IMDb > Larry Crowne (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Larry Crowne
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guidemessage board
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Larry Crowne More at IMDbPro »

Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 166 reviews in total 

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A powerful tool in the war on terror

Author: Acks King from Oman
14 December 2011

This is what we've been waiting for since 9/11. Crazies want human rights for the terrorists and the government wants some quick intel, water boarding seems to be inhuman and hell some hardened terrorists can't be broken at all. Try locking them up in a cell with this movie playing, I assure you. They will beg for mercy, they'll give up all that they know, they will renounce their faith, heck they'll be rehabilitated from that moment onwards. This movie will terrorize the terrorists themselves, what it will do to us ordinary humans is anybody's guess.

If your an adrenaline junkie give it a go, but have your exit strategies planned. Either of the actors is a tormentor all on their own and when they come together, you'd rather choose a spinal tap over this.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 6 people found the following review useful:

Eh?!

2/10
Author: jonmccann from United Kingdom
28 October 2011

What is this film about?!? OK, a bloke loses his job and he is in the latter years of life....And er, he goes to school and thats it, oh wait, he meets an alcoholic teacher and they sort of get it on! There is no chemistry in this film because the script doesn't require it. I can imagine when the original idea was pitched, it made sense, but on screen, it has nothing. I was bored at 30 minutes, at an hour it was starting to get to a point, but of course its only 1hr 40, so i rightly figured the remaining 40 mins would be boring!! I love Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, in fact I also respect Bryan Cranston who has a bit part that he should regret, but simply put, if you don't have a decent story, don't stand up on set, this is the absolute example of that!!! Watch it on telly when it appears, but don't pay to see it, that would be a waste.

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Larry Crowne - a pleasant surprise

7/10
Author: Carolyn C (lyncorr@gmail.com) from Trinidad & Tobago
24 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Larry Crowne was a charming movie that catches you by surprise until you find yourself smiling by the end. A simple but meaningful plot causes some character transformations during the course of the film. Admittedly this movie did get off to a slow start and after an hour I just started to really enjoy it, especially during the turning point when Mercedes (played by Julia Roberts) realizes that her husband who is a self-employed and self-professed narcissistic (ex-professor turned) blogger/writer/chronic pornaholic is just not worth the trouble which signals the end of her marriage. At the beginning of the movie she is a bitter, depressed English/Communications professor that hates her job and drowns herself in alcohol. Then she meets Larry Crowne who little by little changes her life as she does the same for him.

Larry (played by Tom Hanks) gets downsized at the start of the movie supposedly because he doesn't have a college degree. After being in the navy for 20 years, he did not have time to go back to school and after getting advice from his neighbour Lamar (played by Cedric the Entertainer) he decides to enroll in Community College. He meets a young girl and a group of riders (on scooters) who become his friends. This same young lady gives him a new wardrobe, haircut and rearranges his house and his perspective on life. However, the first indication that Mercedes is interested in Larry is when she sees the two together and instantly gets jealous. She gets equally upset when he misses one of her classes. When she is stranded in the middle of the street at night after she exits her husband's car after a fight, Larry comes to her rescue. She allows him to take her home reluctantly and they have a ridiculously awkward kiss to the viewers but magical for them. Of course, they can't act on their emotions because of the teacher/student relationship so Mercedes appears disinterested and expresses this to Larry.

After the final presentation in class everyone falls in love with Larry. Mercedes awards him an A+ and goes to the diner where he works to give him the news and suggest her availability, as she is no longer his teacher. The pair inevitably gets together. Larry also does extremely well his first semester at school. He aces his Economics class, which also gives him the knowledge to handle his debt and sell his house. All in all, this movie had a good message and the characters all find redemption at the end. These two main actors still have what it takes to pull off a good movie and they have great on screen chemistry.

I give this movie 7 stars!

Was the above review useful to you?

5 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Tom Hanks said "Hey Gang, let's put on a show!"

5/10
Author: Greg Smith from Richmond, VA
2 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

ONE LINE REVIEW : Tom Hanks said "Hey Gang, let's put on a show!"

RATING : Wait for the Instant Download

(Ratings: "See it in the theater", "Wait for the Instant Download", "Don't Bother")

NO SPOILERS

Tom Hanks starred in, directed, and co-wrote this film (with friend Nia Vardalos "My Big Fat Greek Wedding"). It's the story of an incredibly likable Larry Crowne (Hanks) who gets fired from his WalMart-type job because he has no degree, and hence no future. He tries to refinance his house but the banker (Hank's wife, Rita Wilson - who is still hot) turns him down cold. Larry enrolls in a local college where he takes a public speaking course with teacher Mercedes (Mercy) Tainot (Julia Roberts). Larry befriends young classmate Talia (the effervescent, fresh-faced Gugu Mbatha-Raw). Mercy is unhappily married to porn- surfing, self-published Dean Tainot (Bryan Cranston). She takes a disliking to Larry because she thinks he is dating Talia. And our relationships are now set.

Larry makes friends with all the scooter-riding kids at school and they in turn revamp him from a nerd into a quasi-cool guy. They feng-shui his house, his hair, and his wardrobe. Larry is tops in in Dr. Matsutani's (George Takei) economics class. And he gets wisdom from his neighbor (Cedric the Entertainer) who has a perpetual yard sale going on.

This is almost a text-book case of romantic comedy. Except that as a protagonist, Larry is very non-descript. He has no apparent flaws. He has no strong desires. He seems to move haplessly through the film letting all the swirl of the other characters just happen.

And perhaps that is precisely what is happening. Tom Hanks is (arguably) the nicest guy in Hollywood. It's like we're looking in on Tom Hanks breaking in a new crowd of up-and-comers by showing them the ropes in the least-complicated movie of all time. In a lot of ways I felt like this was a call back to the old "Smoky and the Bandit" days when Burt Reynolds would make a film by shooting home movies with his buddies and current girlfriend.

Julia Roberts never disappoints. Her character is very thinly drawn but she adds enough of that Julia Roberts charm to pull it off - those flirty smiles cast casually over the shoulder. But, sadly, she could have played any of a half-dozen characters from her impressive resume and just dropped those performances into the middle of this film and no one would be the wiser. Hmm… maybe that's just what happened?

This is a Nice Little Film. At my theater it was clearly the favorite of the over-fifty crowd. There's not a lot of meat to it and the major plot turns are easy to spot and not surprising. If you like Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, you'll like this film. And George Takei is hilarious as the economics professor. But save the $10 ticket and just rent it at home. You'll get the same effect.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

I actually got an IMDb account so that I can talk about how much I HATE THIS MOVIE!

1/10
Author: atwell-m-stacey from Canada
8 September 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

SPOILERS************************(Even though there is nothing to spoil)

First off, what is with everyone liking this movie? I was almost subject to tears after realizing that people genuinely enjoyed this vile, annoying abomination.

What the devil happened in this movie? NOTHING! NOTHING NOTHING! The only reason why I didn't slip into a comma was because I was hysterically laughing at how awful the acting, story or script was.

That Snapping Moped gang that Tom Hanks is accepted in was unforgettably brilliant. Oh wait, did I say brilliant I meant to say ridiculous.

How was he liked by everyone in college to the point where I thought girls were going to orgasm in the hallways just by looking at him?

FEZmakes an appearance as FEZ with a leather jacket, facial hair and even more homosexually charged than ever. Although in the movie he was portrayed as a tough heterosexual snapping biker. What?

I'll never go down the dairy section in the grocery aisles because I'm now lactose intolerant from the pure cheese this movie stuffs down your throat. Or should I say French toast? HAHAHAHhahahhahah Tom Hanks wrote that "funny" himself.

I feel I am now subject to starting a cult following that will ERADICATE this movie from earth. I sentence these two actors to having to watch this movie on repeat for eternity however; they would probably love that too much because they are extremely egotistical. Instead of Julia and Tom being the leading roles they will both be replaced by that Asian Economy instructor.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Wasted Potential

4/10
Author: Carl White (moovemkr) from United States
6 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The problem with this movie is that the producer, writer and star of this movie obviously has not had too many average guy problems in his life in quite a while.

Its hard to sympathize with Larry Crowne, and the movie only works if you do, when everything seems to come so easy for him.

Go back to school, here are the classes you should take that will change your life, do you want to be our friends, do you want to kiss me, do you want a job that works with your schedule, dump the house and mortgage, its OK, your neighbors will sell your stuff and then you can go start a new life with a hot teacher.

I do realize its a romantic comedy with Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, we pretty much already know how it ends before we walk in the theatre but there is simply no struggle and almost zero conflict that would make you pull for the guy.

Tom Hanks has said in interviews he wanted to play "this kind of guy", its just that he seems to have no idea what "this kind of guy" really goes through in life.

Its like he and Nia Vardalos in writing the movie could come up with ideas to solve problems they perceive he would encounter without actually showing him struggle with any of the problems because they had no idea what that struggle would be.

It would be like asking someone like Larry Crowne in real life to make a movie about the pitfalls and struggles of being very rich and famous. He would only be guessing and would not really know the real issues and struggles.

The bottom line is that this movie had so much potential and it was wasted. Tom should have wrote this movie with a talented but struggling and hungry screenwriter and the results would have probably turned out much better.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 14 people found the following review useful:

Unbelievably bad

1/10
Author: markscarls from San Diego
1 December 2011

This movie was poorly written and poorly acted. There was no chemistry between Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts. While Tom Hanks' character was a "nice guy," it is highly unlikely that a snobby college professor would fall for someone with so little education -- even a lush like Julie Roberts' character. And although Julia Roberts was occasionally attractive those few times she was sober, it's hard to believe that Larry Crowne, who was supposed to be an admirable character, would chase such a depressed, loutish, stuck-up person, especially knowing that she's married. And there is a young girl who decides to intervene in Larry Crowne's life and help him that is even more unbelievable. This film was just ridiculous. Luckily I got it free from my local library. It still wasn't worth the time and energy it took to put it into my DVD player.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

a community college concerto in c+ minor

Author: nutsberryfarm from san diego
13 October 2013

on the surface this is a simple story we've heard before: man thinks he's going to win employee of the month award & gets the olé break room shakedown pulled on him and he finds himself without a job. sad? sure. tragic? maybe. too salty? of course. but i need more! and i got it. yes, it requires the viewer to put on their cinematic scuba gear & jump right into the world of community colleges, men wanting to be men, a diner run by a taskmaster with a dubious' tough but fair' philosophy. dangerous? sometimes. reminiscent of henrik ibsen's 'lady inger of ostrat'? no way, jose. at this point something starts to happen. you begin to hear: who is larry crowne? what is larry crowne? where is larry crowne? are scooter gangs really more scourge than scandal? what am i going to have for lunch today? those are called questions. and they float on the surface of time when you consider this movie which in scope & size & feel remind one of a fresh box of krispy kreme doughnuts on a slightly damp fall morning when the sun is playing a game of hide & seek with the clouds...and that's, well, crownetastic.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Tom, what have you done ?

5/10
Author: howard-kerr from england, uk
4 October 2013

Firstly let me say I think Tom Hanks has been brilliant - the Green Mile for example is one of my all time favourite films.

So I was looking forward to this, and the first few minutes seemed OK enough to make it worthwhile.

One comment on the opening credits - it says a Tom Hanks film, starring Tom Hanks, co-written by Tom Hanks, Directed by Tom Hanks, Produced by Tom Hanks. Rather reminded of Little Britain's take on Dennis Waterman - i write the theme tune, i sing the theme tune etc.

But back to the film - I will try not to put in any spoilers because the plot - as far as it goes - is very predictable. Also, this is billed as a romantic comedy / drama and I am afraid to say there is very little of each.

With the calibre of the actors you would expect their characters to be believable, but whilst Tom Hanks does a passable performance, Julia Roberts character changes hardly seem credible at all (perhaps she should have watched Cameron Diaz in Bad Teacher for some pointers - which is not the greatest film of all time but quite funny nevertheless).

I know this is a bit of negative review as are many others, but the counteracting positive reviews might make you tempted to watch a film which is just plain tedious.

Sorry Tom, but this just seems like a big self-indulgence on your part and had it been anyone else I doubt the script would have got past the producer's waste paper bin.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Not great, but not horrible either

6/10
Author: oceansroar from Lyon, France
7 January 2012

i love Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts films and had hoped that the two together would be awesome, but i was a little disappointed. i cannot exactly put my finger on it, but it felt a little off. Larry (Tom Hanks) loses his job from a Walmart-type store because he did not go to college. It seems far-fetched, but i let it slide. So, what does he do? He goes to college. Who is his teacher? Mercedes Tainot played by Julia Roberts. So you can fill in the puzzle from there. It is a typical chick flick, but with a little quirkiness. Unfortunately the quirkiness was the character Talia, which was a little to strange and never played out or explained fully. One good point for the film, it was a throw back to a more wholesome time before every filmed had sex and foal language in every other scene. i hope both Hanks and Roberts find a better vehicle for their talent next time.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 17: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history