IMDb > Larry Crowne (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Larry Crowne
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Larry Crowne More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 10 of 17: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 166 reviews in total 

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not pasta or potatoes...

1/10
Author: Radoslav Ivanov (radoii_87@yahoo.com) from Milan, Italy
6 February 2014

I remember I paid $10 to see this when it came out... It was a big mistake, of course, in hindsight. It deals with job loss and college as a place for reinvention through interaction with new "interesting" people. None of it seemed realistic enough for me to care though. On top of this, it tries to cheat us at the end.

The whole thing is focused on the end speech. During the final, every student addresses the class, as well as us. Aiming to show what he has learnt, in the class, as well as a director and writer, Tom pitches. On one hand, the class is invested in Tom's speech since he "touches upon" and "incorporates" subjects that they care for(ones from their speeches or Shaw-the originally intended subject of the speech). On the other hand, however, it completely fails to engage us. Touching upon the subjects of job loss, foreclosure, lifestyle change etc. is simply not enough to fold a piece of us into the reality of the story.The allegory is not successful. We are not talking pasta or potatoes.

Ahh, and the "battle" between the speech and econ class, with the outcome assuming that we care and that things will change. An obvious slap to the current education system and kids' attention. Lacks subtlety and is very much misguided as to the real problem.

1/5 - Skip this, it's terrible - not a single redeeming feature, apart from providing us with a model of what does not work.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Sweet, pleasant, and enjoyable in a relaxing way.

8/10
Author: rahmantanju from United States
27 December 2013

Till I watched the movie last night, I didn't think it would be something I'd enjoy! But after finishing watching it, I had to come here and write my very first review on IMDb.

The story follows the eponymous Larry Crowne played superbly by Tom Hanks, who is suddenly sacked from his modest job in a Wal-mart like store for his lack of college education. The rest that follows is how he turns his life around with hard-work, determination, and the help of friends. It's a very positive movie which has as its only fault the eluding of wrongs that still go on in life. But, this is a romantic- comedy as well as a feel-good one so my veto is not strong. It is not a fast paced film and there might be flaws, both technical and artistic, that I didn't notice as the continuation was pleasant for me. Although, I am sure this is not a movie for everyone, it doesn't have the witty dialogues like You've Got Mail, which was not even in the last decade but in the one before that... and I think that might turn some people off. The simplicity of the subject matter and the script is probably what lead so many critics give this a thumb down, but for its genre this is a very fine movie. The actors are all great and on average, the characters are likable.

I was debating between giving this a 7 or an 8, but the overall good feeling of the movie took precedence and this scored 8.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

offended

4/10
Author: wy_n_wa from United States
7 April 2012

Within the first 10 minutes the movie uses the derogatory word retard multiple times. Tom Hanks is a legend and has always been a favorite of mine and fortunately he does not use the 'r' word but it is still OFFENSIVE. As an advocate for the special needs of this world I am very disturbed that this would happen in a movie with such an admirable actor. But after watching the whole movie that was the only offensive scene. I hope that in the future the director and writer of movies will take into consideration that the use of derogatory words is offensive to many and would consider revising the use of that word. Thank you for taking the time to read this and I hope many others will stand up for those who cannot.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst ten movies I have ever seen...

Author: creability-1 from United States
21 November 2011

I saw "From Dusk til Dawn" in a movie theater when it came out. I left after about 10 minutes, but that movie was way better than this pasty, silly, off putting, poorly written piece of nothing. If there was a zero rating, I would use it here.

Acting and in extension script-writing, directing, has to be a) effortless and b) believable. Unfortunately this movie managed none of that. A script that was so incredibly unbelievable paired with acting of dubious (at best) quality made this a train-wreck of a movie. Train-wreck in the sense that although horrible, it is hard to avert your eyes. The make over of the Umart employee of the month to what he becomes, chain in his wallet and all. The over-acting outside Julia's door, looked a lot like Meg Ryan, it is one of the two moves she is asked to do in all movies she is in. The gang, brrrrrrr, horror of horrors... the gang...

We get it, economic downturn, you can make it work! Think positive! There must be a better way of showing it!

Save your money and above all, save your time.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Larry doesn't work... neither does anything else in this film

4/10
Author: zzzzz-1 from Belgrade, Serbia
27 September 2011

I have seen quite a few problems regarding this film. Yet, I'd like to begin with something positive, so I have to say it is not that long and it can be considered to be... well, viewable... by most standards. Like some soap commercial. It tells you something about a soap in a most straightforward manner and that's it. In other words, you probably won't fall asleep watching "Larry Crowne". And that's about that. On the other hand, the list of "issues" this film has to offer is very long. First of all, I have seen it listed here and on some other places as a comedy. Comedy should, by definition, be at least somewhat funny. This film has exactly two places I have found a little bit funny. Not overwhelmingly-hysterically-over-the-top funny, but just funny. There are some melodramas that contain more humor than this "comedy". Secondly, the plot is a mishmash of several subplots vaguely related to each other. For example, the main problem at the beginning of the film is related to Larry losing his job. This problem becomes solved out of nowhere in the middle of the film. You can say this is a MacGuffin used to start up love story. But I think it's not the case. This dead-end story about Larry losing his job is here only to try to relate to millions of Americans who have recently lost their jobs. I am from Serbia, so I cannot relate to that problem, and watching it from the side, it becomes even more obvious that there is no explanation for this part of the plot. Then, there is a story of friendship with a much younger girl, and that part of the story looks just pathetic. There is no psychological explanation for that friendship, her "motorcycle gang" is composed entirely of no-name characters and literally none of them speaks a single word. Then, there is a love story. The main story. If there was a filmed love story with less on-screen chemistry, I have missed it. I just don't get it. Julia Roberts and Tom Hanks look like people from different dimensions, or, to be more precise, from entirely different films. Which leads to one of the main problems - acting. Tom Hanks is a great actor, he has proved that fact many times. But, obviously, he needs a director he won't be able to see only in mirror. His acting is flat, I wasn't sure if Larry was retarded or a genius, if he was unconfident or overly confident, I don't know what attracts him to Julia Roberts' character and vice versa, I know nothing about him. The director Hanks and the actor Hanks together work upon creating a totally inexplicable changes in characterization. Roberts, on the other hand, is a little better, yet again, far from her best. The other actors don't have much to offer, but I would say that Rami Malek and George Takei use their chances to make likable characters. Yet, that's far from enough. The whole film is a mess and just doesn't work neither as a comedy, nor a romantic comedy, nor a drama, it just doesn't work. And there are far too many problems regarding this film to say there was something that could have made this film better. It was irreparable from the very beginning, it's incoherent, slow and empty. And if you want to see it, think once again, that would be my most sincere suggestion.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Not worthy of its two fading stars

4/10
Author: dsa ca from United States
25 September 2011

There are two ways Larry Crowne could have been made, one the star studded studio presentation that is being served to the viewing audience currently and other a simple and a rather more independent movie with no stars. The latter version would have received a limited released and eventually slipped through audience memory, the same fate that the real version is witnessing. At least the latter one would not had taken down the movie careers of our beloved Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts with it into the drains. Not that their respective fading movie careers are all but over but this debacle sure have put a question mark to the choice of movies they want to attach their names with.

Larry Crowne is a goodie two shoes innocent salesman at a local megastore in Texas, who is fired from his job because he does not have a college degree. This leads him to a college for further studies, where he meets the grumpy lady professor Julia Roberts. As the movie 'progresses', their relationship blossoms and finally they would hopefully get together and Larry would get the college degree which he needs.

So what is the movie about? It is just happen so that we sit through waiting for Larry to complete his first semester of college. To use the scenario of job loss in this current job climate could have people misconstrued that this is a humorous look at the middle class American's economic dilemmas. But it's none of that and we are introduced to one fictional and quirky character after another. With Tom Hanks at the helm it would have been easy to cast Cedric, The Entertainer and Taraji Henson as neighbors to Tom Hanks. They are wasted completely along with many known names such as Meryll Streeps daughter Grace Gummer as Larry's Classmate. But as Larry Crowne goes through his middle age college teen experience; he encounters a spunky teen Talia played by a very beautiful and talented actress Gugu Mbatha-Raw. She introduces Larry to her scooter gang lead by her boyfriend Wilmer Valderama who is not so happy with Larry and Talia's budding friendship. Larry fits in perfectly in the gang as he has just bought a scooter from Cedric's Garage sale. So everything is set for a nice ride to nowhere. Julia Roberts relationship to Bryan Cranston, who dutifully feels his off time feeding to the needs of his porn viewing addiction, is about to fall apart and Larry will come to her rescue on a scooter. After that there is nothing substantial to write about this film.

The movie would not put you to sleep for very long time at least. Tom Hanks manages to create several funny sequences that would keep you warm and charmed for few moments. But these scenes are few and far between, especially ECON 101 lectures of an astute Chinese Professor that Larry attends with few distractions. As soon as the movie turns to character development, the movie exposes its lack of story and direction. None of the scenes provides a way forward for the storyline and shows clear disconnect between each other.

As far as the actors are concerned; audience are advised to take the attention off from a lazy Julia Roberts performance and the very old Forrest Gump, to focus on the charming Gugu Mbatha-Raw. She makes sure the viewers do not lose interest from even the most clichéd sequences between her Larry and her boyfriend Valderama. The rest can forget they were even part of this movie, as they quickly forgotten by the movie's storyline itself.

Larry Crowne never looked interesting in its Trailers too, but the mega star pair of Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts kept a faint hope alive among me and many of their fans that it cannot be that bad if those two are in. But within first fifteen minutes the hope fades away as we sit through a middle age crisis of a fading Tom Hanks and his teacher.

For more reviews visit http://cinemadose.blogspot.com/

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

sadly one of the worst movies of the year

4/10
Author: mooviefan-891-879574 from Mexico
12 September 2011

I agree with some other reviews saying that the poster and the trailer for the movie somehow makes people think that they are going to see a light but enjoyable romantic comedy. I was expecting to be good frankly. I mean Julia Roberts has Pretty woman and Notting Hill, Tom Hanks has You ve got mail and Sleepless in Seatle so the less you can expect from this actors together in a movie is good film. But I was so wrong. The characters are not likable at all. Tom Hanks really needs to take more rolls like Road to perdition he is already abusing of his role of the gold heart man and in this movie he looks really fake. Julia Roberts also fails terribly, she has lost the charm completely in this movie, they don't have chemistry at all I mean "this course changed my life I met you" really? I got mad at that point ( spoilers) and the main problem of Julia Roberts with her husband is that he watches porn? just plain awful I was going to give this a 5 but I reconsider is just bad. not the worst but very mediocre and disappointing. I finish by saying Tom Hanks get away from the directors chair and if you wrote this don't do it again please you are better winning Oscars

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Pretty enjoyable

7/10
Author: mkenyon1978 from Netherlands
16 August 2011

Let me start off by saying that I definitely feel that this movie has gotten an unfair rap - I agree that this isn't an earth shatteringly good movie and I thought there were quite a few holes in the story, but it was certainly an enjoyable feel good movie that left me with a smile on my face.

First of all, I genuinely liked Larry and thought Hanks played him well and though that his situation and life was thoroughly relatable. Likewise Julia's character - Mercy Tainot. And I also thought that they had good chemistry together. I found his enthusiasm to be infectious, but thought they didn't explore that properly wrt his effect on Mercy and his fellow students. I also thought there was a lot going on with the supporting characters, but the tie-ins with the main story line were often left hanging, which in the end gave a bit of an incomplete feel to the movie.

So, all in all, not the best movie ever, but definitely enjoyable and worth the price of admission.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Believable plot, good acting, fair script.

Author: mrhstryca from Canada
18 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

A light-hearted romp through the vagaries of reality... OK, so it was shallow and slow. Yet, I liked it very much! It reminds me of 2001's "The Shipping News" (my all-time favorite film), in which the victimized loser challenges his trials and ultimately gets the girl. (Spoiler!) It is, obviously, a tale for our time. The woes associated with his divorce and home loan were very familiar to this divorced homeowner. Nonetheless, as a 20-year teaching veteran at a California community college, I must say the classroom scenes were very realistic, as were the dingy offices. My thanks to anyone whom might offer the name of the LA area college where the filming took place. (I think I might have taught there at one time...) -Dr. M

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

A light enjoyable rom-com, but problems with pacing and not enough romance let's it down slightly.

7/10
Author: jamiemarks-1 from United Kingdom
15 July 2011

Tom Hanks one of my most favourite actors in the world and Julia Roberts a terrific actress who I have always quite like starring in a romantic comedy together, particularly with Hanks writing the script and directing it, I felt it was sure to be a winner as the trailer was great. But I was a little bit disappointed though I still highly enjoyed the film.

Larry Crowne hasn't performed all that well at the box office, but to my mind (though I know it won't be to everyone's) it isn't because this is a bad film. But rather Hanks has unwisely chose to release this at completely the wrong time. With it coming out the same week as the third Transformers and Harry Potter coming out two weeks later, that being today, most people both kids and adults will be flocking to see these movies as they are much bigger money earners as they are generally much more popular due to books (for HP) and toys/TV series (Transformers). Hanks should have released this at least a month earlier than Transformers or a month after Harry Potter as I believe it would have made a bigger impact at the box office.

Anyway I treated my father to see this as we follow the character of Larry Crowne (Tom Hanks) a nice middle-aged man who working for a company after having been in the Navy is let go of because he didn't go to college, so struggling throughout with paying his rent and such due to the poor economy he goes back to college to reinvent himself where he joins a class consisting of nine students and the teacher teaching them Mercedes Tainot (Julia Roberts). Throughout we Mercedes struggle with her life in doing her job and being stuck in a bad marriage with her husband who does nothing all day but look at pornography. Meanwhile she and Larry start warming to each other, though there chemistry dosen't really blossom until the last twenty minutes of the film.

A sub-story involves Larry becoming friends with one of the students from his economics class who coaxes him into joining a bike gang. This is an enjoyable film with a witty script at times and some good laughs, this going to a large part from a background character of the Economics professor Dr. Matsutani (excellently acted by George Takei who played Sulu in the original Star Trek series in the 1960s). All the characters are likable even though Mercedes does complain often, she has such a bad marriage so you can't blame her. And as I said Roberts and Hanks have some nice romantic chemistry towards the end as you see them (and the other students change as people) and the two main leads make a cute couple. But Hanks direction of the film is really just too slow though it keeps you engaged from the start to end. There is not enough romance between Mercedes and Larry until near the end so their romance while nice dosen't make that big an impact and you don't really emotionally connect with them or absolutely root for them to be together. And also though funny there weren't enough laugh out loud moments, only mostly chuckles.

All the same this was a very decent effort by Hanks and it's harmless light entertainment that should entertain for it's length and leave you with a smile on your face.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 10 of 17: [Prev][5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history