IMDb > Larry Crowne (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Larry Crowne
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Larry Crowne More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 19: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 186 reviews in total 

Worst Tom Hanks movie yet?

1/10
Author: Cedric Jacob from Germany
9 October 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Please know that I am a fan of Tom Hanks. Movies like "Forrest Gump" or "The Green Mile" come to mind. He can pull off any genre. Movies benefit, besides from his acting skills, from his likability and charisma. So much so, that even "light comedies" seem more sophisticated somehow.

Unfortunately, not this time!

Larry Crowne is painful to watch, cringe-worthy and for some: aggravating.

***SPOILERS AHEAD***

Middle-aged Larry Crowne (Tom Hanks) is fired from his job and decides to go back to college. Younger students figure, that he is lame and decide to give him a makeover: His look, his flat, etc. He does not object and happily accepts their judgment and their self proclaimed superficial role as human-fixers. So after changing his hair-cut, rearranging his flat and picking new clothes for him to wear, it comes as no surprise when a younger female student decides to grab, snap and throw his glasses. Larry Crowne's reaction: "Thank you". New glasses make him look more hip. Transformation almost complete...

At the same time we, the viewer, get to know Mercedes (Julia Roberts), who is working as a college teacher. She is bitter, hates her husband (who likes big boobs) and gave up on teaching a long time ago. She is judgemental and uses limited information, she can gather by looking around, to label her students unworthy of her teachings.

By now, you will probably have figured out the whole movie. Students fix Larry, Larry fixes Mercedes, Larry and Mercedes and up falling in love.

I disliked this movie so much, I had to write a review. In order to balance my bad experience I will have to re-watch a classic and write a senseless good review for the universe to absorb. Thank you.

Was the above review useful to you?

Comedy About Hometown College

7/10
Author: robtanson from Atlanta-Athens USA
9 June 2016

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Harmless comedy containing some humorous bits. I give it a "7" and am not panning it, but I might if I had not seen it last night on Netflix five years after its 2011 release. Frankly, we're today so "overly-movied" and thus to get an "A" it would take same talented actors and a "greatness element," whatever that magically means. I shall not bash as a "lame movie," but I didn't pay that usual $8--$12. So enjoy it on internet, because it's a triple but not a grand slam, while having plenty of moments. Obviously I'm not a professional critic, but try to find a Rex Reed hit piece, if he still does movie autopsies too, hint: an ancient if not elderly NY OBSERVER critic whom currently skewers the Broadway play WAITRESS. I feel bad for that play he reviews yesterday, even though I never go to plays myself, the probably last being circa 2003, not worth the $50 (whatever).

Was the above review useful to you?

Rom Com Gold!

10/10
Author: Davis P from United States
21 May 2016

Larry Crowne is one of the cutest, well made romantic comedy films I've ever seen! This movie is just rip roaring fun all the way through. I laughed so unbelievably hard several times, mostly at Julia Roberts and her hilarious lines. Julia Roberts really did reach hilarity here at several moments, especially during the drunken scene, I laughed till I was to the point of tears. Tom Hanks is awesome here too as the lead character, Larry Crowne. The chemistry between Roberts and Hanks is so real and authentic seeming. The writing and dialogue here is well written, touching when it needs to be, and hilarious when it needs to be. I thoroughly got invested in both Julia and Tom's characters and was able to get plenty of development and background of their characters, when then in turn caused me to care more about where their storyline and their romance goes by the time the film wraps up at the end. Overall, Larry Crowne is a very well made feel good type of movie that is championed by an A-list cast. 10/10 for Larry Crowne :).

Was the above review useful to you?

Not worth the time

3/10
Author: gahnzo-59404 from US
25 March 2016

There really is no chemistry, and the storyline is quite thin. I liked all the characters but none of them have any real substance to them. The fact that it was written by Tom Hanks, surprises me, as I thought he would have done a better job with the story. It's somewhat inconceivable, that a guy with (spoiler alert) 20 years in the Navy wouldn't have a pension coming, so his need to go back to school/work is kinda lame. Things in this movie just seem to be so stiff and out of place.. the redoing of his house, the moped gang, the quick dismissal of the husband... there's so much wrong with the movie.. forget it and move on..

Was the above review useful to you?

A Cute Watch!

6/10
Author: nama chakravorty from India
23 March 2016

Tom Hanks enters Rom-Com Zone with 'Larry Crowne'. And he succeeds pretty much in delivering a cute little film, about a man's journey in his 40's. Its a simple film, told simplistically.

'Larry Crowne' Synopsis: After losing his job, a middle-aged man reinvents himself by going back to college.

'Larry Crowne' isn't consistently crisp or sharp, but it has a good, clean heart & I admired that. Hanks & Nia Vardalos's Screenplay is simple & sweet. But of course, it could've been tighter. Hanks's Direction is well-done. Cinematography & Editing are okay.

Performance-Wise: Hanks is charming, as ever. He's Larry Crowne from start to end. Julia Roberts is exceptional. She enacts the frustrated women, who later finds love, with absolute naturalness. Bryan Cranston, as Julia's obnoxious husband, is perfect. Taraji P. Henson & Cedric the Entertainer are passable. Rami Malek is excellent, while Pam Grier sleepwalks through her role.

On the whole, 'Larry Crowne' is a decent watch.

Was the above review useful to you?

LOVED this movie !

10/10
Author: kristinontour
14 January 2016

I adore this movie. While the Hanks' character is lovable (as many of his characters are ) there are plenty of interesting, vibrant characters in the mix. From the eccentric neighbor who runs a full time yard sale in his front yard-- to the free loving scooter chick that embraces Larry and shows him beautifully simple options to his current lifestyle. I think this movie shows how when life throws some unexpected horrible turns at you, what matters is how you handle the changes. Larry did not fight change, he opened himself up to change as a good thing and rolled with it. He did not fight for his job, he did not fight for his home. In the end, HE was better....HIS LIFE was better.

Was the above review useful to you?

Worth watching...

8/10
Author: csengide from Canada
28 December 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This movie may not be the most engaging flick of the year, and I must admit I like it purely because of Larry Crowne's character. I think he is the definition of the type of man I would marry regardless of his status in life. He is authentic to the core, confident the right way, principled, at peace with the world and himself, full of love and kindness, and open to growth. Even sexy.. Does that exist in real life?

The backdrop is completely secondary. I think I liked Talia's character second best, a free spirited, happy, passionate, caring girl who befriends Larry and looks at him as a buddy / father figure - while lovingly sprucing up his look & living space. A pleasant distraction.

The writing, score, editing and direction left a bit to be desired.. The character played by Julia Roberts and the way she portrays her is more reminiscent of a 15 year older, even more bitter Erin Brockovich than a classical-music-singing, intellectually starved university professor. She completely despises her husband and shows no love for him at all. He is a twice published university professor, now in a lazy phase - part-time blogging & occasionally surfing porn. If she was an Audrey Hepburn type, elegant, highly intelligent woman I would understand the contrast. But Roberts' character is just as crass (perhaps even more so) and lacking in decorum as her husband, spending her down time drinking homemade margaritas. The pair would have been more believable as a trailer trash couple than mismatched academics. And Larry Crowne falling in love with her based on the classroom scenes, even less likely.

Tom Hanks is a supremely intelligent man - he shouldn't be afraid to use his intellect in movie dialogue as they used to in the 50s, if pleasing the main stream homogenized crowd is not his goal anyway.

Regardless - for me Larry Crowne was worthwhile for Larry Crowne himself. A glimpse of a simple, honest man with character. Tom Hanks' performance in this role in my opinion was nuanced and beautiful. So thanks..

Was the above review useful to you?

lance coronas reinventing inspiration through his Renaissance in re education

7/10
Author: 2karl- from Ireland
6 September 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

this film I saw in the cinemas tom hanks comes back from his 2yr break so we meet Larry crowne going to work played by tom hanks who directs this funny film and wrote it as well its about you never to old to reinvent yourself so we see him pushing trolleys in the bays he is was a superstar team leader but with everything there is a recession going on he gets told that there is no job left for him so he decides to look for work but there none available so with his mortgage on top of him he is unclear what to do so

so he goes back to college to public speaking and business so as he finds his new teacher miss Mercedes tainot a bit odd who lost he will of life due to her husband played by dean tainot(Bryan Cranston) who is lazy loves porn and has dragged his wife along she is looking for a way out but cant find it so we come to he public speaking class with a class of 9 so she decides that the min is 10 in a class as are the rules but just then Larry crowne pops in so things go on from there talking about popular topics like life and its Venn sway and fashion and food but also his class of business run Dr matsutani played buy a funny George takei scares his class to pieces like They call them smart phones, but only dummies use them in my class but as Larry finds out money doesn't grow on trees and down sizing is a very big option to his gas guzzler so buys a scooter of his neighbors who like a garage sale man next played Lamar(Cedric the entertainer who wants a few bucks for everything so he with Larry sells his items being given to him so so coincidently sparks a something new in his life when meets a colorfully community of outcast with scooters a mini revolution of sorts helps lance coronas rediscover his life and spark that was missing and with his business studies he realizes that his mortgage cant be paid so in order for him to move on with his life he has to take a hit give his house back in a strategic foreclose on his property when moving from his street leaves a hole in his heart but thats life in order to move on as he does so he finds love again with his teacher who low life husband runs into trouble so with his new mates and his new fashion his zest for life invigorates him as its never to late to reinvent for a small film this film packs an emotional punch great story 7/10

Was the above review useful to you?

.. barely mediocre

5/10
Author: bjarias from United States
1 August 2015

Even when a film has very good material to work with (which this one unfortunately doesn't), it would still have to overcome the distraction of two giant stars to somewhat make it work. Here the material is so weak it's difficult to even get out enough words for this ten line review. These are two of the most recognizable celebrities on the planet, and watching them together on screen is just a distraction.. for mostly whatever they're doing you are still aware that you're watching Julia Roberts and Tom Hanks.. not some random English teacher and one of her students. Box Office MoJo indicates this movie made over seventy-two million dollars worldwide, so I guess the millions invested in the two blockbuster lead actors paid off well for a few folks. Would imagine their devoted fans thought it worthwhile too.. but in truth, it was hardly at all memorable.

Was the above review useful to you?

Larry Loses His Crown.

4/10
Author: Python Hyena from Canada
16 July 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Larry Crowne (2011): Dir: Tom Hanks / Cast: Tom Hanks, Julia Roberts, Cedric the Entertainer, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, George Takei: Here is a film with a strong message about the underdog that doesn't quite measure up. It begins with promise where Crowne is downsized from his job. From there he figures that he needs education so he heads to college where he falls in love with his married teacher. This is where the film grinds to a halt. Hanks directed That Thing You Do fifteen years ago and it was a decent effort. Here again he applies his craft to a less successful screenplay. Hanks fares well as the underdog who must pull himself out of his situation. He appears to be a good worker with gentleman qualities who can even influence a local gang. Julia Roberts as his teacher makes a great effort in what amounts to your standard romantic tease. She kicks her husband out when she becomes fed up with his porn surfing but this relationship is handled as a very bad comic after thought. Once she is free then she and Crowne get it on outside her apartment and it is boring as hell. Gugu Mbatha-Raw has a wasted role as a young female who introduces Crowne to her biker friends. Cedric the Entertainer plays his neighbor whose job appears to be to have a constant running yard sale. George Takei is terrific as a teacher whose stern views of cell phones in class becomes apparent when Hanks crosses the line more than once. There is a message here regarding overcoming the odds and succeeding but this film succeeds at nothing other than to take two bankable actors and place them within a tired charade. Score: 4 ½ / 10

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 19: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history