IMDb > Larry Crowne (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Larry Crowne
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Larry Crowne More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 8 of 19: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]
Index 186 reviews in total 

The most inoffensive film ever.

6/10
Author: Troy Putland from East Sussex
13 July 2015

Larry Crowne is Tom Hank's second film as a director. It's a feel good film with a big heart from its lead man. Financial cuts force Larry (Hanks) into losing his job. This hot topic is brushed aside as Larry stays positive by attending college. He meets some weird and wonderful people, including a young, free spirit who changes everything in Larry's life; his hair style, his fashion sense, even the layout of his living room. Larry's on a journey to reinvent himself. He gets a new job, stays focused in college and has a thing for the teacher (Julia Roberts). Julia Robert's relationship with her husband is nearing its end and never quite fits in with the rest of the film. Ultimately not much happens. The movie never escalates, only simmers. If it weren't for Hanks and Robert's ability to act out greatness from a weak script, Larry Crowne would be worse off. By the time it hits its happy, sure-fire ending all involved will be wondering what Larry Crowne's point was.

Was the above review useful to you?

Beautifully Slow

8/10
Author: Paul Larson
5 July 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

If you only watch action movies, if you only look for car chases, if you can only watch obvious movies, you will hate Larry Crowne. This is a slow, subtle movie about the American middle class and how, at times, it fails. There is nothing obvious about this movie at all, which means you must use your brain while you watch it. Larry, the title character is emblematic of a hard-working, well-intentioned guy who loses his job because he doesn't fit the corporate profile of a college-educated middle-management big-box manager. He has to cut expenses, go back to school, and down-size. His American dream has run up on the rocks. As an almost-fifty kind of guy, he has to re-invent himself. None of this is easy to watch.

He does not go to Harvard. He goes to a no-name community college. Every note in this movie rings true--abandoning his house and mortgage, buying a scooter, wearing his polo shirts tucked into his pants. His professor for speech class has long since become disillusioned with bad students, bad pay, and a stupid husband. In a series of scenes between the professor and her husband (who does nothing--she's the bread winner), we see her drinking too much, losing hope of any kind of meaningful relationship, wondering if things will ever get better. Her husband is hooked on internet porn--sad, really. In a sense, the movie is highly critical of consumer culture, the idea that everyone should have a mortgage, an SUV, and a white picket fence. In reality, none of these things matter.

All of this develops through a series of scenes that slowly tell a story of failure, disillusionment, and desperation. The up-side, though it doesn't appear obvious at once, is speech class. Learning something new, outside of oneself. Roberts, as a professor who once had big ideals about doing a phd and writing a dissertation on Shakespeare, is spot on, and anyone who has taught anything at 8:00 am will understand her frustrations. One of the best scenes is Roberts riding on Hanks' scooter after she has fought with her husband--iconic.

The denouement--Roberts going to see Hanks at his job as a short-order cook--is a quiet cry for help, and they both know it. She has helped him rebuild himself, and he is a small, quiet island upon which she might rebuild herself as well. The movie is slow. There are no shoot outs, chases, or fighting of any kind. There are no special effects. This is what life is really like. Often, unremarkable, but frequently, if you are paying attention, stunning.

Was the above review useful to you?

Poor Larry Crowne in an even poorer film

2/10
Author: studioAT from United Kingdom
6 June 2015

After the success of 'That Thing You Do' you can see why Tom Hanks was keen to give the acting/writing/directing in a project another go.

Sadly Larry Crowne is not a good film. The premise is good, and certainly topical but it's let down by a paper thin plot and weak characterisation.

Tom Hanks to his credit does his normal everyman trick very well and his relationship with Julia Roberts character is strong,but everything else...oh dear. Even the appearance of Cedric The Entertainer doesn't add much to a film that plods along despite it's relatively short running time.

The sad thing is that this film had potential, but sadly the female characters are so 2D that we never really feel for them. And in a romcom if we don't root for both parties the game is really up.

Was the above review useful to you?

Only dummies use smart phones in my class

6/10
Author: tieman64 from United Kingdom
8 January 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Directed by Tom Hanks, "Larry Crowne" stars Hanks himself as a middle-aged man who unexpectedly loses his job. Seeking to make himself more employable, Hanks enrols to a community college. Much low-key hilarity ensues.

"Larry Crowne" is flatly directed, terribly written, lacks drama, has nothing to say about the economic downturn it is set in, and features not a single believable human relationship, interaction or character. The film's sheer superficiality, however, is its biggest asset. In an era of over-plotted, overly busy R-rated comedies, the low-key, PG13 "Larry Crowne" is a bit of an anomaly. Throw in a rarely-been-more-stunning Julia Roberts, who radiates movie star charisma, and you have a film that is more tolerable than it should be. George Takei steals the show as a bizarre economics professor.

6/10 – See "The Yellow Handkerchief" and "Everything Must Go".

Was the above review useful to you?

An Overly Tame, Lacklustre Affair - Inoffensive But Unremarkable

6/10
Author: Sean Lamberger from Bradenton, FL
1 December 2014

The lightweight, feel-good saga of a man carelessly adrift in middle age without really recognizing how beleaguered he's become. A half-slate at the local community college opens new horizons and introduces him to colorful, inspirational new figures, which he takes in stride admirably. It's soft rock for the cinema, a shallow little story that's aloof and happy but not terribly gripping or important. Tom Hanks is fine in the lead role, throwing back to the classic everyman archetype that brought him fame and fortune, and his chemistry with Julia Roberts (a bitter, icy communications professor) is more comfortable and real than what we saw in their previous collaboration, 2007's Charlie Wilson's War. Beyond a few passages that may or may not have come from a pamphlet on existentialism and a few strangely unexplored plot threads, there's very little to it. Mildly funny, warm and friendly, it's also quite bland and thoroughly whitewashed.

Was the above review useful to you?

Not great, but fairly harmless

6/10
Author: grantss from Sydney, Australia
13 August 2014

Not great, but fairly harmless. Light and fluffy sort of movie. Ostensibly a romantic-comedy-drama, it is too light to be a drama and not funny enough to be a comedy. The romantic aspect feels very contrived and unemotional.

In trying to be everything to everyone, it doesn't really hit the mark on any of its intended targets.

Not all bad though. Reasonably entertaining, and moves at a decent pace. Doesn't take itself too seriously, and is reasonably short. Does have a feel-good aspect to it.

Good performance by Tom Hanks in the lead role. Julia Roberts seems miscast in her role as the jaded teacher. Goody Two Shoes roles are more for her, not roles as dark, less-than-perfect people.

Was the above review useful to you?

An Enjoyable Romantic Comedy, but it's Nothing Special or Outstanding,

6/10
Author: Dillon Harris from Ireland
24 June 2014

Larry Crowne is a good, albeit mediocre, movie with a decent storyline and a talented cast.The movie is certainly nothing outstanding,but it is an average romantic comedy,it certainly has some funny and sweet moments but it also has several parts that are hit and miss.I think the fact that actors as good as Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts were in this really helped with making this movie more watchable,because there clearly wasn't much to work with in the script but Hanks and Roberts brought the characters to life as much as they could.I also found some of the characters quite annoying,I didn't like any of the bikers that Hanks became friends with and most of the people that were in his class,although I did find Malcolm Barrett's performance really funny and would have liked to have seen more from his character,and I really liked Bryan Cranston's performance,although his character was suppose to be unlikeable,I was unable to dislike him because of Cranstons really likable personality.Larry Crowne isn't worth it to buy or rent on DVD,but it is worth the watch if it is ever on TV and you have some time to kill.

A man who is made redundant enrols on a public speaking course at a college and falls for his tutor.

Best Performance: Julia Roberts Worst Performance: Wilmer Valderrama

Was the above review useful to you?

A light, delicate, sweet comedy,

8/10
Author: maxtowers71 from italy
25 July 2013

I can't hide that Tom Hanks is one of my favorite actors, and in this movie he's great as usual, but i also really appreciate his direction and production. The story is somehow plausible, even if when we think about unemployment (where i am right now) it might bring us to think to a more dramatic situation; this movie it's able to talk about a so hard moment in the life of someone in a positive way without been cheesy or unrealistic. Oh, did i mentioned that it's based on a true story? Anyway, what really sparkles in this movie by my point of view it's the way how it's put together, as i wrote in the title of this review, it's a light delicate comedy, really a lovely film; both Hanks and Roberts fits their roles in a comfortable way, like a pair of old trusty jeans, giving a great performance, and the good cast, with familiar faces in the key roles, keeps the flow of the movie going. I will sure buy this movie in blue ray and enjoy again... Lovely.

Was the above review useful to you?

Larry Crowne. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

5/10
Author: tbills2 from United States
5 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

LARRY CROWNE (2011): In a despicably diluted movie industry, Larry Crowne is about a good as movie as you'll get. If Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts starred in a movie together in the 1990s it would've been called 'The Philadelphian Conspiracy Theory' and it would have been a classic. Now they're headlining a good, average movie at best. Is this because Hanks and Roberts are past their prime as top stars? Who's replaced them? Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence? Brad Cooper and Jen Lawrence feel like arrant toddlers compared to the stars of yesteryear. If Hanks and Roberts are 1st rate stars, and they are, and like Keanu Reeves and Helen Hunt are 2nd rate stars, then Cooper and Lawrence are 4th rate, God, but enough about Coop and Law, no more please, I've had more than I can take of Coo and La. Let's forget about them and focus on some real stars because Larry Crowne has plenty of them. If I were to say that Julia Roberts is my all-time favorite most beloved actress, I would only be slightly, barely lying. She is, and I love Julia. Julia looks dejected that her starring in Larry Crowne carries so much career clout. Larry Crowne isn't a shameful movie for Roberts to be in, it just should be more like her fifth or so best movie of the last few years for her, not one of her few good ones. What's beautiful about Julia in this role, aside from everything about her, is although she's acting dispirited at times, in the moments of Larry Crowne that are best, Julia turns it way up and starts acting with more spirit. There's not much wrong with that and I don't blame her for it. I do find it incredibly attractive. Tom Hanks is about the only actor in Larry Crowne that isn't experiencing the weighted pressure of performing in their part. Julia disregards it and Gugu Mbatha-Raw is too young to know any better. Tom Hanks holds this movie together with his lovely, light performance. His charm goes a long way into making Larry Crowne so good. Hanks is trying not to feel out of touch with a younger generation, and he succeeds with Larry Crowne. The effort of the movie alone is well enough. When I first saw Gugu Mbatha-Raw in Larry Crowne for the first time I felt that instantaneous spark and it took me about 1 second to fall madly in love. She's so hot. On a purely physical attractive scale of 1 to 100...Gugu's a 98, and Julia's a 99. Weeeeeeeeeeee! Pam Grier is always lovely to see and she is such a classy star. Seeing Grier and Roberts act in the same frame is endless delight. God forbid I come off as an ass, but Pam and Julia seem like they could be friendly acquaintances, or even outright pals. They seem to share a kindred spirit. I really like that. Taraji P. Henson in the earlier 2000s was really starting to gain fame and become a star and by now she should damn well be on her 3rd vampire killing movie where she's the lead, but no, instead she's left scraping for good roles just like everyone else in Hollywood. I can get you a vampire killing movie script by the end of the day if that's what it takes, and I promise you that Abraham Lincoln won't be the main character. Bryan Cranston is a good actor, he's shown that, but he's not that good here. I think he was a tad intimidated at acting alongside Julia Roberts playing her love interest, being a bit out of her league as an actor and as a star. Cranston's Breaking Bad character looked like it might have been uncontrollably taking surface; you're marriage is on the fritz, Bryan, you're not in the middle of a drug war! Tone it down, ha, I like Cranston a lot. Wilmer Valderrama is certainly the only one in Larry Crowne that is just plain bad, just plain bad. He's acting like he's still in The '70s Show and I'm sorry but he's just not funny, at all. Cedric the Entertainer is real solid, he does a real nice job. I didn't know Nia Vardalos co-wrote Larry Crowne with Hanks until now, that's great. I love Nia Vardalos. Larry Crowne has really good story structure, though not much of a story. Larry Crowne is as bad as good movies get, point being it is good. Tough, but fair, well, really not so tough, more just fair. Mr. Tom Hanks will you please make more movies? Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Was the above review useful to you?

A truly positive surprise

8/10
Author: damittaja from Finland
7 April 2013

My expectations for this movie were quite low due to the low ratings it seems to have. Also the plot description on the IMDb page left quite a lot more to wish for so I almost ended up not watching this movie. Now that I've seen it I'm very glad that I did. It's a sweet movie with a good heart and a lovely and pleasant atmosphere. I would recommend it for anyone who wants to enjoy a few hours of relaxation, romance and humor.

The acting was great. The actors could have done a notch better, I feel, but still the movie is nice, while it will not be a legendary one we will remember thirty years from now on. The plot is at times quite funny, which surprised me very positively. The locations are OK for this kind of story and the movie radiates a certain warmth in this area.

If one went as far as to call this a chick flick, I'd say this particular movie will be entertaining for men to watch too. Thanks go to Tom Hanks.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 8 of 19: [Prev][3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history