many flaws it is horrifying to watch. To begin with, I was extremely disappointed with Jason Segal acting – I swear if it was Nicholas Cage instead of him, I wouldn't see any difference – his stone-dead facial expression was really disturbing. Then comes the directors' share in the disaster – what is the meaning of all those lengthy scenes – the road rolling under the car's wheels or a nirvana moment under a fire sprinkle?? The action is already painfully slow, why would you slow it any further? And the soundtrack was the last blow to this piece of "art" – sort of disturbing, profoundly sad chill-out music that gives you shivers.

Looking for good stoner movies? Check it out - stonerwood.blogspot.com
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Interesting . . . not exactly significant
The_Film_Cricket29 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Some people have a theory that there is no such thing as coincidence; that everything that happens in life happens for one reason or another. Maintaining that state of mind, I would imagine, requires constant frustrating vigilance. You're always on the lookout for what connects one thing to another.

Jeff (Jason Segal), the protagonist of Jeff Who Lives at Home thinks that way. He has plenty of time. He is just past 30, unemployed, lives in his mother's basement, smokes pot and hasn't had a girlfriend since high school. He watches the 2002 thriller Signs over and over again to reiterate his theory that nothing just happens, not even when he gets a phone call from a guy asking for someone named Kevin. Out on an errand for his mother, Jeff spots a guy with the name Kevin on the back of his jersey and follows him. It doesn't go well.Jeff has a brother Pat who is even more clueless. He is floating through a marriage to Linda (Judy Greer) that is going nowhere in particular. She wants to save money for a house, but he spends it on expensive things, like the Porsche he just bought because it was such a great deal. He makes her breakfast to break the news of his purchase and her response is to dump her breakfast on the hood.

After Jeff's unfortunate run-in with Kevin, he runs into Pat (though not by coincidence) and the two spot Linda getting into a car with another man. Thus sets off a day of free-wheeling misadventures as they try to uncover the mystery of whether or not she is cheating on him. Pat is angry and wants to know who the mystery man is, while Jeff's eye is constantly following the signs to find out the meaning of "Kevin". No points for guessing that this will eventually lead to something.

Meanwhile, Pat and Jeff's widowed mother Sharon (Susan Sarandon) works in an office cubicle and begins receiving instant messages from a secret admirer. The messages are sweet and clever and she becomes intrigued. Discovering the identity of the mystery person isn't that difficult. All you have to do is to follow the economy of characters in that office and you'll figure it out long before it is revealed.

These three elements: Jeff's search for Kevin, Pat and Linda's marriage and Sharon's secret admirer lead up to a scene that brings them all together at the same place at the same time. Cosmically, there is a reason to this, so that all the characters can have closure to their individual problems. Although the revelation doesn't have as much meaning as we might hope. It is interesting how the movie gets the characters to that spot, but that's about it.

There are two scenes in the movie that work perfectly, first is the scene when Pat finally confronts Linda about the other man. They have an argument that is full of truth and really seems to come out of reality. The other is the discovery of Sharon's secret admirer. What comes of it is briefly touching, but the movie moves past it so quickly that it feels like a loose end.

Jeff Who Lives at Home is a nice, sweet movie of no real significance. It is appropriately funny when it needs to be; dramatic when it needs to be; and moving when the need arises. The disappointment is that it doesn't really go over the top with any of those things. I like it when a movie really reaches for something, but this movie climbs to the peak and reveals nothing surprising on the other side. I enjoyed the movie while I was watching it, but it isn't one that I am going to carry with me.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Meh
Eddie Francis5 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
An okay little film. Awkward, a bit lost, but mostly moving forward. It's a simple idea that unfolds fairy well, although exactly what the "signs" are and the importance of "kevin" is are never fully realised.

Until the climax involving a car wreck, a submerged vehicle, and a rescue. A dull and idiotic ending to an otherwise okay movie. If the writers had come up with something better for the end, probably a 6/10.

Decent acting from the cast.

Oh, and if you're going to be quirky do you have to still be didactic? We get it - family is important. Love one another.

Such writing is kinda dull, guys. And you'd done a good job for 60 minutes of avoiding dull. Close, but no cigar.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Boring, forgettable, unrealistic.
Hairy Buddah13 August 2012
The acting wobbled as much as the camera-work from boring and flat to jittery and overly stylized. None of the characters were particularly interesting nor were their lives. This movie doesn't really make it as a slice-of-life movie because the character's reactions to each other and the situations in which they found themselves were simply not believable. They were however all too often predictable and traditional TV/movie bits. The ending was too pat and gave a dutiful nod to the Hollywood/new age concept that we are all connected in a mystical spiritual world full of signs and portents. The movie was trying so hard to look meaningful it forgot to actually have any meaning. Only worth watching for the snob appeal of being able to say you watched it. Possibly a good date movie for a guy who is trying to impress an artsy girl who takes herself too seriously.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
an unexpectedly beautiful movie...
jaicsben12 June 2012
First of all let me just say that Jason Segel is an amazing and versatile actor...i was already his fan from the sitcom 'How i met your mother'..He is the main reason i watched this movie..and man what a great choice it was..

The movie follows Jeff and his quest to find his destiny by following signs...It outlines the strength of a family through light humor and great acting....how it can make u change the way u view things..

All in all..its a movie that leaves u feeling happy and content in a way that only certain movies can....i recommend it to people who enjoy movies like 'we bought a zoo'....
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Boring and Ultimately Feels Meaningless
brando6479 September 2012
The problem with the Duplass brothers' 2012 movie can be summed up in one word: boring. It is just so unapologetically boring. Combine that with the fact that I just didn't care about any of the characters, and this movie doesn't come close to being as enjoyable as their movie CYRUS. That film was quirky and fun; this one tries to be, but falls way short. I can't blame it on the cast because I can see they tried. I just couldn't force myself to care about the story; it just wanders on and expects us to believe in coincidence so much that we don't care that the whole movie is just these two characters bumbling their way from set piece to set piece. The Jeff from the movie's title is played by Jason Segal, a thirty-year-old stoner who continues to live in his mother's basement watching the movie SIGNS over and over again. He is a firm believer that M. Night Shyamalan was on to something and that everything happens for a reason. In fact, he believes it so strongly that he can't even make basic decisions without some random event influencing his decision. His brother Pat (Ed Helms) is in a deteriorating marriage and his mother Sharon (Susan Sarandon) suffers a menial office job while pressing her stoned-out son to find the motivation to move on with his life. A wrong number phone call spurs Jeff into action, sending him on a journey to find the supposed meaning.

I guess the characters in the movie were somewhat relatable. They just weren't very likable. Jeff is an idiot. I know we're supposed to be charmed by his naivety and never-ending faith in the universe's ability to lead him in the right direction, but he came off to me as just a grown man-child who's smoked a little too much and can't take responsibility for his own life. Pat is a selfish wannabe hotshot, awkward with his employees and neglectful of his own wife. And then there's Sharon, Jeff's disillusion mother and her soul-crushing job. I understand how she can be so disappointed in her son and I expect that we'll see him change her mind in one way or another over the course of the movie, but I don't understand why she needed her own entire subplot about how disappointed she is with her life and how an anonymous office admirer is spicing it up. I was having a hard enough time caring about anything going on in the Jeff/Pat plot without constantly cutting away to see Sharon flirting via instant message in an unrelated love story. Honestly though, the lamest aspect of the whole film is the concept as a whole: a stoner obsessed with a flawed Shyamalan movie wanders from place to place, miraculously finding himself at the right place at the right time. It's all about Kevin. Got to find Kevin. Wait, now it's time to help Pat save his crumbling marriage.

I'll give the cast credit. They're all very talented people and they're all trying to do something here. I guess they saw how well CYRUS came out and they wanted to be a part of a quirky indie film too. Jason Segal is great, and Ed Helms appears genuinely clueless about how he's damaging his marriage. Susan Sarandon does an excellent job, even if her character was more prevalent that she needed to be. Each of them are great actors in their own right, but the material is just lame. The whole thing is just too "quirky". It felt as if they were shooting to make the most stereotypical indie film they could, loaded with kitsch and snap zooms. It was a bizarre combination of forced and meaningless. For whatever reason, the hand-held shaky-cam technique and constant zooms weren't so blatant in CYRUS but JEFF, WHO LIVES AT HOME shoves your face into the non-action. I'm not ready to give up on the Duplass brothers yet. I haven't seen their earlier films but right now they seem hit or miss, and I'm sure they'll have some more quality work in the future. This movie isn't beyond salvage, but it's boring. And for a medium meant to entertain, it can be just as bad.
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Comedy???
greekmuse10 June 2012
Here I was getting ready to spend an evening laughing my ass off. What do I get instead? A drama with absolutely nothing funny about it. A gross misrepresentation of the stated genre.

And while on the subject, when was the last time someone made a good comedy without all the superfluous drama? The only recent ones I can recall are 21 Jump Street and The Dictator. The world really does need more of these types of films.

In any case, as a non-comedy, this movie is actually not bad at all and I would otherwise had given it a 7/10. The acting and direction are quite good but the story is just a bit too sappy IMO.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
worst two hours of my life
sryan138317 February 2013
***spoiler***

This is seriously the worst movie that I've ever seen. If someone offered me $100 to watch this whole thing again, I am not joking at all when I say that I would turn it down. This is not a comedy and it is not even remotely funny.

Nothing happens the whole entire movie... I literally watched the whole time waiting for some sort of story to come out of this, but nothing! Oh then at the end he gets stuck in a traffic jam and his entire family and everybody that he knows just happens to be there at the exact traffic jam at the exact same time. Then people are drowning in the water and he jumps in the water to save them. Are you kidding me? Did a fourth grader write this?

A few questions: 1. For the people that gave this good reviews, what kind of drugs were you on when you watched this? 2. Who in their right mind read the script and said "oh yeah, this is it, this is the one!"? 3. Why is this listed as a comedy?

If I can stop one person from watching this movie, I consider this post to be a success. I literally signed up for an account just to write this.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Ugh
Warning: Spoilers
Save your 83 minutes of life on this one. Terrible filmaking. Story could have been OK with good camera work and cinematography and better dialouge. Don't know what the producers/directors were out to accomplish on this one. Student film making? Too, too many implausibilites to make this even a tiny bit realistic. The two leads, JASON and ED were unbearable!!! The language was not called for in a film like this. The sub-plot with SUSAN SARANDON was uncalled for, although she did a wonderful job as she always does. The fact that she could make her character work is indeed Oscar awarding itself. Nice to see RAE DAWN CHONG again. Again, don't waste your time on this piece of NOTHING.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
waste of time
tr9129 July 2013
I was looking for a relatively short comedy film to watch and found this one, the rating looked OK and the cast looked familiar so I thought it would be OK. I was very wrong.

First of all it is listed as a 'comedy' - I don't think I laughed once. The plot is weak and never fully explained who the hell Kevin is, its just stupid with really longed out scenes of absolutely nothing happening. It could be looked at as a drama but as I said the plot is just so weak you feel no attachment to the characters what so ever.

I would definitely recommend to avoid this one at all costs.

2/10.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews