IMDb > Larry Crowne (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Larry Crowne
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Larry Crowne More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 7 of 17: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]
Index 170 reviews in total 

Subtle Optimism

8/10
Author: wingedheartart from United States
17 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I disagree with this needing spice. It wasn't written to be action packed, full of CGI etc. It was to show what a man of about 50 does when he is downsized, through no fault of his own. If you are over 30 and have gone back to school, possibly at a local community college or ANY college really, when J. Roberts is dragging her chalk across the board with a lack of enthusiasm...I felt like I sat through her class more than once. The subtle humor of the students and teachers, LOVE GEORGE T. IN THIS... is fantastic. When Julia's character is talking to her husband about Porn and he says, "I'm a guy, being a guy, being a guy..." It stays with you. Not all guys act that way... So, if you aren't 12 or 18 and have gone through a few difficulties in life, check our Larry Crowne. It will fill you with a warm optimism, that you might be able to make it through the next crisis with a little bit of humor.

QH.

Was the above review useful to you?

good movie

9/10
Author: mattkratz (themattk@hotmail.com) from Richardson, TX
12 November 2012

This is a decent movie featuring two of my favorite actors-Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts-and a decent supporting cast. It is a story about a man who loses his job after it is discovered that he never went to college, and he decides to remedy that by enrolling at a local community college. He enrolls in a couple classes and winds up falling for one of his professors.

The standouts:George Takei's role as the economics professor, and the hilarious scenes in the speech class and the yard sale with Cedric the Entertainer. This was a not-too-bad movie about starting over and forming relationships and doing well. I loved the performances in the lead roles, and you will too.

*** out of ****

Was the above review useful to you?

A polarizing film indeed

8/10
Author: bbbaldie from United States
8 November 2012

People love it or hate it, it seems.

Probably not among Hanks' classics, but I was downsized at the age of 51 a week before this movie came out.

Needless to say, it was an emotional experience.

A year and change later, I have the best job I've ever had. I watched it again, and the experience was still emotional, but this time it was triumph screaming in my soul instead of poignancy and worry.

Sue me, I loved it.

(addendum) God, is my review really too short to be submitted? Is brevity something to be penalized? I know a lot of people, and believe me, most of them err on the side of yakking too much. And here you are telling me my review must be lengthened. Geez. :-/

Was the above review useful to you?

Pretty darn good!

7/10
Author: crunky84 from Canada
1 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I always say, name me ONE bad movie that Tom Hanks did - you just can't! This movie was really good, I've watched it a few times now. I like the whole aspect of it. The cast of characters was bright and new, with actors & actresses who are well known, to ones that weren't but still added depth and creativity. The story line was down to earth, stuff that real people go through - getting fired, house being taken back by the bank, having to get a job at the local restaurant and taking college courses.

You'll note that the opening credits shows "Playtone", which is a fun fact because when Tom Hanks appeared in the movie "That Thing You Do", the record company was named "Playtone Records".

Was the above review useful to you?

Getting The Pink Slip Isn't Bad After All

8/10
Author: Desertman84 from United States
18 October 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Larry Crowne is a romantic comedy that features Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts together Cedric the Entertainer,Taraji P. Henson,Gugu Mbatha- Raw,Wilmer Valderrama,Bryan Cranston and Pam Grier.It is directed by Hanks, who co-wrote its screenplay with Nia Vardalos.

Until he was downsized, affable, amiable Larry Crowne was a superstar team leader at the big-box company where he's worked since his time in the Navy. Underwater on his mortgage and unclear on what to do with his future, Larry heads to his local college to start over. There he becomes part of a colorful community of outcasts that are trying to find a better future for themselves often moving around town in a herd of scooters. In his public-speaking class, Larry develops an unexpected crush on his teacher Mercedes Tainot, who has lost as much passion for teaching as she has for her husband,who has been watching porn a lot.

Despite the fact that it is clichéd and conventional, the film is surprisingly entertaining.When it comes to unemployment-themed movie, it surprisingly paints a rosy vision of life after the pink slip.We get to see how Larry Crowne manages to remain somewhat unaffected after losing his management position job,car,house and settles into having a scooter as well as becoming a both a cook,enrolling in a community college and eventually living in an apartment. His character definitely provides a lot of optimism and remain having a positive outlook in life that one can have especially during the economic tough times.This romantic comedy is heartwarming despite the fact that it has somewhat unrealistic especially when trying to paint a picture of the difficulties Americans are experiencing with the current economic crisis and it has underused the talents involves.Although this is lightweight movie,one can enjoy this one while relaxing watching it in a Sunday afternoon.Give credit that to the likable leads - Hanks and Roberts - who manages to make it that way inspite of the fact that both are going half-speed when it comes to their acting talents.

Was the above review useful to you?

A banal by the books rom-com

4/10
Author: Murli from Bermuda
10 September 2012

I'd liked to have given Larry Crowne a higher rating because it had an interesting premise that's so different from the regular rom-coms that are commonplace these days. A middle aged, recently fired man reassesses his goals and goes back to college to get a degree. He meets various personalities as he enters student life, falling in love along the way, and finds himself and his place in life.

The two biggest setbacks to the story were the love angle, and Julia Roberts. I wouldn't have had a problem with Roberts had she not acted so disinterested in her role. She had a contemptuous look on her face, much like that of a sneering aristocrat, throughout the movie such that it was hard to understand how she fell for Larry Crowne. Her character is so self absorbed in her misery and long suffering marriage that it's incredible that she somehow managed to pick Larry out as a suitor, when she probably had dozens of chances before Larry even came onto the scene.

So the love angle did not make sense because Roberts's disdain and Larry's innocent, aw-shucks by gosh innocent guile did not create any decent chemistry and so it became more of a distracting filler.

The other cast members were average and typecast, though Cedric did raise some smiles with his small screen time, as was George Takei as the weird Economics professor (but what was Taraji P. Henson thinking?) and mostly forgettable. Nia Vardolos managed to squirm her way into the movie as the annoying voice of the malfunctioning GPS (which sums up her efforts in Hollywood post My Big Fat Greek Wedding) Hanks was good as the man with the troubles and while it would have been good to have the romantic portion in the movie I would have preferred it with someone more worthy.

I suppose the blame should go to the writing, which was weak at times but mostly formulaic. Despite shared writing credits by Hanks and Vardolos to me this had the smell of Nia's influence on the project, thereby contributing to the rather disappointing effect.

It's worth watching if you're a Tom Hanks fan. He hasn't been a character this naive since Forrest Gump. Julia Roberts and the writing bring down what could have been a typical but enjoyable rom-com.

Was the above review useful to you?

What a Missed Opportunity

4/10
Author: GAWeldon from Atlanta
28 May 2012

I was really looking forward to seeing "Larry Crowne", as I'm a big fan of Tom Hanks' previous writing/directing effort, "That Thing You Do". Unfortunately, "Larry Crowne" is a big step down for him as a writer, a director, and as an actor, as I felt the movie failed on all counts. The movie is about an everyman who gets hit hard by the economy and is forced to adapt to his new reality in ways he never imagined. What a great concept for a movie, especially now! The first problem I had with the movie is that with a title like "Larry Crowne", you expect to see a character study about a man named Larry Crowne. Unfortunately, at some point in the production, Julia Roberts was added to the cast, so the movie, out of necessity, became "Larry Crowne and His Academy-Award-Winning Big Star Love Interest". Suddenly, the 90 minute movie is trying to tell dual stories; one about Larry's situation and one about his angry, bitter, hard-drinking, married professor.

I like Julia Roberts a lot. She can play anything from comedies, rom-coms, drama, and even evil villains ("Law & Order", "Confessions of a Dangerous Mind"). Here, though, she's just out of place. She has a drunken fight scene with her husband (Bryan Cranston) midway through the movie that's so real and angry and painful that it could have been the basis for a completely different (and interesting) movie. It just didn't fit well in THIS movie. Also, the romance between Larry and his Professor came out of nowhere and seemed very inappropriate (student & teacher, single & married, upbeat & bitter). It seemed like a cheat, a way to make sure a happy ending was achieved for all.

The second problem with the movie is more serious. I've never met a human being on the planet who behaves like anyone in this movie. Everyone is so strangely happy/laughing/smiling all the time (except Julia Roberts) that it was like watching a bunch of Weebles on-screen, with their painted-on smiles, wobbling around from scene to scene. Who were these people, and why were they doing the things they did? None of it made sense. The "scooter gang" was interesting, but they seemed like a group of good-natured kids from an episode of "The Brady Bunch" rather than young adults living their lives in LA. This had "sitcom" written all over it (and old-school sitcom, at that).

Basically, this was a movie with a good idea and a couple of well-written scenes. Otherwise, it was more like an SNL skit, with Tom Hanks as a never-say-die man-child soldiering through whatever life throws at him with good humor and a smile. Very disappointing.

Was the above review useful to you?

Out of touch with reality.

4/10
Author: Recidi
22 May 2012

I understand what Tom Hanks was trying to do here; make a film which represents what we're facing every day. A big company that downsizes it's people and we're out of job in this economy. And this film could have really connected with a lot of us.

But, I also feel that Tom Hanks could have done an even better job connecting with those of us who have lost our jobs and have had to return to college at a later age.

The biggest disappointing aspect of this film is how angry Julia Roberts' role was. She hated teaching and hated her class, all because it was "too early in the morning". No instructor at a college would have verbally abused her students the way she did in this film.

And that's just for starters.

I think this film had a great idea in mind and had the potential to take it much higher, but Tom Hanks completely missed in capturing it. In a way, it sadly shows how out of touch with reality he really is.

Was the above review useful to you?

A solid movie with some undeveloped story line.

7/10
Author: jkd15-1 from United States
17 May 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is a pleasant movie, easy going and happy. All movies don't need conflict, violence or unhappiness to be good.

As far as story line goes, the relationship between Hanks and Roberts is a little contrived and under developed but their superb acting skills somehow covers it a bit.

This is almost a family movie and should be OK for 10+.

I know there are some unhappy reviewers wanting more substance and conflict. Understandable, but the movie is very easy on the soul and flows nicely from scene to scene.

Makes a great date movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

Good to see once

6/10
Author: esteban1747 from Spain
17 May 2012

The unemployment is a serious actual problem all over the developed industrialised world, there are millions of young people unemployed and I thought that this film, although a comedy, will treat the problem somehow. I was wrong as usual, the material touched slightly the problem not of a young guy but of an old worker, well recognized where he used to work. Once fired the challenge for him was to study for getting some knowledge, which, to be frankly, one never knows if it will be useful for his future life and career. In this way the film goes smoothly with some funny scenes, and giving the chance of Julia Roberts of doing something as a teacher, very susceptible to be impressed with not very impressive Tom Hanks. At the end it finishes as a good fairy's story.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 7 of 17: [Prev][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history