IMDb > Larry Crowne (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Larry Crowne
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Larry Crowne More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 18: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 171 reviews in total 

7 out of 11 people found the following review useful:

Wasted Potential

4/10
Author: Carl White (moovemkr) from United States
6 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The problem with this movie is that the producer, writer and star of this movie obviously has not had too many average guy problems in his life in quite a while.

Its hard to sympathize with Larry Crowne, and the movie only works if you do, when everything seems to come so easy for him.

Go back to school, here are the classes you should take that will change your life, do you want to be our friends, do you want to kiss me, do you want a job that works with your schedule, dump the house and mortgage, its OK, your neighbors will sell your stuff and then you can go start a new life with a hot teacher.

I do realize its a romantic comedy with Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, we pretty much already know how it ends before we walk in the theatre but there is simply no struggle and almost zero conflict that would make you pull for the guy.

Tom Hanks has said in interviews he wanted to play "this kind of guy", its just that he seems to have no idea what "this kind of guy" really goes through in life.

Its like he and Nia Vardalos in writing the movie could come up with ideas to solve problems they perceive he would encounter without actually showing him struggle with any of the problems because they had no idea what that struggle would be.

It would be like asking someone like Larry Crowne in real life to make a movie about the pitfalls and struggles of being very rich and famous. He would only be guessing and would not really know the real issues and struggles.

The bottom line is that this movie had so much potential and it was wasted. Tom should have wrote this movie with a talented but struggling and hungry screenwriter and the results would have probably turned out much better.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Tom, what have you done ?

5/10
Author: howard-kerr from england, uk
4 October 2013

Firstly let me say I think Tom Hanks has been brilliant - the Green Mile for example is one of my all time favourite films.

So I was looking forward to this, and the first few minutes seemed OK enough to make it worthwhile.

One comment on the opening credits - it says a Tom Hanks film, starring Tom Hanks, co-written by Tom Hanks, Directed by Tom Hanks, Produced by Tom Hanks. Rather reminded of Little Britain's take on Dennis Waterman - i write the theme tune, i sing the theme tune etc.

But back to the film - I will try not to put in any spoilers because the plot - as far as it goes - is very predictable. Also, this is billed as a romantic comedy / drama and I am afraid to say there is very little of each.

With the calibre of the actors you would expect their characters to be believable, but whilst Tom Hanks does a passable performance, Julia Roberts character changes hardly seem credible at all (perhaps she should have watched Cameron Diaz in Bad Teacher for some pointers - which is not the greatest film of all time but quite funny nevertheless).

I know this is a bit of negative review as are many others, but the counteracting positive reviews might make you tempted to watch a film which is just plain tedious.

Sorry Tom, but this just seems like a big self-indulgence on your part and had it been anyone else I doubt the script would have got past the producer's waste paper bin.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Tries too hard, and simply doesn't succeed

4/10
Author: spoko from Nebraska
15 January 2012

I had expected that Hanks would manage to do a decent screenplay, but he seems to be really going for a lot of quirk, and he simply didn't pull it off. By contrast, the romance plot line was just taken as read, and he hardly even bothered devoting five full minutes to it. Acting-wise, Hanks was also trying way too hard. Julia Roberts, on the other hand, completely phoned it in. For the record, I prefer the latter, if only because it seemed proportional to the weight of the film itself.

It's not painfully bad, but even for a fairly by-the-book RomCom, it wasn't very good either.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

A powerful tool in the war on terror

Author: Acks King from Oman
14 December 2011

This is what we've been waiting for since 9/11. Crazies want human rights for the terrorists and the government wants some quick intel, water boarding seems to be inhuman and hell some hardened terrorists can't be broken at all. Try locking them up in a cell with this movie playing, I assure you. They will beg for mercy, they'll give up all that they know, they will renounce their faith, heck they'll be rehabilitated from that moment onwards. This movie will terrorize the terrorists themselves, what it will do to us ordinary humans is anybody's guess.

If your an adrenaline junkie give it a go, but have your exit strategies planned. Either of the actors is a tormentor all on their own and when they come together, you'd rather choose a spinal tap over this.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

We know who is to blame

2/10
Author: Marvin Hintze from Berlin, Germany
18 November 2014

Since Tom Hanks obviously wanted to make a movie of his own, we definitely know who is to blame for this low-level comedy. The saddest thing is, that the story isn't even that bad - it's the bad movie making and the complete out-of-place characters that make this movie so poor. When watching this movie I thought: "You just know in an instant that the writer and director didn't know about the behaviour of real people". Then I found out it was all the same person.

tl;dr: If you want to save a little of your quality time, go to the rental store, blindly pick a comedy from the rack and there is pretty good chance it's better than "Larry Crowne".

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Big waste of talent in a terrible movie

3/10
Author: juneebuggy from Canada
23 October 2014

Tom Hanks plays Navy veteran Larry Crown who after getting laid off from his retail job and signs up for classes at a community college, where he joins a colourful community of outcasts and proceeds to fall for his teacher, played by a very b*tchie Julia Roberts.

This movie was just terrible, it did not make me laugh it did however make me cringe on more than one occasion. Sure there's a couple of cute moments but for the most part the story is all over the place, the acting is bad and it just feels generic on all counts.

What a waste of big talent, including Bryan Cranston in a smaller role. George Takei was probably the funniest thing in this movie. Julia Roberts was just painful. 11.13

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

I really must warn you about this one

3/10
Author: f-rabit from Portugal
19 December 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

What is this crap? I was in to watch a good romantic comedy...well: Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts together? this has to be great! (my bad). I can't understand why such good actors accepted being part of this. Could have been the mistake that irreversibly compromises a whole career. It's an empty movie, with the pace all wrong. Empty plot. No script. No music. No suspense. A few laughs (very few). There's not much to say, cause nothing happens in the movie. It's far more interesting to watch an episode of "the Osbournes" or something like that. The highs: Julia Roberts is one of the most beautiful woman on earth. Tom Hanks is Tom Hanks. I'd take a chance on any movie that he's in. That said, nothing more to add. I felt like i wasted my cinema night-time and now it's too late to watch a movie (cause this was something I can't name, but not a movie). I should have trust my guts...for some reason i was keeping this one behind.... ham! one more thing: The girl divorced her husband on the basis that he watches porn on the internet. Can you believe it? a man watching porn on the internet? is that even possible? Never heard that before. He ought to be a retarded or a mentally stressed man, or maybe a sex maniac!!! A man watching porn on the internet...go figure!!!!! to jail with such a demon! Free tip of the day for young couples: If you want your marriage to last long don't watch porn. It's also bad to your health and can cause you acne and mental illness!!!!!!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not great, but not horrible either

6/10
Author: oceansroar from Lyon, France
7 January 2012

i love Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts films and had hoped that the two together would be awesome, but i was a little disappointed. i cannot exactly put my finger on it, but it felt a little off. Larry (Tom Hanks) loses his job from a Walmart-type store because he did not go to college. It seems far-fetched, but i let it slide. So, what does he do? He goes to college. Who is his teacher? Mercedes Tainot played by Julia Roberts. So you can fill in the puzzle from there. It is a typical chick flick, but with a little quirkiness. Unfortunately the quirkiness was the character Talia, which was a little to strange and never played out or explained fully. One good point for the film, it was a throw back to a more wholesome time before every filmed had sex and foal language in every other scene. i hope both Hanks and Roberts find a better vehicle for their talent next time.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Likable comedy, although nothing seems to be at stake

Author: raisleygordon from Ladson, SC
1 January 2012

Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts are likable as always (this is the first movie I've seen them in together), and they give the film what it deserves. I think it could have used some complications, though. Sure, he loses a job, then he goes to college, and also joins bikers. There's not any plot beyond that. I am recommending the movie, but think what this movie could have been if this guy was really having a crisis. The movie is apparently supposed to be about a guy who redeems himself, but there's none of that, aside from the fact that he signs up for college courses. How about a villain, maybe? And was the yard sale storyline really necessary? Still, "Larry Crowne" is fun to watch.

*** out of ****

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Very good

7/10
Author: ron-fernandez-pittsburgh from United States
16 December 2011

Why is the movie getting such a bad rap?? It's really a very charming film with wonderful acting by Hanks and Roberts as well as a very good support cast. While the plot itself is no great shakes, it's very interesting, especially in these times of disheavelment. I know a lot of people as well as critics don't like it. Amazed. It's a 'feel good' kind of movie with no villains. Maybe that's why it doesn't sell to the average movie goer who likes foul language, violence, special effects and fast paced editing with hand held cameras yet. This is an old fashioned movie that was made in the 50-60's, so it's not relevant today? Too bad. See this one and you won't be disappointed. AND DON'T READ THOSE UNKIND COMMENTS.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 18: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history