IMDb > Larry Crowne (2011) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
Larry Crowne
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
Larry Crowne More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 3 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]
Index 187 reviews in total 

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Connects easily with the public

8/10
Author: tub51461 from United States
5 December 2015

This movie is simply a movie in which Tom Hanks wrote, directed, and acted in, not for pure entertainment value. There's some humor in it, but the ultimate goal is that it's strictly written as a means to connect with anyone who has ever been cut from a job which paid the bills, paid the mortgage, paid the student loans, paid any car loans, etc. then nothing, no job, credit is overdrawn, house, car, & lucky if they don't lose their shirt. It's the way of the world for the last 10 years and that's Tom Hanks' message to the audience: How can we adjust to this sudden hole in our lives? Well, the movie subtly gives you a lot of answers. If you ever been out of your element, then you'll enjoy this film.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Predictable, But Enjoyable

7/10
Author: BoomerDT from United States
27 October 2015

This is, at least for me, a perfect type of HBO movie, where I just viewed it. It isn't loaded with special effects and non-stop ridiculous violence, which may be why some of the reviewers hate it. Actually, not a whole lot happens in this story of Larry Crowne, a 50 yr old ex-Navy vet who has been laid off from his retail job and decides to go attend community college. (It is hard to believe he couldn't find another retail job, but we've got to get Tom Hanks in college) Larry does seem to really find himself in college and falls in love with with his speech teacher, Julia Roberts, who is in the process of splitting with her hubby,a frustrated writer who is obsessed with ladies with large boobs. That's about it, but it's only 98 minutes of time spent, Hanks and Roberts are pleasant to watch in the type of role they can do in their sleep. As I said, not a whole lot happens but that's somewhat similar to life most the time.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Great movie full of positive energy

9/10
Author: mgliu from United States
29 May 2015

I'm not a movie critic. But as a viewer, I truly appreciate the story of this movie. After 2008, many Americans lost their jobs, their homes and many struggle to keep their children in school, put food on the table. You've heard of the term tent city, where middle class family put up tents in parks so the children and family can sleep. It was a dark era. This movie took a different spin and use Larry Crowne, an admirable and honorable person with a positive attitude to keep on going and good things started to happen. He didn't end up with a better life in financial point of view but a truly happier person. It shows that life can be joyous and wonderful even when you just made end meets.

Frictional may it be, but it give everyone hopes and encouragement where we should all moving forward and be positive about life.

It's the message I like about the movie and the sweetness of the characters that I enjoyed.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Loved it

10/10
Author: cineastFGD
19 March 2015

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I absolutely and entirely adored this movie. Yes, the story has not much action, yes, the film is slow and a bit corny sometimes, but it's so full of the right stuff that it makes up for it ten times.

A guy, happy enough with his life, dedicated worker, gets laid off despite all his engagement in the job. Before, he's living the typical US middle-class American dream life, over-sized house with huge mortgage, over-sized car with huge gasoline bills, and ... living from paycheck to paycheck. When he looses his job, this 'system' does not work anymore and he slowly, and at first unwillingly, starts to adapt. First thing that goes is the flat screen TV (that's a brilliant point in the story), then the superfluous garage garbage, then the over-sized house and eventually the car. Could be such a sad story, middle class man looses all his possessions and drops down the social ladder, right?

No, because this movie is about how he finally gets his act together. Along the way, he discovers the really important values in life: education (and I don't mean just striving for a degree, but true interest in the acquisition of more knowledge and new skills), friends that truly care for you, grit and purpose and the resulting acknowledgment, and ... well a new partner (it's Hollywood after all). And along the line, that frugality can be fun, that it shouldn't be material possessions we strive for, but that we should care for the impact we have on the life's of others and our own. The day my neighbours will cry after me when I move away, I will know that I have turned into a truly great human being ;).

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

I laughed and laughed

8/10
Author: lmpd51 from United States
31 August 2014

This movie was lighthearted and just what I needed to brighten my evening! There was no raunchiness which was very refreshing. Tom Hanks was is usual wonderful self. Julia Roberts' character could have been developed a bit better but overall this movie was hysterical and my grandkids loved it also. Of course, it was a bit far fetched in some parts but then you have a comedy, that's the way you make people laugh!! My daughter let me borrow it for the evening and I wish she had given it to me. I may buy it. Yes, I liked it that well. And even though a comedy, it was very relevant to today's problems facing our nation.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 10 people found the following review useful:

Not as bad as it has been made out to be

7/10
Author: Julianne McFey
8 July 2011

Okay, so Larry Crowne is not award-winning, groundbreaking material; but it sure does not deserve to be torn to shreds in reviews. It's a story about a man starting over after being "downsized" from his job in retail. Why go into it with all these great expectations? The story line is simple and straightforward. Let's be honest. It does not need a whole lot to be deemed a success. I mean, hello, it has Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts. They have amazing careers and a huge fan base. Overall, it is enjoyable. Tom Hanks is, as always,charming. He makes the audience genuinely care for Larry Crowne. Julia Roberts provided unexpected, yet welcome comical timing as Mercedes Tainot. As a big fan of hers, I will have to say that Larry Crowne is one of my favorite films starring her post-Erin Brockovich. I was not expecting to find this movie funny, yet I caught myself giggling at clever quips and such. Also, there is a number of supporting characters that are vital to the comical effect of the movie. Larry Crowne is about a man finding his way after being let go from his previous job. The audience gets to root for Larry and watch him succeed. It's a feel good, light-hearted movie with a touch of romance...just sit back and enjoy it.I was very pleasantly surprised after seeing all the reviews it got. I can't speak for everyone, but I would go see it again.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Wasted Potential

4/10
Author: Carl White (moovemkr) from United States
6 July 2011

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

The problem with this movie is that the producer, writer and star of this movie obviously has not had too many average guy problems in his life in quite a while.

Its hard to sympathize with Larry Crowne, and the movie only works if you do, when everything seems to come so easy for him.

Go back to school, here are the classes you should take that will change your life, do you want to be our friends, do you want to kiss me, do you want a job that works with your schedule, dump the house and mortgage, its OK, your neighbors will sell your stuff and then you can go start a new life with a hot teacher.

I do realize its a romantic comedy with Tom Hanks and Julia Roberts, we pretty much already know how it ends before we walk in the theatre but there is simply no struggle and almost zero conflict that would make you pull for the guy.

Tom Hanks has said in interviews he wanted to play "this kind of guy", its just that he seems to have no idea what "this kind of guy" really goes through in life.

Its like he and Nia Vardalos in writing the movie could come up with ideas to solve problems they perceive he would encounter without actually showing him struggle with any of the problems because they had no idea what that struggle would be.

It would be like asking someone like Larry Crowne in real life to make a movie about the pitfalls and struggles of being very rich and famous. He would only be guessing and would not really know the real issues and struggles.

The bottom line is that this movie had so much potential and it was wasted. Tom should have wrote this movie with a talented but struggling and hungry screenwriter and the results would have probably turned out much better.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Larry and his Merry Mentality win the day,don't believe the critics on this one!

8/10
Author: Amy Adler from Toledo, Ohio
22 July 2013

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Larry Crowne (Tom Hanks) has worked for U-Mart for ages and has won numerous "employee of the month" awards. But, things can change. Fast. One day, the U-Mart upper managers decide that, because Larry doesn't have a college diploma, he has no future in the company. Say what? Yes! Thus, he's kicked out of the biz. Being a very likable and capable guy, he tries to find another job, but, when that fails, he goes down a slow spiral. First, the bank wants their mortgage payments or else. The smarmy bank exec (Rita Wilson, Hanks wife) says "let's talk over complimentary coffee" but then lowers the boom. Desperate, Larry decides to have a huge garage sale but this upsets his neighbors (Cedric the Entertainer and Tarij P. Henson) because they operate a resale business out of their home. Thus, Larry sells his car and buys some time with a small scooter for transportation. Not knowing what else to do, he enrolls in the local community college. In an econ course, he meets the formidable Dr. Ed (George Takei) who teaches the class from the textbook he wrote himself. Worse, in an communications course, Larry comes up against a jaded, unhappily married prof, Dr. Mercedes (Julia Roberts) who would rather be teaching Shakespeare, if enough students had selected the course. But, they didn't, so she's stuck with a motley crew of speech pupils. At home, her "sit-on-my laurels" author hubby (Bryan Cranston) surfs porn all day, which makes her even more unhappy. Thus, Dr. M takes it out by being grouchy and unapproachable in class. Nevertheless, despite his age, Larry wins the affections of his young classmates, who offer him haircuts, community bike rides, and free interior decoration. Alas, Larry may still lose the house. But, with his smarts, he may succeed well in his classes AND turn Dr. Mercedies head in his direction! This is a sweet, funny movie that will please fans of light comedy and the great cast. Why it was torpedoed by the critics is a complete mystery. After all, it has a terrific cast, especially the young adults who play Larry's classmates, an intelligent script, great costumes, and a vibrant direction. What's not to love, I say!

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

A scooter ride.

7/10
Author: Plezsno from United States
21 July 2013

Scooters are normally fun, and on Larry Crowne's trip, he loses his job, goes back to school, falls for his professor and manages an enjoyable ride.

And just like a real outing, visiting the world's biggest ball of yarn may be interesting to see, but the characters that are met along the way are what make it or break it. From the start, Tom Hanks gives a pleasing performance as the off camber title character, and Julia Roberts, as his speech professor and crush, is equally as satisfying. While many of the supporting characters enhance the tour, two really stand out. George Takei as the stoic economics professor could believably show up to class riding a donkey without the students knowing whether to laugh or start taking notes. The high point, however, is Gugu Mbatha-Rau's enamoring interpretation of Talia Francesco. She plays the bubbly Talia with the a charisma that could break up a European Vespa gang.

The movie travels at an acceptable pace without stalling at any one place for too long. Writing, directing, and editing all serve to support Larry's trip from place to place and character to character.

In the end, when I come across a scooter, I may rent one or I may not. The same applies to this movie. While I wouldn't suggest to anyone to seek it out, if you happen upon it with some time to kill, it's an entertaining ride.

Was the above review useful to you?

1 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Subtle Optimism

8/10
Author: wingedheartart from United States
17 November 2012

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I disagree with this needing spice. It wasn't written to be action packed, full of CGI etc. It was to show what a man of about 50 does when he is downsized, through no fault of his own. If you are over 30 and have gone back to school, possibly at a local community college or ANY college really, when J. Roberts is dragging her chalk across the board with a lack of enthusiasm...I felt like I sat through her class more than once. The subtle humor of the students and teachers, LOVE GEORGE T. IN THIS... is fantastic. When Julia's character is talking to her husband about Porn and he says, "I'm a guy, being a guy, being a guy..." It stays with you. Not all guys act that way... So, if you aren't 12 or 18 and have gone through a few difficulties in life, check our Larry Crowne. It will fill you with a warm optimism, that you might be able to make it through the next crisis with a little bit of humor.

QH.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 3 of 19: [Prev][1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Plot synopsis Ratings
Awards External reviews Parents Guide
Official site Plot keywords Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history