IMDb > Dark Space (2013) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Dark Space
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Dark Space More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 26 reviews in total 

37 out of 53 people found the following review useful:

Ship of fools

3/10
Author: Boloxxxi from United States
24 July 2013

A bunch of irresponsible and immature --oh yeah-- and "dumb" young men and women make an interplanetary journey from earth to Centari Five for a vacation. As soon as they board ship there is hard-driving rock music, pot-smoking and beer-swilling. If they were doing this in a suped-up SUV on a highway on earth it would be irresponsible. In a space ship traveling from one planet to another? --Well one of them starts to complain about how slow the ship is moving ("My grandmother flies faster than 10X"). They come into agreement and convince the resident nerd/geek to fiddle with the ship's mechanics; specifically the part that regulates speed. Once this is done the speed indeed gets amped up but the ship goes off course and the young drunkards wind up somewhere getting bumped by asteroids. At this point, one of the young women, sitting in some kind of meditation-pose, chimes "The Universe will take care of us". This is the same young woman who did most of the squealing in the movie. Apparently at this point the pot she was smoking was no longer circulating in her brain. Anyway, their oxygen supply is threatened by damage to the ship and they are forced to land on a "earth-like" planet.

After an ungraceful landing, 4 of them go out to explore the planet and see if they can get help while 2 of them stay behind (resident nerd and Miss "universe will take care of us"). The thing that stood out the most, and what really annoyed me, was how naive and even stupid these people were. Realistically, most people would not behave the way they did. What would YOU do reader, and how would you act if you crash-landed on an alien planet far away from what is familiar to you? --Never mind that it looks like earth with air you can breathe. If you are responsible and sensible, you operate with caution. You are wary and alert. Even an animal suddenly thrust into an unfamiliar environment has enough sense to do this. Well, reader, not this group. From the way they behaved you would think that they were just out hiking in one of the nation's national parks. Who knows, maybe that's where they filmed this thing. They even stopped to do some skinny-dipping. I remind you this is an "alien planet" whose lifeforms (except the earth-like vegetation) is yet unknown. What might, for example, live in the water? --Or what natural phenomenon may be in operation under the placid surface that could be life threatening? For that matter, how do they even know that it's water as we know it on earth just because it "looks like it"?

In this movie when anyone thought they heard or saw something they said "Hello?" Are you f!!cking kidding me? Is that what you would say, reader? Personally, I would shut the f!!ck up and be as quiet as I could be. And if there was a place where I could hide, wait, watch and assess I would go there. I would not stand out in the open talking about "Hello?" They did this repeatedly. The resident nerd/geek did it while he was on the ship trying to repair it. He thought he heard something and said "Hello?" You would think this guy was in his home responding to a noise he heard in his backyard. THEN IT WOULD BE APPROPRIATE. You are on an alien planet dumbo. Lifeforms unknown. He even had the door to the ship wide open. Supposedly, until the ship was repaired, it was the only way to get oxygen. In that case why not keep the door open only a crack? This way you could get your air and peek thru if you hear something and be safe. No, folks, this idiot had the door wide open as if he was getting ready to throw a "Everyone is Welcome" party.

Finally, the acting could have been better in some instances but the writing and directing is what screwed this movie as I have described above. The characters were so stupid they didn't even have animal instincts. It was a good idea in general and I can only wonder what a better writer and director would have done with it. No doubt it would have earned this movie at least 2 or maybe even 3 more stars from me. Love, Boloxxxi.

Was the above review useful to you?

40 out of 59 people found the following review useful:

NO No no no no no no no

1/10
Author: nwsts from Thailand
6 July 2013

Just to be sure no one is mislead, Off World is a poorly done movie. The story is pretty ordinary: a group of college age people go on a spring break road trip in the distant future. They rent a space ship and it crashes (of course) (apparently somewhere in the woods around Denver) and they must fight aliens and Bobba Fett's in order to survive. The story was serviceable enough, but everything else was terrible. The dialog was horrific: I get more p**y there than most people get in a life time. Yes, that was a line delivered with absolutely no context or feeling...yechhhh. The entire script was nothing but sparse and unnatural sophomoric dialog. The acting was about as emotionless as I've ever see in a movie...all lines delivered like a 6th grader reading a book in front of class. And since it is a scifi movie I should mention that there are NO special effects or costumes worthy of putting into a modern day movie. I could go on, but I have already deep 6'ed this movie and don't want to think about it much more. Save yourself a trip to the trash bin and skip this movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 57 people found the following review useful:

Low-budget, low-quality.

1/10
Author: darthvoice from United States
6 July 2013

This will be a short review, the only other review here seems like it must be someone related to the film, because they gave it a completely undeserving, glowing review. The acting was terrible, the writing was atrocious, the effects were, how shall I put this, I've seen better effects in "Asylum" made movies, which, until now, I believed to have the worst SE team in the business.

The characters were all white stereotypes, the "strong" white woman, the "hippie" white chick ("The universe will take care of us"), the paranoid white girl friend of the strong one, the super-scared nerd, the more manly nerd that lusts after strong white woman, and finally, the d-bag chauvinist.

Nothing like seeing some Halo armor wearing rip-off alien shooting a scoped sniper rifle from the hip.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 42 people found the following review useful:

Low Budget, Great Effort, Decent Acting -- Overall, not bad!

6/10
Author: anthonyk747 from NC, USA
6 July 2013

OK, first off, when reviewing/analyzing this movie, look at the fact that it has a budget of only 750,000 U.S. Dollars. I've seen Syfy movies made with budgets of 1.5 mil - 10 mil U.S. Dollars and are worse than this movie in almost every way. For the budget of this movie, they pulled off some unbelievable stuff - to the point of you hoping that they find a bright future in movie production, because if they had 10 mil U.S. Dollars, I can guarantee you that the movie will be a huge hit!!

Now, given the budget of $750k, the effects of the armor, the hull integrity, the space ship designs, the Artificial Intelligence built into the ships' mainframe, and the planetary (both, from space and ground) effects were stunning! In terms of effects and atmospheric simulations, this automatically gets a 7/10, given the budget.

However, the acting was very good for first-timers or at least beginning actors, as I don't recognize many faces in this movie. They could've done better -- but could they, really? Think about it, most good actors are behind a green screen or actually jumping out of windows, but these people only had a budget of $750k, so they didn't have much to go on, and they pulled it off nicely!

Sure, it had a generic plot, but this is typical with low-budget movies.

Overall, I give this movie a 6/10, because it had great special effects, not bad acting, and generic plot with slight enhancements - throw in an extremely low budget of $750k, and you got yourself a seller!

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Should have been called 'Stereotypical Cliché'

1/10
Author: Terry Halmshaw from Australia
30 August 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I'm not going to mention the story as it's thin and very amateurish, I wont really mention anything other then the utter stupidity of it....oops there's the spoiler :) From the opening scene I was cringing, the acting was deplorable and the dialogue was an EPIC FAIL!, it was filled with dialogue of why the blonde guy (Keith Reay) shouldn't be allowed to "fly" a rented spaceship, all sorts of flying infringements etc (from a rental company no less) yet no one "flies" these craft they are fully automated, so why would ANYONE'S prior history (rented or not) come into play?.

The movie is like this all the way through, there is no cohesion, nothing gels it's just one BIG mistake after another, Keith Reay from the very beginning all I wanted to do was reach into the screen and punch him in the face just for being born, what an annoying actor he is, and no he wasn't acting his annoyance it's simply his presence.

The movie is filled with gaffs like the STUPID analogue switches on a console in a ship that wouldn't/shouldn't exist in a bloody 'rented craft', I mean seriously if you had a fully automated ship that was rented it's like that for a reason, you would not be able to override anything, let alone place a (apparently very easy to use)console for everyone to just play with...DUMB!.

Of course the craft crashes on an alien planet and 'Flower' has a compound fracture of her tibia, well ever wondered if you can walk on a compound fracture of your tibia?...well by all accounts you can, not only that she manages to run on it also....DUMB! Then while wandering out in the woods they just happen upon a 'stick man' Ala 'Blair Witch Project', it had no rhyme or reason being there it just was. DUMB! Then we have the stupid 'storm troopers' and to coin another reviewers term, they looked like they were wearing the armor from Halo, not only that the guns were frighteningly similar also, and these guns have nice big scopes on them...are the scopes being used?....no of course not, no wonder 100 'storm troopers' couldn't hit these annoying so called bloody actors, I was praying they would so the pain would stop :) DUMB! Then we have the poindexter nerd who CANNOT act to save his life, with his 'tool' he uses to repair the ships 'software' and changes 'hardware'...whatever right?, but the tool he uses looks like a damn icing gun my mother used to use to ice cakes...for crying out loud, absolutely NO IMAGINATION.....guys a hint, there's plenty of comic books around, get some hints there, I'm sure you own them all :) Now please remember this 'ship' is a rental, so why would it come equipped with an 'icing gun' and a bloody welder to repair the ship??, this clearly wasn't an Hertz rental was it?. :) DUMB! There are scenes right through this movie that SCREAM BULLSH!T, such as the scene where a 'storm trooper' checks a pulse with thick gloves on, I mean come on people, why are we treated like D!CKHEADS by these film makers, do they really think we are this DUMB?.

Well I'm very glad to disappoint them, they SUCK and so does this so called movie.

Total CRAP!.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Waste of a good title

2/10
Author: paf3150-535-549509 from California USA
3 September 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I gave it 2 stars, because I watched it. Never got better. Very low budget, stock space footage. Very unreal scenario. Not funny, not campy, just a sad, disappointing SCI-FI. Great title, "Dark Space" but does not live up to dark matter, more like a black hole. If you B- films this might be for you.

WARNING SPOILER COMING

Walking on a compound on a compound OUCH! One guy reads, and woman flys ship with one hand, over trees. Remember this is a huge space ship. Spring Break, give it a beak. Fix a completely FUBARed space with a screwdriver.. ..funny? well it is laughable. Is that the same as funny?

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

This is why indie films are not respected

2/10
Author: nuke13 from United States
28 August 2014

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

*****Might contain spoilers******

First off, I gave this movie two stars because A, the plot was actually had potential and B, because some actors actually TRIED to do their best. I won't name names but it's only a couple out of the whole cast!

This movie should not have been made the way it is.

The script, whoever this Emmett guy is, has no idea about dialogue, character development or anything else, really. Not a single technical term was used, only pre-school talk onboard the ship. ("Lower the nose of the ship" etc. of course they wrote it in a way that that's what they would need, Yoohoo! no one will notice!) They also have no idea about relationships or real people. Every character was a cliché, went nowhere and didn't have any substance.

The director didn't see the holes in the script and the bad writing? He just said, OK, great plot, let's get a production company involved? Is he insane? Oh, no! He's not! He wrote it! Yaaaay, he's a genius! Everything he does must be purrrfect. Maybe I should end this review right here and blame the whole thing on him? Seems like it kind of is because he must've done the casting as well because there is no casting director listed. No wonder! All the pieces of the puzzle fall into place!

The casting was sooo horrible, I really cannot believe it! Give good actors a bad script and they might make it work, give a badly written script to bad actors and what do you get? DARK SPACE! Some acting students could've done better than this cast. So many great talents lost to these folk?? Give me a break. What were the auditions like?? Hey! read your favorite fairytale for us. Yes, the actors didn't have much to go on, since the dialogue ducked lumpers! But that doesn't necessitate not doing what you're supposed to do with what you got, i.e. always do your best! Most of them didn't even try.

The CGI, the cheap effects, all that stuff would've been totally OK if the first three things were in place. If the script was well-written, it was well-directed and there would've been a good casting director attached who knows what real acting is and knows when he/she sees it!

This is why indie films get a bad rep. Movies like this, $750, 000 wasted on something like this! I don't believe it. When they could've gone and made a much better movie with much less money! Does the name of Robert Rodriguez's first film, El Mariachi say anything to anyone anymore? Or Christopher Nolan's first film, Following??? With just a few thousand bucks, these people actually made watchable movies!!!!

This is why good indie actors don't get a chance in a movie like this with high potential exposure ("Oh, we don't need a casting director, I'm sooo good with spotting good actors!!"), this is why most indie films go nowhere. And this is why people don't want to see any more 'indie films'. And all of this was OK'd by the Production Company. I'm sure he's the president of that production company too, Geez, I give up...

As an actor/writer, I feel really sad about the fact that this movie was ever made and it's a shame to the whole industry.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

somehow thrilling

6/10
Author: Rexford_Bedloe from Austria
6 January 2014

reviews should consider that this is a low budget scifi b-movie, so benchmarks have to be set accordingly.

the plot is not groundbreaking, special effects are not very special, characters are not developed and acting is student like.

i've seen almost all relevant sci-fi movies, most of them with far higher budgets, and this one definitely has something special. somehow stupid, somehow brilliant. camera, editing and light are involving the viewer, technically well done. the idea of the film is worth more - with a 130 million "after earth" budget this movie would be a milestone.

anxious in all aspects, "dark space" is a movie which delivers polarizing entertainment. a story, which is well told, with the given resources. for me, a surprise.

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

A fun B flick

8/10
Author: Sean Lynch from United States
7 August 2013

A fun "Campy" low budget B sci-fi flick reminiscent of classic B sci-fi movies appealing to youth such as the original "Blob" and other films of the 50's-70's

Young people will find this fun because it's fun watching other young people do dumb things and the foreshadowing is within reach of a teen.

This is a better movie than many "A" Studio sci-fi flicks and "bad science" is forgivable in B movies if they're fun.

Considering the low budget the effects were well done... Good direction, adequate acting.

Refreshingly politically INcorrect. Even more refreshing are people who are upset by this aspect of the movie. har har har.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 5 people found the following review useful:

Try to look past the first 15 or 20 minutes of the film...it DOES get better!

5/10
Author: planktonrules from Bradenton, Florida
21 January 2015

It's frustrating to watch this film because it had so much potential and with a tiny re-write it could have been really special. In its present form, however, it's a bit tough to love.

A few months ago, I reviewed a low budget sci-fi film that surprised me. While "Starship Rising" had many faults, I was extremely impressed by the look of the movie. Despite having almost nothing to spend to make the film, the special effects looked so very professional. It's too bad that the film wasn't particularly good when it came to what is important--the plot. Well, when I watched "Dark Space" a few days ago, I felt like it was a case of deja vu! Once again, here was a sci-fi film with a minuscule budget yet had exquisite special effects that made the film look very professional. Yet, as in "Starship Rising", the writing left a lot to be desired. If the makers of either film could improve the writing and characters significantly, I would sure to love to see more of their work.

"Dark Space", unfortunately, starts off very, very poorly. My youngest daughter was watching the film with me and she kept remarking how dumb the characters were--and she was right. Believe it or not, although the film is set in the distant future where space travel is commonplace, the characters seem like they were lifted out of an old "Friday the 13th" or "Halloween" movie! I half expected them to land on a planet where they'd find themselves at an abandoned summer camp or roller disco and the characters lacked depth--they were just there to be killed by some unseen menace. Many of the characters (particularly Devin) were irritating and completely ridiculous...and seemed more like clichés than people.

At this point, you might wonder why we continued watching since we hated the characters so much (and we REALLY hated them). Well, we assumed it was just a really, really bad film and we were actually having a good time laughing at the writing and characters since they were so bad. However, through the course of the film something strange happened--we both found we had to finish the movie and we actually were enjoying what we were seeing. However, I wonder how many people would bother sticking with this one.

On the plus side, the outer space scenes are extremely professional and look like something out of Hollywood as are the aliens. Additionally, although the plot is quite simple (sort of like combining Friday 13th with Predator), it works well and gets better as the film progresses. Plus, the explanation as to what is occurring and why is really very creative. The bottom line is that the film has a lot of merits...along with some god-awful characters that seemed more like caricatures than people.

By the way, if you are looking for an ultra low-budget sci-fi film which has a bit more to offer, try "Hunter Prey". Despite a simple plot, the film is rock solid from start to finish and is a great example of what can be done by clever filmmakers even if they are hampered with a micro-budget.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history