IMDb > Larry Crowne (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Larry Crowne
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Larry Crowne More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 4 of 18: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]
Index 174 reviews in total 

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not What I Expected

6/10
Author: winterslacker from United States
5 December 2011

At first, I didn't understand why this movie got such low ratings; then I watched it. I expected more from this movie. Again, the trailer preview was misleading. There were a couple of funny moments, but Julia Roberts was behind the majority of them; she stole the movie with her exhausted lack of care in her career as a college professor; that, and her expressions and reactions were just hilarious. She makes it lively. I also can't believe Tom Hanks directed, co-wrote, and starred as the main character in this movie. That's amazing. I think he did a good job considering the time and effort involved for all three roles. I felt Larry Crowne's every emotion. In my opinion, that's what makes a great movie.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Cute enough, but I wouldn't see it again.

5/10
Author: niper from United States
8 July 2011

This is a sweet production depicting what I guess a Hollywood actor Tom Hanks would know about the recent economy being tough on most of us. The entire film gives off this sappy attitude of camaraderie and "let's work through these hard times together"! It was never drop to the floor funny, but there were plenty of quirky moments that caused a lot of chuckles throughout the movie.

It's predictable, but not quite boring. Don't expect to get blown out of the water by anything said or done. It's got a lot of what another reviewer here aptly described as "Hollywood fairy dust" that I suppose Tom Hanks acted out the most in his early acting career, and he's now directing the same kind of stuff in his early directing career.

Larry Crowne is a feel-good reflection of our current times with a Hollywood air of optimism and assurance, telling us that with diligence and persistence, we can all climb out of tough times while keeping a nice standard of living. Go out and see it if you're just looking for some relaxation and chuckles with some decent actors.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

One of the worst ten movies I have ever seen...

Author: creability-1 from United States
21 November 2011

I saw "From Dusk til Dawn" in a movie theater when it came out. I left after about 10 minutes, but that movie was way better than this pasty, silly, off putting, poorly written piece of nothing. If there was a zero rating, I would use it here.

Acting and in extension script-writing, directing, has to be a) effortless and b) believable. Unfortunately this movie managed none of that. A script that was so incredibly unbelievable paired with acting of dubious (at best) quality made this a train-wreck of a movie. Train-wreck in the sense that although horrible, it is hard to avert your eyes. The make over of the Umart employee of the month to what he becomes, chain in his wallet and all. The over-acting outside Julia's door, looked a lot like Meg Ryan, it is one of the two moves she is asked to do in all movies she is in. The gang, brrrrrrr, horror of horrors... the gang...

We get it, economic downturn, you can make it work! Think positive! There must be a better way of showing it!

Save your money and above all, save your time.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 3 people found the following review useful:

Back to Point A

Author: gradyharp from United States
17 November 2011

LARRY CROWNE is not a bad movie, it is simply an unremarkable movie. Seeing the opening credits read 'A Tom Hanks Production', and 'written by Tom Hanks (with Nia Vardalos)', 'directed by Tom Hanks', 'starring Tom Hanks', with cameos by Rita Wilson (Mrs. Tom Hanks) and Chet Hanks (son of Tom Hanks), we know we are in for a 'Tom Hanks family outing'. So expect a feel good flick - and that is what is delivered. Not that feel good flicks are a bad thing - in this particular time we need more of them. But LARRY CROWNE seems to candy coat the current major problem of economic disaster by making it funny. It's not.

Larry Crowne is a happy-go-lucky top employee of a Walmart/Target/Home Depot type store named UMart, voted best employee of the month nine times, and suddenly is laid off because he has no college education that would allow him to advance in the ranks of management of the huge megapolis-everything store (Larry spent 20 years in the Navy as a cook instead of going to college). Recently divorced, he owes money on his house (his discussion with the bank is in the person of Rita Wilson!), and he is unable to find work. Larry decides to enroll in the local community college where he mets the pixie-like Talia (Gugu Mbatha-Raw, a sparkling personality on screen) and her boyfriend Dell Gordo (Wilmer Valderrama) and their little motor scooter gang (including Grace Gummer, another of Meryl Streep's daughters). Talia takes Larry under her wing, dresses him like a college student and spiffs up his home while attending the same classes as Larry - Econ (with the weaselly Dr Matsutani played to the hilt by George Takei), and Speech taught by Mercedes (Mercy) Tainot (Julia Roberts) who is usually hungover, drinks too much in order to tolerate her useless husband (Bryan Cranston), and tries every trick to get out of teaching her disinterested students. Larry's developing new self (he has a job as a short order cook in a diner now) meets the change factor in his life - Mercy - who because of his kindness and gentlemanly ways attracts Mercy. That of course progresses into predictable situations.

The other aspect of the film that is actually the most touching is the relationship between Larry and his neighbors Lamar (Cedric the Entertainer) and Bella (Taraji P. Henson) who are in a constant state of yard sale: these two actors provides some of the finest scenes in the film. Larry Crowne joins Talia and Dell Gordo in a motor scooter gang, changes his appearance and outlook, and with the help of his new relationship with Mercy he manages to come up happy. In the end the film (despite some good cameo roles) pretty much wastes Hanks and Roberts in an out of focus antidote to the current state of mass unemployment. LARRY CROWNE tries hard but the bumbling big bird of an airplane just never makes it off the ground.

Grady Harp

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Not as bad as it has been made out to be

7/10
Author: Julianne McFey
8 July 2011

Okay, so Larry Crowne is not award-winning, groundbreaking material; but it sure does not deserve to be torn to shreds in reviews. It's a story about a man starting over after being "downsized" from his job in retail. Why go into it with all these great expectations? The story line is simple and straightforward. Let's be honest. It does not need a whole lot to be deemed a success. I mean, hello, it has Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts. They have amazing careers and a huge fan base. Overall, it is enjoyable. Tom Hanks is, as always,charming. He makes the audience genuinely care for Larry Crowne. Julia Roberts provided unexpected, yet welcome comical timing as Mercedes Tainot. As a big fan of hers, I will have to say that Larry Crowne is one of my favorite films starring her post-Erin Brockovich. I was not expecting to find this movie funny, yet I caught myself giggling at clever quips and such. Also, there is a number of supporting characters that are vital to the comical effect of the movie. Larry Crowne is about a man finding his way after being let go from his previous job. The audience gets to root for Larry and watch him succeed. It's a feel good, light-hearted movie with a touch of romance...just sit back and enjoy it.I was very pleasantly surprised after seeing all the reviews it got. I can't speak for everyone, but I would go see it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Mediocre

6/10
Author: bdl7431 from Columbus, OH
3 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I went to the movie with my wife, who is a devoted Tom Hanks fan. She was entertained by it. Me, I wasn't particularly impressed. Here's why Spoiler alert Tom Hanks plays an ex-Navy cook who is apparently divorced and has no kids. His character is a simple, affable man, similar to his signature Forrest Gump. He was laid off/fired form a mega-store because he does not have a college education. Basically he goes back to school to rectify this.

At school, he takes a class from the a professor, played by Julia Roberts (he also takes another class from a maniacal professor played by George Takai of Star Trek). Julia Roberts recently split from her husband, who sits at home and writes blogs while looking at porn and comes across as a complete dolt.

The two develop a love interest - somehow. What is very strange about the film is that Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts don't interact much. Why do they form a relationship, other than he treats her with a modicum of respect? Really, this is weird.

Much of the film instead revolves around Hank's character and the relationship he has with a much younger female who happens to drive a scooter. She invites him to join a scooter gang, for lack of a better term. The scooter gang helps him transform from a somewhat stiff Gump like character to someone who is comfortable in his own skin.

So, really, it's an OK film - a bit of fluff that will have a relatively short run and then head to cable and DVD/Blu-Ray. You may want to wait until then. Or, it is a good date flick if you're older.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Beware: Larry Crowne is not a romance, just a comedic cc adventure.

4/10
Author: mxmlln (21mxmlln@gmail.com) from Reading, England
2 July 2011

Again, we are presented with a movie unlike its preview. The only similarity is that LARRY CROWNE is clearly a comedy and I did find myself giggling during a few scenes. However, the film is actually an adventure story about a man who goes to college for the first time, not the romance the preview suggests. Is going to community college really an adventure, especially while in foreclosure? Not at all, really, resulting in an altogether lackluster film.

The story has little or no conflict and we watch as Larry goes to class and makes friends of his new peers. But where are Larry's previous friends? He simply doesn't have any, just a very close neighbor down the street to mentor him through his troubles. To complicate matters, he misinterprets signals from his new female best friend, causing a misdirection in plot. How many comedies intentional lead you astray to surprise you at the end? Likely, zero. All these problems complicate the viewing experience, but cannot create a semblance of a main conflict to propel the story.

After about 3/4 of the way into the film, Larry and his speech teacher Merci finally start a romance: This is where the preview footage finally comes together. However, the happy ending cannot recover the direction-less majority. Still, not a bad job for your first feature film, Hanks.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

I actually got an IMDb account so that I can talk about how much I HATE THIS MOVIE!

1/10
Author: atwell-m-stacey from Canada
8 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILERS************************(Even though there is nothing to spoil)

First off, what is with everyone liking this movie? I was almost subject to tears after realizing that people genuinely enjoyed this vile, annoying abomination.

What the devil happened in this movie? NOTHING! NOTHING NOTHING! The only reason why I didn't slip into a comma was because I was hysterically laughing at how awful the acting, story or script was.

That Snapping Moped gang that Tom Hanks is accepted in was unforgettably brilliant. Oh wait, did I say brilliant I meant to say ridiculous.

How was he liked by everyone in college to the point where I thought girls were going to orgasm in the hallways just by looking at him?

FEZmakes an appearance as FEZ with a leather jacket, facial hair and even more homosexually charged than ever. Although in the movie he was portrayed as a tough heterosexual snapping biker. What?

I'll never go down the dairy section in the grocery aisles because I'm now lactose intolerant from the pure cheese this movie stuffs down your throat. Or should I say French toast? HAHAHAHhahahhahah Tom Hanks wrote that "funny" himself.

I feel I am now subject to starting a cult following that will ERADICATE this movie from earth. I sentence these two actors to having to watch this movie on repeat for eternity however; they would probably love that too much because they are extremely egotistical. Instead of Julia and Tom being the leading roles they will both be replaced by that Asian Economy instructor.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 13 people found the following review useful:

Hanks Tackles the Economy and Romance in a Facile Feel-Good Dramedy

6/10
Author: Ed Uyeshima from San Francisco, CA, USA
4 July 2011

The tepid reviews that this 2011 dramedy is receiving have been pervasive, yet there is something innately Capraesque about Tom Hanks' sophomore directorial effort, his first since 1996's "That Thing You Do!" The movie proudly wears its heart on its sleeve, and the commitment that Hanks shows in his character's plight goes a long way to compensate for the episodic, by-the-numbers screenplay co-written by Hanks and Nia Vardalos ("My Big Fat Greek Wedding"). The screenplay is what makes the film a bit disheartening to watch since its amiable nature and can-do sensibilities don't produce much in the way of compelling conflict. The concept appears timely, but the treatment feels like a Hollywood studio-manufactured version of what happens when sudden unemployment and economic hardship alter your reality.

The title character is a divorced man in his mid-fifties who is the ideal employee in a Walmart-type store after spending nearly twenty years as a cook in the Navy. Thinking he was about to win another employee of the month award, Larry finds out that he is the victim of a downsizing ostensibly due to his lack of a college degree being told he has reached his maximum growth potential with the store. In order to ensure that he never has this problem again, Larry enrolls in a local community college where is advised to take an introductory economics course and a class on public speaking where he meets a lovely but disillusioned professor named Mercedes Tainot, herself dealing with a bad marriage and a drinking problem. Larry also acquires a scooter and attracts the strictly platonic attention of a fellow student named Tania, a free spirit who is a member of a harmlessly hip scooter gang and makes him over to look more fashion forward.

Little time is spent on Larry's actual economic situation, and Hanks uses the convenient device of a pretentious loan officer (played comically by his wife, Rita Wilson) to explain what Larry has to do to curtail his sinking mortgage payments. Along the way, he finds a job as a line cook at a diner, makes new friends, and learns to loosen up a little and enjoy the small things in life. At first, Hanks as an actor appears to be in "Forrest Gump" mode as Larry, avuncular and docile to the point of appearing mentally challenged, but then he gravitates toward his "You've Got Mail" character when he sets out to win Roberts' heart. As Mercedes, Roberts seems to be sliding into middle age a lot smoother than I would have expected from an actress whose popularity peaked a decade ago. She's certainly a lot more endearing here than she was in her navel-gazing exercise last year, "Eat, Pray, Love".

Gugu Mbatha-Raw is appealing as Tania, but her character is probably the most unbelievable in the story. As Larry's constantly huckstering neighbor, Cedric the Entertainer is used primarily for comic relief, while Taraji P. Henson has a barely-there role as his perky wife. So does Pam Grier who provides her earthy presence all far too briefly as Mercedes' fellow faculty member. Bryan Cranston has the predictable role of Mercedes' porn-surfing, no-account husband and plays him exactly to formula. George Takei steals several scenes as the self-absorbed economics professor, while Wilmer Valderrama appears to be upending his role as Fez on "The 70's Show" as Tania's innocuously jealous boyfriend. By the way, it's hard to miss Grace Gummer as one of the students since she is a carbon copy of her mother Meryl Streep's younger self. The movie rallies in the second half of its 99-minute running time, but despite a heavy likability factor due to its stars, I wish there was less Hollywood fairy tale dust in the story.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievably bad

1/10
Author: markscarls from San Diego
1 December 2011

This movie was poorly written and poorly acted. There was no chemistry between Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts. While Tom Hanks' character was a "nice guy," it is highly unlikely that a snobby college professor would fall for someone with so little education -- even a lush like Julie Roberts' character. And although Julia Roberts was occasionally attractive those few times she was sober, it's hard to believe that Larry Crowne, who was supposed to be an admirable character, would chase such a depressed, loutish, stuck-up person, especially knowing that she's married. And there is a young girl who decides to intervene in Larry Crowne's life and help him that is even more unbelievable. This film was just ridiculous. Luckily I got it free from my local library. It still wasn't worth the time and energy it took to put it into my DVD player.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 4 of 18: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history